$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2015 Check-out: Sep 28, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
512 reviews
awesome place

The stay was awesome, staff was great! The food and entertainment was excellent......i would go... See full review

  • Damaris330
  • Feb 21, 2015
Quick gateway- Loyal guest

We have stayed at Barcelo since 2009 and we love it. We always get excellent service. The staff is... See full review

  • Linette
  • Jan 7, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Property features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Nearby attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Policies
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$119
3.8 / 5 252 reviews
★★★★
$243
3.9 / 5 515 reviews
★★★
$118
3.2 / 5 211 reviews
★★★
$129
3.4 / 5 53 reviews
★★★★★
$246
4.1 / 5 498 reviews
★★★★★
$330
3.8 / 5 397 reviews
★★★★
$146
4.0 / 5 414 reviews

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
512 out of 512
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AdamUSA
Single
Myrtle Beach, SC
Dec 3, 2012

4th Trip Here and still love it.

Great place to visit. Plenty to do, or not do. Beach is wonderful, food is great, hospitality first class. The employees really want you to enjoy your stay, and work hard at doing it. You should have basic knowledge of a little Spanish language, The not necessary, but helpful. The food is local, plentiful, and different than we are used to in USA, however, try everything they have and enjoy fresh meats, fruits and vegetables, without all the preservatives we are used to. The resort is fantastic, plenty of places to relax, sip drinks and enjoy. The visitors are from around the world and not necessarily from the USA. Which is fine with me. I enjoy meeting and making friends from Germany, Canada, France, Ecuador, Russia and more. Right next door is the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino. That place is like Vegas meeting the Caribbean, however the cost to stay there is like three times Barcelo Premium. And with only a $10US cab ride to their casino, its well worth it. But Barcelo Premium needs to update their casino badly. Its dated and limited. 9 bars and 8 restaurants on-site greatly enhance the daily buffets too. Overall a great place to visit again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you make your dinner reservations on the first day you arrive so you can relax and enjoy without waiting on a line.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Drea143
Couples
Connecticut, USA
Nov 22, 2011

TERRIBLE!

This hotel was a disaster from the start!! We got there after check in time and it still took over 30 minutes for our room to be ready! Staff was NOT helpful or friendly. When we finally got into our room, the bathroom was dirty, especially the bathtub!! Also the bathroom door had no handle, so when I went to use the bathroom, I got locked inside the bathroom for over 20 minutes! We had to call downstairs to the reception twice for someone to finally come up and get me out of the bathroom. When they came up to the room, they put a door handle on the door and said we were all set. I complained to the hotel manager, after filling out a report, and he simply said, "Well theres a door handle now, isnt there?" ARE YOU SERIOUS?! Not to mention it was my birthday and he did nothing to help the situation. Eventually we said we wanted our money back and we were leaving but he assured us we would be upgraded to premium status and an oceanview room. We were NOT moved into an oceanview room after waiting 2 hours for this room!!!!!!!!!!! The premium status included free wifi throughout the hotel, though it didnt work anywhere except an internet cafe. Food & drinks were disgusting!!! Staff was not friendly and barely spoke a word of english. All the beach chairs were broken on the beach and no servers came around with drinks. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone. It was awful!! We ended up checking out a day after and booking the rest of our trip at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffett food is gross and terrible service!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sarahhhhhh
Friends
Clifton, NJ, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Will never go back

The hotel staff was so rude. They would not let us check in before the check in time so we had to wait 4 hours in the lobby for our room to get cleaned. The hotel staff have no idea what they are doing. Each one tells you something different. The food there was also horrible. The japanese rest. was really bad. so was their pizza place and their italian. Also, for each of the specialty restaurants, you need to make a reservation each in the morning that day as soon as you can otherwise there are no more reservations available and you get stuck eating the bad buffet food. The resort was actually beautiful, the hotel staff and their rules for the hotel just absolutely ruined our trip. I will never go back, esp to this hotel. Also, there is nothing to do outside the resort so the whole time you are stuck inside the hotel with the horrible service. trust me, do not go to this hotel! also, there were many bugs in our hotel room. our bathroom was also filthy. there were yellow stains all over the bathroom tub. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

get your reservations to the specialty restaurants as soon as you wake up that morning!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Precious Peach
Friends
Punta Cana, Dominican Replublic
Jun 9, 2012

Girls getaway

I had the worst experience at this hotel. I wouldn't recommend nobody stay at this hotel.. The staff was VERY rude, nobody speaks English, the food was nasty, the rooms has lots of Ants... Also, if u didn't reserve a spot for the restaurants by 10:00 a.m when the sign says 9:00a.m- 4:00p.m you was stuck with the nasty buffet food and the staff has a problem with picking their nose freely in front of you while touching you're papers like that's ok... I even witness them digging in their nose in the buffet area.... This hotel lacks entertainment big time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chayah
Single
Waldorf, MD
Jun 19, 2012

Deceptive

The hotel scenery was beautiful. That and the one staff member -Rema- are what earned the one star. The food was not resort quality, I could feel the spring in the bed with my hand, so imagine my sleep. I had to ask for washcloths and did not get them until day 2. I had a broken iron and requested another eight times. I ended up in the manager's office after being lied to by a customer service rep who told me there wasn't a manager. The staff could use some training with customer relations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris the vacationer
Family
San Diego
Aug 28, 2012

vactioning

The room has lots of ants & mosquitos. Employees there not customer oriented. Reservation for formal dinning is really bad. Unable to reserve the same day or next day meal after an hour waiting in line to book. There's no coffee or tea in the room 1/2 of time we stay there. Either they ran out or not being filled. there's no non-smoking area designated. People smoke almost everywhere, in the lobby, the hall way, pool, beach, etc.... The fruits were not fresh & not many variety. The food is pretty much the same daily & doesn't taste good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SEE Traveler
Family
New York
Sep 11, 2012

Inconsistent, disappointing and not a good value at all

I went here for a week in August with my boyfriend and a few friends. We arrived around 2:30, had our suitcases taken by some men at the curb and after waiting for almost 30 minutes in the check-in line were told our rooms wouldn't be ready until 4. We went and got lunch and came back around 4:15- rooms still weren't ready. We sat in the lobby until after 6 that night waiting for our rooms - we couldn't even change into our bathing suits since our suitcases had been taken when we arrived. We wasted almost half a day of our vacation and did not receive an apology or any acknowledgement of the inconvenience. This was a trend among the staff during our stay- some of them were very nice and helpful, but most were dismissive or outwardly unfriendly- some even rolled their eyes or openly ignored us when we were standing there. Our rooms were in the renovated section and looked okay at first glance but on closer inspection were not very nice at all. Our patio door didn't lock, our air conditioner broke the second night, our toilet clogged or overflowed almost every single day and the key card lock on the outside of the door also broke, locking us out of our room for almost an entire day while we repeatedly had to visit the front desk to ask them to fix it. In fact, every single one of these incidents required multiple phone calls or visits to the front desk before they were fixed. By the 3rd day I felt like I'd spent more time in line at the front desk than at the beach! There are a lot of general inconsistencies as well. For example, my room didn't have a bathtub but my friend's room next door did. We only got 2 towels in our room the first day (no bathmat, handtowels, washcloths etc...) but then had 6 a few days later. Some days the room was cleaned, some days not. Two of my friends, in two different rooms, had dark red stains on their sheets when they checked in and several of us had drinks that had clearly been opened and used in our mini bars when we checked in. And just a general warning- the Casino is a huge scam. It is advertised as a hotel amenity but it runs a well known scam called "Bonus Bingo" (sometimes called "Caribbean Keno") in it. It targets guests right when they enter and fortunately, we were warned by another guest and stopped playing it before we lost too much money (the guest was subsequently removed from the casino by security- very sketchy). I looked it up in the internet cafe the next day and sure enough, there was a ton of information on it- the game is rigged to be unwinnable. We spoke to the hotel Accommodations Manager about it the next day and he told us that the casino is actually privately owned and has nothing to do with the hotel. We were able to get some of our money back from the casino by complaining (basically fighting with them for days) but I was appalled and disgusted that the hotel advertises the casino as an amenity when they actually do not oversee it to make sure it's legitimate. And that they knowingly allow their guests to be scammed on a regular basis on their property. This is not a place that I would ever go back to nor would I ever recommend it to others. Definitely wasn't worth the money we paid for it and was a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SandR
Couples
USA
Sep 23, 2012

SandR

Hotel and beach are beautiful. Check in was slow. Check out was pathetic. No Thanks for staying here. Wasn't asked if we enjoyed our stay or if we would like to stay here again. No comments. Nothing but rudeness. Food is just below average at best. Same food almost every day for all three meals. No lobster, no steak, no variety. None of the restaurants were clean. Almost all staff were very rude, unfriendly or were just not trained to do their jobs. There were very few exceptions. Complaints were not dealt with to any degree. A few of the staff speak English but obviously prefer catering to Spanish speaking guests. Have been to Dom. Rep. Resorts before and enjoyed those vacations very much. We will come back to the D.R. but will be staying at a higher rated resort. I would not recommend this resort to anyone and will definately never stay here again. If available, I would rate this resort a One Half Star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joey and Cynthia
Family
Yonkers, NY
Jan 16, 2013

Worst vacation EVER

My family's experience at this hotel was horrible from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Upon arrival at around 3 o'clock we waited forever for check-in to find out our room was not yet ready. Check in does begin at 3! They sent us to get something to eat. An hour and a half later we finally get our key to head to our room. Took another hour to get our luggage which sat in the lobby the whole time until we went back down to see what the delay was. More problems upon arriving at our room. When booking the vacation we requested a king size bed and we were given a double bed room. The wouldn't change our room because supposedly all rooms were occupied. I had asked for a crib because we were traveling with our month old baby. The dirty and broken crib was placed outside the room. A wooden bar was missing where a baby could've had their head lodged and the upper bar was broken with nails sticking out, not supporting it up at all. The bare mattress was filthy with small pieces of what seemed to be cement or sheet rock which my baby could have injested. We called the front desk and asked to have the crib taken away and requested a fold up bed. The woman at the front desk gave us a run around and told us we had to call a different number. After hearing our frustration she said she would send up the fold up bed in 10 minutes. In the mean time we left the room and returned back to the same crib which they nailed back together, cleaned up, and covered with a sheet.Our room was also not very clean. After my older son took off his shoes and jumped on the bed we saw foreign hair he picked up on his feet from the floor on the already stained white sheets. The food was terrible. My wife ended up with a stomach virus on our last night there. It was close to impossible to get dinner reservations at their restaurants. They would only start taking reservations the day of and everyday we went at 9am which is when they started making them every restaruant was already full so we were forced to eat at the buffet whose food was far from good. Let me not forget the nasty drinks, Presidentes was the only way to go. We had to shower with cold water pretty much every day. NO HOT Water...seriously! The only good thing was the kiddle water park our older son enjoyed and the beach which was beautiful but very rough. Personnel at this hotel was not helpful or accommodating. We also got left by the shuttle bus who was supposed to drive us over to the shopping area because the bell boy up front failed to point it out to us after we waited for over 30 minutes. Entertainment at the hotel was poor and we found ourselves bored often. We felt very disappointed with our stay and the hotel certainly didn't meet our expectations. We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly not return to it ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JCPT
Family
WHITE PLAINS, NY
Jan 16, 2013

DIRTY/POOR SERVICE

HOTEL ROOM WAS NOT CLEAN(PHONE SMELLED LIKE DIRTY STAGNANT WATER-SEEMED LIKE THEY USE THE SAME RAG TO WIPE EVERYTHING). I SHOWERED 3 1/2 OUT OF 4 NIGHTS WITHOUT HOT WATER BECAUSE IT DID NOT WORK AND SHOWER HEAD WAS BROKEN. THE SERVICE MEN AT THE FRONT OF THE HOTEL NEVER BROUGHT OUR LUGGAGE UP AND MY ROOM WAS NOT READY WHEN I CHECKED IN AT 3PM. THE FOOD WAS DISGUSTING AND MY DAD AND SISTER IN LAW GOT SICK OFF THE FOOD. THE ROOM WHERE MY BROTHER STAYED HAD A CRIB READY FOR MY NEPHEW WITH A DIRTY MATTRESS AND A NAIL STICKING OUT OF IT. THE HOTEL SUPPOSE TO BE ALL INCLUSIVE AND THERE WAS NO LIQUEUR OR BEER IN THE REFRIGERATOR AND THE FRIDGE DID NOT COOL THE ITEMS INSIDE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Not Applicable

FIND A NICE RESTAURANT OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL IF YOU WANT GOOD FOOD.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DR Fan
US
Jan 29, 2013

Alright

The first room was dirty and dingy. The glass enclosure in the shower was cracked. There was hair wrapped around the shower head. There was a leak in the ceiling. The bathroom floor was wet and dirty. The bed was hard and very springy. The sliding door to go outside was broken and the security latch did not work. The room was very dark and dreary. There was hair in the bed that was not from us because we had not slept yet. The electrical panel had no cover over it. The desk seemed like they were used to the complaints and did try to accommodate us with the room and moved us to a better room that was cleaner and did appear to have housekeeping actually clean the room. However, the ceiling still leaked from the spaces in between the ceiling panels and from the lights. The fridge is supposed to be stocked with water, soda, juice and presidente. But the first room didn't have any of that and the second room was refilled every other day. The employees are very friendly especially the staff that help organize the entertainment. However most of the employee's English is very limited. It is very helpful to speak / understand at least the basic amount of Spanish if you're going here. It is better to make any special restaurant reservations first thing in the morning or all of the reservations will be filled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There isn't much to do on the actual resort at night except one of the bars and the disco. The disco can be somewhat full or empty depending on the people that are at the resort at the given time. There is a table in the lobby that will help you determine what you want to do for evening entertainment outside of the resort for a fee.

Back to menu Return to top