Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
950 reviews
Great vacation

It was a perfect place for vacation. It was our second time in Barcelo and this time I liked it... See full review

  • Joanna 70
  • Aug 12, 2013
Fantastic gateway from buzy life

Hotel.was really nice, excellent food, and good show's every night, recommend to everybody See full review

  • Andruha
  • Jun 20, 2013
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.7321 -68.4737
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)- Estimated distance 32 km.
Area description
Located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach of Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - 32 km (25 minutes)to the Punta Cana International Airport, 65 km to Higuey, the nearest city.

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (950)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
950 out of 950
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deborah Sad birthday girl!
Long Island, N.Y.
Dec 5, 2010

Horrible experience!!!!!!

We arrived after check in time(3:00pm) and the room was not ready. Waited an additional hour before we could get into our room. Tried to get reservation for dinner in one of the five resturants *all booked*. Can not get reservation until the following morning for that evening and the line was over an hour wait when finally your turn to make reservation and the 5 dining areas are full. ***Was buffet every night and not good foods. Food was not good! First night cockroach in bed, notified front desk nothing was done. Do not disturb sign on door housekeeping disregarded the notice on door and entered with out knocking, we were naked and intimate at that moment. Notified front desk. Nothing done. Day two killed another cockroach in the bathroom. No clean towels as housekeeping never cleaned the room. Notified front desk was told someone would take care of the roach situtation and the towels. At 10 pm with do not disturb notice on door housekeeping walks in NOT knocking, we are naked again and intitmate she says towels and puts them into the bathroom. Day three elevators not working and there are workmen welding the wrought iron that holds the stain glass windows and they are on third floor I do not know until I am on the steps when hot sparks are sparkling on me as I walk up the stairs (elevator two of them out of order). The area where they are working is not closed off to the guests. I am showering and housekeeping walks in bathroom I screamed and they left towels on the bed. Baby roaches in bathroom, Front desk notified!!! Three hours later same stair way all equipment left unattented. Finally someone came to our room to spray for roaches and the odor was unbearable we were told to open the sliding glass door. Day four we booked excursion that was mis represented and we can not get refund. Day five we go to casino to try our luck. Steve hits on blazing 7 three on the same pay line the winning should be $989.67 when he shows attendant the attendant said you didn't win anything because you didn't have the right coin amount in machine. That machine and other machines were broken and we were told can't play that machine but no signs on machines that were out of order. When we asked attendant why dont you put signs he said it is the way it is. This vacation was suppose to be a celebration of my 50th birthday. I can say I will never forget how awful it was. I can not believe this hotel to be a five star top rating location. The grounds are pretty the beach is nice, the pool area was clean but the people who work in this hotel are rude, obnoxious and not friendly. Would never recommend this hotel. Took pictures because no one would believe it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
DEMOPOLIS,AL
Jul 19, 2009

WORST FOOD EVER, POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE.

MOST OF THE ALA CARTE RESTAURANT ARE CLOSE, AND THE ONLY ONES OPEN NEVER HAVE RESARVATION OPEN. BUFFET FOOD IS ONLY FOR ANIMALS. WE END UP EATING OUT SIDE OF THE RESORT. HOUSKEEPER WILL NOT CHANGE BED LINEN EVEN AFTER WE REQUESTED AFTER THIRD DAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kingozzy
nj usa
Aug 3, 2011

dont recommend this hotel to anyone

the worst vacation a ever had. power went out for 5 hour one night and i got my room by the 3rd day.this hotel is a 4 star hotel, but they forgot to put the - on front of the star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pembroke, MA
Dec 3, 2010

STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Worst resort I have ever been too. It's looks nice on the surface but then you get into the stay and the problems begin. Problems...(1)Check you into the wrong room (2)No facecloths for 2 days (3)No hot water for 2 days (4)Toilet leaked (5)FOOD WAS HORRIBLE (6)Days to get a radio that isn't broken (7)Restaurants are always booked even before the 9am reservation line is open (8)getting beverages at the buffet is close toimpossible (9)PUBLIC BATHROOMS HORRENDOUS (Feces spread on walls and floor not once but twice). (10)Housekeeping walks right into room without knocking on multiple inopportune times. A few bartenders and entertainment staff were exceptional [...], [...] and [...] (idk his real name). The beach and pool are amazing and Punta Cana is worth the visit but STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
barbuda
New York, NY, USA
Apr 18, 2012

poor travel experience

upon arrival at 1:30 in the afternoon, all the guest had to wait in the lobby almost like waiting out a flight delay for our rooms at 4 p.m. Rooms we dated and needed painting and repairs. Beds were horrible, mattress was like a box spring, you could feel the spring through it. I changed rooms several times to no avail. i now have a continual backache. Eventually i was moved to the Barcelo Bavaro, a much nicer hotel and accomadations. It is unfortunate that more than half of my 4 day trip was spend changing rooms, changing hotels, and waiting around for these changes. Lastly i pre-paid for taxi service and received only the initial pick-up but did not get the return trip which meant i had to pay much more for a private car service at the last minute, and i tried to secure that trip a day in advance seeing i was having so much trouble , i didn't want to take any chances, but it didn't help. I felt like i had a 1 1/2 day vacation. Not a good use of my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
portland, oregon
Sep 19, 2010

This Hotel really sucks!!

This was the worst hotel I have ever been to. It started with the staff as soon as we arrived. Rude, unfriendly and very unorganized. Our room was not what we expected. Very dirty. The noise was horrible all through the night. We had to changed our room twice. The food at this place was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Mar 11, 2011

Barcelo Dominican Beach - horrendous

We were moved to the Barcelo Dominican Beach after being bumped from the 4 star Barcelo Punta Cana[...] It was absolutely disgusting. We requested a room change two times because it either smelled like smoke (even though it was supposed to be a non-smoking room) or the room had something broken (sliding glass door wouldn't lock and we were on the first floor). The food was the worst part of the entire trip. Every single person in our group got some form of food sickness and missed an entire day on the beach at some point during the week. The hotel staff was very rude and offered no help and little compensation for our travel troubles (I speak fluent Spanish and they still ignored us). It was overrun with college kids on spring break. One afternoon a trip company threw a pool party (I'm assuming with the consent of the hotel b/c it was never shut down) in the main pool and the drunk college girls took their tops off while participating in a wet t-shirt company in the midst of children and families. These drunk college students were openly throwing up in the pool. On the last day of our trip a dead mouse was fished out from the pool. Also, one of the rooms in our group saw a mouse scurry across their floor on the day we checked out. All in all it was a terrible trip and [...] I am never staying at a Barcelo ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY Long Island
Jul 30, 2010

Jacqueline Torres

The wait time was ridiculous.I didn't like it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kim Super Disgusted
Middletown, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

TERRIBLE SERVICE- NEVER AGAIN!

Ok, well to start we arrived on a Friday where the pools were filled with locals wearing full clothing in the pools, when I say filled I mean FILLED! They (the locals) had no respect for the other tourest at the hotel and were very disrespectful towards Americans. I just read that they offer discount prices to locals so they can fill the hotel and they bus them in from all over. If you do not speak spanish dont bother,you will be ignored and there will be no attempt to communicate with you at all. The staff were very rude, once again, if you were American you were put off and ignored and those who spoke spanish were treated with priority. Good luck trying to find a staff member who does speak English. The food was poor but you can get by. The grounds of the hotel, the hotel itself and the beach were very nice. Everyone except for myself got sick, this includes many other toursest staying at the resort and everyone on the plane was talking about how sick they got at their resorts. FYI...based on overhearing other conversations on the plane this seemed to be a common thing at all the reports including the rudness towards Americans. I would never ever stay at Barcelo again here or the Barcelo in Mexico as we had a bad experience there as well. Live and Learn as we always like to give a second change. Customer Service NOT!!!! NEVER AGAIN!!! As my husband was saying under his breath to others checking in SAVE YOUSELF!!! Beware of the local vendors who come to the resort every other day to sell goods, they will stalk you!!! I dont ask for much and I was not expecting 5 star but some respect, aknowledgement and smile from the staff would of been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of single dollar bills...LOTS!!! They will not give you change in American money, only pesos!!!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shelby Townshiip, MI
Jul 28, 2009

it sucked

we couldn't wait to come back home. it all started with the airlines. Spirit. i will NEVER fly them again. we almost missed our connected flight. they had issues with the plan so we took off over an hour late. then got to our hotel and the staff members didnt speak english. we had to switch rooms 3 times, due to problems with the rooms. the food was gross. i lived on eggs and toast for 10 days. and the drinks, we couldnt even drink them. they were just as sick. now its time to come home and we just couldnt wait to get home. so when we arrive to FL., to catch our flight to detroit, they delayed it by 45 mins. then we finally boaded. sat on the plan sweating, with no air for them to then tell us to get off the plan, that the pilet will be at least an hour befor he gets to the airport. this was the worst vacation EVER

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top