$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
603 reviews
awesome place

The stay was awesome, staff was great! The food and entertainment was excellent......i would go... See full review

  • Damaris330
  • Feb 21, 2015
Quick gateway- Loyal guest

We have stayed at Barcelo since 2009 and we love it. We always get excellent service. The staff is... See full review

  • Linette
  • Jan 7, 2015
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 603
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Micheleke
Business
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

Not a real 4 star hotel

To begin with, the bathtub in the room did not work at all. My water pressure in the shower was fine, but many others there said they could not take a shower. My water in the sink was but a dribble the entire time. The food in the buffet was OK, but never really outstanding with the exception of the roast beef the last night which was very, very good. Breakfast was fine but there were bananas only one time. I have stayed at 4 other resorts in Punta Cana, and even one 3 star hotel was much better. Also, there are no water sports included like Kayaks and small sail boats that all other resorts offer for no extra price. The beach was fine, but by 9am all chairs had towels on them, indicating that they are taken. The nightly entertainment was very, very weak. The pools and included bars were fine, and the cappuccino was very good as well. I am an experienced traveler, particularly in this neck of the woods, so I know what to expect, and was disappointed. This hotel is priced a bit lower than the others, and one litmus test is the following. You can tell the caliber of the hotel based partially upon the number of guests who smoke cigarettes and how many are covered in tattoos. This place had loads of guests smoking all over the place, and more people covered in tattoos than better resorts I've stayed at. Do you get my drift? If you can afford something better, than avoid this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ITorres
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 13, 2014

Great place

It was a wonderful stay at this hotel. I would go again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deefore
Business
Charlotte NC
Apr 30, 2014

Below average

It took 2 hrs to check in at the hotel. The lobby staff appeared rude and didn't care if you had made the trip after hours on a plane. I waited forever to check in and when I was checked in, I was told I would have to wait till 4pm before I could get a room. By then lunch was over and I was told to go to the snack bar to get something to eat. When it got to the room, the bed was something I never expected. Very cheap beds. The room was spacious though. The bathroom looked dirty with stains in the tub and cracked toilet. The little fridge looked horrible and was all iced up. The drinks at the bars were all watered down. It's meant to be all inclusive but you'll have to pay to get the better drinks. My apartment is bigger than the casino. I remembered asking the wait staff in the cafeteria for coke and she told me to hold on while she cleared all the tables by mine. She only took my cup after I had gotten up to get the coke myself. I asked for hot sauce vas I didn't get it till after my good was almost finished. The breakfast was ok though. You can't go wrong with breakfast. The hotel is huge and wifi works well but not free. I won't be staying at this hotel again. Back to the RIU for me or sandals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AdamUSA
Business
Myrtle Beach, SC
Dec 3, 2012

4th Trip Here and still love it.

Great place to visit. Plenty to do, or not do. Beach is wonderful, food is great, hospitality first class. The employees really want you to enjoy your stay, and work hard at doing it. You should have basic knowledge of a little Spanish language, The not necessary, but helpful. The food is local, plentiful, and different than we are used to in USA, however, try everything they have and enjoy fresh meats, fruits and vegetables, without all the preservatives we are used to. The resort is fantastic, plenty of places to relax, sip drinks and enjoy. The visitors are from around the world and not necessarily from the USA. Which is fine with me. I enjoy meeting and making friends from Germany, Canada, France, Ecuador, Russia and more. Right next door is the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino. That place is like Vegas meeting the Caribbean, however the cost to stay there is like three times Barcelo Premium. And with only a $10US cab ride to their casino, its well worth it. But Barcelo Premium needs to update their casino badly. Its dated and limited. 9 bars and 8 restaurants on-site greatly enhance the daily buffets too. Overall a great place to visit again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you make your dinner reservations on the first day you arrive so you can relax and enjoy without waiting on a line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chayah
Business
Waldorf, MD
Jun 19, 2012

Deceptive

The hotel scenery was beautiful. That and the one staff member -Rema- are what earned the one star. The food was not resort quality, I could feel the spring in the bed with my hand, so imagine my sleep. I had to ask for washcloths and did not get them until day 2. I had a broken iron and requested another eight times. I ended up in the manager's office after being lied to by a customer service rep who told me there wasn't a manager. The staff could use some training with customer relations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
barbuda
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 18, 2012

poor travel experience

upon arrival at 1:30 in the afternoon, all the guest had to wait in the lobby almost like waiting out a flight delay for our rooms at 4 p.m. Rooms we dated and needed painting and repairs. Beds were horrible, mattress was like a box spring, you could feel the spring through it. I changed rooms several times to no avail. i now have a continual backache. Eventually i was moved to the Barcelo Bavaro, a much nicer hotel and accomadations. It is unfortunate that more than half of my 4 day trip was spend changing rooms, changing hotels, and waiting around for these changes. Lastly i pre-paid for taxi service and received only the initial pick-up but did not get the return trip which meant i had to pay much more for a private car service at the last minute, and i tried to secure that trip a day in advance seeing i was having so much trouble , i didn't want to take any chances, but it didn't help. I felt like i had a 1 1/2 day vacation. Not a good use of my money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TRAVELER74
Business
SAN DIEGO
Apr 10, 2012

You get what you pay for

If it is 3 stars do not expect 5 that means no luxuries considering the price the hotel is great .The Hotel and the beach are very good. The food is good a lot of variety. The staff made you feel very welcome. I have nothing bad to say about the resort. We had so much fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

ORO AT HARD ROCK IMAGINE PUNTA CANA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gettysburg, PA
Dec 16, 2010

My trip

Not perfect but good enough to have a good time and enjoy some rest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't change your $ in pesos, they take $ everywhere in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plainfield, New Jersey USA
Nov 23, 2010

Extraordinary customer service!!

First of all, if I may, THANKS to [...]...YOU ARE THE BEST!!!They work at the Lobby Bar and did an awesome job to make me feel practically at home. Every single day was a joy for me to start and finish the day by sharing time with them. [...] at the buffet was excellent, taking care of me at lunch and dinner time. The bellstand people were very helpful. [...], from Cocotour, was very profesional.And finally, JETBLUE rocks...great flight, great customer service. THANKS SO MUCH.Luis A. Gonzalez

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just enjoy it, this is a great place to go to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san bruno, california
Sep 28, 2010

barcelo punta cana

the hotel was excellent except the location, I need to take a taxi every place I went and very expensive, more than Usa, just to take to the mall 30 minutes away I was charged $48.00 us dollars. next time I will have to stay in the hotel that I could walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top