$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 1, 2014 Check-out: May 4, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
561 reviews
Great vacation

It was a perfect place for vacation. It was our second time in Barcelo and this time I liked it... See full review

  • Joanna 70
  • Aug 12, 2013
Fantastic gateway from buzy life

Hotel.was really nice, excellent food, and good show's every night, recommend to everybody See full review

  • Andruha
  • Jun 20, 2013
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Deluxe ocean view rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Superior rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.7321 -68.4737
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)- Estimated distance 32 km.
Area description
Located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach of Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - 32 km (25 minutes)to the Punta Cana International Airport, 65 km to Higuey, the nearest city.

Dining

El Mirador (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; El Marlin Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theather bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Palma Sands & People's Disco (off side)
Seafood specialties and typical Dominican food served. Situated next door to the restaurant Capitan Cook right at the Bavaro beach, this open air restaurant also features chaise lounges to lie at the beach and take a sunbath while getting served cool drinks from the lounge bar. At night the disco on second floor opens its doors (except Mondays) and you can dance to chill and international music or just enjoys the view over the ocean. Every Sunday from 2pm on there is a also beach party celebrated.
El Marlin (BBQ & Sea Food)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Roma (Italian)
Roma (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
Paris - French A la Carte-( All Inclusive)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Marlin Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Tokio (Japanese)
Tokio (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Paris (French)
Paris(French) dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (561)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
112 out of 561
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Jay Crowe
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 21, 2014

Perfectly Fine All Inclusive

I would have given this 5 stars all around if i had not previously been to an absolutely wonderful all inclusive resort on D.R. Just a few small criticisms: --Gave us a king bed instead of two twins --May only have 1 pool towel a day --Strict times for meals, no clocks anywhere --Restaurants for dinner required reservations made in the morning, no flexibility on this --Did not refill mini bar every day as advertised. Otherwise perfectly beautiful time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
JD112
New York
Sep 14, 2013

Girls Getaway

We had an all-inclusive package for our 10 day stay. Good value for that many days. The hotel was ok...could use some updating. Biggest complaint....on weekends there is a cold water issue...plenty of hot water....but without cold water....hard to shower and worst was toilet issue...no cold water....no flushing....this appeared to only occur on the 2 weekends we were there. Week days when not as many people in the hotel there were no water issues. The hotel is all open air except for the rooms and some of the restaurants. The buffet was ok...but disturbing to be dining on food that birds were also eating. The restaurants which require reservations were very good...get reservations each day...well worth of standing on line if necessary. The staff were amazing!! friendly, helpful, engaging...they answered questions and helped make our stay wonderful! they work long days...and still went out of their way to make sure we had a great time. The beach was fantastic as were the pools. There were plenty of activities during the day as well as the nites. Overall, good stay with exception to the water issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations each day for the restaurants and only do buffet for breakfast. Also if you go on an outside excursion, simple breakfast is offered in the outside restaurant since the main buffet is not open until 8am.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
monaleesa
Long Island, NY
Sep 10, 2013

mona

At arrival everything looked beautiful. When got to the room there was a roach in the bathroom, and the lights went out for about 20 minutes. The room view was excellent. There is a huge water problem with the cold water. Toilet don't flush, water pressure is an issue. In the other hand the staff was excellent. The food was soso. I will never stay in that hotel nor would I recommend! Twice we had to call to have the room clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you like to explore that is not the place to go; you are confine to the hotel. The excursions were great!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Never going there again
New York, NY
May 30, 2013

Bad Experience

i've been to this property 4 times including this year. never had a problem till now. new management i heard. not only I but a few other people cut their feet at the pool for poor mainteance. there were broken tiles not only in the pool with the bar by the beach but also in the other side where the kiddie size pool is. this is extremely dangereous being that any disease could be caught. i have a bad cut on my big toe that is still healing and i got cut two friday's ago, today being thursday. needless to say my vacation was ruined. i had to stay in my room 5days of my vacation with my foot elavated and out of the sun and water. the hotel did nothing to comp my lost time due to their negligence. im never going there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
JuneBug2013
Princeton, NJ
Apr 9, 2013

Just Mediocre

My expectations were higher for this place. After all it was considered a 4 star hotel. The food was variations of the same thing (mashed potatoes and seafood (not fresh) 1 night and mashed potatoes with steak the next). The place wasn't very clean. It looked like they only cleaned at the end of each night. The entertainment was mediocre. The service was poor. The staff was rude and always made their customers wait for everything. I don't recommend this place. I really wish that I paid $50 more per person to stay at a nicer resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The buffet was better than the dinner reservations at the restaurants.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Bam Lee
Newmarket, ontario, Canada
Apr 2, 2013

Very disappointing, never again!!!

It was downhill from the moment it arrived, We couldn't find our bus at the airport for almost 30 minutes then we waited another 40 minutes at the hotel as our room wasn't ready and believe me, it was not worth waiting for. The toilet didn't flush, the shower had no pressure and was trickling out so I didn't even attempt to wash or rince my long hair. The coffee maker didn't work and the mini frig/bar barely was more like a cabinet to store a bottle of coke and water. The exterior of the resort was nice and passable and the beach was amazing. We were only there for 5 days and 4 of them were cloudy and rainy which we certainly can't blame the resort for. Food was barely passable but then again I knew ahead of time that food in these place on such islands is never a highlight. YOU CAN forget trying to get a spot by the pool if you don't hold a spot with your towel before 8:00 in the morning so in orther words we never got to lounge by the pool. Beach was very windy and it was a red flag warning for all four days that we were there so there were no water amentities as the waves were pretty rough. Attempted to play beach V.B. but again too windy. Staff were very friendly and tried to help but english was limited which suprised me for a resort of such size and magnitude. Our standard room was dingy and the tub was filthy. They did try to fix the toilet and eventually replaced the shower nozzle but but the water temp ran hot and cold and by that time we had new problems. There was water dripping from our bathroom ceiling and no towels put in our rooms to shower before we left for the airport even after I complained. Spoke with the manager on our way out but he wasn't too helpful. All in all, such a disappointing holiday and I will "never ever ever get back together" with this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Once you actually get a towel, keep it for the week because they are few and far between. We went 3 days without a towel because they didn't have any.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
Um. No.
Iowa, USA
Feb 17, 2013

There is some good, but....

Beach -- Outstanding! We walked in both directions and the beach at BPC is much nicer than at any other hotel. Powder white sand, though if you look close, there is quite a bit of red/pink in it. Really pretty. This is what we go for, so we were in no way disappointed here. There were always some waves, some days larger than others. We had a good time in the water. Hotel -- Needs ALOT of love. From a distance it is a very nice looking hotel. Unfortunately, it is desperately in need of updating and repair. --Our room was just ok, but others in our group had rooms that were bad bad bad. Others had rooms that were updated and nicer. I could go on and on, but no need, the rooms/bathrooms need help. --Lobby and lobby bar areas were a bit run-down and again, need updating and love. --Pools and pool areas were nice. Again, upating and repairs are needed. --Staff overall was friendly and helpful. Some more than others. We tipped quite a bit and didn't have any really negative experiences with anyone. A few stood out from the others on the friendly side, were conversational, and seemed genuinely interested in providing a good experience for us. Food -- having been to many other all inclusives, BPC food was actually better than many of the others. -- Buffet. Different themes each night, much like other hotels do. We could always find something that satisfied us. -- Restaurants -- We ate at the Japanese restaurant which was good, and at the Italian, which was also pretty good. -- They also have a small buffet by the beach bar, which is where we usually ate breakfast and lunch. Someone is running a grill there throughout the day...eggs/omelets made to order in the morning, and burgers/hotdogs during the day. -- The Tex-Mex restaurant is also open for lunch (no reservations needed), and that was also very good. Sandwiches, salad bar, or entrees. Several people we were with had the soup a couple different days, and really liked it. Drinks -- disappointed. Nothing was really very good, or even consistent from one bar to the next. I liked the Presidente cervesa. Had a couple of good Bloody Mary's from the bar near the Tex/Mex, but also had one that was "chunky" from the beach bar. Had to dump that one. Overall, just nothing really tasty or special. The red wine in the Italian restaurant was decent I thought. Smoking -- If you don't smoke, and it bothers you when other people do, do not go to this hotel. Lobby, lobby bars, even on the beach, there were so many people smoking all the time that we could not enjoy the open air in public areas. None of the other Americans we met smoked, but it seemed like pretty much everyone else did. Really really annoying. Overall: I try to look for the positive, but there are too many not so nice things about this hotel so I would not recommend it to friends. If you are looking for a lower end facility on a nice beach, this BPC may be for you, but in general it attracts a lower class of people. We have stayed at the Barcelo Palace on Riviera Maya Mexico, and loved it, so we decided to give this one a shot, despite some less than stellar reviews, and to save some money. Won't do that again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
Punta Cana Lover Forever
Missoula, Montana
Jan 15, 2013

Best Vacation Ever

If you want somewhere to go to have a wonderful vacation this is it. Most rooms have an incredible view of the pools or ocean. The staff is there to help you with everything you need. They get to know you during your stay and you are always greeted with a smile. While most of the staff speak many langauges there were sometimes language barriers. However if you are patient you will always get the help you need. Basic Spanish helps but you can get around with out it. The beach is unlike any other with amazing sand. We ate at all the restaurants and there was good food in all of them. Including the ala cart places you could eat whenever you where hungry. My friends got married and the location for the wedding was beautiful and everything the hotel did to make it special. It was perfect. I have read some pretty rotten reviews on this hotel and I don't understand them at all. I can't tell you how many people were there on a return trips. For the price of this hotel I don't think you can get any better. I would stay again there in a hearbeat. If you have very specific tastes or very high standards then pay more and stay in a 5 star resort. I have traveled all over and think think for the value this was a great place to stay!! BEST VACATION EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There are things going on all over the resort. We where there a week and didn't get to do everything. Ask other guests for what's best when you get there.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
Fina
DC
Nov 26, 2012

It's a two star resort

We paid for a four star hotel but got a two star hotel instead. There is no way this is a four, or even three star resort. It is beautifully constructed but is worn out, food and services are not good. The resort is huge, but we checked in at 3pm with a lot of other guests; we were hungry, the hotel flyer stated that lunch buffet closing hour was 5pm but there was not one restaurant open, we had to eat barely cooked hotdogs and not so good hamburgers, barbequed by a not so happy cook at the pool. So much for a first impression. Here are some points that management needs to work on: - Hotel needs remodeling, some areas need a touch up (Walls and floors) and new furniture. Beach chairs look old and dirty. -Exterminate small ants in the room. -Improve quality of food. Lunch buffet and breakfast buffet were terrible, sometimes not eatable. Paris restaurant is not good, stake was terrible, I could not eat. El Marlin's seafood was eatable but not good. For a hotel by the ocean I expected better. Tokio restaurant was ok. -House wine and house licor drinks were horrible, beer was ok. There are ways you can improve house wine and drinks without raising costs. -Staff does not seem to eager to help out, they need better training. Maybe allowing tip chars could improve services. -Do not allow locals in the resort, or restrict areas where they could be. -Entertainers need to speak English and Spanish. The Disco need a new DJ, the one they have now only play local music. PS: Watch out for the bingo game at the casino, those guys are cons, they will clear you out! Ask to see every ball they call out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

You can shop at the hotel. We went to Punta Blanca to shop but did not find much good deals and merchandise was all same.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
gretch23
North Carolina
Nov 4, 2012

Loved it!

We had a great experience and time at Barcelo Punta Cana! The only thing we didn't fully enjoy was the food but that's to be somewhat expected at an all-inclusive resort in the Carribbean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top