$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
948 reviews
Great vacation

It was a perfect place for vacation. It was our second time in Barcelo and this time I liked it... See full review

  • Joanna 70
  • Aug 12, 2013
Fantastic gateway from buzy life

Hotel.was really nice, excellent food, and good show's every night, recommend to everybody See full review

  • Andruha
  • Jun 20, 2013
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7321 -68.4737
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)- Estimated distance 32 km.
Area description
Located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach of Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - 32 km (25 minutes)to the Punta Cana International Airport, 65 km to Higuey, the nearest city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (948)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
948 out of 948
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
EEEE
North Carolina
Feb 4, 2013

horrible vacation

I only book at 4-5 star hotel. Take trips 3xs/yr. Thought this was a 4 star but far from it. while checking in to the hotel staff was not friendly. Did not even recognize me for over 30 min. I walked into my room and noticed dirty tub, and 2 beds when I specifically asked for a king bed. They told me to come back in the morning to get my new room b/c none was available at the time. When I went to the desk that next morning they told me they had no info with my request so had to wait another day. When I looked at t their list, I noticed 2 pages of room request due to issues. So the whole 4 day vacation we were stuck in this room. Then the t.v. and remote was broken so no t.v. for us, curtains would not close so sun would shine in very early in the morning. Tub was filthy and would not drain during my showers. Toilet kept getting clogged. No towels, so requested 4 big towels and after 3 times calling, and going down once to the desk, I received my towels after 3 hours. Talked to a couple with same issues on towel and room. My room was cleaned once out of the whole stay. Mosquitoes everywhere, I had literally gotten attacked by them and my legs were swollen. Counted 15 mosquito bites in 30 minutes of stepping out during the night. Ended up buying a small can of "off spray" for $17. The whole hotel needs to be renovated, stains on walls, chipped paint, chipped tiles everywhere. There were spills everywhere and staff would not clean or pick up trash, smelled like WD-40 in the small elevator and found 3 mosquitoes just in the elevator. Room smelled horrible. Birds in the dining area. Food was okay. Buffet tasted better than the restaurants. Activities were boring in the hotel. Casino was a joke, had only 3 tables and like 6 slot machine. When I sat down to attempt to play blackjack, the table were dirty, stained, looked like a hand me down. They didn't even use new deck of cards each time. Ended up taking a taxi to Hard Rock Hotel and had a blast. Absolutely stunning. Everyone was beautiful and so nice. Completely different experience. Highlight of my trip. Wanted to change hotel but couldn't b/c would lose money with Barcelo with no refund policy. Learned from this experience. Never settle and be thrifty on a hotel for a vacation. Thought hotel was a 4 star but far from it. Would say 2 star hotel. Vacation you are supposed to have great memories and a great experience. Will only book at a 5 star. Only positive thing with this hotel was the beach and outside area was beautiful. Liked the architecture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard Rock Hotel and Casino is the place to be

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DR Fan
US
Jan 29, 2013

Alright

The first room was dirty and dingy. The glass enclosure in the shower was cracked. There was hair wrapped around the shower head. There was a leak in the ceiling. The bathroom floor was wet and dirty. The bed was hard and very springy. The sliding door to go outside was broken and the security latch did not work. The room was very dark and dreary. There was hair in the bed that was not from us because we had not slept yet. The electrical panel had no cover over it. The desk seemed like they were used to the complaints and did try to accommodate us with the room and moved us to a better room that was cleaner and did appear to have housekeeping actually clean the room. However, the ceiling still leaked from the spaces in between the ceiling panels and from the lights. The fridge is supposed to be stocked with water, soda, juice and presidente. But the first room didn't have any of that and the second room was refilled every other day. The employees are very friendly especially the staff that help organize the entertainment. However most of the employee's English is very limited. It is very helpful to speak / understand at least the basic amount of Spanish if you're going here. It is better to make any special restaurant reservations first thing in the morning or all of the reservations will be filled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

There isn't much to do on the actual resort at night except one of the bars and the disco. The disco can be somewhat full or empty depending on the people that are at the resort at the given time. There is a table in the lobby that will help you determine what you want to do for evening entertainment outside of the resort for a fee.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JCPT
WHITE PLAINS, NY
Jan 16, 2013

DIRTY/POOR SERVICE

HOTEL ROOM WAS NOT CLEAN(PHONE SMELLED LIKE DIRTY STAGNANT WATER-SEEMED LIKE THEY USE THE SAME RAG TO WIPE EVERYTHING). I SHOWERED 3 1/2 OUT OF 4 NIGHTS WITHOUT HOT WATER BECAUSE IT DID NOT WORK AND SHOWER HEAD WAS BROKEN. THE SERVICE MEN AT THE FRONT OF THE HOTEL NEVER BROUGHT OUR LUGGAGE UP AND MY ROOM WAS NOT READY WHEN I CHECKED IN AT 3PM. THE FOOD WAS DISGUSTING AND MY DAD AND SISTER IN LAW GOT SICK OFF THE FOOD. THE ROOM WHERE MY BROTHER STAYED HAD A CRIB READY FOR MY NEPHEW WITH A DIRTY MATTRESS AND A NAIL STICKING OUT OF IT. THE HOTEL SUPPOSE TO BE ALL INCLUSIVE AND THERE WAS NO LIQUEUR OR BEER IN THE REFRIGERATOR AND THE FRIDGE DID NOT COOL THE ITEMS INSIDE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Not Applicable

FIND A NICE RESTAURANT OUTSIDE OF THE HOTEL IF YOU WANT GOOD FOOD.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joey and Cynthia
Yonkers, NY
Jan 16, 2013

Worst vacation EVER

My family's experience at this hotel was horrible from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. Upon arrival at around 3 o'clock we waited forever for check-in to find out our room was not yet ready. Check in does begin at 3! They sent us to get something to eat. An hour and a half later we finally get our key to head to our room. Took another hour to get our luggage which sat in the lobby the whole time until we went back down to see what the delay was. More problems upon arriving at our room. When booking the vacation we requested a king size bed and we were given a double bed room. The wouldn't change our room because supposedly all rooms were occupied. I had asked for a crib because we were traveling with our month old baby. The dirty and broken crib was placed outside the room. A wooden bar was missing where a baby could've had their head lodged and the upper bar was broken with nails sticking out, not supporting it up at all. The bare mattress was filthy with small pieces of what seemed to be cement or sheet rock which my baby could have injested. We called the front desk and asked to have the crib taken away and requested a fold up bed. The woman at the front desk gave us a run around and told us we had to call a different number. After hearing our frustration she said she would send up the fold up bed in 10 minutes. In the mean time we left the room and returned back to the same crib which they nailed back together, cleaned up, and covered with a sheet.Our room was also not very clean. After my older son took off his shoes and jumped on the bed we saw foreign hair he picked up on his feet from the floor on the already stained white sheets. The food was terrible. My wife ended up with a stomach virus on our last night there. It was close to impossible to get dinner reservations at their restaurants. They would only start taking reservations the day of and everyday we went at 9am which is when they started making them every restaruant was already full so we were forced to eat at the buffet whose food was far from good. Let me not forget the nasty drinks, Presidentes was the only way to go. We had to shower with cold water pretty much every day. NO HOT Water...seriously! The only good thing was the kiddle water park our older son enjoyed and the beach which was beautiful but very rough. Personnel at this hotel was not helpful or accommodating. We also got left by the shuttle bus who was supposed to drive us over to the shopping area because the bell boy up front failed to point it out to us after we waited for over 30 minutes. Entertainment at the hotel was poor and we found ourselves bored often. We felt very disappointed with our stay and the hotel certainly didn't meet our expectations. We wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and would certainly not return to it ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punta Cana Lover Forever
Missoula, Montana
Jan 15, 2013

Best Vacation Ever

If you want somewhere to go to have a wonderful vacation this is it. Most rooms have an incredible view of the pools or ocean. The staff is there to help you with everything you need. They get to know you during your stay and you are always greeted with a smile. While most of the staff speak many langauges there were sometimes language barriers. However if you are patient you will always get the help you need. Basic Spanish helps but you can get around with out it. The beach is unlike any other with amazing sand. We ate at all the restaurants and there was good food in all of them. Including the ala cart places you could eat whenever you where hungry. My friends got married and the location for the wedding was beautiful and everything the hotel did to make it special. It was perfect. I have read some pretty rotten reviews on this hotel and I don't understand them at all. I can't tell you how many people were there on a return trips. For the price of this hotel I don't think you can get any better. I would stay again there in a hearbeat. If you have very specific tastes or very high standards then pay more and stay in a 5 star resort. I have traveled all over and think think for the value this was a great place to stay!! BEST VACATION EVER!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There are things going on all over the resort. We where there a week and didn't get to do everything. Ask other guests for what's best when you get there.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vince323
Connecticut
Jan 15, 2013

Good for the money

This hotel has a great location with a great beach. Food is what you would expect at such a low cost. The restaurants are a lot better than the buffet. You get to book 2 reservations over your 5 to 7 night stay. They have 7 restaurants you can choose from including a Japanese hibachi style restaurant. Rooms were not bad and ours was clean. Had an ocean and pool view. The hotel is pretty big so the rooms most likely vary in design. Anyone who complains expecting a 4 to 5 star hotel for paying such low cost are delusional. If you are looking for a great beach with decent food with an average to above average hotel room will be satisfied with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants at the hotel are much better than the buffet. Try and book extra reservations by calling front desk.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RC35
new jersey
Dec 20, 2012

Barcelo Punta Cana

The view from my room looking at the ocean was great but the water was very rough it was not great for swimming especially for kids the pools were very good there was even a little water park for kids but most of the staff was not warm and friendly except the two hostess at the buffet restaurant and two of the servers the rest of them look in your eyes and walk pass you without saying hello service at the bars was very slow they chat and look at you without acknowledging your presence front desk was not very knowledgeable about anything we had no hot water for three days when we call all they said was ok also they have no rules about smoking i was having breakfast with my kids one morning when a couple sat beside us and started to smoke in the dining room i was very surprised that no one said anything the food was not the best always salty most of the time. entertainment at night was so so too much mosquito and smokers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

get in line early in the morning to make reservation for one of the restaurants in the hotel

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thedonjj
Montreal, Canada
Dec 16, 2012

Had a good time but it wasnt a 4 star experience

Check in was at 3pm and I got a room at 5pm. Location and amenities are great! The beach is awesome! There is no complaint there! Its really clean, white sand and nice waves! Pools are great too! Food is really good at the buffet, its changes every night. Lots of staff but it takes for ever to get something to drink! Most of the time I just got up and got it my selft For the other restaurants you need to make a reservation the same day. You need to wake up at 9am and go to the front desk. Around 9:30 or 9:45 everything is booked. Most Staff has alot to learn, they dont speak alot of english and their "costumer service" isnt that great But overall it was nice! We had a good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Familyvacation12
USA
Dec 9, 2012

Great Family Vacation

We had seven people in our group and we all had a wonderful time! The staff (other than one manager) was great! The staff was very accommodating and very pleasant. There was a wide variety of food almost all day. The hotel has great pools and a beautiful view. I would recommend this resort and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AdamUSA
Myrtle Beach, SC
Dec 3, 2012

4th Trip Here and still love it.

Great place to visit. Plenty to do, or not do. Beach is wonderful, food is great, hospitality first class. The employees really want you to enjoy your stay, and work hard at doing it. You should have basic knowledge of a little Spanish language, The not necessary, but helpful. The food is local, plentiful, and different than we are used to in USA, however, try everything they have and enjoy fresh meats, fruits and vegetables, without all the preservatives we are used to. The resort is fantastic, plenty of places to relax, sip drinks and enjoy. The visitors are from around the world and not necessarily from the USA. Which is fine with me. I enjoy meeting and making friends from Germany, Canada, France, Ecuador, Russia and more. Right next door is the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino. That place is like Vegas meeting the Caribbean, however the cost to stay there is like three times Barcelo Premium. And with only a $10US cab ride to their casino, its well worth it. But Barcelo Premium needs to update their casino badly. Its dated and limited. 9 bars and 8 restaurants on-site greatly enhance the daily buffets too. Overall a great place to visit again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you make your dinner reservations on the first day you arrive so you can relax and enjoy without waiting on a line.

Back to menu Return to top