$223 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 9, 2015 Check-out: Jan 12, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
579 reviews
Honeymoon

best honeymoon ever. great staff. good food. great entertainment. See full review

  • Miss Anne 4682
  • Nov 28, 2014
Fantastic family getaway

Great place to stay, takes your family there anytime, you will not be disappointed See full review

  • Seba
  • Nov 21, 2014
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (579)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
579 out of 579
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mymyshelookgood
Business
New York, NY
May 25, 2009

The good, The Bad, The Ugly

This was my 2nd time in Punta Cana. Last time I stayed at the Occidental Grand Punta Cana and it was really great - nice room, friendly staff. The Barcelo Punta Cana had amazing bartenders and Club Premium hostesses. The greatness stopped there. The hotel is under construction and will probably be amazing once it's finished, but the non-refurbrished rooms leave EVERYTHING to be desired. The good: We paid for "Club Premium" status, which means we were supposed to get faster, better and more exclusive service. Our hostess had already setup nightly dinner reservations for the duration of our stay and offered great advice on things to do - as well as helped us get a reservation where we wanted after missing our reservation time one night. The bartenders were super friendly, funny and seemed to really care - even if they work for tips, it feels like geniune interest. It helped that I speak Spanish and that I'm African American. The people of D.R. are [...] just really nice to pretty brown girls - especially when you at least try to speak Spanish. That aside, I still saw them being nice to everyone no matter what people looked like. I also noticed that most guests did NOT tip - I found this disgusting - but the staff was still super nice even though they got few dollars.The bad: Our original room had an AMAZING ocean view, 2 balconies and a large bedroom and separate living room. The room left everything to be desired. I mean, the tub was a "jacuzzi" from the 80's - regular tub with rusted jets and brown stains. One of the bathroom roofs leaked and the air didn't get cold enough. The front desk staff was very nice and changed us on our second day - they showed us 2 available suites and let us choose which we wanted. Our 2nd room was nice - large balcony with pool view and the ocean in the d-i-s-t-a-n-c-e...but it was much more comfortable and we called it home for 4 nights. The cable was so snowy we pretty much "listened" to TV at night, but on the good side, the air worked and we had a clean, working bathroom.The ugly: The food was AWFUL. My friends and I are "big" girls and we can pretty much find the good in any food that's put in front of us. We lived on bread, butter and liquor the entire time. The restaurants were really terrible and I was more than disappointed. They also closed pretty early - you couldn't get food after 11 for the most part. For all-inclusive and open bar, I wanted something to be open at 1 or so when I'd had too much mama juana (the national drink).In terms of the Punta Cana experience, it rained for much of our vacation and was cool even though it's almost June. We filled our time with great excursions - ATV, Go-Cart (they call it "boogie) and horseback riding), going to Mangu night club at Occidental Grand and swimming with the dolphins. It was worth the added money for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cristy and Alan
Business
Kearny, NJ
May 25, 2009

fun for fun couples

We needed a vacation so we spent most of the time at the beach, the pool and the bars. We enjoyed beautiful walks on the beach and swimming in the bright blue caribbean sea. We also met many different guests from all over the world. From the different tour options, we chose to go to Santo Domingo which was great! Great- if you enjoy a truly cultural experience that includes the idiosyncrasies of our beloved latin american countries. The service is good people are friendly though you shouldn't expect people to speak perfect english or demand too much attention (there are hundreds of guests sharing the hotel with you!) You get what you ask for and need to communicate with the staff. The resort could have been better about announcing special performances or musical presentations so that everyone could participate. This is my first time in a resort and I thought it was well balanced in terms of having the freedom and flexibility to be alone and rest while having dinners planned and activities you could attend. Some people complained about reservations for dinner but it was nice for couples to be able to meet other people when the resort offered structured activities. Overall, the ambience was fun, easy-going and relaxed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Ask around about prices for tours and souvenirs before paying!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
May 23, 2009

Really nice

My stay was great. The only complain we had was the sound of the the guys who entertain the people. And they are great too but the speakers were extremelly loud and we had no peace and quite at all.They are good at it but it just drives you crazy to listen to it all the time. Even in our room with TV very loud, we could hear them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
woodfish
Business
oklahoma
May 22, 2009

not a bad place

it took us 2.5 hour before we got our room.. the room service woke us up early everyday but it was ok.. my wife love it there.. some of the people wasn't very nice and the local was selling things you say no but they keep bugging you to buy.. room just right but had to ask for extra towels.. but we enjoyed would go back need more people entertainment not staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

more outsider entertainment at night no local people

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
May 21, 2009

Excellent

The hotel is very affordable and has really good staff service. The service from the empoyees was great. I will recoomend it anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kenosha, WI
May 21, 2009

Definitely would go back!

When we first got there we were in a suite with a king bed, we were to have 2 beds, one for us and the other for or 8 year old. After speaking with the front desk- this was resolved very quickly. Be patient and be courteous, there will be a language barrier. The staff is excellent, very friendly. We appreciated the different restaurants, make sure you make all reservations when you arrive for you will be eating late. The beach facilities were excellent. Plenty of chairs, however not necessarily enough umbrellas. We went on an excursion, swimming with the sharks and stingrays. It was such a great experience. The room we stayed in was an oceanfront suite- it needs some updating. Hot water was not always available, then again for us this was not the most important since we spent the majority of our time at the pool or beach. In regards to snacks- there wasn't your typical snacks you would think. We stayed at an all inclusive in Mexico where for example snacks were nachos, pizza slices, ice cream, etc. this really was something we felt was missing from the menu. Overall we think it was an excellent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations early for each night you are staying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
xke jaguar
Business
New York
May 21, 2009

Punta Cana Trip

I RELAXED ON BEACH. THE BEST STAFF AT THE HOTEL WERE THE TWO LADIES IN THE Premium Club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a premium club the provides a one of a kind excellent exprience. Good food and staff service. One can relax and enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Appleton Wisconsin
May 20, 2009

Loved It

If you are looking for a beautiful place to vacation, fun, yet relaxing this place is great. Has everything for a great vacation. Gorgeous huge beach. Two huge pools. Lots of fun activities. Delicious food. Beautiful location and grounds. Dominican Republic is a poverty stricken island but has some of the most beautiful beaches in the world, so... if you are an excessively picky person who expects a five star Ritz Carlton then go to a Ritz Carlton, otherwise stay here and you will have a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
May 18, 2009

Had a great stay for the most part

Our room was great overlooking the beach and the trapeze. Food was fine for the most part; not great. Wait staff did their best to be hospitable and friendly/courteous. It was unfortunate that the hosts and hostesses were just the opposite. Perhaps they don't know the true meaning their title. Some hosts/hostesses acted as if they owned the resort and not very professional. The wait staff were much better and did their best to cater to your needs. Pool great, beach was amazing, trapeze staff were the best and did their best to make it memorable for you! See Carlos at the Spa and he will do his best for you! Overall a great value and recommendable. 3.5 stars of 5 would be fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Within a 10 minute walking distance to the front of the compound gate. Make sure you negotiate aggressively. I bought a canvas artwork initially priced at $85 for $20!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hartford, CT
May 18, 2009

Relaxing Getaway

This was our first time in the Dominican Republic and I have to say that it was fantastic! I read a lot of questionable reviews before our trip to this resort and was worried about what we would find when we arrived. As many other people mention, I have no idea why anyone would complain. We had a beautiful room that was nice and cool. We stayed for a week and only had one day where they cleaned our room late, at 5pm and we wanted to shower and get to dinner. The restaurants were great though we didn't get to try them all. I'm a picky eater and didn't want to be too adventurous but there was something for everyone. The weather was beautiful for most of the trip. The resort wasn't packed and there were always plent of chairs around the pool and on the beach to choose from. The pools were very large and relaxing. We made sure to tip everyone, even though they say it's included. People always smiled and said Hola when we walked by and tried to speak English the best they could. Night time entertainment was a little lacking, but there were still events going on and that left plenty of time to relax and get up the next morning to head out to the beach. We also went to the Animal Adventure Park where we got our pictures taken holding all different kinds of animals and went swimming with the dolphins. It was great! We actually got to ride the dolphins and it is very personal. Buying pictures at the park and resort are a rip off because they charge you so much, but if you want the pictures enough, you'll pay. We bought some pictures on the beach holding parrots and everyone thinks the birds or the beach look fake because it's so beautiful. I'd go back anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

We brought $150 worth of pesos because we didn't know what to expect, but I wouldn't bring them if I went back. Everything in the resort and on excursions was charged in dollars and you could pay cash or credit card so the hassle of getting foreign currency was a waste.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top