$150 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
598 out of 598
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Will Try Another Resort
Business
United States
Jul 5, 2009

Price Performer, But Has Rough Spots

The rooms are outdated, about 25-30 years old is my guess. From what we learned after arriving if you don't get a room in buildings 1, 2, or 3, STAY HOME. We were in bldg. 6, outdated, the bathroom fixtures barely worked as they were simply worn out. The place is reasonably clean, but not spick and span clean. The staff is unorganized and not very helpful, check-in was chaotic and took about 3 hours. Prepare to get nicely aggressive; it is the only way to get through to the staff. We got our room assignment and bracelets then headed to bar to wait for two hours for our room to be cleaned. The common grounds were reasonably nice, but you could tell they were fairly old. The beach and water are wonderful; however, the hotel staff rarely cleaned up after guests who left glasses and dishes lying around in the beach area. A little care and picking up the beach area on daily basis would have made it near perfect. The gym sucked, outfitted with outdated equipment. We felt shortchanged on the specialty restaurants as we only got 2 dinners, we tried to get a third but was turned down. Otherwise the resort food was reasonable. Forget the [...]/Orbitz airport transportation, save your money. It was run by a local tour operator named COCO Tours, the ride from the airport to the hotel was fine; but they failed to show at the pre-agreed to time on return trip. We were so close missing our flight that we ended up being forced to grab a cab that we had to pay for to make our flight. Even after repeated contact with the COCO Tour agent, they were a no-show. Grab your own cab and save yourself the frustration. If you looking simply at price and want to go on the cheap, this place is a reasonable choice, if you want top quality and something really special, LOOK ELSEWHERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy Floridian
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 30, 2009

"Said to be, what never was"

It was absolutely a terrible experience. I would never stay there again, not even for free. Lobster is promised to be served in a daily basis and I never saw it. Very good place for those who like to be sorrounded by scandaluos company, heavy eaters and drinking people. Very high prices in stores and on whatever article not included. Lack of professionalism evrywhere around, being so friendly make them be disrespectful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Due to the size of the building you have to walk a lot to go to any restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mlugo
Business
new york
Jun 30, 2009

Beautiful Hotel, Bad customer service

I love the hotel me and my husband enjoyed it very much. It was very clean . we spend more of our time tanning on the beach, so we really didn't get out of the resort. I really didn't like room service it was 4 in the afternoon and the room still wasn't clean. U had to ask them to bring you towels to the room, and the room smell musty. At the bar they would ignore u, and when they felt like it they would take care of u.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

They have a lot of activities going on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
super cuba
Business
MIAMI, FLORIDA
Jun 28, 2009

bad

the rooms smell bad because there are a lot humidy, they don't change the sheet every day and the pilow smell bad too, the beach towels smell bad, the most important thing is the air conditioner of the rooms is terrible. For me was terribleeeeee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy and family
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 28, 2009

The Horrible and Excellent Experience

When I arrived the room (5104) was Horrible the humidity smell was disgusting, roaches in the refrigerator it was impossible to stay there, so they changed me to another room (4308) which was a little better was it was not what I paid for; so they said to be at the lobby by 8:30 AM the following day to request another room. On Tuesday at 8AM I was in the lobby and spoke to Orbitz representative [...] he was EXCELLENT, he promised me a remodeled room by 3PM, unfortunately it was not given but I called him on his cell and he said that by 5:15PM my new room (2118) was going to be given and yes it was and it was EXECELLENT. I started to enjoy my vacations on Tuesday after 5:15PM. I forgot to add that my plane leaving Miami, Florida was delayed for 6 hours it was bad, we got to the Hotel around 1:30AM versus to 8:30PM scheduled arrival time. I would like to add that it was really nice after Tuesday everything was Great I really enjoyed it. Why I went through such a bad experience at the beginning I have no idea why the Hotel did this, but it upset me to the point that my blood pressure went up and on that night I wanted to leave Punta Cana and return to the USA. It should have never happened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flo the single traveler
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 25, 2009

Paradise feels like at home

The beach and the pools are phenomenal. The staff extremely competent and friendly. The place is huge but somehow manages to make you feel like at home. I had a very quiet room looking over the gardens which I had requested for its quietness. It was an awsome short vacation for me and I went by myself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

stick to the restaurants on the third floor - however, you need reservations - the buffets are OK but not so great-

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
amos4182
Business
Maine
Jun 25, 2009

Beautiful Outside, needs work inside

The hotel staff was very nice, and friendly and the pool and beach areas were beautiful. I've traveled to a lot of Caribbean destinations and this is by far the best beach I've seen. The rooms are disgusting. Our shower had not been cleaned, there was hair and dirt all in it. The room smelled of must or mold and our sheets even seemed to have mildew in the corner. Apparently this resort is under renovation and we did not get a renovated room. I would not stay here unless you get a new room. The buffets were average, you won't go hungry. The a la carte restaurants were fantastic. They tell you that you need a reservation but if you go to the restaurant you will most likely have to wait a bit and can eventually get in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 24, 2009

Barcelo is as good as you make it...

The overall problem is that only half of the hotel was renovated. Check in is a NIGHTMARE! we had a group for a wedding, and half the rooms were not ready for 4 hours. The other rooms were decent, but I paid for a Club Premium Suite with two beds and got a regular Suite with one King and a couch with a pull out bed, which did not make my buddy happy. I know that sounds picky, but after seeing what other people paid the same for and it was a Club Suite, you know you have been bait and switched. The hotel is constantly over booked, and I even saw couple crying in the lobby because they flew to the island and there was no rooms and no where to go. The food was average, just eat at the Japanese place every night and you will be fine. I will be calling Orbitz for a refund, a big one.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for a room in section 1,2,or 3. The are incredible better then the section 4,5,6, and 7. Make sure the room number above you door includes the title "Club Suite" if that is what you paid for. Trust me, its the difference between a old, smelly, moldy room with furniture, appliances, working AC, and TV's from the 80's with leaky ceilings vs. Flat panels, Asian art and furniture, and better service. And take a cab to Imagine, the club in a cave. Unbelievable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Britt&Kev
Business
Florida
Jun 24, 2009

Pleased :)

We chose this hotel for our Honeymoon. It was definetly a good deal! We were pleased with most everything. We had an amazing location for our room Building 3 it was located right above the lobby and could pretty much view both pools from our room balcony along with non-obstructed view of the gorgeous ocean. It was a oceanview renovated room that we were satisfied with being as it wasn't outrageously priced. The only downfall to our great room location was that the buffet was only two stories below us and you could hear the clanging of the dishes being washed LATE at night & EARLY morning. The staff in all were pretty accomadating and the bartenders at the swim-up bar were GREAT! We woke up our first morning there to a terrible thunderstorm and lost power. We looked at each other thinking that this was probably the beginning of the "END" of our trip that the power would be an issue. But no more than 20min later power was fully restored, I was truly impressed. Also Japanese Rest. Tokio was very delicious :) :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Candlelight Dinner on the beach was AMAZING :) and two guys even came out with instruments and sang to us as a surprise while we were eating all alone by candle light on the beach. If you are on your Honeymoon make sure that you go to "Guest Services" desk and request this :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 23, 2009

Barcelo Punta Cana

The pools and beach were beautiful and well maintained. The water activities were a definate plus and enjoyed by our family. However, the pools close at 8:00 so we couldn't swim after dinner with the kids. The staff was rude and not very helpful at all. It is in your best interest to speak Spanish to really enjoy hospitality of this hotel. We tried to purchase $4,000 in jewelry at the hotel shop, but they were unable to handle a purchase that big and wanted to break it down into small purchases, and the staff was very unsure of the large purchase and how to conduct it. The photo shop staff was just uniterested in helping us with the purchase of photos of our family on the beach. We felt like we were imposing by coming into the store. The internet library tried to charge us twice for service for the week. It wasn't worth it since we were unable to send emails and we only got online 3 times the entire week. We had to ask for enough towels to accomidate the amount of people in our rooms and request toliet paper on more than one occassion. The showers drained onto the bathroom floor and were very dangerous to get in and out of. The food was average and the reservation system to get reservations for dinner in the restaurants on the resort was a nightmare. We were unable to get reservations to any of the restaurants for our party of 7 the entire week we were there. The tour service Orbitz uses was average. We enjoyed the snorkel excursion but were unable to go shopping due to the poor planning of the tour company. We waited 1 1/2 hours for our transportation to take us shopping before we found out that he was a no-show. We would come back to Punta Cana for the amazing beaches but not stay in this hotel. The shop's staff was rude and the hospitality was poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top