$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
603 out of 603
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 7, 2010

Horrible Experience!

The resort itself has a beautiful facility with great pools and spectacular beachfront. However, the unhelpful staff (including front desk, managers,waiters,& room attendants) make it an unpleasurable experience. We were unable to participate in watersports because there are limited supplies and times available. The gym has very old equipment and is very dirty. Housekeeping takes very long, and your room may not be done until after 3PM. I had to request towels at the front desk in person three times because there weren't sufficient in the room, and I never received them. Pools and bars should open later. Disco needs to be renovated and placed in another area that doesn't make it smell like sewer. Theater performances in English were poor; only enjoyed the performance with typical dances of DR. 7 out of 9 travelers had food poisoning by Day 4 of our trip. I've traveled quite a bit and have never experienced this. At the end of the day, the staff's attitude makes all the difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We had fun on two excursions out of the hotel: mudding on dune buggies and riding speed boats to snorkel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sad mommy
Business
Northen, New Jersey
Jul 7, 2010

Worst resort I ever stayed at

This was by far the worst resort I have ever stayed in. It is all a facade. Looks beautiful on the outside very ugly on the inside. It was filthy. the cleaning person didn't spend more than 10 mins in the room, as it appeared. The shower and tube were surrounded in mold. The shower leaked onto the floor every time a shower was taken, 4 towels were needed to soak up the water. The shower above us leaked everyday which was fixed when we put a towel up in the ceiling tile. After several calls to the front desk, who don't even attempt to care, it was never resolved. Also, our refrigerator was sitting in 2 inches of water. when was brought to the repair man's attention he said he would take care of it. After we returned to our room we found his solution to the problem, he put a towel in front of the refrigerator. That was never resolved. After a visit to "Customer relations" to notify them that there was a broken door stop that was sheared off with a jagged rusty edge and I was fearful of my 8 yr old cutting his foot on it. I was told it would be taken care of, it was never resolved. They were very generous with towels, because apparently towels solve all problems! In the dining room I witnessed a waitress clear a table take a dirty napkin swipe the table a couple of times and then reset the table on the same table cloth. Several times we were seated at a table with dirty table clothes, my 8 yr old was even disgusted. The food was an absolute disgrace. I believe I've had better food in a hospital cafe! The 10% of us that were tourist all agreed the food was horrible. The lobster, I'm not sure I can really call it that was a white pastie mess. No real lobster meat to be found. Some days we'd get glass of water(don't dare ask for a refill, it will never come) other days a bottle of water. There was a dress code for the tourists and none for the local Dominican's. On some occasions Local teenagers arrived via school bus and took over the pools with their partying and drinking. Which by the way when finished with their drinks would leave their cups all over the pool and in the water. For the quiet pool, there was no such thing when the teenagers were around.Now that I mentioned that the locals were aloud in on a daily basis. It seems That the Barcelo only wants to cater to The locals. On the days that they weren't there the was no trapeze instructor or rock all instructor, all was in full service when the school buses pulled up. Barcelo was Noisy with Partying until 4am everyday and nothing was ever done about. This so called family Resort was all teenagers and alcohol.Throughout out our stay we ran into a lot of vacationers whom all feel that this resort was the absolute most horrible resort that they have ever stayed in. On a daily basis there were lines of people waiting to complain about the hazards, filth and disgust of Barcelo. Barcelo should be ashamed of themselves. I would never stay in a Barcelo resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do yourself a favor and Never stay at a Barcelo Resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maryte
Business
LA, Ca
Jul 7, 2010

Fantastic family vacations

This was very good. I really enjoyed my vacations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Jul 6, 2010

Summer getaway

Average service. Our room had 2 leaks from the roof so when it rains the floor got wet. There were ants in our room. The beach and pool areas were the best for this hotel. The food and drinks were not very good. A-la-carte restaurants were better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Punta Cana wow
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 4, 2010

Couple's first time in the caribbean

Great way to relax and experience the beautiful coast. Perfect sea, perfect sand, perfect palm trees. The all inclusive adds to the feeling of relaxation and fun, and helps making this vacation a really good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx, NY
Jul 2, 2010

Terrible Resort

This was the worst resort i have stayed at. The staff is unfriendly. The entire stay you serve your self. Even while you are at the beach you have to walk back to the resort for a drink. There is never any staff member available or asking you for a drink. The food sucks and it's the same food every single day. In order to make reservation for a restaurant you have to wait on a line everyday at 9am and by the time you arrive to the front all resturants are full by 9:45am. During my stay the lights went off 3xtime. The bathrooms were always extremely dirty with no toilet tissue. We waited over 2hours for dinner at the restaurants and the food was disgusting. The pool was always dirty including the chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The entertainment was the only service that made our vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jul 1, 2010

Not The Best

For the most part it was an enjoyable vacation, but there were definatly parts that made it a little uncomfortable. The beds in the rooms were amaizing, but they have a real ant problem in a lot of the rooms, plus the walls a paper thin...you hear EVERYTHING! Most of the staff was friendly and would love to help no matter if you spoke spanish or not, but others seemed offended and wouldn't give you the same service if you spoke in english. I speak a little spanish but everyone assumed I only spoke english and when I spoke to them in spanish they seemed offended. I also got sick, and I believe it was from the food. The food leaves much to be desired as well...it was very bland at the buffet and the resturants were hard to get into. We were turned away twice when there were empty tables. Our room had hot water when it wanted to and horrible preasure when it wanted. We called someone to fix it, but he didn't get it fixed. There also wasn't a lot to do and they were slightly vague about activities. It would be a good vacation for people with children, the kids program made ME envious! It was an alright experiance, but I wouldn't recommend it and I doubt I'd ever stay there again. I have deffinatly stayed at better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 30, 2010

Would not go back

Staff not very friendly or accommodating....they even ran out of clean towels and we waited hours....food in buffet not very good...specialty restaurants were good if you actually got a reservation(if you got online at 815am and the people infront of you were travelling in small parties) and only 2 restaurants open per night even though they have 4. Would not travel to again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crux
Business
New York
Jun 29, 2010

The good, bad and the ugly.

I don't ask for too much, but we have to move from the first room because a water leak coming from the bathroom ceiling right on top of your head when sitting on the toilet. When we moved to the next room, that one also had a water leak in the bathroom coming from the upper bathroom bathtub to mine. It was a horrible experience. The food at the buffet also terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wagner D.A.
Business
Manassas Va.
Jun 28, 2010

Punta Cana

When we arrived at the hotel I did not have a problemwith reservation, but my brother [...] did not have a reservation, they wanted to charge us for his roombecause [...], Whe argue with them for hoursthey didn't know what to do, was not a pleasent time for us since we were supposed to be on vacation and, we were tired and all we wanted was our room.[...]I think we deserve something for what we went through

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top