$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms Cola
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 21, 2014

Girls Getaway

This hotel was average..for what I paid for it. Needs some updating on the rooms and other areas of the hotel. Me and my friends had our own separate rooms...And none of us had face towels or hand towels...We keep asking everyday...and finally on the 4th and last night....we got them. Plus they don't give you clean towels everyday, you have to keep reusing them. It was not enough staff to run the hotel even though they were very nice. The amenities, food were good and the beach was beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Imagine Night Club was a nice experience.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommy and daddy getaway
Business
NJ
May 21, 2014

If your looking for a beautiful AFFORDABLE hotel this is for you

Though the price was great, food was ok. Everything needed a little cleaning up. Beach was amazing as usual in Punta Cana. Bar was good. Bed was super comfortable, no bugs like other people comment. I now prefer a smaller hotel this was huge to many teenagers for me. I'm 27 and there were groups of 14-17 years olds acting crazy our whole trip. But we still had an awesome stay. If your looking for something beautiful and affordable book this hotel! But if your very picky and particular, keep looking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I'm a buffet person so I wanted to try the buffet the first night, fail! Book reservations for a restaurant at the hotel for each night. PS. Bartenders are very generous with the alcohol.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ITorres
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 13, 2014

Great place

It was a wonderful stay at this hotel. I would go again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gw1023
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
May 11, 2014

Decent resort for the money

Checking in at this resort was quite the hassle. I arrived at 6pm and finally got a room at 8:30pm. The first room they brought us too hadn't been cleaned yet, so they brought us all the way back down. The second room they left us in, had no door knob on the inside of the room, so we got locked in and had to get ourselves out because they would not come and get us out. I smashed my finger in the door getting us out ourselves. If you don't speak Spanish, it's very hard to communicate with the people working at this resort. The representative who was assigned to us was never on site, we could only find him on the first morning we were there and then never again. Some of the staff is very friendly and tried to be helpful, but in general, this is not a very accommodating resort. It was unlike any other resort I've ever stayed at on a vacation. The food was not very good either at any of the restaurants other than the Japaneese restaurant. Also, their are a lot of teenage kid groups that stay at this resort, so if you're going as a couple looking to relax, you might want to stay at an adults only resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring everything you will possibly need. For example, if you smoke bring your own or buy them at the airport. Bring bug spray and hydrocortisone cream with you. The Mosquitos are very bad and if you have the type of reaction I had to them you will need that stuff and the prices for anything in their market is ridiculously high. It's $30 US just for some Benadryl.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deefore
Business
Charlotte NC
Apr 30, 2014

Below average

It took 2 hrs to check in at the hotel. The lobby staff appeared rude and didn't care if you had made the trip after hours on a plane. I waited forever to check in and when I was checked in, I was told I would have to wait till 4pm before I could get a room. By then lunch was over and I was told to go to the snack bar to get something to eat. When it got to the room, the bed was something I never expected. Very cheap beds. The room was spacious though. The bathroom looked dirty with stains in the tub and cracked toilet. The little fridge looked horrible and was all iced up. The drinks at the bars were all watered down. It's meant to be all inclusive but you'll have to pay to get the better drinks. My apartment is bigger than the casino. I remembered asking the wait staff in the cafeteria for coke and she told me to hold on while she cleared all the tables by mine. She only took my cup after I had gotten up to get the coke myself. I asked for hot sauce vas I didn't get it till after my good was almost finished. The breakfast was ok though. You can't go wrong with breakfast. The hotel is huge and wifi works well but not free. I won't be staying at this hotel again. Back to the RIU for me or sandals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Not worth it.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lotus 2005
Business
colchester, vt
Mar 30, 2014

disappoining

the hotel was old and out dated. Food subpar. Staff adveage and not helpful. Lot under hand deals. was not a professnial run resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deissy
Business
New Jersey
Jan 28, 2014

Great place to enjoy with family

Good service,good food and the hotel stuff are very friendly and respectfully

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jay Crowe
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jan 21, 2014

Perfectly Fine All Inclusive

I would have given this 5 stars all around if i had not previously been to an absolutely wonderful all inclusive resort on D.R. Just a few small criticisms: --Gave us a king bed instead of two twins --May only have 1 pool towel a day --Strict times for meals, no clocks anywhere --Restaurants for dinner required reservations made in the morning, no flexibility on this --Did not refill mini bar every day as advertised. Otherwise perfectly beautiful time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luis sorry traveler
Business
westchester n.y.
Dec 9, 2013

Big-time renovations needed

My experience was Horrible!! On our second day it rained like crazy, that's ok ..can't control the weather. At about two am I hear water drops in the room. I turn on lights and see water is coming in from ceiling and seeping in through the wall. Had to put trash can to catch some of the water and spread towels around to contain it...no sleep that night. Next day before they could find us a new room it rained again; another flood. Being who we are we used towels to dry the floor before moving. We get the next room and find there is a leak under the bathroom sink. A big blob of caulking was used to seal a pipe joint. Again put paper waste basket to catch the water. Trough our stay the elevator and ice machines in every floor were out of order. Saw roaches in the second room, men's room and while having a drink at the bar. Big time renovations needed. I asked the front desk if they would consider giving us a discount but were told we booked through agency and should deal with agency. Horrible vacation!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Find another hotel!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Barcelo Customer
Business
New York NY
Nov 13, 2013

Relaxing vacation

Thank you Barcelo for a great vacation! You have a wonderful resort

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top