$136 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
573 reviews
great get away

everything was great from staff to food. made me feel welcomed. See full review

  • Damaris330
  • Jul 24, 2014
Great

Lots of fun. Staff is friendly. Kids pool. Adults pool with bar. Beach is right on the outskirts. See full review

  • Nuuk
  • Jul 21, 2014
Mediterranean-style Punta Cana hotel spoils with all-inclusive luxury

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Policies and fees
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.7321 -68.4737
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)- Estimated distance 32 km.
Area description
Located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach of Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - 32 km (25 minutes)to the Punta Cana International Airport, 65 km to Higuey, the nearest city.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (573)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
573 out of 573
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
ohio
Jul 17, 2011

I guess you get what you pay for!!

The hotel room we stayed in smelled like a basement, musty, it was in the old part next to the casino, i called the first day because the balcony door did not lock and they never came to fix it. We called daily to have our mini and i mean mini fridge stocked with Diet Coke and that also never happened. The beach and daily entertainment were the best parts of the week. The pool area is very big and nice, but they do not have the help to keep it clean. Empty cups and straws all over the place from the swim up bar. We will definetly return to Punta Cana, hands down the most beautiful beach, but will never return or recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

You must make reservations the morning of, but good luck with that,they are always booked for the numerous dinners before 9 AM. And when you do get to the dinner, it is never full, because again, they do not have the staff to service it. Be prepared to at least spend a hour to two hrs at dinner and good luck with refills...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
PR
Jul 12, 2011

Bavaro palace

Of all the hotels I've been, this is the worst so far. Restaurants were closed, and there was no accomodation on the opened ones. And when we walked by them, they were not full. Drinks are awful! Service was bad, entertaining ended around 10:30pm. The hotel was reaaaaally full of locals, and even the people that works there complained about that! No towels, if some food was gone in the buffet, they took too long to put more. It is not a good hotel. And when I complained with a manager, normally anywhere else I get a let see what I can do and there she said that there's nothing she can do! Bad experience! Don't recommend the hotel to anyone! And there's no bottled water available. Considering the cholera situation, that is a must!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The beach is beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
bayamon, PR
Jul 12, 2011

clean hotel but 10% customer service

First day we arrive with no problems we got a deluxe with oceanview don't waste your money with club premium its a piece of shed .second was awesome but again the customer services suck third day we went to the buggy adventure it was very good. But this is very important hint for everyone the employees there are like three steps ahead of you there always trying to get something out of you everytime .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Tokio Japanese restaurant one of the best!! If you feel like party go to imagine outside the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Chicago, IL
Jul 11, 2011

Worst vacation experience in my life

[...] the bathroom had water leaking on the floor from a broken toilet tank. 2. CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! what Service? the service was HORRIBLE - ZERO! ZERO! The buffet food was not good, the best meal was at the Japanese restaurant for the first night - we try again the second night and it was a mess (different chef or should I say waiter/floor sweepter/chef) I understand the workers had many duties which is beyond their control but if Management want to visitors to return to Barcelo Punta Cana - they need to have major work done to the hotel bathrooms - It was scarry to use thinking you may end up with more germs by just getting your hands washed. Yes, the beach was lovely but after doing early morning walks with other English speaking vacationers from Boston, Maryland, South Carolina, Philly this hotel is not acceptable for people who travel on vacation on a regular basis nad knows what customer service is like - yes I know the weather is hot and there is cultureal differences in the way we do things but this kind of service is unaccpetable. In addition some of the guest from other Spanish speaking countries were so rude we Americans felt like we were invading their territory. I have gone to Mexico and Spain, France and other countries whose language is not enlgish and was never treated in such a rude manner before. This horrible experience was shared by many Americans who stayed at this hotel - we all had a big joke of the crazy, sickness and other stuff we experience while standing in line at the airport to board our respective flights - each person had a bad experience at their respective hotel. Yes, there were French Canadian, Germans, people from Cuba, Venuzula and other spanish speaking countries and if they are ok with this kind of service we are not and Barcelo Punta Cana is not ready to accomodate us. A group of us is planning to create a website of our horrible experiences - Yes the beach is great but that's all we had going - normally you go to an all inclusive hotel and you have activities for the children here it wa sjust the music on it's own an that was it. Would I ever recommend anyone to this hotel ot location NEVER - ther are too many other beautiful hotels in the Caribbean to waste our money. One lady ordered wash rags and she did not get them until 3 days after and the next day the room attendant took them and did not replace them. THE WORST VACATION EVER - only light was the beautiful beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
St. Louis, MO
Jul 11, 2011

some good, some not so good.

The beach was beautiful,the pools were clean, and the drinks were good. We thought the hotel was nice, our room was updated and clean. Towels were hard to come by though. It would make sense to provide clean towels each day when the room is cleaned. We don't mind reusing towels, but when showering a couple of times a day and nothing really dries...it's wet to say the least. Food was bland and looked the same; I recognize you are trying to feed many people with differents tastes but there could have been more flavor (I can't imagine the Domincan people being blad), more seafood and the meats were low quality (pressed). The food was probably the biggest disappointment. Even in the restaurants that required reservations, it was just so so. Do NOT get the Henna tattoos beach side. It faded in 2 days not 2 weeks and my daughter had small blisters and her skin dramatically changed color where the henna had been. We watched her clean everything but appearently the henna is cheap. Finally, the spa is great! The people were nice, it was clean and so very relaxing! It was the one thing I really wanted to do for me on my trip and it was well worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We booked at shuttle trip to Santo Domingo. We were told the trip was 2-1/2 hours and really it took 4-1/2 hours...so be prepared unless you travel after 2013 and there is supposed to be a highway to actually make it around 2 hours. Also, make sure you speak Spanish and can properly negotiate what you want to do on the tour. Our guide, Nilo, kept saying he didn't decide where we were going as far as food and shopping but he managed to take us to a crummy cafeteria type lunch spot and only tourist type shopping. He said, that the company that OVER-booked the tour made the arrangements but he knew all the people really well and most likely was getting a cut. Also, an Indian couple who didn't eat meat were on the tour. They were guaranteed there would be plenty of selection but that was definitely not the case, so pack food if you have dietary restrictions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deekz
Detroit, MI
Jul 11, 2011

keep it to 5 days or less

The Hotel was very nice, room was small but had a nice view and was clean. The food was ok, it was very difficult to get resrevations at the restaurants and the Buffet gets old after a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lexington, KY
Jun 29, 2011

Paradise

The trip was wonderful! The most beautiful beach I've ever seen. The hotel was wonderful too. It was a nice touch to get robes and slippers upon arrival. Also, since it was our 18th anniversary, we received a plate of fruit and a bottle of champange. We really liked the specialty restaurants too. There was more of a variety than I thought it would be. Even though we paid extra for a deluxe room, it was still a little dated. The pictures on the website of that room does not show wear of the room. The 2 pools were nice and large. However, some of the guest could have cleaned up after themselves. Dispite those few little cons, I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the specialty restaurants. You do have to stand in line the morning of your reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jun 28, 2011

Very Bad All Inclusive

This was the worst resorts we've been in. We have stayed in Dominican Republic in Melia Tropicale and Riu Palace. In Mexico we've stayed in Barcelo palace. This is an OLD property probably bought from another owner but they're just rebranding and repainting it and making superficial repairs. 1. Cracks everywhere on the fascade 2. rooms (had 2) smell like mildew. Furniture inside appears to be something you find at Goodwill or thrift store. Beds Horrible. Bathrooms with rusted old fixtures. Basically a motel room. 3. Our balcony would not close properly, son was bitten all over body by mosquitos. They tried to repair balcony 2 times after many calls to manager. No repairs really helped. 4. Only 1 Buffet. Food not good for money paid. Although desserts excellent. 5. Let locals in on the weekend (masses of people since they get great discounts). 6. Gym equipment all rusted, archaic (they claim the hotel to be 7 ears old!!!) After 2nd day we had enough. I could not bear to be there for another week. It was my 40th birthday and I was on vacation with my wife, 2 kids, and mother in law. We complained to the manager who was nice enough to transfer us to Barcelo Palace which was an excellent property, incomparable to this. We had a great vacation staying at the palace. As we were leaving my mother in law checked her purse which she did not lock up in the safe, the housekeeper managed to sneak out a $100 bill from the envelope inside. We filed a report, of course we did not except anything to come out of it. Dont be deceived by the beautiful photos, this is a horrible resort. Please do not stay here unless you get some super deal. And lock up your stuff in the safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Gonz
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 28, 2011

Barcelo Punta Cana

Experience was very good! The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The buffet service for drinks was a bit slow and the TV in my hotel did not get a signal. I called serveral times about the tv and they told me they would send someone to fix it but it never got fixed. Those are the only negative points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kim Super Disgusted
Middletown, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

TERRIBLE SERVICE- NEVER AGAIN!

Ok, well to start we arrived on a Friday where the pools were filled with locals wearing full clothing in the pools, when I say filled I mean FILLED! They (the locals) had no respect for the other tourest at the hotel and were very disrespectful towards Americans. I just read that they offer discount prices to locals so they can fill the hotel and they bus them in from all over. If you do not speak spanish dont bother,you will be ignored and there will be no attempt to communicate with you at all. The staff were very rude, once again, if you were American you were put off and ignored and those who spoke spanish were treated with priority. Good luck trying to find a staff member who does speak English. The food was poor but you can get by. The grounds of the hotel, the hotel itself and the beach were very nice. Everyone except for myself got sick, this includes many other toursest staying at the resort and everyone on the plane was talking about how sick they got at their resorts. FYI...based on overhearing other conversations on the plane this seemed to be a common thing at all the reports including the rudness towards Americans. I would never ever stay at Barcelo again here or the Barcelo in Mexico as we had a bad experience there as well. Live and Learn as we always like to give a second change. Customer Service NOT!!!! NEVER AGAIN!!! As my husband was saying under his breath to others checking in SAVE YOUSELF!!! Beware of the local vendors who come to the resort every other day to sell goods, they will stalk you!!! I dont ask for much and I was not expecting 5 star but some respect, aknowledgement and smile from the staff would of been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of single dollar bills...LOTS!!! They will not give you change in American money, only pesos!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top