$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
ohio
Jul 17, 2011

I guess you get what you pay for!!

The hotel room we stayed in smelled like a basement, musty, it was in the old part next to the casino, i called the first day because the balcony door did not lock and they never came to fix it. We called daily to have our mini and i mean mini fridge stocked with Diet Coke and that also never happened. The beach and daily entertainment were the best parts of the week. The pool area is very big and nice, but they do not have the help to keep it clean. Empty cups and straws all over the place from the swim up bar. We will definetly return to Punta Cana, hands down the most beautiful beach, but will never return or recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

You must make reservations the morning of, but good luck with that,they are always booked for the numerous dinners before 9 AM. And when you do get to the dinner, it is never full, because again, they do not have the staff to service it. Be prepared to at least spend a hour to two hrs at dinner and good luck with refills...

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deekz
Couples
Detroit, MI
Jul 11, 2011

keep it to 5 days or less

The Hotel was very nice, room was small but had a nice view and was clean. The food was ok, it was very difficult to get resrevations at the restaurants and the Buffet gets old after a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta, GA
Jun 28, 2011

Very Bad All Inclusive

This was the worst resorts we've been in. We have stayed in Dominican Republic in Melia Tropicale and Riu Palace. In Mexico we've stayed in Barcelo palace. This is an OLD property probably bought from another owner but they're just rebranding and repainting it and making superficial repairs. 1. Cracks everywhere on the fascade 2. rooms (had 2) smell like mildew. Furniture inside appears to be something you find at Goodwill or thrift store. Beds Horrible. Bathrooms with rusted old fixtures. Basically a motel room. 3. Our balcony would not close properly, son was bitten all over body by mosquitos. They tried to repair balcony 2 times after many calls to manager. No repairs really helped. 4. Only 1 Buffet. Food not good for money paid. Although desserts excellent. 5. Let locals in on the weekend (masses of people since they get great discounts). 6. Gym equipment all rusted, archaic (they claim the hotel to be 7 ears old!!!) After 2nd day we had enough. I could not bear to be there for another week. It was my 40th birthday and I was on vacation with my wife, 2 kids, and mother in law. We complained to the manager who was nice enough to transfer us to Barcelo Palace which was an excellent property, incomparable to this. We had a great vacation staying at the palace. As we were leaving my mother in law checked her purse which she did not lock up in the safe, the housekeeper managed to sneak out a $100 bill from the envelope inside. We filed a report, of course we did not except anything to come out of it. Dont be deceived by the beautiful photos, this is a horrible resort. Please do not stay here unless you get some super deal. And lock up your stuff in the safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kim Super Disgusted
Family
Middletown, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

TERRIBLE SERVICE- NEVER AGAIN!

Ok, well to start we arrived on a Friday where the pools were filled with locals wearing full clothing in the pools, when I say filled I mean FILLED! They (the locals) had no respect for the other tourest at the hotel and were very disrespectful towards Americans. I just read that they offer discount prices to locals so they can fill the hotel and they bus them in from all over. If you do not speak spanish dont bother,you will be ignored and there will be no attempt to communicate with you at all. The staff were very rude, once again, if you were American you were put off and ignored and those who spoke spanish were treated with priority. Good luck trying to find a staff member who does speak English. The food was poor but you can get by. The grounds of the hotel, the hotel itself and the beach were very nice. Everyone except for myself got sick, this includes many other toursest staying at the resort and everyone on the plane was talking about how sick they got at their resorts. FYI...based on overhearing other conversations on the plane this seemed to be a common thing at all the reports including the rudness towards Americans. I would never ever stay at Barcelo again here or the Barcelo in Mexico as we had a bad experience there as well. Live and Learn as we always like to give a second change. Customer Service NOT!!!! NEVER AGAIN!!! As my husband was saying under his breath to others checking in SAVE YOUSELF!!! Beware of the local vendors who come to the resort every other day to sell goods, they will stalk you!!! I dont ask for much and I was not expecting 5 star but some respect, aknowledgement and smile from the staff would of been nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring lots of single dollar bills...LOTS!!! They will not give you change in American money, only pesos!!!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New Jersey
Jun 25, 2011

Nice hotel, but u get wat u pay 4.

The hotel was very nice and the view from our Ocean View Deluxe Room was stunning, but sometimes the service was really bad. It took forever to get towels and at the buffet it took forever to get water, napkins, and utensils. When Friday came a lot of locals seem to have checked into the hotel and the resort lost the feel of being a resort and turned into a party for locals. I felt that the hotel catered more to the locals rather than the tourists. There was only one club in the resort and there was no music other than merengue, bachata, and salsa played. I wish they would've played a lot more different styles of music, hip hop, techno, pop, etc. I would recommend people to spend a little more money to get a better resort, if this is not possible then you'll definitely get what you pay for. Also, I extremely recommend making the effort to have dinner reservations as many nights as you can, the buffet was like a zoo at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disenchanted...
Friends
Columbus, OH
Jun 23, 2011

Disappointed

Our original flight and first nights stay were cancelled to due to weather issues, however, I was able to find an airline that was flying out on the day we originally planned. I was given a number to the hotel to rebook the room and was transferred about 10 times back and forth with people that said they couldn't help me. When we arrived at the resort, no one explained the restraunt reservations or gave us a map of the resort to orient us. They just wanted to get us in and out the whole trip. The door to our room was partially off the hinges, the safe didn't work and there were no drinks in the wet bar. It took over an hour and a half for someone to come help us with these problems which meant we coudn't leave the room (and our valuables) for this time. Everyday we had to hunt someone down to fill our wet bar so we could bave more water. No one seems to care to help you at all. The resort itself was beautiful and we made the most of a poor hotel, however, I would not recommend or go back to this hotel. When we were leaving, we had asked the front desk to call us a taxi. The man who we had spoken to earlier said he had called them and then as we were walking away, he started laughing with his friend and then called for the taxi. No sense of customer service whatsoever. I won a contest that they did by the pool and each time I asked the head of entertainment for the massage I was supposed to have one he said he had forgotten and "would find me later" which never happened. I was disappointed with the hotel. Luckily I made the experience the best it could be and have learned my lesson...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the disco. Was the best part of the resort.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rockman on the loose
Couples
New York
Jun 22, 2011

The good, the good and the really good

This was my second time at this hotel and I would not change it for anything. The personel are very freindly and they will help you with all your needs. They are very happy at all times

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

If don't have reservations for a restaurant just go to the restaurant you like and ask the waiter, they will gladly help you. I personaly tipped the waiter after dinner for helping us getting a last minute reservation.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mucnj
Family
Atlanta, GA
Jun 13, 2011

Barcelo Punta Cana - 2011 Summer Vacx

Personnel - Excellent treatment by employees at restaurants. Personnel at Check-in did not truly made us feel welcomed, was not helpful providing additional help (which you would have liked to have, especially when you are not aware of the upcoming challenge to make reservation at restaurants). Personnel at Check-out was very helpful and attentive. Not easy access to managers on hallways to help you out on key issues/questions or issues you may have. Restaurants - Both Tokio and Marlin are excellent restaurants to make sure to attend. Quality of food at Paris Rest (French) was definitely mediocre (feel was a waste of time). Were not able to attend Italian or Mexican rest. Biggest challenge is to successfuly getting reservations done to any of the restaurants. It takes lots of luck and patience to deal with Guest Services to try and negotiate at least couple of nights. For us, personally, it appeared as if it always was fully booked. Hotel needs to improve on logistics to provide better options to ensure clients have at least couple nights at restaurants. Rest. El Alcazar is always a backup option, with great service, good options for breakfast and lunch. Bars - Inside the hotel, both available bars have excellent service. Not so on ones surrounding the pool areas. Bartenders are not knowledgeable about specialty drinks, for most drinks they primarily use inferior quality of alcohol products unless you inquire not to do so (eg for Vodka and Rum, they used their national brands as opposed to globally known brands)...Forget about fresh pin~a coladas, daiquiris or margaritas, guys! Night entertainment - Casinos are ok. We were not thrilled about the appearance and overall quality of their night club. Night shows are ok and seem to be repetitive - Not thrilled about them either. Pool & Beach areas - Good access to both of them. Cleanliness of pool water is questionable (first couple of hours in the morning, pool will look awesome). Beach is excellent - A must do!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Of all attractions in the hotel, you must visit the beach, do parasailing and make every effort to attend Tokio restaurant. To us, these 3 activities were most valuable at this hotel. For the money paid and overall quality of the hotel, No, I would not recommend this hotel to a friend.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom Tupa
Friends
NY
Jun 11, 2011

Nice resort, terribly managed

Went on vacation with friends. The management of the resort was horrible. Although there were nice rooms, water went out frequently. Food was mediocre, most of my friends got sick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carribbean Gal
Friends
Long Island, New York
Jun 9, 2011

Nice getaway for the price

This was the first time I ever stayed at an all-inclusive resort and I went with four of my friends. This one was nice but a little dated. It could use some upgrades. I have to say it was very clean and most of the staff was friendly and helpful if they knew how to speak English. The food and drinks were great on certain days and then not too good on others. The restaurants book up very quickly so you have to stand on this long line very early in the morning to make reservations. There was a leak in our bathroom and the sink was clogged. The disco was ok, they mainly played Spanish music which is understandable but they should have played more worldly music to accomadate their guests from the US and Europe. Other than those issues its a nice place to stay if your on a budget and need a quick getaway. PS I dont recommend using Copa Airlines because we had a bad experience when it came to our peronal items and their pilots don't know know how to land planes. It felt like we nearly fell out the sky each time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small flea market right outside the resort.

Back to menu Return to top