$145 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
512 out of 512
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
posa2000
Couples
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 3, 2011

PUNTA CANA BARCELO

The staff was wonderful; the beach was perfect. The food could have been much better and their work-out facilities needed much improvement and better and more modern equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mocho
Couples
Chicago
Sep 11, 2011

Best vacation ever

You can not find a better deal for the money you are paying. The staff is fantastic and the food awesome. White sand front beach and the hotel room is clean. I just arrive today and I would love to come back tomorow. It will be better to book your trip from Sunday trough Friday because the hotel gets very busy with local turists on the weekend. Tip the staff, learn a few words in spanish, they will love it . Dominicans are brear people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Food, drinks, night shows, clubs, pools it is all in the hotel.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pijetset
Friends
Washington, DC, USA
Aug 18, 2011

Not the best

Cons: When I entered my room, I found two people in the beds, I left the room promptly, and was given another room. I found 2 roaches in my room along with a number of ants. There was no hot water during the weekend (when the hotel had more guests). The food wasn't very good overall. Beach towels never seemed to be available. The mini-bar wasn't refilled, despite several requests. The toilet had trouble flushing Pros: The staff is very friendly, which can really make up for the hotel's short-comings. The shows and activities are lots of fun. The pool and beach are great. Overall, there's a lot this hotel needs to improve. It's worth noting that I still enjoyed my trip despite the numerous resort issues, so the service/staff really helped salvage some bad situations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mangu was a great club to visit.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Akron, Ohio
Aug 8, 2011

Had a good time for the money.

It wasn't the nicest hotel, but it was good for the money. We did have a cockroach in the room, but you can find that anywhere. The food could be much better. Also, the hotel gives deals to locals on the weekends, so it didn't seem like much of a vacation spot on the weekends... more like the local hangout. The beach was very nice, and the entertainment was great. My parents went on the trip with us, and it was their anniversary while we were there. They decorated their door, gave them drinks & food in their room, and decorated their table at dinner which was very nice. Some of the servers were a bit rude, but some were great! All in all we had a good time, but I am not too sure we would come back. Next time we will probably spend a little more to get a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't upgrade... you don't get much of anything for what you are paying for.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jose0481
Friends
San Juan, PR
Aug 3, 2011

Great getaway

The hotel was very clean and the rooms very nice and cozy. Service was over the top good and very good price. Pools very clean and spa very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: In Hotel

7 Dining places in the hotel including French, Italian, Japanese, Dominican.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kingozzy
Family
nj usa
Aug 3, 2011

dont recommend this hotel to anyone

the worst vacation a ever had. power went out for 5 hour one night and i got my room by the 3rd day.this hotel is a 4 star hotel, but they forgot to put the - on front of the star

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New Jersey
Aug 1, 2011

Looks can be deceiving

This was my third time to punta cana and I will never go back to Barcelo Punta Cana.. I have stayed in other hotels and the service was great but not at Barcelo Punta Cana.. When we arrived to the hotel to check in they did not have us registered.. When we got to our room we had no hot water and the toilet was not flushing correctly and the bathroom was not cleaned and they did not give us another room till the next day.. The service was not good - most of the employees were not friendly, the restaurants that you didn't have to make a reservation the wait to get your food was very long.. Its a shame because the hotel looks nice in pictures and when you get there and the layout is good but overall I would not stay again.. It was disappointing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Melanie and Ozzy
Family
NJ
Jul 31, 2011

WORST VACATION EVER!!!!

This was the worst vacation my family and I have ever taken! First, when we first got there, we were suppose to check in at 3PM and our room wasn't ready till 7PM. After we got our room, the room was a total mess. The sheets were stained, the air conditioner wasn't working, there was a leakage and we had water coming in so the floor was very very slippery. We were very upset being that we paid almost $4000 for our family trip. We complained and the front desk guy was very nasty and had a terrible attitude. Finally, I was able to speak to a manager and he promised us a better room for the following day. We didn't get our room for another 2 days!! My husband and I, as well as my children had to squeeze in my mother in laws room and sleep on the floor. The following day there was a black out. We had no electricity for the entire night. We depended on candles that whole time, my children were uncomfortable and cranky. It was hot and humid because there was no air conditioning. Horrible! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 24, 2011

Summer Vacation, 2011

The hotel needs updating. There were never clean towels at the pool. The front desk was slow and non reactive. We didnt get our room until 6pm when check in was 3pm. Making dinner reservations was a joke, unless you like eating at 6pm or 930pm. The beach was great, we had nice excursions. Would go back to punta cana, but never a barcelo hotel again. Not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
NEW YORK CITY
Jul 21, 2011

best family getaway

no words to describe but it doesnt get any better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top