$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PAN75
Business
Moscow, Russia
Jan 7, 2012

Absolutely spoiled Holidays

I would never recommend to anyone this hotel in the future. Rooms are dirty, wet, ceilings were leaking at rainy days. Showers and toilets in the room were not working... The hotel staff refused to change the room. From the words of other guests they had the same troubles. Food was more or less good, but the restaurant has a smell of kitchen. Pool & beach towels were absent all the time. To get one sometimes it took more than 1 hour. There was no entertainment at all... Except 2-star casino. The staff was so unfriendly and lazy. Internet connection: in-room - only with a big luck and on a very low speed, at i-cafe - more or less good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
omelia
Business
New Jersey, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Nice hotel and fun programs but food needs an improvment.

We spent few days in XMAS week with the family (teenagers). Hotel is nicely located near the beach. It is not too big like other hotels and distances between the rooms, pools, beach, lobby, and restaurant are all reasonable. The Trapeze activity was a great adventure that we vastly enjoyed. The evening’s entertainments were relatively professional and enjoyable. Rooms are typical hotel rooms. Bathroom was relatively large and comfortable. The main downsize of this resort is the food that was very basic and tasteless. Overall -- good value to the money if food is not your main interest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sarahhhhhh
Business
Clifton, NJ, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Will never go back

The hotel staff was so rude. They would not let us check in before the check in time so we had to wait 4 hours in the lobby for our room to get cleaned. The hotel staff have no idea what they are doing. Each one tells you something different. The food there was also horrible. The japanese rest. was really bad. so was their pizza place and their italian. Also, for each of the specialty restaurants, you need to make a reservation each in the morning that day as soon as you can otherwise there are no more reservations available and you get stuck eating the bad buffet food. The resort was actually beautiful, the hotel staff and their rules for the hotel just absolutely ruined our trip. I will never go back, esp to this hotel. Also, there is nothing to do outside the resort so the whole time you are stuck inside the hotel with the horrible service. trust me, do not go to this hotel! also, there were many bugs in our hotel room. our bathroom was also filthy. there were yellow stains all over the bathroom tub. DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

get your reservations to the specialty restaurants as soon as you wake up that morning!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY32AL
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Very relaxing & worry free

Best vacation i have ever had, this place is beautiful, stuff are friendly and funny. Majority of resort guests come from europe & south america. Food was delicious with free drinks. There was always something to do in resort area, plenty of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CDONE7
Business
Easley, SC, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Nice Hotel, Food & Drinks need some improvement

The Hotel was very nice, clean, roomy, and overall very nice. The Beach was beautiful, nice pools, good entertainment, and plenty to do. Cons: Food and drinks. All the drinks tasted pretty much the same. The buffet was not good, although there is a large variety of foods to choose from on the buffet. I found the food did not agree with me not to mention, I didn't think it was very tasty. I ate from the Pasta Bar daily. Most of the other restaurants require reservations-make sure you get those. The staff was nice overall, although not everyone speaks good English. If you know any Spanish at all, the staff appreciates you trying. The vacation was nice, but not somewhere I would go back to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Japanese restaurant Tokio is very, very good. Service was excellent and I should have eaten there every night. Make reservations.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Drea143
Business
Connecticut, USA
Nov 22, 2011

TERRIBLE!

This hotel was a disaster from the start!! We got there after check in time and it still took over 30 minutes for our room to be ready! Staff was NOT helpful or friendly. When we finally got into our room, the bathroom was dirty, especially the bathtub!! Also the bathroom door had no handle, so when I went to use the bathroom, I got locked inside the bathroom for over 20 minutes! We had to call downstairs to the reception twice for someone to finally come up and get me out of the bathroom. When they came up to the room, they put a door handle on the door and said we were all set. I complained to the hotel manager, after filling out a report, and he simply said, "Well theres a door handle now, isnt there?" ARE YOU SERIOUS?! Not to mention it was my birthday and he did nothing to help the situation. Eventually we said we wanted our money back and we were leaving but he assured us we would be upgraded to premium status and an oceanview room. We were NOT moved into an oceanview room after waiting 2 hours for this room!!!!!!!!!!! The premium status included free wifi throughout the hotel, though it didnt work anywhere except an internet cafe. Food & drinks were disgusting!!! Staff was not friendly and barely spoke a word of english. All the beach chairs were broken on the beach and no servers came around with drinks. I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone. It was awful!! We ended up checking out a day after and booking the rest of our trip at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Buffett food is gross and terrible service!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ImBrewster
Business
Brewster, OH
Nov 14, 2011

Great Time

Check in was a little confused, but overall had a great experience. Loved the shows. Always found something I liked to eat and the staff was real nice. Casino could be a little larger but liked the fact that they paid out tokens instead of a piece of paper. Love the sound of tokens coming out. The relaxation massage was a great value at $20 for 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shelleyp
Business
West Virginia
Nov 5, 2011

Fantastic staff in there shows

The staff in the shows were great! Had two GREAT bartenders. The other staff were very slow. The hotel did not go out of there way to explain the hotel itself as to what was going on. They were also very slow. Was not impressed with the buffet. The other dinner areas which you need reservations were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 3, 2011

PUNTA CANA BARCELO

The staff was wonderful; the beach was perfect. The food could have been much better and their work-out facilities needed much improvement and better and more modern equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
posa2000
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Oct 3, 2011

PUNTA CANA BARCELO

The staff was wonderful; the beach was perfect. The food could have been much better and their work-out facilities needed much improvement and better and more modern equipment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top