$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
660 out of 660
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
natalie j
Business
new york
Aug 11, 2012

great resort but needs more staff for quicker responses

I enjoyed the show and the dance lesson. The beach Olympics and volleyball game was great. The bathroom should have been cleaner before we got there. The room key stopped working twice. The variety of food was good and the restaurants were nice. The staff needs to respond faster when people call. I waited 1 hour til they could send someone to clean the tub and fix the tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hey on line early to make reservations in the morning.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islayunior
Business
Naples, Florida
Aug 9, 2012

Good vacation

That was a really good experience,we had a lot of fun,for me the best staff were the guy from the night show,nice animation from them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I liked the food from all of the restaurant

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jenn2012
Business
Alexandria, VA
Aug 6, 2012

Desapointing family vacation

* The food was different combined with low quality ingredients, lots of fat, salt and most of it room temperature including the milk and other beverages. * The staff looked overwhelmed, tired, and some of them very uncomfortable with the work conditions such as the cooks cooking in uniforms without appropriate ventilation. * The pools did not seem to have an appropriate treatment for the amount of people swimming and drinking at the wet bar. * The pools and beach close at 8pm, which is still daytime and is when the sun is finally not too hot. * There was not much to do after dinner as a family except for the 1 hour show at the theater and 2-hour Karaoke in the hallway of the hotel. * Making reservations for the special restaurants were too complicated and almost impossible. Once in the restaurant, there was a lot of time to wait between the courses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations right after you check-in. For the additional nights, before 9am.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Amanda and William
Business
Georgia
Aug 5, 2012

Not a great place to stay

All inclusive means EVERYTHING IS INCLUDED WITHOUT EXCLUSIONS. The "resort" calls itself all inclusive but that do not allow you to choose what restaurants you want to go to. Of the 7 places to eat every breakfast and lunch are EXACTLY the same everyday! (We stayed 6 nights 7 days). Also, after 3PM they ONLY serve hot dogs and hamburgers and french fries from one location for the entire resort, so if you are scheduled (they schedule you a restaurant based on the number of nights you stay- you don't get to choose) to eat dinner at 9PM you are stuck eating burgers and fries. They say that you can make reservations for different places from the guest services but they are always full 3 minutes after guest services opens. We were so annoyed because the restaurants weren't even full for dinner. They basically force you to go to the buffet- which was not very good in my opinion. There were constantly bugs or birds flying around the buffet, the food was not warm, always looked picked over and if it was close to the end of service (breakfast, lunch or dinner) you can forget choices. About 30 minutes to closing the buffet they stop refilling the food. The website also says all drinks included in actuality this means you have a choice of their mixed drinks with one type of rum, one beer or a house white or red wine, and soda products. If you want some other type of liquor you have to pay, if you don't want their red or white wine you have to pay. It was not what we expected. On to the service- what service? The people seemed like they had no pride in their resort. The people were not friendly, they didn't smile, and they were not willing to help. Every night we had to call several (3-4) times for towels (they would bring a wash rag and not towels, or two towels and no rag and hand towel-every day we had issues.) Our room had a leaky toilet and we called 2-3 days for someone to fix it and eventually we gave up and put a towel around the base of the toilet. We had bugs in the sink and called to the office and they said they would "be right up" and 45 minutes later we still had not heard so we had to go to the front desk to get it taken care of. The people didn't speak English so communication was difficult. The pool was very dirty- we never saw anyone cleaning it. There was cups, hair, leaves, bugs, etc. in the pool each day. Also, the pool closes at 7 and towels have to be turned in at 6 each day. Nightly entertainment was ok, a little cheesy but at least it was something. Over all this is not a 4 star resort, you don't really get what you pay for, but the beach is beautiful. If you don't mind rude people, bad food, bad food choices, lackluster rooms this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roman a
Business
ny
Aug 2, 2012

great family vacation

Wonderfull time with my daughter, great time on the pool and dining great food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vicki Dreadlock Shampoo
Business
Durham, Pa.
Jul 30, 2012

beautiful beach

The hotel was a great value. The price was very good for what you got. The food left a lot to be desired but we expected that for the price so we were not surprised. I was shocked to find a non English speaking staff. A little frustrating to say the least. The hotel is very pretty and clean, well kept grounds and the beach is the most beautiful by far. I would recommend this hotel to friends. Make sure to tip or bring a gift to you maid. I brought down some organic hair and skin care products and also 5 baseball gloves for kids. She went over them and we always had the fridge stocked and more towels than we knew what to do with. Other guests could not get towels or wash clothes for days. So go have some fun in the sun. I was traveling with myself and 2 daughters....felt very safe and there was a lot to do. Great for families! Vicki in PA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raul Navarro Perez
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 20, 2012

Fantastic Vacations!

Excellent hotel with very good employees...just have to improve the quality of the buffet food, and can be reserved for restaurants only go one day, not having to go every day to make reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David.venta001
Business
Miami
Jul 10, 2012

Best experience ever

Best hotel friendly staff exept for the one in the internet cafe besides that everithing was awesome you get a lot for what you paid cheapest room i booked and still got great ocean view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Saona island the best one

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chorus
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 10, 2012

Not the TOP, but very nice

It's a nice hotel with a big list of amenities. There's leisure options for all ages and tastes. It's clean and the staff is, in general, very gentle. The cons were the noise that came from the restaurant's kitchen - our room was right above the kitchen and the noise was louder than I would expect;but didn't bother us at all; and the drink service in buffet restaurant could be better. But it's worth for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There's several options for luch and dining in the hotel. We couldn't try all of them. You should give a shot and try all the restaurants.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Romeo and Juliet
Business
USA
Jul 9, 2012

You will be happier in Cancun

We are a couple in our 30s. We stayed at this hotel for two weeks in June and July 2012. A very small percentage of the staff made us feel comfortable. The rest seemed like zombies with no personality or manners. The food is very poor. If you like salads, boiled vegetables, hamburgers, and hotdogs then maybe you will be happy with the food because that's pretty much all there is to eat. Desserts are all recycled bread, as in bread pudding with different flavors added. Not for people who know good food. The beach is the most beautiful that we have seen but it varies with the tides and changing currents. The water can be crystall clear for a few days then dirty with seaweed for a week then clears up again. If you love dogs, there are four female dogs who roam the beach daily looking for food and water. They were the highlight of our stay. Give them water and bring them a hamburger and they will treat you like family. The dogs were much nicer than the paid staff. We named them chocolate (brown dog), vanilla (cream colored), sol ( fawn colored), and mar( fawn with white paws). Don't get mad at your maid if your room isn't clean by 5 pm because she has 25-30 rooms to clean each day and they only pay her 6 dollars a day and she doesn't even get a lunch break. Tip her even if you aren't pleased with everything. The bad attitudes of the staff probably have many reasons. If you do choose this hotel, the beach will be the reason. Also, the Mosquitos will eat you alive. That's why we won't be returning to Punta Cana. Make sure you get to the airport at least three hours before take off. They are very slow to check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top