$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 11, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
660 out of 660
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SEE Traveler
Business
New York
Sep 11, 2012

Inconsistent, disappointing and not a good value at all

I went here for a week in August with my boyfriend and a few friends. We arrived around 2:30, had our suitcases taken by some men at the curb and after waiting for almost 30 minutes in the check-in line were told our rooms wouldn't be ready until 4. We went and got lunch and came back around 4:15- rooms still weren't ready. We sat in the lobby until after 6 that night waiting for our rooms - we couldn't even change into our bathing suits since our suitcases had been taken when we arrived. We wasted almost half a day of our vacation and did not receive an apology or any acknowledgement of the inconvenience. This was a trend among the staff during our stay- some of them were very nice and helpful, but most were dismissive or outwardly unfriendly- some even rolled their eyes or openly ignored us when we were standing there. Our rooms were in the renovated section and looked okay at first glance but on closer inspection were not very nice at all. Our patio door didn't lock, our air conditioner broke the second night, our toilet clogged or overflowed almost every single day and the key card lock on the outside of the door also broke, locking us out of our room for almost an entire day while we repeatedly had to visit the front desk to ask them to fix it. In fact, every single one of these incidents required multiple phone calls or visits to the front desk before they were fixed. By the 3rd day I felt like I'd spent more time in line at the front desk than at the beach! There are a lot of general inconsistencies as well. For example, my room didn't have a bathtub but my friend's room next door did. We only got 2 towels in our room the first day (no bathmat, handtowels, washcloths etc...) but then had 6 a few days later. Some days the room was cleaned, some days not. Two of my friends, in two different rooms, had dark red stains on their sheets when they checked in and several of us had drinks that had clearly been opened and used in our mini bars when we checked in. And just a general warning- the Casino is a huge scam. It is advertised as a hotel amenity but it runs a well known scam called "Bonus Bingo" (sometimes called "Caribbean Keno") in it. It targets guests right when they enter and fortunately, we were warned by another guest and stopped playing it before we lost too much money (the guest was subsequently removed from the casino by security- very sketchy). I looked it up in the internet cafe the next day and sure enough, there was a ton of information on it- the game is rigged to be unwinnable. We spoke to the hotel Accommodations Manager about it the next day and he told us that the casino is actually privately owned and has nothing to do with the hotel. We were able to get some of our money back from the casino by complaining (basically fighting with them for days) but I was appalled and disgusted that the hotel advertises the casino as an amenity when they actually do not oversee it to make sure it's legitimate. And that they knowingly allow their guests to be scammed on a regular basis on their property. This is not a place that I would ever go back to nor would I ever recommend it to others. Definitely wasn't worth the money we paid for it and was a huge disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ommendez
Business
Orlando, FL.,
Sep 8, 2012

Our honey moon

Great hotel, clean, staff friendly, warm; good amenities; recomended !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Assorted menus and restaurants, one different for each night

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Underdogg
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 8, 2012

Good experience for the price

Average hotel, might not have gone at the ideal time of the year but the experience was good. Food is good - lots of variety. Expected more out of the club and the overall activities experience but overall had a good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Need to go see hard rock or some of the other clubs outside the resort

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ashlee86
Business
New York, NY
Aug 29, 2012

Fun Vacation for a group

This was my first all inclusive trip ever. I had alot of fun, ate and drink all day and soaked up the sun. I wouldn't say this is the best hotel, especially for a couples vacation. I did come here in a group and I think that is what made it fun. We had an ant problem in our room. Every morning I woke up and battled ants in the bathroom and be sure to close up your luggage! The room was basic and nothing fancy. They did stock your fridge everyday with soda and beer which was nice. The bartenders in the lobby bar were not too friendly (not like the pool bar). Which was surprising since we tipped very well and you could be waiting a while for drinks, since it was very busy. The food was okay and there was alot of it. The one thing I did not like was trying to get a reservation for the restaurants. You have to go to the lobby and wait on a long line. The desk opened at 9am and by 930, all the restaurants were booked. Very frustrating. The pools were awesome. They played music at one pool and had a volleyball net. We brought our keg cups to the pool where the bartender filled them up with margaritas. The beach was also beautiful. In fact we purchased a parasailing trip from a man on the beach selling activities. When the guy didn't show up we contacted the hotel, who was able to get our money back. REALLY great staff! Overall this was a nice vacation for the price. Are there more luxurious places to stay, yes, but when in a group, this is really all you need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Japenese restaurant had great food!

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris the vacationer
Business
San Diego
Aug 28, 2012

Smoky place

Too many smokers in this resort and hard to book any fine dining as it's always full.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chris the vacationer
Business
San Diego
Aug 28, 2012

vactioning

The room has lots of ants & mosquitos. Employees there not customer oriented. Reservation for formal dinning is really bad. Unable to reserve the same day or next day meal after an hour waiting in line to book. There's no coffee or tea in the room 1/2 of time we stay there. Either they ran out or not being filled. there's no non-smoking area designated. People smoke almost everywhere, in the lobby, the hall way, pool, beach, etc.... The fruits were not fresh & not many variety. The food is pretty much the same daily & doesn't taste good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Courtny00
Business
New York, NY
Aug 26, 2012

The K-Mart of the Caribbean

The resort itself is nice - lovely beach, relatively clean pools; however the atmosphere did not compare favorably to other Caribbean all-inclusive resorts where I have stayed. At every turn, it seemed like it could have been fabulous, but fell a little short - staff attentiveness/friendliness, extra charges for surprising things, bizarre towel rules, consistently forgetting to replace or repair items in the rooms that were needed. To describe the food as mediocre would be generous, and we all felt cheated by only being allotted 3 dinner reservations. I had never been at an all-inclusive resort that wasn't truly all-inclusive, and this was a very unfortunate surprise. Bottom line - I wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The surf and turf restaurant did not serve lobster, although lobsters could be purchased at the buffet for $35.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Padilla1020
Business
Newyork
Aug 26, 2012

Great two couple getaway

Couldnt have chosen a better place then Barcelo.. It was amazing.. You cant go wrong with all inclusive resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Annette Kuklinski
Business
Lockport, IL
Aug 18, 2012

Overall Rating

The room above ours must have had a pool in it because there were leak spots above our beds just about ready to burst. The bathroom ceiling leaked above the sink and in the shower. The shower had no water pressure, let alone sometimes no water. The TV nor the radio did not work, and when we got a new TV, there was no remote. The air condition was set to the same temperature the whole time, and on some nights you couldn't sleep because it was so hot. The staff was not friendly at all. They would say hola once in a while, even if you gave tips. The service was terrible. They would either never bring your drink, never ask what you wanted or make you the wrong stuff. The entertainment team was not and entertainment team, if they even had one because from experience this hotel had at most 3 people. Overall, for a 4 star hotel, I thought it would be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gq looking dad
Business
Springfield, VA
Aug 15, 2012

Lower your expectations in Food quality...

Italian: Bad…stay out. A taste of the Carpaccio made me vomit in the bathroom. My wife preferred to go back to the bad buffet options. DO NOT EAT HERE. e) Bars: Never had a problem. Show a tip here and there and get head of the line privileges. f) Check out: YOU MUST BECAREFUL NOT TO MISS YOUR FLIGHT. There was only one employee checking out staff between 11 and 12. This made the "4 star" resort look like a rookie compared to Motel 8. It took me one hour (as the number 2 in line) to check out after I begged for attention due to a potential missed flight. g) Shows: My wife loved them. The Michael Jackson & couples shows were good. There was an electrical fire in the roof that did not delay a show...incredible. Night entertainment: No complains. They were nice before and after the shows. They preceded the opening of the club at 1030pm. Late night 101: After the club closes at 230am...you can keep the party at the theater. It closes at 5am and there are usually chips, rice, beans, and fried chicken, freedom fries, etc. Breakfast opens at the mirador at 5AM. Reservation: I requested in FEBRUARY 2012 two rooms with a connecting door since I have 3 kids. The resort did not honor this request despite having 7 months to figure it out. I was provided two handicap rooms with showers that leaked all the way to inside the room (tiles). Nicely done guys! Go prepared: bring Tylenol, tinacting, band aids, etc. Very expensive there. San Juan Mall: don’t go. It is a tourist trap under construction with a handful of stores. Not a real shopping mall. It’s a joke. Overall: If you go, lower expectations in food, customer service, room quality. Things will get better with time when you pass the denial stage and have a few drinks. My kids (14, 3, 6) had a lot of fun and want to go back. My teenager enjoyed meeting new friends, and the young ones loved the kids pool and the beach. Since vacations are about the kids, I say "GO" but adults must drink to accept some imperfections in the resort. Have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't go to the San Juan Mall.

Back to menu Return to top