Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
511 reviews
awesome place

The stay was awesome, staff was great! The food and entertainment was excellent......i would go... See full review

  • Damaris330
  • Feb 21, 2015
Quick gateway- Loyal guest

We have stayed at Barcelo since 2009 and we love it. We always get excellent service. The staff is... See full review

  • Linette
  • Jan 7, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, a beachfront resort on the eastern shores of the Dominican Republic, accommodates travelers with a taste for restaurant hopping, gambling, water sports and simply relaxing by the swim-up bar. But the sprawling resort manages to be kid friendly, too. In addition to a supervised kid's club, the hotel tempts with its own versions of discos for children ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17.

Dining
The all-inclusive package at Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive compels diners to try the global menu of flavors on the property, starting with the all-day buffet at Alcazar. El Marlin, another favorite, dishes up barbecue, seafood and a champagne brunch. For more upscale eats, guests book a table at teppanyaki haunt Tokio, French restaurant Paris and the Italian boite Roma.
Rooms

Guests unwind in tropical rooms covering a variety of layouts. Décor mimics the breezy style of the rest of Barcelo Punta Cana – All-Inclusive, with colors like amber, beige, green and navy creating an earthy feel. A mix of contemporary rooms -- think mod lamps and glistening floors -- and more traditional spaces -- driven by linen curtains and floral-printed bedspreads -- appeals to tastes on opposite ends of the spectrum. Some rooms look out to the ocean via furnished patios, while standard amenities offer conveniences like LCD TVs, mini-bar with sodas, beer and water, plus Internet access (fees apply).

Property features

By day, Barcelo Punta Cana – All Inclusive turns into a playground abuzz with tennis matches, beach volleyball, wall climbing, water polo and more. A kid's club hosts supervised activities for children ages 4 to 12. Parents have their own diversions, from Metamorphosis spa (complete with Vichy shower) to the two swimming pools. By night, even the younger set -- ages 4 to 12 and 13 to 17 -- can flock to their own discos while older patrons enjoy the casino and multiple dining and cocktailing options on the property.

Highlights
  • 798 rooms overlooking the gardens, ocean or lagoon-style pool
  • Casino
  • Swim-up bar
  • Kids' club, mini disco, playground and pool
  • Spa treatments
Nearby attractions
  • El Cortecito (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Playa Bavaro (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Cap Cana (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cabo San Rafael (12.1 mi/19.4 km)
  • Boca de Yuma (20.7 mi/33.3 km)
Business
  • Theater for up to 800 guests
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (3 mi/4.8 km)
Policies
  • Please note certain dinner restaurants require that men wear slacks, shirts with sleeves and no open-toe shoes or flip flops.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Featuring a contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Superior Ocean Front
Superior Ocean Front rooms have a magnificent view. Features contemporary Caribbean theme with tropical colors, new bed and accessories, bathrooms with walk-in showers and freestanding fixtures, new furniture, TV plasma 32', new balcony furniture, upgraded amenities & wireless Internet access($).
Double
Double rooms feature a king or two double beds, with air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony.
Suite Club/ Premium
Bedding of one king or two double beds, rooms feature air conditioning, telephone, private bath and shower, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee maker, safety deposit box, mini-fridge stocked with soft drinks and water, cable TV with international and national stations, CD player and balcony. Staying in the suites, guest receive the Club Premium Services: Private check in & check out, early check in & late check out without additional cost, Private and exclusive lounge (7am - 11pm) offering snacks, drinks, free access to Internet, table games, books and personalized services, concierge services, and special amenities in the room.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Night club
Game room
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

18.7321 -68.4737
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ)- Estimated distance 32 km.
Area description
Located directly on the beautiful white sandy beach of Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic - 32 km (25 minutes)to the Punta Cana International Airport, 65 km to Higuey, the nearest city.

Dining

Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Light Lunch (menu style)- 12:00-4 pm; Dinner - 7 to 10 pm.
Bars
Lobby Bar I Alhambra: 08:30 - 01:00 hrs; Tea time 16:00-18:00 hrs, Happy hour 18:00-19:00 hrs, Sport Bar 16:00-04:00 hrs. Lobby Bar II Marlen: 1:00 - 01:00 hrs; Bohio Bar: 10:00 - 01:00 hrs; Swim-up Coco Bar: 10:00 - 18:00 hrs. El mirador Bar de las 10:00 a las 18:00 hrs, Disco Bar 22:30-02:00 hrs, Theatre Taino bar 19:30-05:00hrs
Buffet Alcazar
Breakfast - 7 to 10:30 am; Lunch - 12:30-2:30 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
Marenostrum (Fish & Meat)
Continental breakfast 5 - 7 am; Champagne Brunch Buffet - 8 am to 12:00 noon ; Lunch Buffet - 12:00-5 pm; Dinner - 6 to 10 pm.
La Dolce Vita (Italian)
Dolce Vita (Italian) - 6 to 10 pm.
La Comedie (French)
French gourmet, menu style dining. Casual elegant dress 6 - 10 pm for dinner. Gentlemen are not allowed to enter in shorts, sleeveless shirts, sandals; Ladies are not allowed to enter in tank tops or beach sandals.
El Bohio Bar
Hours of Operation: 10am - 1am Dress code: No dress code applies Poolside bar.
El Conuco (Dominican)
El Conuco (Dominican) 6 to 10 pm nightly.
Kyoto (Japanese)
Kyoto (Japanese) - 6 to 10 pm.
Mexico Lindo (Tex-Mex)
Mexican dinner nightly from 6 - 10 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (511)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Annette Kuklinski
Business
Lockport, IL
Aug 18, 2012

Overall Rating

The room above ours must have had a pool in it because there were leak spots above our beds just about ready to burst. The bathroom ceiling leaked above the sink and in the shower. The shower had no water pressure, let alone sometimes no water. The TV nor the radio did not work, and when we got a new TV, there was no remote. The air condition was set to the same temperature the whole time, and on some nights you couldn't sleep because it was so hot. The staff was not friendly at all. They would say hola once in a while, even if you gave tips. The service was terrible. They would either never bring your drink, never ask what you wanted or make you the wrong stuff. The entertainment team was not and entertainment team, if they even had one because from experience this hotel had at most 3 people. Overall, for a 4 star hotel, I thought it would be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gq looking dad
Business
Springfield, VA
Aug 15, 2012

Lower your expectations in Food quality...

Italian: Bad…stay out. A taste of the Carpaccio made me vomit in the bathroom. My wife preferred to go back to the bad buffet options. DO NOT EAT HERE. e) Bars: Never had a problem. Show a tip here and there and get head of the line privileges. f) Check out: YOU MUST BECAREFUL NOT TO MISS YOUR FLIGHT. There was only one employee checking out staff between 11 and 12. This made the "4 star" resort look like a rookie compared to Motel 8. It took me one hour (as the number 2 in line) to check out after I begged for attention due to a potential missed flight. g) Shows: My wife loved them. The Michael Jackson & couples shows were good. There was an electrical fire in the roof that did not delay a show...incredible. Night entertainment: No complains. They were nice before and after the shows. They preceded the opening of the club at 1030pm. Late night 101: After the club closes at 230am...you can keep the party at the theater. It closes at 5am and there are usually chips, rice, beans, and fried chicken, freedom fries, etc. Breakfast opens at the mirador at 5AM. Reservation: I requested in FEBRUARY 2012 two rooms with a connecting door since I have 3 kids. The resort did not honor this request despite having 7 months to figure it out. I was provided two handicap rooms with showers that leaked all the way to inside the room (tiles). Nicely done guys! Go prepared: bring Tylenol, tinacting, band aids, etc. Very expensive there. San Juan Mall: don’t go. It is a tourist trap under construction with a handful of stores. Not a real shopping mall. It’s a joke. Overall: If you go, lower expectations in food, customer service, room quality. Things will get better with time when you pass the denial stage and have a few drinks. My kids (14, 3, 6) had a lot of fun and want to go back. My teenager enjoyed meeting new friends, and the young ones loved the kids pool and the beach. Since vacations are about the kids, I say "GO" but adults must drink to accept some imperfections in the resort. Have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't go to the San Juan Mall.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
natalie j
Business
new york
Aug 11, 2012

great resort but needs more staff for quicker responses

I enjoyed the show and the dance lesson. The beach Olympics and volleyball game was great. The bathroom should have been cleaner before we got there. The room key stopped working twice. The variety of food was good and the restaurants were nice. The staff needs to respond faster when people call. I waited 1 hour til they could send someone to clean the tub and fix the tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hey on line early to make reservations in the morning.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islayunior
Business
Naples, Florida
Aug 9, 2012

Good vacation

That was a really good experience,we had a lot of fun,for me the best staff were the guy from the night show,nice animation from them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I liked the food from all of the restaurant

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roman a
Business
ny
Aug 2, 2012

great family vacation

Wonderfull time with my daughter, great time on the pool and dining great food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vicki Dreadlock Shampoo
Business
Durham, Pa.
Jul 30, 2012

beautiful beach

The hotel was a great value. The price was very good for what you got. The food left a lot to be desired but we expected that for the price so we were not surprised. I was shocked to find a non English speaking staff. A little frustrating to say the least. The hotel is very pretty and clean, well kept grounds and the beach is the most beautiful by far. I would recommend this hotel to friends. Make sure to tip or bring a gift to you maid. I brought down some organic hair and skin care products and also 5 baseball gloves for kids. She went over them and we always had the fridge stocked and more towels than we knew what to do with. Other guests could not get towels or wash clothes for days. So go have some fun in the sun. I was traveling with myself and 2 daughters....felt very safe and there was a lot to do. Great for families! Vicki in PA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raul Navarro Perez
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 20, 2012

Fantastic Vacations!

Excellent hotel with very good employees...just have to improve the quality of the buffet food, and can be reserved for restaurants only go one day, not having to go every day to make reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chorus
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 10, 2012

Not the TOP, but very nice

It's a nice hotel with a big list of amenities. There's leisure options for all ages and tastes. It's clean and the staff is, in general, very gentle. The cons were the noise that came from the restaurant's kitchen - our room was right above the kitchen and the noise was louder than I would expect;but didn't bother us at all; and the drink service in buffet restaurant could be better. But it's worth for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There's several options for luch and dining in the hotel. We couldn't try all of them. You should give a shot and try all the restaurants.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kikes
Business
Puerto rico
Jul 3, 2012

Excellent love it

It was excellent in evry way perfect place to do vacation. Excellent for children next year I will go whit my four gradsons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pzaffani
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 27, 2012

Ok for the price

Food is not good, location is great. Beautiful beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard rock casino!

Back to menu Return to top