$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Carretera Macao, Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
511 out of 511
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Annette Kuklinski
Business
Lockport, IL
Aug 18, 2012

Overall Rating

The room above ours must have had a pool in it because there were leak spots above our beds just about ready to burst. The bathroom ceiling leaked above the sink and in the shower. The shower had no water pressure, let alone sometimes no water. The TV nor the radio did not work, and when we got a new TV, there was no remote. The air condition was set to the same temperature the whole time, and on some nights you couldn't sleep because it was so hot. The staff was not friendly at all. They would say hola once in a while, even if you gave tips. The service was terrible. They would either never bring your drink, never ask what you wanted or make you the wrong stuff. The entertainment team was not and entertainment team, if they even had one because from experience this hotel had at most 3 people. Overall, for a 4 star hotel, I thought it would be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gq looking dad
Business
Springfield, VA
Aug 15, 2012

Lower your expectations in Food quality...

Italian: Bad…stay out. A taste of the Carpaccio made me vomit in the bathroom. My wife preferred to go back to the bad buffet options. DO NOT EAT HERE. e) Bars: Never had a problem. Show a tip here and there and get head of the line privileges. f) Check out: YOU MUST BECAREFUL NOT TO MISS YOUR FLIGHT. There was only one employee checking out staff between 11 and 12. This made the "4 star" resort look like a rookie compared to Motel 8. It took me one hour (as the number 2 in line) to check out after I begged for attention due to a potential missed flight. g) Shows: My wife loved them. The Michael Jackson & couples shows were good. There was an electrical fire in the roof that did not delay a show...incredible. Night entertainment: No complains. They were nice before and after the shows. They preceded the opening of the club at 1030pm. Late night 101: After the club closes at 230am...you can keep the party at the theater. It closes at 5am and there are usually chips, rice, beans, and fried chicken, freedom fries, etc. Breakfast opens at the mirador at 5AM. Reservation: I requested in FEBRUARY 2012 two rooms with a connecting door since I have 3 kids. The resort did not honor this request despite having 7 months to figure it out. I was provided two handicap rooms with showers that leaked all the way to inside the room (tiles). Nicely done guys! Go prepared: bring Tylenol, tinacting, band aids, etc. Very expensive there. San Juan Mall: don’t go. It is a tourist trap under construction with a handful of stores. Not a real shopping mall. It’s a joke. Overall: If you go, lower expectations in food, customer service, room quality. Things will get better with time when you pass the denial stage and have a few drinks. My kids (14, 3, 6) had a lot of fun and want to go back. My teenager enjoyed meeting new friends, and the young ones loved the kids pool and the beach. Since vacations are about the kids, I say "GO" but adults must drink to accept some imperfections in the resort. Have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't go to the San Juan Mall.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
natalie j
Business
new york
Aug 11, 2012

great resort but needs more staff for quicker responses

I enjoyed the show and the dance lesson. The beach Olympics and volleyball game was great. The bathroom should have been cleaner before we got there. The room key stopped working twice. The variety of food was good and the restaurants were nice. The staff needs to respond faster when people call. I waited 1 hour til they could send someone to clean the tub and fix the tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hey on line early to make reservations in the morning.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Islayunior
Business
Naples, Florida
Aug 9, 2012

Good vacation

That was a really good experience,we had a lot of fun,for me the best staff were the guy from the night show,nice animation from them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I liked the food from all of the restaurant

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roman a
Business
ny
Aug 2, 2012

great family vacation

Wonderfull time with my daughter, great time on the pool and dining great food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vicki Dreadlock Shampoo
Business
Durham, Pa.
Jul 30, 2012

beautiful beach

The hotel was a great value. The price was very good for what you got. The food left a lot to be desired but we expected that for the price so we were not surprised. I was shocked to find a non English speaking staff. A little frustrating to say the least. The hotel is very pretty and clean, well kept grounds and the beach is the most beautiful by far. I would recommend this hotel to friends. Make sure to tip or bring a gift to you maid. I brought down some organic hair and skin care products and also 5 baseball gloves for kids. She went over them and we always had the fridge stocked and more towels than we knew what to do with. Other guests could not get towels or wash clothes for days. So go have some fun in the sun. I was traveling with myself and 2 daughters....felt very safe and there was a lot to do. Great for families! Vicki in PA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raul Navarro Perez
Business
Puerto Rico
Jul 20, 2012

Fantastic Vacations!

Excellent hotel with very good employees...just have to improve the quality of the buffet food, and can be reserved for restaurants only go one day, not having to go every day to make reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chorus
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 10, 2012

Not the TOP, but very nice

It's a nice hotel with a big list of amenities. There's leisure options for all ages and tastes. It's clean and the staff is, in general, very gentle. The cons were the noise that came from the restaurant's kitchen - our room was right above the kitchen and the noise was louder than I would expect;but didn't bother us at all; and the drink service in buffet restaurant could be better. But it's worth for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There's several options for luch and dining in the hotel. We couldn't try all of them. You should give a shot and try all the restaurants.

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kikes
Business
Puerto rico
Jul 3, 2012

Excellent love it

It was excellent in evry way perfect place to do vacation. Excellent for children next year I will go whit my four gradsons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Punta Cana - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pzaffani
Business
Miami, FL
Jun 27, 2012

Ok for the price

Food is not good, location is great. Beautiful beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard rock casino!

Back to menu Return to top