$108 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 6, 2014 Check-out: Dec 9, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
217 reviews
Couples Vacation

Staff were warm and friendly. Room was nice. Food choices were good, tried all the different... See full review

  • Northern Minnesota
  • Apr 14, 2014
Amazing Trip

First I would like to stay the staff at this resort is amazing. Very friendly and respectable... See full review

  • random adventure.
  • May 19, 2014
All-inclusive ease for kids, all beachfront relaxation for adults
Meandering turquoise swimming pools lead right up to the palm-dotted white sand beach on an even bluer Caribbean Sea at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Take a morning power walk along the powdery sand or join in outdoor activities throughout each day from beach volleyball and soccer to complimentary sailing, kayaking, snorkeling and windsurfing. Break up afternoons on the beach with visits to an array of all-inclusive bars and restaurants. Evenings light up with nightly stage shows or stop by the casino, disco and sports bar.
Highlights
  • Easy, all-inclusive luxury with meals, drinks, taxes, tips, activities and non-motor water sports included in rates
  • An 18-hole, par-72 golf course offers guests preferred green fee pricing
  • Kids club program for ages 4 to 12
  • Indulge at the spa or find thrills in the casino (fees apply)
Rooms
Seven room types ensure something for everyone in the tropically inspired accommodations at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Even standard rooms offer a coffee-maker, complimentary minibar and a balcony with views of the gardens from which to enjoy the balmy ocean breeze. Upgrade to experience a private Jacuzzi tub or a postcard-worthy sea view. Family suites offer two bathrooms and can accommodate up to five guests.
Dining
An exciting array of cuisine from seafood to Spanish to Japanese and Brazilian turns mealtime into an international affair at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Make the rounds at three buffet restaurants, six menu-style restaurants, two snack bars, a weekly beach party and seven cocktail lounges, all covered as part of the all-inclusive program.
Recreation
Beyond the long list of included activities, sports programs, dance lessons, Spanish lessons and non-motorized water recreation, guests can add even more adventure to a stay at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Go deep sea fishing, scuba diving, horseback riding or play golf all nearby (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
Attractions
  • Punta Cana Golf Course (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Ecological reserve (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.8 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.9 mi/93.2 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)
Business
  • Internet center on-site (fees apply)
  • Convention facility accommodates up to 350 guests

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Double
Enjoy the comfort of our rooms equipped with air conditioning, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, balcony, direct telephone line, satellite TV, mini refrigerator, safety deposit box (additional charge applies) and fully equipped bathroom.
Junior Suite Sea View Honeymoon
Romantic nights await you at our Ocean view Honeymoon Junior suite. Rooms all decorated in white to suit the occasion. Balcony, Private hot tub, Air conditioner,Ceiling fan, one king size bed, Tastefully decorated living area with sofa bed, Telephone, Cable TV, Coffee maker, Mini-fridge, Mini-bar, Iron and borrad, Safety deposit box, Shower, Large marble finish bathroom with two hand basins, magnifying mirror, hair dryer and amenity kit.
Family Junior Suite
Luxurious rooms, spacious and comfortable, with two double beds or one king bed, air conditioning, balcony, direct dial telephone, cable TV, safe (included), iron and ironing board, fully equipped bathroom, hot tub, hair dryer, mirror magnifiers, coffee maker, minibar, living room with sofa bed. Services of our Elite Club included.
junior Suite Sea View
Enjoy the special attention, staying in one of these rooms with two double beds or one king bed, air conditioning, balcony, direct dial telephone, cable TV, safe (included), iron and ironing board, bath Fully equipped, hot tub, hairdryer, mirror magnifiers, coffee maker, minibar, living room with sofa bed. Elite Club Services included.
Suite
Get the pampering you deserve at our Deluxe Suite. This for super VIP and gives you huge accommodations and array of extras. Balcony, Private hot tub, Air conditioner,Ceiling fan, one king size bed, Tastefully decorated living area with sofa bed, Telephone, Cable TV, Coffee maker, Mini-fridge, Mini-bar, Iron and borrad, Safety deposit box, Shower, Large marble finish bathroom with two hand basins, magnifying mirror, hair dryer and amenity kit.
Junior Suite
Luxurious rooms, spacious and comfortable, with two double beds or one king bed, air conditioning, balcony, direct dial telephone, cable TV, safe (included), iron and ironing board, fully equipped bathroom, hot tub, hair dryer, mirror magnifiers, coffee maker, minibar, living room with sofa bed. Services of our Elite Club included.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Dining

Snack Bars
Passaparola, 24-hour eatery serving pizza & snacks & El Pueblito Bar, open mid-morning to early evening serving snacks and drinks.
Bahia Grill
Beach Restaurant
Mexico Lindo
Mexican Restaurant
Rodizio
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant
Buffet Restaurants
Palmasol - Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner. Coco: Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner. Bahia Grill serving lunch
Bars
Amigo Lobby Bar: Offering Live Music in the evenings / El Pueblito Bar: Open mid-morning to late evening / Bar Coco: Open during breakfast, lunch & dinner / Playero Bar: Open mid-morning to late evening / Bar La Gaviota: Pool bar with swim-up seating / Le Cafe: Coffee bar / Time Out: Sports bar.
Don Quijote
As a Spanish based hotel group, make sure to try this restaurant for dinner.
La Dolce Vita
Italian Restaurant
Kyoto
Japanese Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jrc0105
Business
Boston
Mar 24, 2014

NOT SAFE, DON'T GO

This resort is not safe, especially for females. The so-called "security" have no limits. I was only there for two nights and two people on my trip were assaulted by these "security" workers. Worst of all the resort feels they have no responsibility for this even though they are paying these people to work there. DO NOT GO. There are much nicer, safer resorts to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Oct 30, 2009

Our bad experince !

Me and my boyfriend went on a vacation there at the end of September. At first everything seemed just fine, the staff was very friendly (even though a big part of them refused to speak English), the beach was big and clean, the complex itself was big and nice. Then on the third day the air conditioner suddenly stopped working, it was still cool in the room, but the floor and the walls were constantly covered with water. After we complained to the staff they simply told us that there is no more freon in the AC system...So we spent the rest of the holiday mopping the floor with the bathroom towels. Also, during the whole stay we had NO hot water in the shower, and sometimes we had to wait for like 30 min for water bearable enough so that a person could take a shower. When we called the reception and let them know that there's not hot water the answer we got was "don't worry it's the whole hotel, it's not just your room".The electicity stopped a few times. The food in the main restaurant was nothing special, so that we decided to make reservations for the other restaurants which offered international kitchen, and to be honest had a great service and looked great. Unfortunately the result from that was my boyfriend's food poisoning, which led him to 2 weeks of water and pretzels diet, and several doctor's appointments. Also there was nothing to do in the complex except from going to the beach and eat at the restaurants..... In general i can advice people to avoid this hotel !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
First Time Punta Cana Travelers
Business
NYC NY
Jun 8, 2010

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach

This was our first trip out of the USA for Sun, Sand, and Relaxation. Naturally we were impressed by the natural landscape of the Resort. We enjoyed the beach and the water - Never seen beach water where you can actually see your feet on the ocean bottom. What did NOT impress us was the overall service. We went to the mexican restaraunt at the resort and it took almost 30 minutes to get a Coke and a Glass of Wine. The food was less than desirable. The other thing that was a total turn off was "local kids" always begging for money and/or food. We got so tired of the begging that we left the beach and went to the pool. One evening when we were returning to our room - we saw and likely startled a Barcelo employee checking doors to see if they opened (In the US this is referred to as attempted robbery). It was weird cause he did not look like he belonged there and when he noticed us - he asked us if we wanted a beer?? Very strange!!! For our first time it was okay, but would not return to this Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Woodsboro Sam
Business
Frederick, Maryland
Aug 10, 2010

HATED IT!

This was by far my worst travel experience...ever. From the moldy rooms to the unfriendly staff... (Staff members would talk about you thinking you did not understand the language)... my son actually kissed the ground when we landed back in Georgia. Such a pity...this is a beautiful country.But I would never return even if offered a trip for free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Everything that is listed as free or included actually comes with a whopping price...beware

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
melcatalan
Business
Houston, TX
May 16, 2012

Horrible Honeymoon Experience

I stayed at this resort back in March i was there for a whole week for my Honeymoon. I have traveled to many different countries and have never experienced something like this. The STAFF was soooo RUDE, The FOOD was HORRIBLE, THE POOL WAS Small... THE ROOM WAS HUMID AND THE AC WAS LEAKING. NOT HOW I WANTED TO SPEND MY HONEYMOON. I COMPLAINED TO THE STAFF and all THEY SAID I SUGGEST YOU UPGRADE TO A BETTER ROOM.... SO WE PAID AN EXTRA 200.00 DOLLARS TO UPGRADE.... WHEN WE GO TO OUR NEW ROOM IT LOOKED NICE AND SPACIOUS... THEY HAD AN AC LEAK IN THAT ROOM AND FOUR OF OUR LIGHTS DIDNT WORK.... LONG Story short i WOULD NEVER go back to This Resort OR the DOMINICAN. I DEF. WOULD'NT RECOMMEND ANYBODY TO STAY THERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

DO NOT PURCHASE YOUR EXCURSIONS FROM THE HOTEL THEY ARE OVER PRICED... YOU CAN BUY THE SAME EXCURSION FROM SOMEBODY WALKING AROUND ON THE BEACHES FOR HALF THE PRICE...... AND THEY ARE LEGITE I HAVE BEEN TO CANCUN, CABO, JAIMAICA AND DOMINICAN AND HAVE NEVER HAD AN ISSUE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed bk chick
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 2, 2012

Horrible Memorial Day Getaway

This hotel is the absolute worse!! The rooms need to be updated, they smell like mildew, the bed was gross and uncomfortable. The food was disgusting I would not feed it to my dog!! We had to make reservations at the specialty restaurants. There was a live turkey in the dining area,...not too mention that little black birds were able to pick from the uncovered food. The buffet offered little variety and the food was bland. As far as the staff, they spoke very little English. The only good thing was the spa visit. Overall I wouldn't recommend this hotel. And the entertainment staff is not friendly at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 19, 2012

poor

staff are not friendly at all. food is horrible with a lot of flies and bees all over food. variety of food is terrible mostly hamburger and hot dog, chicken were bloody. The beach is very dirty. we have been in different resorts and this one is the worst of the worst. They claim the resort is all inclusive but they ask you to pay for a lot of things. the room's refrigerator have only one soda and one water, beer are not allowed.VIP transportation are not reliable. Never again, Horrible vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Worst Was the Food
Business
New York, New York
Jul 23, 2012

Barcelo Dominican Beach Experience

I was very disappointed with my experience at the Barcelona Dominican Beach stay. I used to stay at Barcelo Playa Langosta in Costa Rica when I was younger with my family and remembered a very pleasant, clean, and fun environment. This lead me to suggest it to 7 of my colleagues and we took a 4 day quick trip to Punta Cana. As soon as we got there the problems started. The check in was unnecessarily complicated and difficult. Once we got to the room, the bathroom door would not close, the AC unit leaked water on you which was directly on top of the toilette which meant you couldn't use the toilette without getting a healthy dose of chemical water dripping on you. The comforters seemed to have been there since the 80s and the towels where all stained and not replaced regularly. Forget about getting towels for the beach, those were impossible to get. Service was inconsistent, some employees were very friendly, happy, and enjoyable, but on that same not, some were very rude, unprofessional, and told some of my colleagues they should speak Spanish because we were in Dominican Republic. But the worst thing I must say was the food. Uneatable! Very unfortunate to have to say all these negative comments on a hotel chain I believed to be of quality but will never recommend or stay in again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unhappy traveler1
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 31, 2012

Terrible Dump

This hotel is not worth your money. The rooms were plain, nothing fancy but it was fine. However we did not have hot water and the bathroom door would not shut without being slammed. Our slider door also did not lock. Upon returning from an all-day excursion, we found that there were no towels left in the room. We called and had to wait over 30 minutes for them to be delivered. The food was absolutely HORRIBLE. The buffets were constantly covered in flies. For breakfast, they barely served any breakfast foods. Instead it was salads, chicken, pasta, etc. Lunch was decent but pizza ran out quickly and burgers did not look appetizing. If you want to snack it is almost impossible as nothing stays open. The store sells some snacks, but it is very expensive. You have to make a reservation for the restaurants but they fill up too quickly. The Japanese place was amazing but impossible to reserve, you have to wait until 9:30p and hope you can eat. All of the other places have very limited menus and do not allow substitutions of any kind. The beach was okay. It gets really crowded and hard to get a chair. The chairs are old and the newer ones do not recline. You cannot lay on your stomach since none of them go all the way back. The beach is also covered in seaweed and the water is not clear at all. When you check in they give you a towel card which you bring to the ONE place to get a towel which is at the far end of the beach. They almost never have towels there and you can't get a new one between 9a-12p each day. We were left with soaked smelly towels and had to buy one in the shop for $20. The pool was decent, but packed. There is also no shade anywhere. The staff were okay, some very helpful people, especially at reception. The guest services were of no use and could not help. The entertainment was pretty good, if a little repetitive. There is also not much to do at night time. Overall you can find a MUCH better hotel than this. It is also a huge destination for European and Russian travelers so there were not a lot of fellow American travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Gran Pingu
Business
Florida City
Sep 11, 2012

Not What I Expected !

My family a group of 23 stayed at this so called "resort". On the first night my parents door card reader did not work. After a few times of calling the front desk they finally sent some one to fix it. The next day it was not working again. Our freinds shower did not work so a plumber had to fix it. Also 2 weeks before the trip he had surgery to replace his defebrillator, we requested a room on the first floor so they gave him the third floor.Mind you that there is no elevator. They kept saying they were going to move him but it never happened. In fact a security guard had to help him up the stairs one night because of short breath. My aunts room air conditioner broke on our third day there so she had to pack her stuff and change rooms. On the website it states that wifi is included well that was bull. The cost was 3 dollars for every 15 minutes. I do not recommened any one to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top