$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joselito & Sheri
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Feb 21, 2011

Realistic Review

We were apprehensive to go here after reading a number of negative reviews here and in Trip Adviser. We selected this hotel on price point alone as we had lost some vacation funds on an Egyption trip and needed a quick warm weather escape from Minnesota. Everything went fine and in most cases better that expected. We were waiting for the bad experience(because of the negative reviews) that never came. The room was nice, the workers always helpful(except for the surly towel people who were outsourced, not all spoke english as we were in a FOREIGN COUNTRY, the restaurant and buffets were a notch above average, The evening entertainment was great dancing but too much of it for us, The grounds were SPECTACULAR and very well kept. Some years age we were regulars at Ibeostar Punta Cana and liked it. We feel this hotel compares favorably and in some way excels. It is important to remember that this IS a tropical environment! Things do rust, some of the restaurants are open air and a few birds do fly in, and there is an occasional bug. We wished we had reserved for two weeks and didn't want to leave. Our next beach vacation will be here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Troy, NY
Nov 4, 2009

Barcelo Dominican Beach

The first night we didn't have hot water, that problem was fixed for the rest of our trip. At times it was difficult to get service at the swim up bar even though it wasn't very busy. The food was great, a few of the servers at the buffets, cafe, and the activities staff were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of a DR Peace Corps Volunteer
Business
Greenfield, Indiana
Jun 16, 2010

Fun In the Sun

This was our first "all inclusive" vacation. The resort was very nice. Clean room, friendly staff and plenty of food. You won't go hungry although the quality is average. All the restaurants were about the same as the buffet. Freshly squeezed juices great at breakfast. Wasabi was very good, enjoyed it the most. Buffet was always good. Husband and daughter signed up for scuba divings although husand had to cancel due to illness, got money back with a doctors statement. Scuba diving was great. All day trip to Catalina Island was "so so". Beach very rocky, biting flies and a two hour bus ride to get to the boat, then 20 minutes to the island. Would not do that excursion. Overall, great vacation, would definetly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CAPTAIN BLY
Business
CAPE CORAL FL.
Sep 12, 2009

BEAUTIFUL BEACHES

.SWIM UP BAR WAS GREAT AS WELL AS BEACH SIDE BAR. FREE SHOWS AT NIGHT WERE GREAT, AUDIENCE WAS GREATLY ENCOURAGED TO PARTICIPATE ON STAGE, LOTS OF FUN. DANCE INSTRUCTIONS ON BEACH AS WELL AS VOLLEYBALL, BASKETBALL, AND PLAY AREA FOR CHILDREN.MASSAGES WERE WELL WORTH $25 U.S. DOLLARS.CHECK OUT LITTLE FLEA MARKET AREAS ON OUTER EDGE OF RESORT AREA AND HONE YOUR BARGAINING SKLLS!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Exeter, RI
Mar 28, 2010

Good Bang for your Buck

The overall service was superior at Dominican Beach Resort. We definitely preferred the a la carte restaurants over the buffet food. There are 5 a la carte restaurants, which you have to make reservations for. In order to get the reservation you want for the night, we had to go down at 7 AM everyday to the reservation stand at the Palamsol Buffet. Reservations are limited! The good thing is you can make dinner reservations for that night and the next at the same time. The only restaurant where the service was absolutely horrible was Mezzaluna, the italian restaurant. The food was good, but the service was bad. The entertainment is beyond what I expected. The MC speaks 5 different languages: English, Spanish, French, German, and Italian. There are nightly shows with dancing and singing. The afternoon Beach games including volleyball, soccer, bocce, etc were most enjoyable, as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for dinner as early as possible to get your preferred restaurant and time you want to eat. Dinner reservations are usually for either 6 PM, 8 PM, or 9:30 PM. It seems that the service is usually better at the 6 PM or 8 PM times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fords, NJ
May 15, 2009

Great for the price

Barcelo Dominican Beach is certainly a 3 star hotel. But what it lacks in service and food, it more than makes up for with the location and quality of the beach. Being unable to speak spanish is sometimes a problem here because most people cannot speak clear enough english for you to understand. The check in clerks speak english, but sometimes they will try to charge you for things you didn't buy. The food is okay, however many things looked/tasted quite questionable and I stuck to the same courses at the buffets because I knew I could trust them. The restaurants (in the evening) were superb, especially the japanese hibatchi one. We really enjoyed that one, and overall did not have any bad dinner experiences. Overall, I'd say go to this place if you don't have the money to go somewhere better. But if you are young and don't have alot of money like myself, but are looking for a Caribbean vacation, I recommend this place. PS, we upgraded to a honeymoon suite and it was definately worth the money. It was only a little extra, but we got free internet for the week, romantic dinner on the beach, VIP status which allowed us to get any drinks (even international), and an oceanfront room with a balcony. Definately worth the extra money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jul 10, 2009

Honeymoon

All the restaurants were wonderful and the Spanish restaurant was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jan 10, 2011

NICE HOTEL

We came here to meet with our family. Even though the hotel rooms require some renovations: old bedding, towels ,etc. The stuff did their best to make us as comfortable is possible. Taking to the consideration that we only slept in the rooms during the night, it was not a big deal for us. The theme for buffet is changed every night: anywhere from Mexican to French, Dominican, Italian and other international cousine. The entertaining group was working there butts off, during day and each night they presented a great show which was ; very professionally directed. All drinks were included: tequila, rom, vodka etc. The stuff is very friendly and will do their best to make you comfortable. We really enjoyed the weather and the resort as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservation to the restaurant as early as possible. Take with you your own cups, b/c all drinks are served in 8oz plastic cups. Also, if you go shopping for souvenirs, local paintings, jewelry etc. You can easily get up to 70% off the price they ask at first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 13, 2011

One of the best vacation experiences

The hotel rooms were very clean, no bugs, great service, but the lighting was very dim. The rooms did not get cleaned until about 2:30PM but that was fine. The food was very good it includes buffets and 5 different theme resturants, I felt the buffets were actually better than the resturants. There are not many activities to do at the resort but its very easy to find outside activities to explore I would reccomend the boogies and scuba diving. The servers were very friendly. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay there would definately recommend it, god for families and couples. The beach is beautiful the pools are a good size, one of the pools has a nice swim up bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can always negotiate the prices lower for daily activities off the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson Valley, NY
Jul 19, 2010

Great Vacation

My 18 and 21 year old children went. They LOVED it but said the activities were often filled because there were so many people there. There was a group of 650 18 year olds from Canada there on a class trip. Building 7 is said to be for the young kids who come so if they give you a room there as an adult ask for another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top