$170 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 6, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mcdon239
Business
Farmington, MI
Apr 26, 2011

Great Time

We went with 10 people and all have very similar opinions. It was a seven night stay and wished it would have been longer. We met a lot of great people. We only left the resort once and went on a safari tour on a huge convoy. It was a lot of fun and a great way to see the jungle, city, and the way of life here. I am a fequent traveler and have been to may places and never expect a 5 star unless paying for it. The negative reviews did not bother me/us. Vacation is what you make it. If you have high expectations and expect 5 stars don't come here. Expect to pay well over $2k/ person for a few days for 5 stars. We found this resort and 8 others bought into us saying not to worry about these negative reviews and we were right! This is a 3rd world country and a 2-3 star resort so expect some things not to be in tip top shape. If you have never been outside of the States than keep in mind you are in another courntry, its a totally different culture. Things don't happy very fast here so you may have to wait a little more time getting things. Things happen at "island" time. -LIked all restaurants- reserve these before. may have to do this early a.m. -have to go about a mile out to snorkel. a local near the market can set this up. We only paid $15 to do it -Friendly staff -tip. it will go along way -Bring you own thermos. Much better especially if you are a drinker - Beach was great but the water may not be for everyone. large waves and undertow. many people did not swim. - Grounds are very well maintained - Pools very nice. -Enough space where you won't feel crowded -Casino seemed to be a rip-off -Bring a flot for the pool -Very nice fitness room Have fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
colombus oh
Nov 19, 2010

no camplane

vos very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

goog vacation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
random adventure.
Business
California
May 19, 2014

Amazing Trip

First I would like to stay the staff at this resort is amazing. Very friendly and respectable people. I did enjoy my stay here very much. I did have a couple issues with my room such as a toilet that ran often and the power being turned off in the morning hours. Other than that my stay was remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Book your dining options when you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mil224
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2009

One Important Choice will make the diff.

we happened to look at the pictures of the rooms and we decided the honeymoon suite looked the best of all of them (we were NOT on our honeymoon). the upgrade cost only $22 dollars a day, but it resulted in a multitude of benefits - GORGEOUS ROOM, ocean front balcony, hot tub in the room (not in the bathroom), canopied bed, bracelet that allowed for international drinks instead of only domestic alcohol, 15% of the spa, 15% of motorized sports, a breakfast in the room with champagne (the breakfast was so/so), and a romantic dinner near the beach. there is no better way to stay at this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cb Slider
Business
MI
Aug 17, 2009

Honeymooners

We went to the pools and we went parasailing. We also hung out in our honeymoon suite for a day. It would have been nice if there were more extra activities that the hotel offered that were complimentary. This was one of the best trips we have ever taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy gifts for others at the hotel gift shops. If you walk down the beach just a few short minutes you will find shops that have the same stuff a lot cheaper :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 25, 2010

Great for the Price

The Hotel was perfect for the price. The staff was friendly, but many times it took asking for things twice before they actually bring them to you, specially in the buffet. The rooms were fine and they cleaned them everyday, and they refilled the mini bar everyday too. At night it would be better if the disco/ bars would be open after 2 am, since during spring break 85% of the guests were under 30. Everything else was fine. food could be better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

If you are going to buy anything wether inside or outside of the hotel, always try to bargain with them, they will always ask for alot, then if you ask for a disount they will give it to you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the wonder three
Business
new jersey
Jun 27, 2009

great vacation

we have great vacations. the only rooms facing the water are the "honeymoon" ones, that was the only disappointment, the gym is very, very old and the room service very poor. the restaurants, people in general and services very good, and we are ready to come back in a. heart beat. again, great vacations, the beach, the water, the landscapes unbeatable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Dec 29, 2010

Beautiful

We loved it...it was absolutely beautiful!!!! We spent most of our time on the beach relaxing in the sun. The one thing that we would complain about was the food..the buffets were just that there not the greatest anywhere, even in the US..the Mexican resturant was terrible, but the Brizilian resturant was wonderful!!! I would definitely go back..I would probably choose to stay at the Barcelo Bavaro beach next time!!!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Great Vacation

My experience was great. We had an amazing time. We went in September so there was not too many people. The food was good but if you are not accustomed to it you may have a hard time with it. The staff was not always friendly but many of them were. I was part of the elite club and had the honeymoon suite so I would not really know how the experience would differe for someone who had the regular standard room. In all I do recommend the hotel, especially the honeymoon suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure that you make all reservations right at check-in so that you have no problem choosing where you want to eat. The Japanese restaurant was really good. Just make sure not to drink the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 10, 2010

It was pretty amazing

First i will have to start by saying this resort/hotel is advertised as a 3 out of 5 resort. I was skeptical to book this place by some of the reviews i read before heading in, but while i was there the people who had negative things to say obviously expected more from what it is. I was very satisfied by my stay, some of the only complaints is the rooms have to be kept at freezing temp. in order for the bathrooms not to have leaks, but then again you go to these kinds of trips to stay out and enjoy yourself. One thing i loved is that this place is very convenient a place to eat and drink everywhere always something to do and the staff is overly courteous. In all this place went above my expectations, i'd recommend and would go again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top