$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2015 Check-out: Sep 25, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
213 out of 213
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frustratedcostumer
Friends
valencia, Venezuela
May 19, 2014

My worst hotel experience

they told us about you : "they always give us problems" 1. Security didnt had clearance to let us in. 2. The reservation department didn't pass our reservation & payment to their system. 3. The checking officer said it was not their problem and that we should call and complain to orbtz (yeah right after a 3 hour drive). 4. The check.in officer said that we had yo wait outside the hotel.. wait for the staff of the resevation department that went to eat (the whole staff). 5. 3 hours after arrival they let us check in. 6. Food was not diverse and we all got diarrhea. 7. Public Relations department don't know how to do public relations (they didnt allow us reserve for dinner... we had to walk the whole hotel to find were to eat). 8.dinner was worst (more diarrhea and flatulence). 9. The room had scratch paint (like the pool ), the air conditioner didn't work & it had alot of humidity (we all got allergies and sinus). 9. Lack of parking. 10.nature was pretty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
NY
Jul 7, 2010

experiences

it was my worst vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NORTHERN KY
Apr 30, 2011

SPEND A LITTLE MORE AND GO ELSEWHERE

THIS WAS OUR THIRD TIME VISITING PUNTA CANA - THIS WAS THE MOST DISAPPOINTING OF THE 3 RESORTS WE HAVE STAYED AT. STAFF WAS NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL, YOU WOULD BE SURPRISED AT WHAT A DIFFERENCE IT MAKES. PROPERTY NEEDS SOME TLC. BEACH WAS ERODED. FOOD - SO -SO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

THE CASINO ON THE PROPERTY WAS LACKING. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A FRIENDLIER, LESS EXPENSIVE VISIT TO A CASINO TRY CARABELAS - ABOUT 3 BLOCKS UP THE ROAD

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted people
Friends
Virginia
Mar 11, 2011

Horrendous.

The worst hotel experience I have ever had. The entire staff has an attitude problem, our first room leaked water from the ceiling and the the second was plagued by cockroaches. Expect to get food poisoning if you eat anything besides bread. Your best bet is to leave the hotel and go to real restaurants. The beach is beautiful, but I'm sure it is the same at other Punta Cana hotels. Bottom line - If you're trying to cry on vacation, Barcelo Dominican Beach will not let you down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Feb 28, 2010

RIP OFF!!!! STAY AWAY!!! BED BUGS!!!

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE LISTEN TO ME WHEN I SAY DON'T GO TO THIS RESORT. I WENT TO PUNTA CANA THREE YEARS AGO AND HAD A MUCH BETTER EXPERIENCE AT THE BAVARO PRINCESS. GO TO PUTA CANA BUT DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! WE ARRIVED TO THE RESORT ABOUT 15 MINUTES BEFORE CHECK IN AND THEY WOULD NOT LET US GO TO OUR ROOM. WHEN WE FINALLY GOT TO OUR ROOM THEY WILL STILL CLEANING IT ANYWAY. WE FOUND OUT THAT WE HAD TWO DOUBLE BEDS INSTEAD OF A KING. I EVEN CALLED THE RESORT TO CONFIRM WE HAD A KING BED AFTER BOOKING ON [...]. THE STAFF IS VERY UNFRIENDLY TO ANYONE THAT DOES NOT SPEAK SPANISH. THE OTHER GUESTS ARE MOSTLY EUROPEAN PARTIERS THAT HAVE FOUND A WAY TO DEFACE THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BEACH ON EARTH BY THROWING CIGARRETTE BUTTS EVERYWHERE. THEY WILL WAKE YOU UP AT ALL HOURS OF THE NIGHT YELLING AND SCREAMING BC THEY ARE SO DRUNK. (WE EVEN HEARD OTHER GUESTS YELLING AT THEM TO SHUT [*] UP OFF THEIR BALCONY!) THE SCUBA SHOP ON THE BEACH TRIED TO CHARGE US $500 FOR THE BOTH OF US FOR A TWO TANK SCUB TRIP!!!! THEY ARE OUT OF THEIR MINDS! SO MY BF DIDN'T EVEN GET TO SCUBA DIVE WHICH HE LOVES SO MUCH. MY BF AND I WERE SICK TO OUR STOMACHES THE LAST 4 DAYS OF OUR VACATION AND WE STUCK EATING PRINGLES AND CRACKERS FROM THE GIFT SHOP BC NO MATTER WHAT WE ATE, WE GOT SICK. (WHY EVEN PAY FOR ALL INCLUSIVE WHEN YOU CAN'T EAT OR DRINK BC YOU ARE SO SICK?!!!!!) TO TOP IT OFF, WHEN WE CAME HOME WE HAD TO GO TO THE DR BC OUR STOMACH ACHES WOULD NOT SUBSIDE AND MY BF HAD WELTS ALL OVER HIS BODY. HE FOUND OUT WE BROUGHT HOME BED BUGS!!!!!!! AFTER TWO DRs APPOINTMENTS ($40), THREE PERSCRIPTIONS ($45), BED BUG EXTERMINATION ($180), A NEW MATTRESS ($1,000) AND [...] COST ($1,700), OUR TRIP REALLY COST US ALMOST $3,000. I WOULD HAVE MUCH RATHER SPENT A FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS MORE TO GO TO A NICER RESORT!!!!!!!!!!!!! [*] BARCLEO AND THEIR RESORTS!!! ATTENTION TO DETAIL AND QUALITY CONTROL IS SEVERLY LACKING. I WOULD NEVER TRY ONE OF THEIR RESORTS EVER AGAIN!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

STAY THE HELL AWAY UNLESS YOU WANT BED BUGS!!!!!!

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rhode Island
May 22, 2009

Worst vacation ever!!!!!!

This trip was awful. To begin with the front desk staff was rude and useless. The food was disgusting. The information about hotel and food options were deceiving. It was the same food...limited selection the restaurants were a JOKE. The people that operate the ground transportation from airport to hotel and back were difficult to reach and didn't want to honor prepaid receipt. It was very windy, the water was so cold you couldn't even go into the ocean. The entertainment was nonexistent. They tried to beat money out of you every minute of the day, unable to walk the beach because of pushy high priced vendors. We wish we had never went and will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JanBM
Couples
New York, NY
Jun 6, 2010

AWFUL

I have no idea where to start. This is the first time that the negative reviews were correct. I should have none that the price was too good to be true.Take a million dollars in singles or you get no service The food was disgusting and i usually eat everything I couldn't understand the quantity - there was food galore and it all tasted horribleTake OFF with you or be prepared to spend 10.00 in cash to buy it there either way you will be in pure pain.The hotel floor room was extremely wet i asked severeal other patrons and they complained of the same, after the second night i could no longer being horrified of slipping and breaking a leg (they blamed the AC was not working properly)After complaining for over an hour i was moved to a different room where we stayed for the remaining portion of our trip was an ice bucket you cant control the AC its either on or off no in the middle this room smelled like mildewThe bartenders are afraid to give you a drink it's like they are saving it for a rainy dayThe Good-There's a lovely waitress by the name of [...] who was always willing to do anything that she could to make our stay pleasant also at Guest Service location inside the hotel we met [...] whose also very kind.The beach was awesomeif you need any additional info please email me @ janmal70[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

You must visit Santo Domingo the city is like a smaller version of NY you will be amazed at the history. Be ready to spend 75 pp for the tour through the hotel

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacationing just for fun!
Friends
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2009

BEWARE!!!! SICKNESS WILL OCCUR!

BEWARE! This resort is one of the worst! I was alone in a room because my roommate had a last minute emergency and although my friends and I (10+group) requested rooms close by weeks prior, mine was blocks away. When requested to have my room switched, the Staff told me they would accommodate me, but it was about 9 hours later (this is not the way you want to start your vacation)! The food WILL 100% make you sick. When I got home, I had to take an extra week off from work and spent it in bed and in the bathroom because I was so sick, and to top it off, I was extremely cautious what I ate on vacation. Every one I spoke to had the runs. The rooms are dirty (bed bugs, blood on the sheets, leaking vents over the toilet bowl, dirty towels, etc). The lock on the balcony door didn't work. If you're a woman walking alone, be prepared to get hit on by the Staff – it gets very irritating after dealing with it for a few days. Steer clear of their frozen drinks; they are more like an indescribable nauseating liquid with ice (not frozen at all). The pool was nice, but god only knows how much of the water was pee and never once did I see someone cleaning it. If you don't speak Spanish, be prepared to not be able to communicate with ANY of the staff. NO ONE spoke English and it was extremely difficult to communicate (granted you're in Mexico, but it's a resort and they should be able to accommodate guests). My phone stopped working the second day and after repeatedly calling several times a day and being told someone would be by to fix it, I never had it fixed. I found a bug in my food in the indoor buffet (disgusting). The club was fun, but once it closed (around 2 AM), the only place open was the snack bar, which did not have a great selection of food (wings and fries) and its outdoors with about 4 tables. Best advice I can give you, DO NOT go to this resort! *If in Punta Cana, make sure to go to club Imagine. It's a cave, turned into a night club. But ladies, beware, it's a cave and the floor is uneven and it can be difficult to dance on with stilettos. Overall, I made the best of my trip because there was nothing I could do but try to enjoy it. Take the advice and steer clear of this resort is you want to have less stress, headaches, sickness, and problems when your on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seattle, WA
Nov 30, 2010

Don't stay at a Barcelo Resort

We purchased a junior suite with the jacuzzi, but it did not have hot water. The water pressure for the jacuzzi was so low that it took over two hours to fill up. We call the front desk several times during the week and also complained in person. Each time we were told that someone would be sent but the problem was never resolved. The food at this resort is sub par, at one point we were hungry and went to the 24 snack bar and simply stated that we would rather starve then eat there. I didn't appreciate some of the negative attitudes from the staff and did not find them to be the most attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
new jersey
Apr 17, 2010

European vacation...

This hotel is a bit outdated and needs a good cleaning. Every day we made dinner reservations we were told to come at 6:30 pm when we wanted 8pm. The excessive smoking in every restaurant and bar was overwhelming. We really missed beach umbrellas. We had to sit outside and wait for our room to be cleaned every day until 5:30pm. They did serve very good coffee and some of the staff were very friendly. Le cafe was the best experience at th resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The stores were really over priced.

Back to menu Return to top