$128 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jul 10, 2009

Honeymoon

All the restaurants were wonderful and the Spanish restaurant was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jan 10, 2011

NICE HOTEL

We came here to meet with our family. Even though the hotel rooms require some renovations: old bedding, towels ,etc. The stuff did their best to make us as comfortable is possible. Taking to the consideration that we only slept in the rooms during the night, it was not a big deal for us. The theme for buffet is changed every night: anywhere from Mexican to French, Dominican, Italian and other international cousine. The entertaining group was working there butts off, during day and each night they presented a great show which was ; very professionally directed. All drinks were included: tequila, rom, vodka etc. The stuff is very friendly and will do their best to make you comfortable. We really enjoyed the weather and the resort as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservation to the restaurant as early as possible. Take with you your own cups, b/c all drinks are served in 8oz plastic cups. Also, if you go shopping for souvenirs, local paintings, jewelry etc. You can easily get up to 70% off the price they ask at first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Jun 13, 2011

One of the best vacation experiences

The hotel rooms were very clean, no bugs, great service, but the lighting was very dim. The rooms did not get cleaned until about 2:30PM but that was fine. The food was very good it includes buffets and 5 different theme resturants, I felt the buffets were actually better than the resturants. There are not many activities to do at the resort but its very easy to find outside activities to explore I would reccomend the boogies and scuba diving. The servers were very friendly. My boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay there would definately recommend it, god for families and couples. The beach is beautiful the pools are a good size, one of the pools has a nice swim up bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You can always negotiate the prices lower for daily activities off the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson Valley, NY
Jul 19, 2010

Great Vacation

My 18 and 21 year old children went. They LOVED it but said the activities were often filled because there were so many people there. There was a group of 650 18 year olds from Canada there on a class trip. Building 7 is said to be for the young kids who come so if they give you a room there as an adult ask for another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eatontown, New Jersey
Jul 22, 2009

Great hotel for the price

The hotel was well maintained and the staff very friendly. We had a Jr. Suite on the ground level. Which made us VIP's Lots of Kids from Canada on Grad trip. I was there with 3 grad girls myself. A trip of a lifetime. Security was always present so you felt safe. Food was good. Problems though with the water. Bottle water was always available. I feel Punta Cana overall in 5-6 years will be like Cancun. Lots of construction on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

This hotel had everything you could want all excursions could be booked through hotel. Only bad thing about the island. Most places do not take credit cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 14, 2010

Perfect Spring Break

We came here for spring break and had an absolutely perfect time. Of course, we are used to cafeteria food and long hours in the library so any change is a good change, but our experience at Barcelo was wonderful. Gorgeous beach, perfectly kept grounds, enormous pool, pretty good food and drinks, superfriendly staff, cute activities- what more could you ask for? This hotel isn't the Ritz, so don't expect that, but I would definitely come back and recommend it in particular to college students.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL USA
May 20, 2009

Barcelo Dominican Beach review

I traveled to Punta Cana with a friend in May 2009. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. This Barcelo resort is not located next to all the other Barcelo resorts (which appear to be a little nicer). It is about 5 miles down the road. We are both professionals in our 20s, and we had low expectations going into the trip, so the Barcelo Dominican Beach exceeded our expectations. If you are looking for a luxury resort, this would not meet your expectations. If you are looking for a cheap vacation with sun and fruity drinks, then this is your place. The resort was very well kept. The grass, trees, and flowers were gorgeous. The beach was clean and good to walk up and down. It was sunny every day, and rained almost every night, but that was no real problem. Make sure to put on a lot of sunscreen!!! Both of us applied sunscreen twice a day and still got sunburnt. The pool and swim-up bar were our favorite places at the resort. We tended to stay there all day. The drinks are fun. I recommend trying as many different ones as possible. If you get to know the bartenders, they are really cool and will make you lots of different drinks. We didn't do too many activities, but there were a lot going on and people looked like they were having fun. The food was just ok, but we weren't expecting it to be great. The buffet was fine. The Japanese and Italian restaurants were quite good, but the Spanish restaurant was not impressive. The staff is very friendly and helpful. After a few days, they will recognize and remember you. A caution to females, the male employees will be very friendly, but that just appears to be their nature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The airport shuttle service purchased through Orbitz was great! I would definitely recommend this to anyone. They are located right outside of baggage claim at the airport and take you right to your resort. It was easy and we did not have to worry about directions or paying someone there. They also arrange to pick you up at your resort and take you back to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randalla
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

nice little getaway

This hotel was located close to the airport but you wouldn't ever know (sounds, etc). The price was cheap and the rooms were decent. Clean, friendly staff. It was good for the price and what we were there to see and do - explore everything the island had to offer us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go see Samana. The excursion was worth every dollar. Also, zip lining was very fun. Beautiful island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allan
Business
woodmere
Jan 14, 2015

Great for the price! Would go back again!!

Read some bad reviews about this hotel and was a little nervous. Got to the hotel and got a room all the way in the back somewhere it was building 98. I told them i don't want that room and building and they ungraded me to building number 5 which was perfect. Everyone in that building was Russian which made it great and it was right next to the beach, pool and not far from the lobby and everything the hotel has to offer! Food was OK, i don't eat meat so i wish they offered more fish but the pasta was amazing. desserts were great but waiters took forever to bring you a drink! Tip them if you want good service!!! The upgraded room was much better and nicer! Grounds are very nice and pretty big hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brooke T.
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Great Trip

My stay at Barcelo was amazing. The staff at the restaurants were great, always on top of things, and very polite. The staff at the front desk was a bit less friendly than restaurant staff but not too bad. I loved the views and the short walk to the beach from the hotel. The pool temperature was perfect and not too crowded. Overall my experience was great and I would recommend this hotel to family & friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top