$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlyAl1085
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 17, 2012

Good Family Friendly Hotel

Very nice beach, nice pools, kids club was nice to give parents a break. The food was above average and the staff was friendly. Stayed in a junior suite which was very nice and clean. A fun Easter weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve your spot early at the several restaurants at the resort as reservations are filled quite quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Married Couple
Business
New Hampshire
Apr 15, 2012

April Stay

Hotel is older, needs some repair.. beach was very narrow, and soliciting was allowed.. staff were wonderful, but cleanliness was somewhat of an issue...not planning on returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Bahia and Spanish restaurants were excellent, Italian was confusing as there was not a pasta dish on the menu...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kandk11
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Mar 24, 2012

You get what you pay for

Have been to DR 5 times and this is the first time at a Barcelo. We like the location as we wanted to walk the beach in a differnent area. (south of El Cortecito). The resort is full of mostly Russians and Europeans as compared to others we have been to. The buffet was not up to standards of the other resorts we have been to (Ocean Blue,Riu,Grand Paradise). The al la cartes definitely have a better quality of food so make sure to sign up.There were quite a number of spring breakers and they definately take up bar space and time so be prepared. I would only recommend if the price was still cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

walk out of the main gate of the resort and go left to the corner were the main road then turns right. At that corner is a super market to by snacks and what ever else you might want, rum, beer etc. There is also a great bakery right there with free wifi. Just remember to ask if you can't find it ,the people are friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NeNo
Business
Bogotá, Colombia
Feb 17, 2012

Beautiful beach

If you look some Place to stay with your love relax take sun this will be a kind of place to try

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Spanish restorant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
valleygirl
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great Single Getway

The amenities were great along with the location of the hotel. My room was clean everyday and the room was comfortable but they do have a light smell. But i was only in my room to shower and sleep so that didn't bother me that much. The cleaning staff and the bartenders were good and the hotel was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure you good the nightly shows they are GREAT

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kimislav
Business
mexico
Nov 29, 2011

overal impression

I have choosen this hotel because of the brand name and relatively good reviews. It is true that on weekend there are a lot of locals that could be more respectful and behave better. Overal it was a good stay, with a free upgrade to jr.suite which was really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
anuta11
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 13, 2011

you get what you pay for

check in took forever, we were in line for about 40-45min with only a few people in front of us. We only came for a long weekend so we each had a small bag, when I told the guy that I did not need him to take my bag and all I wanted was to get to the room he just pointed in the direction I needed to go. The food was very bad, I am not a picky eater but I was not able to eat lunch from the buffet, had to get a burger. A server took my order for a beer and never came back. Got the wrong thing a few time. WiFi did not work in the room, only in the lobby, and to get it I needed to get a voucher at the front desk, bring it to the internet shack, get a password and only then did it work (but only in the lobby) This was not my first time in Punta Cana, but it was the first time I got so heated on vacation, and it was not from the sun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 27, 2011

"Fun Times"

Overall the place was ok, the service was ok as well. The rooms could've been way better, I was moldy, not sure if thats a carribean thing.. The best thing about the hotel was the food and the shows at night Great... Oh before I forget DO NOT leave your stuff out of the safe the hotel provides my disposable contacts were stolen by the housekeeper. SMH.. too bad for her she won't be able to use them becasue they were prescribed for ME!!!! idoit!! overall if you go on vacation for the rooms don't go there!!! I actually enjoyed my self because I booked excursions and didn't spend a lot of time in the room only to sleep. Ohh and I also felt like I was in a strip club I would be giving singles out left and right, I found out if you tip a lot you get better service. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
long island,ny
Jul 11, 2011

you get wat you pay for

the resort was a very beautiful resort but looks wasnt everyting..check in was a nightmare and every where i went i couldt find any one who spoke english.and what really dissapoint me was that they didnt have a drink service,every time i wanted a drink i had to go to the bar to get one..another issue is at night time there was really nothing to do as in activities..there food was pretty good ,i would recomend to reserve all the restaurants because dinner was amazing,they book really fast so do it right away..so if you like to just hang out by the pool or beach and just relax and dont have a problem with foreign speaking everywhere, this resort was worth it,if you want more activities and better service spend the extra money..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

try the speed boats..if you like to snorkel and just hang out in the ocean i would strongly recomend this activity

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tys8782
Business
NJ
Jul 6, 2011

Cheap comes at a price

The overall look of the hotel was very nice yet not what I had hoped. Pools are clean and neat and the shore was kept realitively clean. Drinks made by the staff were not amazing and the place pretty much closes down after 7 o'clock. If you did not make dinner reservations you pretty much had your choice to drink in the lobby bar or walk on the beach during night time. There is a club but it did not open until 10 pm. The concierge on had made 3 seperate appointments with us that he continually was not available for and all to try and sell us excursions that we had already purchased from another tour company. The fridge in the room did not work and at one point our ceiling was leaking in the bathroom. Wasnt a awful trip but there are definate things to be wary of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Despite what the representative says about needing forms from him in order to get back home. They are provided by the airport. It is a con job to get you to listen to there sales speech. Beware everyone wanting a tip for little thing. Espically things that should have been done right the first time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top