$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
frustratedcostumer
Business
valencia, Venezuela
May 19, 2014

My worst hotel experience

they told us about you : "they always give us problems" 1. Security didnt had clearance to let us in. 2. The reservation department didn't pass our reservation & payment to their system. 3. The checking officer said it was not their problem and that we should call and complain to orbtz (yeah right after a 3 hour drive). 4. The check.in officer said that we had yo wait outside the hotel.. wait for the staff of the resevation department that went to eat (the whole staff). 5. 3 hours after arrival they let us check in. 6. Food was not diverse and we all got diarrhea. 7. Public Relations department don't know how to do public relations (they didnt allow us reserve for dinner... we had to walk the whole hotel to find were to eat). 8.dinner was worst (more diarrhea and flatulence). 9. The room had scratch paint (like the pool ), the air conditioner didn't work & it had alot of humidity (we all got allergies and sinus). 9. Lack of parking. 10.nature was pretty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
random adventure.
Business
California
May 19, 2014

Amazing Trip

First I would like to stay the staff at this resort is amazing. Very friendly and respectable people. I did enjoy my stay here very much. I did have a couple issues with my room such as a toilet that ran often and the power being turned off in the morning hours. Other than that my stay was remarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Book your dining options when you arrive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juan the only one
Business
Queens, New York
Apr 26, 2014

Excellent place to stay, fantastic location

My wife and I enjoy a wonderful time during the eight days stay in the Barcelo Dominican beach hotel. The room was very comfortable it was clean. The food was okey but I was preferred to see more seafood especially shrimp and clams. Excellent beach very clean good location. We didn't win any price but we enjoy the games at the beach and pools and the shows It was worth for the price. We will definitely go back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Good price for souvenir along the beach and at Playa Real shopping mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma from Monroe
Business
Monroe NC
Apr 16, 2014

We were sent to Barcelo Delux

Upon arrival on Friday, April 11, 2014, we were immediately moved upgraded to Barcelo Delux Dominican Beach Resort which was a five star hotel. We were not happy because we did not ask to be sent to another hotel. All in all the upgrade was very nice and we had a good time after all of the inconvenience our first day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amazing Buffet

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Northern Minnesota
Business
Minnesota
Apr 14, 2014

Couples Vacation

Staff were warm and friendly. Room was nice. Food choices were good, tried all the different resturaunts. Will go again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Shopping at hotel price matched other places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jrc0105
Business
Boston
Mar 24, 2014

NOT SAFE, DON'T GO

This resort is not safe, especially for females. The so-called "security" have no limits. I was only there for two nights and two people on my trip were assaulted by these "security" workers. Worst of all the resort feels they have no responsibility for this even though they are paying these people to work there. DO NOT GO. There are much nicer, safer resorts to go to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
indiantiffy
Business
new York
Jan 14, 2014

perfect little getaway for couples

I had a good time learning a different language and the culture of a the natives. I would definitely do it again. The all inclusive bar was my favorite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make reservations to the dine in restaurant's they were nice between the hours of 7-3pm

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marwanaz
Business
Punta Cana
Dec 24, 2013

Amazing

The best trip and vecation intel now, but the Dj is okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

A lot of dancing and activity

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrisalfa
Business
Guatemala, Guatemala
Dec 24, 2013

Very good value for the price!

This hotel was very affordable. For what you pay, you get a lot of value! I recommend it if you´re not too demanding. Food is ok, entertainment is ok, staff is very friendly. I´d definitely go back. The beach was great, and the pools were very clean all the time. Rooms are a bit outdated. While beds are comfortable, the furniture looks quite old. I don´t mind this very much as what I like is to be out at the beach or at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cchrispin
Business
Randolph, MA
Oct 26, 2013

This is the WORSE HOTEL EVER!!!!!!!

I wanted to give myself a birthday present, so I decided to go to Punta Cana, DR. I read about Barcelo Dominican Beach Hotel, and it seemed like a good hotel, for a good price ($289). I stayed there from June 26-30 of this year. During my stay, I was disappointed, but the worse is yet to come. Here it goes: 1. All the receptionists knew little to no English. The hotel website stated that the workers knew English, but when I went there, I had to do sign language for them to understand me. How is this tourist hotel, when no one understood English??? 2. My room was dirty. I opened up my curtains, and I turned around, and the white curtain that’s inside main curtain had a lot of medium size brown spots. GROSS 3. There room service was bad. From my room, I would call the front desk for different things like towels, and stuff. Like I said before in (#1) they couldn’t understand English. It was so terrible, that I had to leave my room, and go to the front desk myself and tell them what I need. Once they understood what I requested, they would tell me someone will come to my room in a few minutes. On 3 different occasions, they had me wait over an hr for an extra towel. Last, but not least…… 4. THEY ARE THIEVES!!!!!!!!!!! YES, THIEVES!!!!!!!! The date of check out, I still had a lot of money in my pocket, so I thought it would be a great idea to pay for everything in cash, so I wouldn’t have to see it on my credit card. NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!! During my trip, I went on 3 Excursions: Manati Park, Santo Domingo, and Isla Saona and Altos de Chavón. I was given a receipt for each place (thank God I asked/kept for the receipt). On each receipt, it showed the total amount in US dollars. When I was checking out, I told the lady, I wanted to pay everything in cash. She agreed, and told me the WHOLE TOTAL (my room stay & excursions) was $300. I was like, “Are you sure??? It shouldn’t be that less.” As a reminder, they’re English was TERRIBLE. So I gave her $300 in US dollars, then I left, to take the shuttle bus, heading towards the airport. I looked at the receipt, and it didn’t add up, so I calculated the math, and she was TOTALLY WRONG!!!!!! I stopped the driver, and I had him drive me back to the hotel. I went back to the desk, and I explained to the lady that she was wrong. Once that was settled, she gave me back the extra money I gave her. By then, I knew she was up to something. Then I explained to her that I still needed to pay off my hotel. She was asking another lady for help. The lady asked me, “How much do I owe?” I don’t know why she was asking me, because I should have been in there system and the information should have been there. I told the lady $289. I gave that amount in US dollars. She gave me a receipt of the transaction, and had me sign. The receipt was in Spanish. I ask for an English version, and they said they don’t have that system. I looked at receipt and it seemed a little shady to me, so I asked the lady, “Does this mean everything is paid off.” She said, “Yes.” After couple weeks, I got a bill stating that I need to pay for the hotel. I called my credit card company and deputed the charges. I told them that I paid in cash, and the hotel shouldn’t have charge me. I faxed my receipt to my credit card company. After translating the receipt, the ACTUAL wording said it was a billing to my room, not a payment. And it also stated that they didn’t receive any type of cash payment. I signed the receipt under false pretense, and without a paper trail of my cash payment, there was nothing I can do. Inclusion, those 2 ladies at the front desk STOLE MY MONEY, and now I’m stuck paying the bill AGAIN!!!!!! I hope this hotel gets SHUT DOWN and ARREST THE THIEVES!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top