Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
217 reviews
Couples Vacation

Staff were warm and friendly. Room was nice. Food choices were good, tried all the different... See full review

  • Northern Minnesota
  • Apr 14, 2014
Amazing Trip

First I would like to stay the staff at this resort is amazing. Very friendly and respectable... See full review

  • random adventure.
  • May 19, 2014
All-inclusive ease for kids, all beachfront relaxation for adults
Meandering turquoise swimming pools lead right up to the palm-dotted white sand beach on an even bluer Caribbean Sea at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Take a morning power walk along the powdery sand or join in outdoor activities throughout each day from beach volleyball and soccer to complimentary sailing, kayaking, snorkeling and windsurfing. Break up afternoons on the beach with visits to an array of all-inclusive bars and restaurants. Evenings light up with nightly stage shows or stop by the casino, disco and sports bar.
Highlights
  • Easy, all-inclusive luxury with meals, drinks, taxes, tips, activities and non-motor water sports included in rates
  • An 18-hole, par-72 golf course offers guests preferred green fee pricing
  • Kids club program for ages 4 to 12
  • Indulge at the spa or find thrills in the casino (fees apply)
Rooms
Seven room types ensure something for everyone in the tropically inspired accommodations at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Even standard rooms offer a coffee-maker, complimentary minibar and a balcony with views of the gardens from which to enjoy the balmy ocean breeze. Upgrade to experience a private Jacuzzi tub or a postcard-worthy sea view. Family suites offer two bathrooms and can accommodate up to five guests.
Dining
An exciting array of cuisine from seafood to Spanish to Japanese and Brazilian turns mealtime into an international affair at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Make the rounds at three buffet restaurants, six menu-style restaurants, two snack bars, a weekly beach party and seven cocktail lounges, all covered as part of the all-inclusive program.
Recreation
Beyond the long list of included activities, sports programs, dance lessons, Spanish lessons and non-motorized water recreation, guests can add even more adventure to a stay at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Go deep sea fishing, scuba diving, horseback riding or play golf all nearby (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
Attractions
  • Punta Cana Golf Course (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Ecological reserve (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.8 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.9 mi/93.2 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)
Business
  • Internet center on-site (fees apply)
  • Convention facility accommodates up to 350 guests

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Double
Enjoy the comfort of our rooms equipped with air conditioning, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, balcony, direct telephone line, satellite TV, mini refrigerator, safety deposit box (additional charge applies) and fully equipped bathroom.
Junior Suite Sea View Honeymoon
Romantic nights await you at our Ocean view Honeymoon Junior suite. Rooms all decorated in white to suit the occasion. Balcony, Private hot tub, Air conditioner,Ceiling fan, one king size bed, Tastefully decorated living area with sofa bed, Telephone, Cable TV, Coffee maker, Mini-fridge, Mini-bar, Iron and borrad, Safety deposit box, Shower, Large marble finish bathroom with two hand basins, magnifying mirror, hair dryer and amenity kit.
Family Junior Suite
Luxurious rooms, spacious and comfortable, with two double beds or one king bed, air conditioning, balcony, direct dial telephone, cable TV, safe (included), iron and ironing board, fully equipped bathroom, hot tub, hair dryer, mirror magnifiers, coffee maker, minibar, living room with sofa bed. Services of our Elite Club included.
junior Suite Sea View
Enjoy the special attention, staying in one of these rooms with two double beds or one king bed, air conditioning, balcony, direct dial telephone, cable TV, safe (included), iron and ironing board, bath Fully equipped, hot tub, hairdryer, mirror magnifiers, coffee maker, minibar, living room with sofa bed. Elite Club Services included.
Suite
Get the pampering you deserve at our Deluxe Suite. This for super VIP and gives you huge accommodations and array of extras. Balcony, Private hot tub, Air conditioner,Ceiling fan, one king size bed, Tastefully decorated living area with sofa bed, Telephone, Cable TV, Coffee maker, Mini-fridge, Mini-bar, Iron and borrad, Safety deposit box, Shower, Large marble finish bathroom with two hand basins, magnifying mirror, hair dryer and amenity kit.
Junior Suite
Luxurious rooms, spacious and comfortable, with two double beds or one king bed, air conditioning, balcony, direct dial telephone, cable TV, safe (included), iron and ironing board, fully equipped bathroom, hot tub, hair dryer, mirror magnifiers, coffee maker, minibar, living room with sofa bed. Services of our Elite Club included.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Hotel Map

18.6864 -68.4176
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Higuey, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 25 minutes and distance is 20 km (17 mi).
Area description
This ocean front property is located in the beautiful beach of Bavaro, only 20 Km from Punta Cana Airport, 45 Km from Higuey and 200 Km from Santo Domingo. Immersed in the green and freshness of the tropical palm trees, its whole structure merges perfectly with the surrounding environment to create this Paradise that will pamper you with our 24 hour All Inclusive Plan.

Dining

Snack Bars
Passaparola, 24-hour eatery serving pizza & snacks & El Pueblito Bar, open mid-morning to early evening serving snacks and drinks.
Bahia Grill
Beach Restaurant
Mexico Lindo
Mexican Restaurant
Rodizio
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant
Buffet Restaurants
Palmasol - Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner. Coco: Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner. Bahia Grill serving lunch
Bars
Amigo Lobby Bar: Offering Live Music in the evenings / El Pueblito Bar: Open mid-morning to late evening / Bar Coco: Open during breakfast, lunch & dinner / Playero Bar: Open mid-morning to late evening / Bar La Gaviota: Pool bar with swim-up seating / Le Cafe: Coffee bar / Time Out: Sports bar.
Don Quijote
As a Spanish based hotel group, make sure to try this restaurant for dinner.
La Dolce Vita
Italian Restaurant
Kyoto
Japanese Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flagstaff, Az
Jun 8, 2009

Great Time

The trip was excellent. Staff was very friendly. The food was adequate and the beach was superb!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The Bavaro runners safari trip was a great time- recommend for all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Almond Joi
Business
Rahway, NJ
Jun 5, 2009

Resort is just OK.

The resort was ok... it was very clean, however it was a bit older for my taste. The pictures really didn't give the best feel of the resort, meaning, it looked better than it actually was. The liquor was good-- I'd advise you to stay away from the ice and learn how to say NO ICE in spanish. The rooms were nice, spacious and fully stocked with bottled water, coke and sprite. I think orbitz should have told us about the $10 tourist Card fee to enter the country of DR, but thats another story. The transfers to the hotel and the airport made me the most angry. From the aiport to the hotel, no problem. They tell you to meet with the Coco tours rep the next day 5 45 in the lobby, no SHOW. He told me to come back the next day 6 pm. NO SHOW... he finally came to the resort, and how was I supposed to know. We were scheduled to leave the hotel at 9 am for the airport, and the car didn;t come until 10! After all of the uncertainty, I thought I was going to be stranded at Barcelo Dominican Beach. All and all it was just OK for the price. I could have went to Occidental and had a better time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

At the end of the resort there is a market place...they harass you a lot, but they have great deals on souveniers and they speak really good English.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orange County, CA
Jun 4, 2009

Good Time

We stayed in the junior suite which was really nice. House keeping was ok, except for some incidents. We had a pillow with huge old stains on it. So I purposely left it out so she would change it but she didnt. She didnt restock the toilet paper and it seemed we had less and less towels to use everyday. other than that the resort is nice, staff is nice. We love the beach and DR beach was ok, except too much sea weed. Also, bring bug spray. I had about 15 huge mosquitoe bites during the 5 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
May 28, 2009

Disappointing

Booked it because it was cheap & in a good location. Room was filthy, moldy, buggy,and smelly. The service seemed to come in and only change the towels and make th bed. We even tipped her the first day and were grossed out by the room the entire time - and i am by no means a neat freak. Service/check-in staff/bartenders were sort of cold, seemed like no one wanted to be working there except the waiters in the reatuarants who were friendly. I checked reviews before i booked- they were mixed so i took the risk of going to a cheaper resort. I went with low expectations because of the cheap price. however, i feel that the resort must have undergone some major changes for the worse since those good reviews were written. skip this place- you're not missing anything but a disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The cafe had great coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler fan
Business
Orlando, FL
May 27, 2009

Great vacation resort!!!

I had a great experience, staff is super friendly, they always treat you very well. Food is delicious, and drinks too. Rooms need a little maintanence; however, I will recommend this hotel. great deal for the price I paid !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
May 22, 2009

Worst vacation ever!!!!!!

This trip was awful. To begin with the front desk staff was rude and useless. The food was disgusting. The information about hotel and food options were deceiving. It was the same food...limited selection the restaurants were a JOKE. The people that operate the ground transportation from airport to hotel and back were difficult to reach and didn't want to honor prepaid receipt. It was very windy, the water was so cold you couldn't even go into the ocean. The entertainment was nonexistent. They tried to beat money out of you every minute of the day, unable to walk the beach because of pushy high priced vendors. We wish we had never went and will never go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, new york
May 21, 2009

great vacation spot

My experience at the Dominican beach resort was great My family and i enjoyed all that it had to offer. everything was included (food and drinks). for the money that i payed i was certaily happy with the service and my stay there. I would recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL USA
May 20, 2009

Barcelo Dominican Beach review

I traveled to Punta Cana with a friend in May 2009. We had a wonderful, relaxing time. This Barcelo resort is not located next to all the other Barcelo resorts (which appear to be a little nicer). It is about 5 miles down the road. We are both professionals in our 20s, and we had low expectations going into the trip, so the Barcelo Dominican Beach exceeded our expectations. If you are looking for a luxury resort, this would not meet your expectations. If you are looking for a cheap vacation with sun and fruity drinks, then this is your place. The resort was very well kept. The grass, trees, and flowers were gorgeous. The beach was clean and good to walk up and down. It was sunny every day, and rained almost every night, but that was no real problem. Make sure to put on a lot of sunscreen!!! Both of us applied sunscreen twice a day and still got sunburnt. The pool and swim-up bar were our favorite places at the resort. We tended to stay there all day. The drinks are fun. I recommend trying as many different ones as possible. If you get to know the bartenders, they are really cool and will make you lots of different drinks. We didn't do too many activities, but there were a lot going on and people looked like they were having fun. The food was just ok, but we weren't expecting it to be great. The buffet was fine. The Japanese and Italian restaurants were quite good, but the Spanish restaurant was not impressive. The staff is very friendly and helpful. After a few days, they will recognize and remember you. A caution to females, the male employees will be very friendly, but that just appears to be their nature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The airport shuttle service purchased through Orbitz was great! I would definitely recommend this to anyone. They are located right outside of baggage claim at the airport and take you right to your resort. It was easy and we did not have to worry about directions or paying someone there. They also arrange to pick you up at your resort and take you back to the airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 20, 2009

Great Value

Overall the resort is great if you get a good deal. It is about 25 minutes away from the hotel (taxi is about $33). We enjoyed the breakfast (especially the delicious pancakes and juice fresh and made in front of you) and dinner restaurants (especially Italian and Spanish). There was also a wonderful cafe open late and good handmade pizza by the beach. The resort is a not small but also not overwhelmingly large. While we were there in mid-May, the beach was not over-crowded. They had a lot of activities going on all day, and a nightly show which wasn't too bad. The resort itself is clean and well-maintained. The bathroom in our standard room was large and nice, although the water pressure was awful. We were missing shampoo and a tv remote, and after we told the front desk both were in our room the next time we came back from the beach. Most of the vacationers seemed to be French. I didn't think the lunch buffet was good, but my fiance didn't mind it. Not too many kids running around, which we liked. The bars only served local alcohol, you have to pay a few dollars extra to get premium liquor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
May 20, 2009

Wouldnt go back

People spoke english only when they felt like it. Roof was under construction in main lobby and they didnt notify anyone. Staff unfriendly if you dont speak spanish. This hotel really needs a marketing person. Everything is all spread out on the resort which makes it large however the map is horrible and you cant find anything. You need reservations for almost everything, which you will find out when you try to eat anywhere but the buffet....and never pay what they ask for excursions. They will rip you off on the resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Hard Rock cafe, they speak english!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top