$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eduardmary
Las Vegas,NV
Nov 13, 2012

everything was wanderfull execpt the representative

Everything was wanderfull execpt the representative who takes care of guests,we couldn't confirm our flight back home and the tranfer to the airport because he didn't provide any information and he didn't show up either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Aug 18, 2009

Its good to speak Spanish!

The beach and pools are very nice. The staff is unfriendly unless you speak Spanish. You have to make reservations to eat at the restaurants otherwise you're stuck with the buffet, even if they have 20 open tables in the restaurants. The buffet is open air and very humid during every meal, the restaurants have great food and are air conditioned. We stayed in the honeymoon suite even through it wasn't our honeymoon, I recommend the upgrade, the beachside room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cb Slider
Business
MI
Aug 17, 2009

Honeymooners

We went to the pools and we went parasailing. We also hung out in our honeymoon suite for a day. It would have been nice if there were more extra activities that the hotel offered that were complimentary. This was one of the best trips we have ever taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy gifts for others at the hotel gift shops. If you walk down the beach just a few short minutes you will find shops that have the same stuff a lot cheaper :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wondergrrl
Business
U.S.
Aug 16, 2009

What I expected...But....

We went to the Barcelo for a week long girls trip. We brought a million books to read, with primarily that goal in mind, and headed off to the beach each day. We loved that part. The part we didn't love - the massive amount of flirtatious/dirty comments from the waitstaff and groundskeepers (i.e. kissing our cheeks and drinking from our glasses), the same food every day, the overwhelming heat in most of the reservation restaurants (people were sweating buckets as we ate - not appetizing!), the TERRIBLE gym with only non-working, rusted-over equipment (2 of us are avid gym rats) that wasn't even suitable for a full workout (we didn't go to the gym after the first attempt). If you're going for the beach, it's absolutely beautiful. But as so many people mention about this hotel, do not go for the food, the shows, the drinks, etc. It's got to be solely for the view and the beauty of a great beach. We were pleased as punch to sit on the beach and read, but after about 3 days of that, we felt like we were in prison, eating the same food and doing the same routine. We didn't leave the property because we were traveling alone as women and didn't feel it safe. However, I'm sure if you did some excursions and changed things up that way, you may have a different experience. Overall, I wouldn't go again, but I do feel like I got my money's worth. If that makes sense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

While we were there, it stormed like crazy one night and we heard that the first floor of one of the buildings was flooded. There were tons of complaints from that, but we avoided that, as we were on the 2nd floor of another building. I would suggest you get the same setup!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuart & Crickett Elderd
Business
Albany, NY
Aug 9, 2009

An honest mixed review

First, the bad...our room, 9316, was a little run down, should be redone. We didn't expect 5-star accomodations so as long as it was clean, it was acceptable. Beds sagged a little, but were ok. Shower curtain had a little mold(it's very humid there) but we talked to our Orbitz rep at the resort and he had it replaced within 24 hours. Our biggest concern was finding a few "bugs" in the bathroom...looked like roaches but didn't scamper around. Considering where we were, we weren't sure. We again talked to James, our rep. We didn't get upset but just mentioned the bugs. The next day, there was a notice slipped under the door that the building was to be fumigated within the next 24 hrs. Since we were leaving that day, we just went with the flow.The swim-up bar was off-putting as it seemed to always be filled with kids whose parents were also hanging out there. The sports bar was also filled with kids playing pool. Don't expect to get to use these.Daily activities and the beach itself is shut down at 6:00pm. You can still wander to the beach but after 6:00, there's nothing to do but drink until the show starts around 9:00pm.We found the staff to be extremely helpful and nice. [...], at Time-out and [...] at the buffet became a couple of our favorites. The beach itself is beautiful. The buffet had a lot of variety to choose from so we didn't bother with the specialty restaurants. The shows at night were very good. The staff works very hard at their job and don't be put off by the slow start! Stick it out and you'll be glad you did!All in all, it was a nice relaxing vacation. If you like to get dirty, you must do the dune buggy excursion!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Wait for the vendors to come to the resort on Friday. Their prices start off very high but you can pretty much negotiate your own price as long as it's reasonable. Remember, they're trying to make a living, also. ***The bottom line is you get what you pay for and keep in mind that if you go in with an attitude and disrespect the staff, you will get the same in return. If you have issues, most will be corrected as long as you're nice about it.***

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summergirl464
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 9, 2009

You get what you paid for

Our stay at the hotel had some ups and some downs. Pros included good food at all restaurants (although beware that there is nowhere to eat between 3:00pm and 6:00pm besides the snack bar which is sub par), beautiful beach, and a multitude of activities to partake in. Cons included poor customer service, a generally unfriendly staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms and one large pool. If you decide to use the internet center, beware! The woman who works there is incredibly rude and they overcharge you. When my boyfriend and I were struggling to get the computer to log online, she stomped over to us and yelled in my face. Furthermore, the sign on the window says that you can log onto the internet for 15 minutes for $2; however, they rope you into signing three receipts (without telling you why you're signing 3 times) and charge your room 3 times the amount you should be charged for. A few bartenders are unenthusiastic and rude. We went up to a couple of the bars to order drinks and were ignored for 5 minutes while other guests who came after us were served. There is one great bartender at the sports bar and another named [...] at one of the pool bars who made our stay much more enjoyable. Cleanliness of the rooms was so-so. We had tiny bugs crawling all over our bathroom vanity almost every day. We think they were coming from the sink drain. They ended up fumigating the entire hotel and after that point, we didn't have any other problems. A/C stopped working in our room one day, but they came to fix it within 30 minutes. Another cleanliness issue included the large swimming pool with the swim-up bar. Didn't enter the pool once because of its odd green color. On our last day there, a pipe broke in that pool and it ended up turning brown. Not too pleasant. If the same situation arises for you, stick to the two other, clean, blue pools. Not too many people at those pools either, which is nice. Beach is gorgeous. Plenty of activities (parasailing and snorkeling were great). Look for "Joe, King of the Beach" on the beach to book those trips for cheap! You can bargain down their prices a great deal. We ended up bargaining both of those activities down from $200 per couple to $100 per couple. Bring towels if you don't want to deal with the towel stand. Often times you had to wait a few hours to get towels for the pool/beach. Overall, despite all of the inconveniences, we had a great time. It's hard to complain when your in a gorgeous, tropical, all-inclusive setting. Just remember that you get what you pay for. We got a great deal on this hotel for a week and so i guess we couldn't really expect more from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bargain down as many souvenirs and excursions (i.e. snorkeling) as possible. You can really get great deals if you say "well this person told me i could get the same thing for this much money" or pretend that you're not going to purchase the item/excursion from them if you don't get the deal you want. Once you start walking away, they usually let you pay what you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
melaaromi
Business
Texas
Aug 6, 2009

Barcelo Dom Rep 14 day all inclusive

First of all, there was miscommunication between Orbitz and the hotel, they did not know that we were 4 persons checking in- and this at 10:00 PM...no room was available other than one room (oceanview), but with only one bed; it took the staff over 21/2 hours to get a small bed ( two matresses on top of each other!) into the room. The room was however of good size to live in for 14 days. The bedcushions were stinky from all the moisture, it took several attempts to get them changed out. The shower door was broken and was not fixed correctly, leading to quite some water leakings on the bathroom floor... The resort itself is conveniently located at Bavaro, a small town. Due to security reasons, it is not recommended to leave the resort by yourself, which leaves a bad taste. The main pool had two free floating pool lights that nobody cared about. The beach was nice, but as soon as you hit the water, there was trash underneath the water: empty plastic cups, plastic bags, even worse: broken glass of all kind! Left and right of the resort, Dom rep citizen cornered us multiple times in order to get us to buy their items, which was annoying. Further, see the following: Renova Spa Package - Dominican Republic Orbitz A&S record locator: 5G6T61 Date: Sat, Aug 1, 2009 Option: Balance Energy Spa Package Quantity: 1 Cost: $79.00 More details Punta Cana Roundtrip Ground Transportation Orbitz A&S record locator: 1DC6T7 Date: Option: To/From Bavaro or Punta Cana Hotels Quantity: 4 Cost: $114.00 I booked these items with an Orbitz agent- the transpo voucher is too expensive, normal one way prize for a cab is US $33! Second, the SPA package was at another hotel, which was not communicated to me upon reservation- we had to take a cab to get there, plus Orbitz was unwilling to cancel it when i called them from the Caribic...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tips: bring moist wipes and a toiletpaper roll if you want to enjoy excursions, the toilets encountered were very disgusting at the bus stop ( Saona island trip ). For the same trip, do wear beach sandals, Saona has many broken coral pieces and shells upon arrival at the beach- one lady broke one of her toes, the rest had all cuts and bruises! Bring lots of cash for tipping purposes: but bring lots of single dollars! The reception was unable to exchange even a US $ 10 bill... Moskito spray: do not forget, especially while in line at Punta Cana airport and the disgusting bus stop public toilet, it was quite itchy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Aug 5, 2009

not recommended

Not so happy with services and drinks.,bevarages and alcool drins was warm all the time.not a very friendly staff.Entertaimets was so good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bambina
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 4, 2009

Very honest hotel

This hotel is a good average one for Punta Cana. It is not the most astonishing one, but for the low price you pay you could not expect better. The personnel is either very nice or indifferent, the site is clean, as well as the room, a little small to my taste but as I dont go to Punta Cana to stay in the room, I did not care. The food is also very honest, the same you would get from a buffet here in Montreal. There is not much shade at the beach, but there is plenty of parasol at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to call home (US or Canada)you better make arrangements with your cell phone company before you go, because there it is very expensive and complicated if you decide to buy calling cards over there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland,usa
Aug 4, 2009

very pleased -

We really enjoy our stay at this place, we felt safe and very confortable. The staff are very friendly and polite. The drinks are superb, and of course, it helped to speak spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bonie
Business
Massachussetts
Aug 2, 2009

bad experience

My visit in Dominican republic wasn't that great. The food were tasteless you can see karotches around the bread baskets after two days my family and i got very with dairreah for the intire vacation,the beach apool wasn.t clean at all .Two yaers ago we were in Mexcico we had no negative to say about Mexcico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top