$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuart & Crickett Elderd
Business
Albany, NY
Aug 9, 2009

An honest mixed review

First, the bad...our room, 9316, was a little run down, should be redone. We didn't expect 5-star accomodations so as long as it was clean, it was acceptable. Beds sagged a little, but were ok. Shower curtain had a little mold(it's very humid there) but we talked to our Orbitz rep at the resort and he had it replaced within 24 hours. Our biggest concern was finding a few "bugs" in the bathroom...looked like roaches but didn't scamper around. Considering where we were, we weren't sure. We again talked to James, our rep. We didn't get upset but just mentioned the bugs. The next day, there was a notice slipped under the door that the building was to be fumigated within the next 24 hrs. Since we were leaving that day, we just went with the flow.The swim-up bar was off-putting as it seemed to always be filled with kids whose parents were also hanging out there. The sports bar was also filled with kids playing pool. Don't expect to get to use these.Daily activities and the beach itself is shut down at 6:00pm. You can still wander to the beach but after 6:00, there's nothing to do but drink until the show starts around 9:00pm.We found the staff to be extremely helpful and nice. [...], at Time-out and [...] at the buffet became a couple of our favorites. The beach itself is beautiful. The buffet had a lot of variety to choose from so we didn't bother with the specialty restaurants. The shows at night were very good. The staff works very hard at their job and don't be put off by the slow start! Stick it out and you'll be glad you did!All in all, it was a nice relaxing vacation. If you like to get dirty, you must do the dune buggy excursion!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

Wait for the vendors to come to the resort on Friday. Their prices start off very high but you can pretty much negotiate your own price as long as it's reasonable. Remember, they're trying to make a living, also. ***The bottom line is you get what you pay for and keep in mind that if you go in with an attitude and disrespect the staff, you will get the same in return. If you have issues, most will be corrected as long as you're nice about it.***

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summergirl464
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 9, 2009

You get what you paid for

Our stay at the hotel had some ups and some downs. Pros included good food at all restaurants (although beware that there is nowhere to eat between 3:00pm and 6:00pm besides the snack bar which is sub par), beautiful beach, and a multitude of activities to partake in. Cons included poor customer service, a generally unfriendly staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms and one large pool. If you decide to use the internet center, beware! The woman who works there is incredibly rude and they overcharge you. When my boyfriend and I were struggling to get the computer to log online, she stomped over to us and yelled in my face. Furthermore, the sign on the window says that you can log onto the internet for 15 minutes for $2; however, they rope you into signing three receipts (without telling you why you're signing 3 times) and charge your room 3 times the amount you should be charged for. A few bartenders are unenthusiastic and rude. We went up to a couple of the bars to order drinks and were ignored for 5 minutes while other guests who came after us were served. There is one great bartender at the sports bar and another named [...] at one of the pool bars who made our stay much more enjoyable. Cleanliness of the rooms was so-so. We had tiny bugs crawling all over our bathroom vanity almost every day. We think they were coming from the sink drain. They ended up fumigating the entire hotel and after that point, we didn't have any other problems. A/C stopped working in our room one day, but they came to fix it within 30 minutes. Another cleanliness issue included the large swimming pool with the swim-up bar. Didn't enter the pool once because of its odd green color. On our last day there, a pipe broke in that pool and it ended up turning brown. Not too pleasant. If the same situation arises for you, stick to the two other, clean, blue pools. Not too many people at those pools either, which is nice. Beach is gorgeous. Plenty of activities (parasailing and snorkeling were great). Look for "Joe, King of the Beach" on the beach to book those trips for cheap! You can bargain down their prices a great deal. We ended up bargaining both of those activities down from $200 per couple to $100 per couple. Bring towels if you don't want to deal with the towel stand. Often times you had to wait a few hours to get towels for the pool/beach. Overall, despite all of the inconveniences, we had a great time. It's hard to complain when your in a gorgeous, tropical, all-inclusive setting. Just remember that you get what you pay for. We got a great deal on this hotel for a week and so i guess we couldn't really expect more from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bargain down as many souvenirs and excursions (i.e. snorkeling) as possible. You can really get great deals if you say "well this person told me i could get the same thing for this much money" or pretend that you're not going to purchase the item/excursion from them if you don't get the deal you want. Once you start walking away, they usually let you pay what you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
melaaromi
Business
Texas
Aug 6, 2009

Barcelo Dom Rep 14 day all inclusive

First of all, there was miscommunication between Orbitz and the hotel, they did not know that we were 4 persons checking in- and this at 10:00 PM...no room was available other than one room (oceanview), but with only one bed; it took the staff over 21/2 hours to get a small bed ( two matresses on top of each other!) into the room. The room was however of good size to live in for 14 days. The bedcushions were stinky from all the moisture, it took several attempts to get them changed out. The shower door was broken and was not fixed correctly, leading to quite some water leakings on the bathroom floor... The resort itself is conveniently located at Bavaro, a small town. Due to security reasons, it is not recommended to leave the resort by yourself, which leaves a bad taste. The main pool had two free floating pool lights that nobody cared about. The beach was nice, but as soon as you hit the water, there was trash underneath the water: empty plastic cups, plastic bags, even worse: broken glass of all kind! Left and right of the resort, Dom rep citizen cornered us multiple times in order to get us to buy their items, which was annoying. Further, see the following: Renova Spa Package - Dominican Republic Orbitz A&S record locator: 5G6T61 Date: Sat, Aug 1, 2009 Option: Balance Energy Spa Package Quantity: 1 Cost: $79.00 More details Punta Cana Roundtrip Ground Transportation Orbitz A&S record locator: 1DC6T7 Date: Option: To/From Bavaro or Punta Cana Hotels Quantity: 4 Cost: $114.00 I booked these items with an Orbitz agent- the transpo voucher is too expensive, normal one way prize for a cab is US $33! Second, the SPA package was at another hotel, which was not communicated to me upon reservation- we had to take a cab to get there, plus Orbitz was unwilling to cancel it when i called them from the Caribic...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tips: bring moist wipes and a toiletpaper roll if you want to enjoy excursions, the toilets encountered were very disgusting at the bus stop ( Saona island trip ). For the same trip, do wear beach sandals, Saona has many broken coral pieces and shells upon arrival at the beach- one lady broke one of her toes, the rest had all cuts and bruises! Bring lots of cash for tipping purposes: but bring lots of single dollars! The reception was unable to exchange even a US $ 10 bill... Moskito spray: do not forget, especially while in line at Punta Cana airport and the disgusting bus stop public toilet, it was quite itchy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Aug 5, 2009

not recommended

Not so happy with services and drinks.,bevarages and alcool drins was warm all the time.not a very friendly staff.Entertaimets was so good either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bambina
Business
Montreal, Canada
Aug 4, 2009

Very honest hotel

This hotel is a good average one for Punta Cana. It is not the most astonishing one, but for the low price you pay you could not expect better. The personnel is either very nice or indifferent, the site is clean, as well as the room, a little small to my taste but as I dont go to Punta Cana to stay in the room, I did not care. The food is also very honest, the same you would get from a buffet here in Montreal. There is not much shade at the beach, but there is plenty of parasol at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you want to call home (US or Canada)you better make arrangements with your cell phone company before you go, because there it is very expensive and complicated if you decide to buy calling cards over there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland,usa
Aug 4, 2009

very pleased -

We really enjoy our stay at this place, we felt safe and very confortable. The staff are very friendly and polite. The drinks are superb, and of course, it helped to speak spanish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bonie
Business
Massachussetts
Aug 2, 2009

bad experience

My visit in Dominican republic wasn't that great. The food were tasteless you can see karotches around the bread baskets after two days my family and i got very with dairreah for the intire vacation,the beach apool wasn.t clean at all .Two yaers ago we were in Mexcico we had no negative to say about Mexcico

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacationing just for fun!
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2009

BEWARE!!!! SICKNESS WILL OCCUR!

BEWARE! This resort is one of the worst! I was alone in a room because my roommate had a last minute emergency and although my friends and I (10+group) requested rooms close by weeks prior, mine was blocks away. When requested to have my room switched, the Staff told me they would accommodate me, but it was about 9 hours later (this is not the way you want to start your vacation)! The food WILL 100% make you sick. When I got home, I had to take an extra week off from work and spent it in bed and in the bathroom because I was so sick, and to top it off, I was extremely cautious what I ate on vacation. Every one I spoke to had the runs. The rooms are dirty (bed bugs, blood on the sheets, leaking vents over the toilet bowl, dirty towels, etc). The lock on the balcony door didn't work. If you're a woman walking alone, be prepared to get hit on by the Staff – it gets very irritating after dealing with it for a few days. Steer clear of their frozen drinks; they are more like an indescribable nauseating liquid with ice (not frozen at all). The pool was nice, but god only knows how much of the water was pee and never once did I see someone cleaning it. If you don't speak Spanish, be prepared to not be able to communicate with ANY of the staff. NO ONE spoke English and it was extremely difficult to communicate (granted you're in Mexico, but it's a resort and they should be able to accommodate guests). My phone stopped working the second day and after repeatedly calling several times a day and being told someone would be by to fix it, I never had it fixed. I found a bug in my food in the indoor buffet (disgusting). The club was fun, but once it closed (around 2 AM), the only place open was the snack bar, which did not have a great selection of food (wings and fries) and its outdoors with about 4 tables. Best advice I can give you, DO NOT go to this resort! *If in Punta Cana, make sure to go to club Imagine. It's a cave, turned into a night club. But ladies, beware, it's a cave and the floor is uneven and it can be difficult to dance on with stilettos. Overall, I made the best of my trip because there was nothing I could do but try to enjoy it. Take the advice and steer clear of this resort is you want to have less stress, headaches, sickness, and problems when your on vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FIREDIRECTOR
Business
BRONX, NEW YORK
Jul 24, 2009

I HOPE TO VISIT AGAIN SOON.

MY WIFE AND I STAYED FOR 7DAYS. WE REALY ENJOY OUR STAY.WE LOVE THE FOOD AND THE DRINKS. I HOPE TO VISIT AGAIN SOON NEXT TIME WITH MY FREINDS AND FAMILY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eatontown, New Jersey
Jul 22, 2009

Great hotel for the price

The hotel was well maintained and the staff very friendly. We had a Jr. Suite on the ground level. Which made us VIP's Lots of Kids from Canada on Grad trip. I was there with 3 grad girls myself. A trip of a lifetime. Security was always present so you felt safe. Food was good. Problems though with the water. Bottle water was always available. I feel Punta Cana overall in 5-6 years will be like Cancun. Lots of construction on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

This hotel had everything you could want all excursions could be booked through hotel. Only bad thing about the island. Most places do not take credit cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top