$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
2013 honeymoon
dr
Feb 25, 2013

2013 honeymoon

hotel staff was great,food was ok. beach was great.pools clean.best 10 days ever..can"t wait to go back...weather was owsome did"t rain once....great place to take a long vacation.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

wonderful

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Jul 21, 2009

THE GOOD AND THE EXPENSIVE!!

IT WASN'T WHAT I EXPECTED AND I PROBABLY WON'T COME TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN. THE FOOD WAS NOT GOOD, IT GAVE ME AND MY WIFE THE RUNS. WE WENT TO THE ITALIAN REST. AND THE FOOD WAS SO SALTY. AND THE ONLY WAY THEY TREAT YOU GOOD IS IF YOU HAVE A FEW DOLLAR BILLS ON THE TABLE. ALSO WHEN WE FIRST GOT TO THE HOTEL WE ASKED FOR 2 BEDS AND THERE WAS ONLY 1 KING SIZE BED AND WE HAVE 2 BOYS I HAD TO CALL THE FRONT DESK AND AFTER A FEW HOURS THEY CAME AT 9PM AND CAME WITH 2 BEDS WITH NO HEAD BOARDS MY KIDS WERE SLEEPING ON THE MATTRESS IT WAS NOT A GREAT EXPIRENCE FOR US. ALSO WE WERE VIP GUEST AND TREATED THIS WAY. THE CLEANING LADY WAS GREAT! MY KIDS LOVED THE POOL BESIDES THAT I WOULD NOT RECOMMED THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE NOT EVEN MY ENIMIES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THE HOTEL IS A RIP OFF!!!SPEAK WITH GUYS ON THE BEACH.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MA
Jul 16, 2009

Great value for the money

My husband and I had not been away since our honeymoon over 15 years ago so we were extremely excited for this trip and we were not disappointed! The beach was gorgeous, the room clean and comfortable with amazing views, the service superb (we loved "Super" Mario), and the entertainment enjoyable. We would also highly recommend the Bavaro Splash tour which included driving a mini motor boat and snorkeling. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly and we had a blast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Safija
Business
Des Plaines, IL
Jul 13, 2009

More then expected...Wonderful trip!

The trip was great best time my husband and I have had traveling. The Check - In was fast, the staff extremely freindly and helpful...The first room we received at check-in had a foul odor...I informed the front desk and they immediatley upgraded my accomidations to a suite...from that point on everything was perfect...lots of food to choose from and entertainment nightly...The staff by far was the best...the friendliness and willingness to help was amazing...all in all will recommend to all freinds and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OHIO
Jul 12, 2009

Barcelo Dominican Beach

have also stayed at Iberostar Bavaro and Majestic colonial where this place was a step down it was only half the price. had a great time the only complaint was the food was not great, although for the same price we would return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jul 10, 2009

Honeymoon

All the restaurants were wonderful and the Spanish restaurant was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sheribaby
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 3, 2009

Never again

Staff did not speak or understand english. Had to order drinks 2 to 3 times before they got them right. The rest of the staff was just as bad, actually hanging up on us when we called for maintenance. Taxis driver charged us $43 to go to the airport and another one charged my son $30. We were called "rich Gringos" by an excursion salesperson - so we obviously did not book the excursion. Buffet lunch was horrible every day. We would never recommend the Barcelo under any circumstances. The staff were very unfriendly as well. The bed in our suite had to be 30 years old as well as the pillows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring plenty of $1.00 bills to tip or you are treated poorly. No one will make change for you and if you do not tip - you get no service.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the wonder three
Business
new jersey
Jun 27, 2009

great vacation

we have great vacations. the only rooms facing the water are the "honeymoon" ones, that was the only disappointment, the gym is very, very old and the room service very poor. the restaurants, people in general and services very good, and we are ready to come back in a. heart beat. again, great vacations, the beach, the water, the landscapes unbeatable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RyanfromINDY
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 22, 2009

Barcelo on the beach

My wife and myself came here to relax in the middle of her pregnancy, and relax we did. Punta Cana is very quiet with not a whole lot to do, so if you are looking for rest and peace and quiet, this is definitly the place. The Service was excellent, and I love the fact that many of them remembered my name. The food on the other hand, Terrible, if I never had to eat in the D.R. it would be way too soon! There was one jerk in the coffee shop, but outside of that really good experience. Not as good as Jamaica by far, but pretty cool destiniation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't by from the hotel market, they are the biggest rip off artist out there! There are markets immediately to the left of the hotel, and on the right, if you walk around the bend, there are even more markets where you can bargin down the prices much more, and find better swag!

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Freehold, NJ
Jun 21, 2009

True

It was good because we made the best of it and met a lot of nice people. Some of the bartenders loved us because we tipped them at the beginning, but a majority of the staff was rude and disrespectful. They spoke behind our backs in spanish, but we understood perfectly because we are all fluent in italian.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat Selectively, and only drink bottled water

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Georgia
Jun 19, 2009

Awesome honeymoon Hotel

We were pleasantly surprised when we got to our room at Barcelo Dominican Beach. The Honeymoon Suite was absolutely gorgeous, it was even prettier then the pics we saw. There aren't many rooms at this hotel that are ocean front, but the honeymoon suites are. The grounds were well kept and beautiful. The beach was not crowded. We got a complimentary romantic breakfast in the room and dinner on the beach that came with out room. If you don't get the honeymoon suite it is worth upgrading to the Elite club. The restaurants were pretty good, the buffets were average. I would definatly recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can barter with the people on the beach for activities like parasailing or speed boats

Back to menu Return to top