$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2014 Check-out: Sep 14, 2014

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
217 reviews
Couples Vacation

Staff were warm and friendly. Room was nice. Food choices were good, tried all the different... See full review

  • Northern Minnesota
  • Apr 14, 2014
Amazing Trip

First I would like to stay the staff at this resort is amazing. Very friendly and respectable... See full review

  • random adventure.
  • May 19, 2014
All-inclusive ease for kids, all beachfront relaxation for adults
Meandering turquoise swimming pools lead right up to the palm-dotted white sand beach on an even bluer Caribbean Sea at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Take a morning power walk along the powdery sand or join in outdoor activities throughout each day from beach volleyball and soccer to complimentary sailing, kayaking, snorkeling and windsurfing. Break up afternoons on the beach with visits to an array of all-inclusive bars and restaurants. Evenings light up with nightly stage shows or stop by the casino, disco and sports bar.
Highlights
  • Easy, all-inclusive luxury with meals, drinks, taxes, tips, activities and non-motor water sports included in rates
  • An 18-hole, par-72 golf course offers guests preferred green fee pricing
  • Kids club program for ages 4 to 12
  • Indulge at the spa or find thrills in the casino (fees apply)
Rooms
Seven room types ensure something for everyone in the tropically inspired accommodations at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Even standard rooms offer a coffee-maker, complimentary minibar and a balcony with views of the gardens from which to enjoy the balmy ocean breeze. Upgrade to experience a private Jacuzzi tub or a postcard-worthy sea view. Family suites offer two bathrooms and can accommodate up to five guests.
Dining
An exciting array of cuisine from seafood to Spanish to Japanese and Brazilian turns mealtime into an international affair at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Make the rounds at three buffet restaurants, six menu-style restaurants, two snack bars, a weekly beach party and seven cocktail lounges, all covered as part of the all-inclusive program.
Recreation
Beyond the long list of included activities, sports programs, dance lessons, Spanish lessons and non-motorized water recreation, guests can add even more adventure to a stay at Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive. Go deep sea fishing, scuba diving, horseback riding or play golf all nearby (fees apply).
Transportation
  • Punta Cana International Airport (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
Attractions
  • Punta Cana Golf Course (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Palma Real Shopping Village (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Ecological reserve (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Basilica de Higuey (24.7 mi/39.8 km)
  • Altos de Chavon (57.9 mi/93.2 km)
  • Santo Domingo (126 mi/202 km)
Business
  • Internet center on-site (fees apply)
  • Convention facility accommodates up to 350 guests

Hotel Map

18.6864 -68.4176
Area served
Playa Bavaro, Higuey, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ): Approximate driving time is 25 minutes and distance is 20 km (17 mi).
Area description
This ocean front property is located in the beautiful beach of Bavaro, only 20 Km from Punta Cana Airport, 45 Km from Higuey and 200 Km from Santo Domingo. Immersed in the green and freshness of the tropical palm trees, its whole structure merges perfectly with the surrounding environment to create this Paradise that will pamper you with our 24 hour All Inclusive Plan.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive Rooms

Double
Enjoy the comfort of our rooms equipped with air conditioning, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, balcony, direct telephone line, satellite TV, mini refrigerator, safety deposit box (additional charge applies) and fully equipped bathroom.
Junior Suite Sea View Honeymoon
Romantic nights await you at our Ocean view Honeymoon Junior suite. Rooms all decorated in white to suit the occasion. Balcony, Private hot tub, Air conditioner,Ceiling fan, one king size bed, Tastefully decorated living area with sofa bed, Telephone, Cable TV, Coffee maker, Mini-fridge, Mini-bar, Iron and borrad, Safety deposit box, Shower, Large marble finish bathroom with two hand basins, magnifying mirror, hair dryer and amenity kit.
Family Junior Suite
Luxurious rooms, spacious and comfortable, with two double beds or one king bed, air conditioning, balcony, direct dial telephone, cable TV, safe (included), iron and ironing board, fully equipped bathroom, hot tub, hair dryer, mirror magnifiers, coffee maker, minibar, living room with sofa bed. Services of our Elite Club included.
junior Suite Sea View
Enjoy the special attention, staying in one of these rooms with two double beds or one king bed, air conditioning, balcony, direct dial telephone, cable TV, safe (included), iron and ironing board, bath Fully equipped, hot tub, hairdryer, mirror magnifiers, coffee maker, minibar, living room with sofa bed. Elite Club Services included.
Suite
Get the pampering you deserve at our Deluxe Suite. This for super VIP and gives you huge accommodations and array of extras. Balcony, Private hot tub, Air conditioner,Ceiling fan, one king size bed, Tastefully decorated living area with sofa bed, Telephone, Cable TV, Coffee maker, Mini-fridge, Mini-bar, Iron and borrad, Safety deposit box, Shower, Large marble finish bathroom with two hand basins, magnifying mirror, hair dryer and amenity kit.
Junior Suite
Luxurious rooms, spacious and comfortable, with two double beds or one king bed, air conditioning, balcony, direct dial telephone, cable TV, safe (included), iron and ironing board, fully equipped bathroom, hot tub, hair dryer, mirror magnifiers, coffee maker, minibar, living room with sofa bed. Services of our Elite Club included.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Handicapped parking

Dining

Snack Bars
Passaparola, 24-hour eatery serving pizza & snacks & El Pueblito Bar, open mid-morning to early evening serving snacks and drinks.
Bahia Grill
Beach Restaurant
Mexico Lindo
Mexican Restaurant
Rodizio
Brazilian Rodizio Restaurant
Buffet Restaurants
Palmasol - Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner. Coco: Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner. Bahia Grill serving lunch
Bars
Amigo Lobby Bar: Offering Live Music in the evenings / El Pueblito Bar: Open mid-morning to late evening / Bar Coco: Open during breakfast, lunch & dinner / Playero Bar: Open mid-morning to late evening / Bar La Gaviota: Pool bar with swim-up seating / Le Cafe: Coffee bar / Time Out: Sports bar.
Don Quijote
As a Spanish based hotel group, make sure to try this restaurant for dinner.
La Dolce Vita
Italian Restaurant
Kyoto
Japanese Restaurant

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
renata89
pa
Sep 12, 2009

barcelo dominican beach review

The best part of the hotel was the beach. The water was warm and clear. The beach was a little dirty but not terrible. There was lots of shady spots too. Some women were topless, even though that was not a topless beach. The hotel room was average. The beds were lumpy and not very comfortable. It had a moldy smell too. The food in the buffet was ok. The restaurants had better food than the buffet. They have to be reserved ahead of time, but that wasn't a problem. The best restaurant was the japanesse. The Italian and the spanish were also very good. The worst one was the brazilian. The food was overcooked and not good. They also don't provide you with stake knives (even when they serve steak). There were a lot of bars and the service at the bars was good. They also had a coffee bar which was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some shops at the end of the beach run by locals. Better prices there than in the shops on the resort.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C.B. world travler
Lockport, Il.
Sep 8, 2009

Beautiful Beach vacation

Likes: Great beach, plenty to do at the resort during the day and friendly staff. Dislikes: No T.v. remote in the rooms, poor food selection, bar service and drinks and the staff was hard to communicate with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Sep 7, 2009

Great Vacation

My experience was great. We had an amazing time. We went in September so there was not too many people. The food was good but if you are not accustomed to it you may have a hard time with it. The staff was not always friendly but many of them were. I was part of the elite club and had the honeymoon suite so I would not really know how the experience would differe for someone who had the regular standard room. In all I do recommend the hotel, especially the honeymoon suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure that you make all reservations right at check-in so that you have no problem choosing where you want to eat. The Japanese restaurant was really good. Just make sure not to drink the water.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
borroto
miami florida
Aug 25, 2009

fantastic family getaway

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Aug 18, 2009

Its good to speak Spanish!

The beach and pools are very nice. The staff is unfriendly unless you speak Spanish. You have to make reservations to eat at the restaurants otherwise you're stuck with the buffet, even if they have 20 open tables in the restaurants. The buffet is open air and very humid during every meal, the restaurants have great food and are air conditioned. We stayed in the honeymoon suite even through it wasn't our honeymoon, I recommend the upgrade, the beachside room was fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cb Slider
MI
Aug 17, 2009

Honeymooners

We went to the pools and we went parasailing. We also hung out in our honeymoon suite for a day. It would have been nice if there were more extra activities that the hotel offered that were complimentary. This was one of the best trips we have ever taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't buy gifts for others at the hotel gift shops. If you walk down the beach just a few short minutes you will find shops that have the same stuff a lot cheaper :)

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wondergrrl
U.S.
Aug 16, 2009

What I expected...But....

We went to the Barcelo for a week long girls trip. We brought a million books to read, with primarily that goal in mind, and headed off to the beach each day. We loved that part. The part we didn't love - the massive amount of flirtatious/dirty comments from the waitstaff and groundskeepers (i.e. kissing our cheeks and drinking from our glasses), the same food every day, the overwhelming heat in most of the reservation restaurants (people were sweating buckets as we ate - not appetizing!), the TERRIBLE gym with only non-working, rusted-over equipment (2 of us are avid gym rats) that wasn't even suitable for a full workout (we didn't go to the gym after the first attempt). If you're going for the beach, it's absolutely beautiful. But as so many people mention about this hotel, do not go for the food, the shows, the drinks, etc. It's got to be solely for the view and the beauty of a great beach. We were pleased as punch to sit on the beach and read, but after about 3 days of that, we felt like we were in prison, eating the same food and doing the same routine. We didn't leave the property because we were traveling alone as women and didn't feel it safe. However, I'm sure if you did some excursions and changed things up that way, you may have a different experience. Overall, I wouldn't go again, but I do feel like I got my money's worth. If that makes sense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

While we were there, it stormed like crazy one night and we heard that the first floor of one of the buildings was flooded. There were tons of complaints from that, but we avoided that, as we were on the 2nd floor of another building. I would suggest you get the same setup!

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stuart & Crickett Elderd
Albany, NY
Aug 9, 2009

An honest mixed review

First, the bad...our room, 9316, was a little run down, should be redone. We didn't expect 5-star accomodations so as long as it was clean, it was acceptable. Beds sagged a little, but were ok. Shower curtain had a little mold(it's very humid there) but we talked to our Orbitz rep at the resort and he had it replaced within 24 hours. Our biggest concern was finding a few "bugs" in the bathroom...looked like roaches but didn't scamper around. Considering where we were, we weren't sure. We again talked to James, our rep. We didn't get upset but just mentioned the bugs. The next day, there was a notice slipped under the door that the building was to be fumigated within the next 24 hrs. Since we were leaving that day, we just went with the flow.The swim-up bar was off-putting as it seemed to always be filled with kids whose parents were also hanging out there. The sports bar was also filled with kids playing pool. Don't expect to get to use these.Daily activities and the beach itself is shut down at 6:00pm. You can still wander to the beach but after 6:00, there's nothing to do but drink until the show starts around 9:00pm.We found the staff to be extremely helpful and nice. [...], at Time-out and [...] at the buffet became a couple of our favorites. The beach itself is beautiful. The buffet had a lot of variety to choose from so we didn't bother with the specialty restaurants. The shows at night were very good. The staff works very hard at their job and don't be put off by the slow start! Stick it out and you'll be glad you did!All in all, it was a nice relaxing vacation. If you like to get dirty, you must do the dune buggy excursion!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: In Hotel

Wait for the vendors to come to the resort on Friday. Their prices start off very high but you can pretty much negotiate your own price as long as it's reasonable. Remember, they're trying to make a living, also. ***The bottom line is you get what you pay for and keep in mind that if you go in with an attitude and disrespect the staff, you will get the same in return. If you have issues, most will be corrected as long as you're nice about it.***

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Summergirl464
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 9, 2009

You get what you paid for

Our stay at the hotel had some ups and some downs. Pros included good food at all restaurants (although beware that there is nowhere to eat between 3:00pm and 6:00pm besides the snack bar which is sub par), beautiful beach, and a multitude of activities to partake in. Cons included poor customer service, a generally unfriendly staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms and one large pool. If you decide to use the internet center, beware! The woman who works there is incredibly rude and they overcharge you. When my boyfriend and I were struggling to get the computer to log online, she stomped over to us and yelled in my face. Furthermore, the sign on the window says that you can log onto the internet for 15 minutes for $2; however, they rope you into signing three receipts (without telling you why you're signing 3 times) and charge your room 3 times the amount you should be charged for. A few bartenders are unenthusiastic and rude. We went up to a couple of the bars to order drinks and were ignored for 5 minutes while other guests who came after us were served. There is one great bartender at the sports bar and another named [...] at one of the pool bars who made our stay much more enjoyable. Cleanliness of the rooms was so-so. We had tiny bugs crawling all over our bathroom vanity almost every day. We think they were coming from the sink drain. They ended up fumigating the entire hotel and after that point, we didn't have any other problems. A/C stopped working in our room one day, but they came to fix it within 30 minutes. Another cleanliness issue included the large swimming pool with the swim-up bar. Didn't enter the pool once because of its odd green color. On our last day there, a pipe broke in that pool and it ended up turning brown. Not too pleasant. If the same situation arises for you, stick to the two other, clean, blue pools. Not too many people at those pools either, which is nice. Beach is gorgeous. Plenty of activities (parasailing and snorkeling were great). Look for "Joe, King of the Beach" on the beach to book those trips for cheap! You can bargain down their prices a great deal. We ended up bargaining both of those activities down from $200 per couple to $100 per couple. Bring towels if you don't want to deal with the towel stand. Often times you had to wait a few hours to get towels for the pool/beach. Overall, despite all of the inconveniences, we had a great time. It's hard to complain when your in a gorgeous, tropical, all-inclusive setting. Just remember that you get what you pay for. We got a great deal on this hotel for a week and so i guess we couldn't really expect more from it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bargain down as many souvenirs and excursions (i.e. snorkeling) as possible. You can really get great deals if you say "well this person told me i could get the same thing for this much money" or pretend that you're not going to purchase the item/excursion from them if you don't get the deal you want. Once you start walking away, they usually let you pay what you want.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
melaaromi
Texas
Aug 6, 2009

Barcelo Dom Rep 14 day all inclusive

First of all, there was miscommunication between Orbitz and the hotel, they did not know that we were 4 persons checking in- and this at 10:00 PM...no room was available other than one room (oceanview), but with only one bed; it took the staff over 21/2 hours to get a small bed ( two matresses on top of each other!) into the room. The room was however of good size to live in for 14 days. The bedcushions were stinky from all the moisture, it took several attempts to get them changed out. The shower door was broken and was not fixed correctly, leading to quite some water leakings on the bathroom floor... The resort itself is conveniently located at Bavaro, a small town. Due to security reasons, it is not recommended to leave the resort by yourself, which leaves a bad taste. The main pool had two free floating pool lights that nobody cared about. The beach was nice, but as soon as you hit the water, there was trash underneath the water: empty plastic cups, plastic bags, even worse: broken glass of all kind! Left and right of the resort, Dom rep citizen cornered us multiple times in order to get us to buy their items, which was annoying. Further, see the following: Renova Spa Package - Dominican Republic Orbitz A&S record locator: 5G6T61 Date: Sat, Aug 1, 2009 Option: Balance Energy Spa Package Quantity: 1 Cost: $79.00 More details Punta Cana Roundtrip Ground Transportation Orbitz A&S record locator: 1DC6T7 Date: Option: To/From Bavaro or Punta Cana Hotels Quantity: 4 Cost: $114.00 I booked these items with an Orbitz agent- the transpo voucher is too expensive, normal one way prize for a cab is US $33! Second, the SPA package was at another hotel, which was not communicated to me upon reservation- we had to take a cab to get there, plus Orbitz was unwilling to cancel it when i called them from the Caribic...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tips: bring moist wipes and a toiletpaper roll if you want to enjoy excursions, the toilets encountered were very disgusting at the bus stop ( Saona island trip ). For the same trip, do wear beach sandals, Saona has many broken coral pieces and shells upon arrival at the beach- one lady broke one of her toes, the rest had all cuts and bruises! Bring lots of cash for tipping purposes: but bring lots of single dollars! The reception was unable to exchange even a US $ 10 bill... Moskito spray: do not forget, especially while in line at Punta Cana airport and the disgusting bus stop public toilet, it was quite itchy.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search