$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2015 Check-out: Aug 8, 2015

Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of El Cortecito, Playa Bavaro P.O. Box A-B 108, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
208 out of 208
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom of a DR Peace Corps Volunteer
Business
Greenfield, Indiana
Jun 16, 2010

Fun In the Sun

This was our first "all inclusive" vacation. The resort was very nice. Clean room, friendly staff and plenty of food. You won't go hungry although the quality is average. All the restaurants were about the same as the buffet. Freshly squeezed juices great at breakfast. Wasabi was very good, enjoyed it the most. Buffet was always good. Husband and daughter signed up for scuba divings although husand had to cancel due to illness, got money back with a doctors statement. Scuba diving was great. All day trip to Catalina Island was "so so". Beach very rocky, biting flies and a two hour bus ride to get to the boat, then 20 minutes to the island. Would not do that excursion. Overall, great vacation, would definetly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado
Jun 16, 2010

U get what u pay 4. it's cheap nuf said

it's cheap, so you get cheap service etc. most people seem to have forgotten to tip extra, so the service is mediocre until you start tipping extra.. a dollar can go a long way. the rooms def need some upgrading, but we didn't spend more than several hrs a night in the actual room, so who cares? the service was bad until they realized we were willing to tip them extra, then our drinks came faster, with more alcohol, then it was good. the food is nothing amazing, but its good. the best is the hibachi style restaurant. if youre looking for a cheap all inclusive to just have drinks, lay out, and be by the ocean with good friend and family, its awesome. if youre looking for top of the line service and elegance then don't be cheap in booking your hotel, meaning don't aim for high standards going with the cheapest hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Wasabi restaurant is good, book the day before, reservations fill up quick. Cuban night and Dominican night at the buffets are the best nights for food there.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2010

"It'll work"

The staff at Barcelo was great; friendly and willing to work with you. Our room was a little disappointing; the walls needed painting, the bed covers could have used an update, and the shower didn't work great. Having said that, my friend and I were looking for an affordable room so we could spend more on excursions, so I believe you get what you pay for. If we had sprung for a junior suite we wouldn't have had to deal with these things. But, there were no bugs and the room was clean. All in all, satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jun 8, 2010

Amazing place for the price

The staff was very helpful and courteous. Went clubbing and shopping. Only thing I would say that I didn't like where that vendors on the beach they harass way too much. Compare this to previous all inclusive hotels I say it was better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not go alone to the street vendors and stay on guard.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JanBM
Business
New York, NY
Jun 6, 2010

AWFUL

I have no idea where to start. This is the first time that the negative reviews were correct. I should have none that the price was too good to be true.Take a million dollars in singles or you get no service The food was disgusting and i usually eat everything I couldn't understand the quantity - there was food galore and it all tasted horribleTake OFF with you or be prepared to spend 10.00 in cash to buy it there either way you will be in pure pain.The hotel floor room was extremely wet i asked severeal other patrons and they complained of the same, after the second night i could no longer being horrified of slipping and breaking a leg (they blamed the AC was not working properly)After complaining for over an hour i was moved to a different room where we stayed for the remaining portion of our trip was an ice bucket you cant control the AC its either on or off no in the middle this room smelled like mildewThe bartenders are afraid to give you a drink it's like they are saving it for a rainy dayThe Good-There's a lovely waitress by the name of [...] who was always willing to do anything that she could to make our stay pleasant also at Guest Service location inside the hotel we met [...] whose also very kind.The beach was awesomeif you need any additional info please email me @ janmal70[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

You must visit Santo Domingo the city is like a smaller version of NY you will be amazed at the history. Be ready to spend 75 pp for the tour through the hotel

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Hampshire
Jun 6, 2010

BEACH

There was underlying dislike for people from the US. We took several trips and on one trip the theme of the two hour bus ride was to make jokes about Americans. Everyone in our party of 10 was sick from the food. Jamaica is still our number one vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Japanese food was the best, service and food.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
May 26, 2010

Think again!!

It was difficult to get towels, refrigerator stocked and just general information. There was few staff that spoke English and all the activities were in Spanish. Towels were in short supply and highly regulated and activities, meals all need to be planned out ahead of time. There were few activities that were going on simultaneously and you had to wait for the show to end before the disco was open. The food was terrible!! I also think the hotel could have done a better job at keeping the locals from constantly selling and bagering the guests when you were on the beach. Our room was not clean and there was mold on the ceiling with poor airconditioning and limited hot water for showers. I have been to other all inclusives and would not stay at the Barcelo resorts again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
New Hampshire
Business
New Hampshire
May 17, 2010

Good for the price

We came here knowing this was not a 5 star. Upon arrival we asked for a king bed and advised them this was our honeymoon(which in the advertisements we were suppose to get a bottle of rum and tray of fruit, which we never received)but it was ok. The room was far from everything so we asked to move so we called the front desk and got a call back from the manager Sandi who was quick to get us a new room much closer to everything however no King size bed which was fine. We are in our 30's so noise was not a problem. The food was alittle odd coming from the US we like our fruit cold but not possible with the humidity they were having. People were wonderful and the restaurants were great.The staff was very fun and happy. Alot of fun. Well worth a quick trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wv
May 9, 2010

good for the price

This place was nice for the price. The beach was nice except for the reef and seawead on shore, no biggie. The gardens were emaculant. There were a few things that I didn't like however. For example, the buffet room was not enclosed therefore it was super hot and birds flew in and ate the bread and cheese. There wasn't an alarm clock in the room so thankfully I had taken a watch to know the time. The staff was very nice but I found I often had to ask them a few times for things. The first and last days we were there, there wasn't hot water; the days in between, we did. We ate at the Italian, Japanese, and Brazilian restaurants. Those were okay, Japanese was best. They only had one buffet open and the food was not that great. They had a huge selection but I often found myself eating plain noodles and white rice, and I'm not a picky eater. My husband got sick a few days after we were there so he started eating the same kind of things. I read blogs where people said to tip the maids a dollar or two each day, they were right. They were still good but if you tipped them, they would bring several extra bottles of coke, sprite, water and cans of beer. We booked a junior suite and was part of the elite club. They were not clear about what was covered in that. On their website it said a few things such as room service, alcohol, late check out, etc. I had to beg for a 1:00 checkout (we left at 4 for the airport and had to sit in the lobby for 3 hours b/c they cut off our wristband). Room service was a joke. I had to ask 2 different people 3 times each for something and they still didn't get it, I ended up hanging up. We ordered a top shelf alcoholic drink, the bartender wrote our room number down, made us sign some paper so we thought it wasn't covered. We didn't order any more of those drinks and at the end, it did end up being covered. We had to call locally for an excursion (that we prebooked)to confirm times, which costed us money. The shuttle booked through [...] was good. They were really nice. Some lady told me a taxi cost her $30 each way so, the shuttle is well worth the money. Overall, it was a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve a time to eat at the specialty restaurants often.

Review of Barcelo Dominican Beach - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 8, 2010

Beachside Vacation

The resort was beautiful, most of the staff was friendly and helpful, and seemed to be well managed. The food, however, was not great. And the pools were not always very clean and they closed at 7pm... way too early for vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat at Wasabi, it's by far the best

Back to menu Return to top