$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Bavaro Km 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
530 out of 530
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Z Baby
Business
Michigan, USA
Dec 15, 2011

BEWARE OF ROACHES IN THIS HOTEL!

I have never posted a review before, but I feel obligated to do so after my recent stay at Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive Resort. This resort was very beautiful and had many wonderful things to offer. But when you are on vacation, you do want to be able to RELAX in your hotel room when you get ready. Unfortunately this did not happen for my husband and I. We did not get much sleep at all because there were HUGE Tropical Cock Roaches in our room! They were all in our belongings, suit case under our bed, on the walls, everywhere!!!!! We were paranoid and very jumpy and for good reason, they can even fly. Our room was switched a total of 3 times during our 4 night stay. It was awful. The staff was overwhelmed with this issue. So many people were complaining. It was very obvious that this resort has a BIG problem, but when you complain you are made to fill like they have no idea what you are talking about and they have never heard of Roaches being in the rooms. If you have already made travel plans to this Resort and cannot cancel, please take the following precautions once you get to your room. 1. Remove all food that the hotel has left on the counter for you, even if bagged up. This along with the coffee pot etc is calling the Roaches to your room at night when the lights go off. 2. Put all liquid medicine, toothpaste, sugar, etc anything that may have a taste in the refrigerator in your room. 3. Do not leave any empty bottles, plates, remnants of food anywhere in your room. Get it out of there. 4. Leave some type of light on in your room at night. The Roaches did not like the light, our problems were mainly at night time. I wish this was a joke, but it is not. I have no plans to ever return to this resort because my experience was life altering. I wish you more success in your travels. May God Bless You!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tripmaker
Business
Indiana, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Great week away!

Dispite other reviews that I have read concerning the lack of not speaking Spanish leading to poor service in the DR, I found this not to be the case. A smile and Hola go a long way along with a few tips here and there. The Barcello Bavaro Palace Delux staff were all very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. Most of the staff we came in contact with spoke some English and we got along fine with those that didn't. Food was better than what we have experienced at resorts in Mexico. Dinner reservations can be made for the specialty resturants all at once without waiting on line at 7 am each morning.The location is close, 20 minutes to the airport. However once there we never left the resort so I can't say anything about it's location to shopping or other resturants and bars. The only reason I gave low marks to the room comfort is because we felt the bed was too soft. Otherwise the room is quite comortable. Plenty of hot water and the hot tub on the porch is a nice touch. The beach is beautiful! Although seaweed does wash ashore the maintenance staff does their best to keep the beach clean. In some respects it is good as it provides job security for them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tip the staff where appropriate. A few dollars to the bar staff will get you drinks while others may wait.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TAKEATRIP
Business
MICHIGAN
Dec 12, 2011

Great Time

The check in and check out process was a disaster. The room was not ready upon arrival, sent to get lunch while they prepared. Not really explained much of the amenities. On Check out we did not have the towel cards so me made a point to go back after checking the towels back in closer to our departure time. When our trasnport arrived they ask us for a check out ticket which was never given after we actually checked out twice and specifically asked if we we all set. Staff was awesome for the most part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VAUS
Business
United States
Dec 5, 2011

Not quite what we dreamed of!

VIP shuttle service was exceptionally helpful to and from the resort. On arrival at the resort we were initially taken to the wrong style room. We very specifically reserved an ocean front junior suite with a king size bed. Our room was ocean front but had two double beds. This was unacceptable. I had to become irate with the staff in order for anyone to care. Finally two hours later we were checked into our promised room. There were many other amenities that we thought were included that were not. Overall the resort was okay. The restaurants were superb, room service was good and the buffet was okay. Often our room was not serviced or restocked properly and it was nearly impossible to have this corrected. The pools were beautiful but the hot tubs were cold?!?! The beach was beautiful but at times there was a lot of seaweed at the shoreline and human trash. We would go back to Punta Cana, but not to this resort. We wanted a carefree beautiful paradise and this resort did not meet our expectations, especially when we felt we paid top dollar!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coby
Business
Seekonk, MA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Excellent

It was amazing!! very relaxing and good for the price... The view and ambience was perfect!!! The spa was great... The Staff was very nice but the buffet staff was at times slow, the head waiters would argue with the waiters because they were not waiting on people (most turists did not notice, but we speak the language)... but even with that it was a good experience...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

take advantage of the non motorixed sports that come with the all inclusive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dallas Girl
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 28, 2011

Punta Cana

The hotel is beautiful. The staff is not as helpful as I have seen at other resorts. The restaurants are no good. The Mexican restaurant was terrible. The food was inedible. The buffets are not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MARMAC
Business
FLORIDA
Nov 23, 2011

Paradise

We were so impressed by this resort. The hotel website doesn't come close to really portraying how beautiful this property is. All the palm trees on the beach give it a pacific island feel. The service was impeccable. The value for the all inclusive premium club deluxe is definitely worth it. We definitely plan on coming again some day...absolutely loved it !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LovinLifeWindyCity
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 19, 2011

Fantastic Couples Getaway

The Hotel was amazing. We didn't have any complaints. The food was delicious. The staff was friendly. The beach was open 24/7 unlike so many other resorts. Security was all over but went unnoticed by guests. Rooms were modern and very clean as was the entire hotel. Seaweed that crept up onto the beach was swept away three times a day to leave a clean beach. Locals were not allowed to walk through the beach so you were not hassled into buying things. The hotel was mostly made up of families (with young children), Europoeans, and older couples. As a couple in our 20s we did not run into too many Americans our age but we weren't exactly looking for that either. Overall this resort was amazing and meet all of our expectations. We went for walks down the beach so we explored all of the other resorts and Barcelo hands down was the greatest and we were so happy to have picked that resort over all of the other ones even ones we expected to be nicer because they were so much more expensive. Will definitely recommend to all of our friends traveling to the punta cana area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not bother pre arranging your ride to the resort, I had looked into it and they were asking for about $25 per person to ride a bus to the resort when a taxi for the two of us was only $30 and we did not have to stop and let off all of the other passengers nor have any hassle! A man gathered our luggage from the luggage carrousel we told him we needed a taxi and he took us right to one and we were on our way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florida Snowbird
Business
Hamilton, Ontario
Nov 15, 2011

Wedding Venue

Beautiful resort, excellent food, excellent amenities. Definately need to be educated on check-in procedures. Didn't get our room to close to 7 pm after travelling since 4 am. Couldn't meet our request to be next door to one family member after being requested at least 3 months prior. Great for families and young or healthy adults. Very spread out. My husband has mobility issues and had a bad time getting to and from our room to restaurants, etc. Good specialty restaurants. We had 48 people for a wedding. Unfortunately it rained and the venue had to be changed to a meeting room. Fortunately the rain stopped and we were able to get some awesome pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elbrus
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 15, 2011

fantastic family getaway

The beach was great, quite long, nice clear and calm water. Rooms and all facilities are well maintained, you can see the hotel has just been refurbished and looks very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top