$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Bavaro Km 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
531 out of 531
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
youtube
New Jersey
Jan 21, 2013

Very nice hotel

Hotel is very nice, close to the airport. Clean, comfortable, but the front desk stuff need more trainning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L and L
Business
Adrian, Michigan
Feb 12, 2012

Looking forward to returning!

Perhaps we are more easily satisfied than most, but my wife and I found the food to be very good especially at the al-a-cart restaurants. We did not eat any beef, but the fish was fresh and very well prepared. The service and presentation of the food was very good also. We really liked the golf course restaurant for lunch. We also ate at the International, Coral, Italian, Japanese, Spanish and Mexican restaurants. With some of the staff, language was a problem, but with a little patience we could always find a way to communicate. Our room was very nice in the adults only section, however twice it was not cleaned until after 6:00 PM and twice we were not left any drinking water even though we were out of water. Speaking of water, we were not informed that you should not drink it until the second day by our travel agent. Our travelling friends did drink the first day and both became ill. The pharmacy charged $12 (US) for 10 capsules of ammodium. We will not travel to a foriegn without it in the future. All-in-all though there was plenty to do; the people are very friendly and helpful; the beach is great with plenty of room and chairs; the grounds are spotless; and it is a place we would return to. SIDE NOTE: At either the Punta Cana or Atlanta airport, our bag was opened after we checked it and my wife's diabetes test kit was taken. She is positive she packed it. We always pack any valuables with our carry-on, so nothing alse was taken.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have lunch at the 19th hole by the golf course! Good menu, great view, pleasant staff and great golf course view (wish I had taken my clubs).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nissy
Business
Mt Vernon, NY, USA
Feb 4, 2012

Buyer BEWARE

This resort is simply beautiful. Don't judge a book by it's cover. I upgraded to Premium. Upon arrival, it took approx. 3 hrs to get a room. The staff were too busy on their cell phones to clean the rooms on time. The food was atrocious. You're better off using the all inclusive room service. The only decent restaurant was the Mexican location and only because the manager was very involved with staff and served plates when he needed to step in. The seafood restaurant was absolutely horrible and the lobster was dirty and void of taste. The grounds and ground staff were an asset but management needs to be changed quickly or this resort will continue to lose business. It's unfortunate because the ocean view room was spectacular. Should be the best resort on the island but falls way short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Order room service. Stay away from their restaurants. It's awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kris and joe
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Honeymooners

When we first got there I was a bit thrown off because there were a lot of kids and kid activities and since we were there on our honeymoon that's not exactly what I pictured, however, there was an entire adult only side to the resort that had everything including restaurants, buffets, pools, bars, and even theatre. We really had an amazing time and the staff were very friendly and willing to help you, the only problem we had was that we didn't speak much Spanish and that's what everyone spoke. Food was great and ethnic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If traveling there from the u.s. make sure you bring whatever you need, it is expensive at resort, ie. sunscreen was 30$ a bottle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diego and Paulina
Business
Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Capital Federal, Argentina
Jan 28, 2012

One of the Best Hotels in Punta Cana

Were from 16 to 26 January 2012, excellent room, excellent staff, excellent food, exceeded our expectations, the hotel is great, the best restaurants are Italian, French and Spanish. There are no words to describe our wonderful experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not forget to go to Saona Island tour is the best tour for only $ 95, will see and touch starfish in a natural pool of clear water, then will go to Saona Island, also have lunch and drinks included, but I recommend purchased for $ 30 fresh lobster cooked at the time, enjoy it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nippy
Business
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Jan 23, 2012

Great Getaway

Our experience was excellent, we travel quite often and this was one of the best. The service, staff, restaurants, location and view were perfect. All non motorized water sports are free, they had so much to offer. The pools were fantastic, as well as the beach. We visited the sister resorts that were included and they were all just as good. The beds are so comfortable, we are looking at buying one for home. All around great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out the dinner buffets at all sister resorts, they are all different, One has lobster/seafood buffet, one has your regular something for everyone buffet etc. Also, bring your own wash cloth. They have towels, wash cloths were very hard to come by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jylw
Business
Chicago
Jan 21, 2012

Christmas Getaway

I stayed at the Barcelo Bavaro Resort in Punta Cana from 12/23- 12/26. The facilities were wonderful however I was planning a stress free holiday which ended up not being the case. It started with the 3 1/2 hour check-in. I am aware of your check-in time of 3p.m. but this still did not happen. I continued to ask for help and the staff seemed to forget who I was every time and lie regarding when the room would be ready. Around 4p.m. I went to a desk personally and asked to get our room and they explained I was in the wrong line. I then backed away and the person behind me asked the same question and got their room. I was very frustrated and at this point one of your staff members came up to me and said, "You look upset, I will help you if you help me." This was the worst check-in I have ever experienced. At this point, I just wanted to go home. When I finally got a hold of costumer service they explained the manager would call our room, which never happened and they always seemed to be out or in a meeting. I then proceeded to make reservations for dinner that night and was informed that there were no openings. The reservationist also messed up my requests and signed me up for two restaurants on the same night and one night I didn't have a reservation I originally thought I booked. When I arrived in our room I realized the T.V. was not working correctly. I requested assistance everyday and did not get any help until our last night. I also requested towels and it took me asking 3 different times until I finally got them. I ordered a birthday cake to be sent to the room in the morning and it arrived at 7 at night. Poor Customer service was a huge issue for me at your resort. This hotel has the potential to be great but I would say it had 5 star facility with 3 star customer service. Unfortunately, everyone we talked to on this trip felt the same way. The relaxing holiday that I was hoping for ended up being stressful. I always felt like I was on watch thinking someone one was trying to take advantage of me. It is just sad that as much as I complained at the resort, I felt like they wanted to brush me off because I would be leaving soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joselitto
Business
Barcelo Bavara Palace Deluxe
Jan 21, 2012

Great Place

The place was terrific for the price we paid. Most of the food was top quality with access to Lobster and good steak every day. I gained 3 lbs! We purchased a run of the house room, but they were over booked and transferred us to an adjoining adults only area with a sea side room. All the service staff was friendly and hard working in every area with one exception. The Mini Golf manager, Ms Vericose was insulting with surly answers and eye-rolls. There was a lot of variety in entertainment for adults and kids. The adult area is very peaceful as are the "adults only"dining areas. All and all our best trip (of 11) to the Dominican Republic. Have recommended to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mattjay
Business
Santa Clara, CA, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Would come again in a heartbeat!

This resort was an absolutely perfect experience for myself and my spouse. Quick 20 min trip from the airport in the cab, fast check in and friendly bell hops. Amazing rooms with fully stocked fridges and snacks all included. Don't have to go very far to get great food, a great bar, or beautiful scenery with a lounge chair in any direction. One drawback was the service at certain restaurants was sub-par where as we would get seated and not get asked what food we wanted to order for quite some time. This happened a few times and I think it was a language barrier issue as well as under staffing and different laid back culture compared to USA. Overall beautiful and amazing week at a great resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Head down the beach toward the parasailing boats and there are some local "shops" which are basically shacks. Great area to get much cheaper Cuban/Dominican cigars and rum rather than buying at the resort Cigar shop. Downside is the guys are on you like white on rice for your money. Upside is you can talk them way down. Got Cubans at $10 a stick. They were $29 at the very least on the resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deemi
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 16, 2012

beautiful

absolutely beautiful hotel and location. one thing that caught my attention waa that room service was not included in the all inclusive package we purchased. also finding people that speak English was rare but we still managed to communicate. some of the staff members weren't as friendly as i thought they should ne but again that maybe because of our language barrier. other than those minor things the resort was beautiful and the food delicious ( i highly recommend the Japanese). also be sure to reserve at the restaurants if you want somewhere to eat for the night. overall great place !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lady23
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 15, 2012

Get away for 2

My boyfriend and I decided to go on vacation and visit this resort. It was beautiful the staff were friendly and it was very clean. the only down side to the resort were the restaurants. They didn't have much of a variety to serve but they were friendly. The buffets made up for the restaurants, they were excellent. The beach was beautiful and clean and so was he pool. All in all, my boyfriend and I decided that we would definitely visit the resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top