$216 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Bavaro Km 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
558 out of 558
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
relaxed55
Business
Rhode Island, USA
Apr 4, 2012

Very good vacation

The weather might be better - we had a few rain shower and a stong winds. But overall It was a very good vacation. Stuff is not well trained, but this just adds to the experience. Food, beach, pool are great. Gym is also good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make reservations on arrival for specialty restaurants,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aneli
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Very disappointed

We just got back from our vacation in this resort and we are very disappointed. The only good thing was the beach. It is an amazing beach, with clear, turquois-colored water and gentle waves that are safe for children and non swimmers. The worst thing was the lack of cleanliness in the buffet restaurants and rooms. The food was below average to poor and not very tasty, while the alcohol is best left not to drink. The shows in the late evenings were very similar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen and Eric
Business
Apple Valley, MN, USA
Apr 2, 2012

first time in the Dominican Republic

We went here over spring break and it was wonderful, the staff was friendly and the weather great. We had our two daughters 13 and 15. Our girls didn't use the kids activity area (pool table, foosball, laser tag) but it looked nice for those with smaller ones. Food at the buffet was the only thing that was just OK. Considering that they have to feed many people with differing tastes (European, S. American etc) we could always find something we liked. Easy to walk to pools, food and beach. Put towels out early (we did at breakfast) if you want to save a chair lounger for later. Most everyone spoke English- bartenders, servers, front desk, tour guides (not the maids although they smiled a lot) so we got any information we needed. The alcohols weren't the same so the flavors of the drinks were something different than we weren't used to, but were fine. There is a little local market with trinkets, jewelry, t-shirts etc a 10-15 min. walk down the beach that was fun. Be aware that they will holler and reach out and try to draw you in, all friendly but know that going in. Prices start high but if you wheel and deal they'll come down. We didn't go to the disco or casino so no input there. Overall very nice time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Of all the restaurants go to the Japanese, very good food and entertainment at the Hibachi grill. We weren't thrilled with the Seafood, but the Mexican and Italian were our second favorites. Book these as soon as you get there!! We did as soon as we checked in and still ended up eating anywhere from 8 to 9:45 at night for each restaurant. We got used to eating later so it turned out ok. Another overlooked spot to eat was at the Golf Course. VERY good food and also a little sandwich buffet if you need a little snack. We ate our late lunches there quite a bit (steak and grilled vegetables, stuffed chicken with pasta) and it was never too busy. I'm guessing not too many people knew of this little hidden gem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jersey Designer
Business
New Jersey
Apr 2, 2012

Wonderful Weekend

I thought the hotel was beautiful. The staff were all very friendly. Since we had someone who spoke Spanish traveling with us made things more smoother. I would recommend this hotel to friends. Everyone was very friendly to one another.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We did have two older family members traveling with us it would have been nice if they had wheelchairs available..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shyost
Business
Arlington, TX, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Friends getaway

Very nice resort, good food, especially the Japanese restaurant. 2 mornings we had no hot water and one evening we lost power for about 15 minutes. The good staff were great, but the few that were bad were awful. All in all, beautiful, clean resort, but I've seen prettier beaches elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Book your dining reservation as soon as you can, or you won't be able to get in until late for dinner, if at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Bucks from Alabama
Business
Alabaster,AL USA
Mar 30, 2012

Perfect Family getaway

We've been back from our vacation for almost a week now. All I can think about is when can I go back. I went with my husband and 15 yr. old daughter. I read many reviews when choosing a destination for our family vacation and I was a little hesitant about my choice because I read alot of negative reviews. Well, I am happy to say that our experience was very good one. We stayed in a panoramic suite with a beach view that came with the club premium upgrade which was well worth the money. The view from our bed each morning was amazing. The perks that you get with the "club premium" are great starting with checking into the resort. We were treated like royalty. The grounds are beautiful, and they keep the resort very clean. There is a language barrier but it didn't cause any problems. Only negative, some of the food could have been better and the service was slow at some of the restaurants. Also, make sure the men take long pants and close toed shoes b/c they do enorce that requirement. Women can wear anything except shorts in the nice restaurants. Make your reservations for your entire stay as soon as you get there. Our least favorite restaurants were the Steak House and the Seafood Restaurant. All of the others were excellent. We ate lunch at La Brisa many times. The pizza is amazing and we enjoyed the pasta station. We didn't enjoy the salad bar b/c the dressings were not good. Pack you a bottle of dressing if you want to eat salads. Eat at Hole 19 too. Menu is limited but it is not busy and has a nice atmosphere. Some of the drinks are pretty nasty. Just go to a different bar until you find one that you like. We ended up liking the mojito's and the planters punch. Margarita's are good at the Mexican Bar. Pina colada's are good too. You might want to take a plastic beach cup. They serve the drinks in small plastic cups so you spend alot of time going back and forth to the beach. A larger cup would be nice to have. Learn your way around the resort when you get there. It is quite large. The spa is fabulous. Good price for the massages. My husband enjoyed the casino, and played blackjack almost every night and won $2300 the first night, but gave alot of it back to them throughout the week. The disco was fun too. good people watching place. Make sure you go to the flea market next door. Great place for souveniers but be ready to be haggled. The people are very annoying. We went on a snorkeling trip and it was just o.k. Glad we went for something to do but the fish were not that exciting and the party boat was somewhat disappointing. Well, I hope this helps. We will definitely go back. The beach was large with plenty of chairs and the pool goes on and on for days. The gym is nice too. If you get bored, it is only b/c you didn't try to find something to do. There is plenty to do, and we went to relax. We never even made it to the putt putt or the water park. The nightly entertainment is pretty good, however we discovered it on our own. None ever told us about it. . We enjoyed the Michael Jackson show. American's are a minority. Don't go if you are looking to a make friends, because you won't if you are American. Overall, a FABUOUS trip and we are picky and have been many nice places. Best family trip yet at an all inclusive resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make dining reservations when you get there for your entire stay. Make sure you go to the French Restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The mule
Business
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Good experience for our first time out of the country

The resort as a whole is absolutely gorgeous. The beaches are long and fit everyone comfortably. The pool is as nice as I've ever seen. Very clean and very refreshing. As expected, the food wasn't the best...but it wasn't awful. I definitely recommend strikers( 24 hour sports bar with very quick table service, no reservation required). The japanese hibachi is also a must do. Reservation required. The other restaurants that required reservations were average. Buffets are what they are. Everyone finds a few things that they like and sticks with that. The staff on the complex were very nice, always greeting you and always available. The language barrier did not pose an issue to us, most had a basic concept of English. Check in process seemed to be the worst of the trip, and it wasn't even that bad. We arrived at 230, check in time is 3....definitely no earlier, and the room still wasn ready. They gav us our bracelets though so we were able to tour around in the meantime. Overall, great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Arrive to resort at check in time, you will wait

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keith Rock
Business
Cayman Islands
Mar 26, 2012

Room needed refurb

Over all it was a pleasant stay, but the Bathroom looked like it hadn't seen any maintenance in 15 years, the rest of the room was okay, not great. The room was not restocked very often and my Girlfriend felt the AC was bothering her sinuses. The other rooms around the resort looked far more modern so hopefully they will be refurbing the one we were in. The food at the buffets was fairly average, the restaurants were better, but trying to get a table at a decent hour wasn’t easy. If you can get a decent room I would recommend the hotel, it is on a lovely beach and and the golf course was pretty decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
faye85
Business
Syracuse
Mar 26, 2012

Mother - daughter getaway

The resort was beautiful. The food was okay. It would have been great if we could take food to your room. The alcohol was awful. I'm not sure the "all inclusive was worth it". Upon arrival to Punta Cana, we had to wait approx 1 hour for our ground transportation. Upon arrival to the resort, we were really surprised to learn that the resort staff spoke little or no english. Let's just say they spoke "no english". Therefore, if you are planning to stay at this resort, brush up on your spanish. Whenever we had questions, we always felt like we were bothering the staff (female staff; male staff was very helpful).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fuxo Baron
Business
Columbia, MD, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Thanks for the previous reviews!

I had a really good experience at this hotel. They really have so much to offer, I was quite surprised. Stayed in the golf room, far from the main complex but I kind of liked that. They have their own restaurant and concierge. Beaches were awesome, but the water was a bit cold (not the hotels fault :) ). We were warned about the food, but I felt it was pretty good considering they are serving as many people as they are. The grounds of the resort are spectacular!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I was warned from a previous tip, that the hotel would not provide vouchers for all the nights we were staying at the resort. We asked, the concierge and he acted like he would do us this favor to give the add't vouchers. I understand the hotel may save a little money here, but you would think they would like you to experience the best they have the first time there so you might COME BACK next year! Learn some spanish, my wife is fluent and we got a lot of inside info.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top