$333 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 5, 2015

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Bavaro Km 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
571 out of 571
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
migportes
Business
New York
Jul 1, 2012

Wow, Great price, great food, and amicable staff

a large variety of food at the 2 buffets, breakfast 6:30am-9:30am lunch 12:30pm-3:30pm dinner 6:30pm-9:30pm plus, Italian, Mexican, French($15.00 per person all u can eat, Frenchrest. only), Spanish, and Japanese, restaurants, are all free, but u need to make a reservation and a dress code applies,mainly for the gentlemen no shorts, sandals, etc. The pools were huge, 2 wet bars, and nice white sand beach, my fiancé and I are planning our next stay there again, and we just got back 3 days ago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Go Steelers II
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Jul 1, 2012

Family Vacation

When it comes to All-Inclusive Resorts outside of the United States, this is as close to perfect as you can get. This resort has something for everyone. There are several adult only areas if you are looking for some peace and quiet, also, there are lots of activities for families with either older or younger children. For adults there is a great spa and fitness center and there are some nice shops located inside the resort. The evening shows are performed at a beautiful indoor concert hall. The Jack Nicklaus Design Championship Golf Course is Country Club Quality. The casino has a fair number of tables and machines but don't go here expecting to feel like you're in Vegas. For families there are 2 water parks, a miniature golf course, a wonderful kids club and a disco. The beach and pool areas are absolutely incredible. Both areas are extremely clean and loaded with plenty of lounge/beach chairs so you don't have to worry about waking up at the crack of dawn every morning to go save your seats. There are also plenty of beach activities like volleyball, kayaking, snorkeling, scuba diving and more. The food at all of the restaurants is above average to very good and the quality of drinks throughout the resort come in at about a 6 out of 10. The alcohol they use is not top shelf nor is it bottom of the barrel. Here are a couple of recommendations: - Upgrade your package to an oceanfront, junior suite with the Club Premium Option. The Club Premium Option gives you several exclusive inclusions such as dinner at both the French and adult only beach front restaurants, daily use of the spa, use of both water parks, a daily round of golf, around the clock complimentary room service (excluding alcohol), daily in room refreshments and snacks, preferred check-in and check-out, free resort wide wifi, use of the Club Premium Lounge and a complimentary bottle of champagne and rum upon your arrival. - Make your dinner reservations for the week immediately upon arrival. My top 3 restaurant picks are the French, Italian and Japanese in no particular order. - Pre-book your round trip ground transportation so you are certain to travel more safely with a larger group of people. - Make sure to have some cash on hand for both your arrival and your departure. There is a $10 per person tax that is cash only upon arrival at the Punta Cana Airport and it is well worth letting the airport "baggage handlers" help you with your luggage because they help guide you through the airport chaos and get you to your bus quickly upon arrival and to your gate quickly upon departure. - Last and probably most important, if you want to fully enjoy your time in Punta Cana, brush up on your Spanish and be patient. There is definitely a strong language barrier and service in general but especially at the restaurants is very slow. Expect sit down dinners to last approximately 2 - 2 1/2 hours. Order a bottle of wine or champagne, relax and remember you're on vacation. Enjoy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling chicka
Business
New Jersey
Jun 29, 2012

Nice beach getaway

The best part of this hotel is that it sits on a beautiful beach. Checking in was a nightmare it took an hour and it was hot; I think its because we came in on a Saturday afternoon. The food could of been better; they had a nice variety of drinks. Most of the activities were in spanish; which was a bit annoying. Overall I had a great relaxing vacation for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toni fr. Illinois
Business
Wilmette, IL
Jun 26, 2012

Excellent family vacation!

We had a very good time. Our children loves it. Definitely recommend this All inclusive to our family and friends.. From, Wilmette,IL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KY Honeymooner
Business
Kentucky
Jun 20, 2012

Not the greatest experience

The beach location in gorgeous and the pools are huge and very pretty as well. However this resort has many downfalls. No. 1 being the food selection! I had read mixed reviews about the food before I booked but just figured some people were just too picky and liked to complain. But then I experienced it for myself, and it was not good! Only had two decent meals throughout an entire week. We were so happy to get home and have options and flavor in food again! Also it was misleading that the languages spoken there are English and Spanish. Spanish seemed to be all the staff's first language and a few knew some English, but not well. It was the most difficult thing ever to order something as smple as a diet coke. Also many of the staff were rude and would make you wait for an unaccetable long period of time at meals. I would not recommend this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. DWILL
Business
The Woodlands, TX
Jun 20, 2012

Average Overall

The wait staff is not all that enthused about English speaking guests. This resort has preferential treatment to Spanish speaking guests. I waited over an hour before receiving service and had to return to the customer service desk 3 times. The food is decent however because it is all inclusive the wait staff is not incentivized to give warm friendly services. Breakfast is by far the best meal. If you stay in one of the Junior Suites, there is no need to request a king bed or an ocean view as the hotel will give you whatever they wish and give you the run around if you request anything different. I had to wait over an hour to have my room safe drilled as it would not open with my valuable in it. I was late for my dinner reservation and I had to wait in the room wiht the staff throughout the whole ordeal. I was offered an apology as an attempt to make things right. The hotel also tries to charge $45 if you do not formally bring your room keys and check out before 12:00. I would have preferred to pay for my room only without the all inclusive feature. All in all it was a good vacation despite the set backs. The hotel was very clean and the nightly on site entertainment was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Facing the beach take a short walk to your left just beyond the property boundary and you will find more reasonably priced gifts, parasailing, and a $40 per hour beach massage by the locals. The also offer inexpensive water sports there.

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gymbabe
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Jun 20, 2012

Beautiful Property, HORRIBLE Food, POOR Customer Service!

This hotel is absolutely stunning! However, if the property put as much effort as they did in the appearance as they did in the quality of food and the level of customer service, then I would say the trip would have been great. Which was definately not the case. The quality of food was horendous. We stayed 6 days at this property and did not have 1 decent meal the entire time. And customer service...unbelievably poor. After 6 hours of traveling, it took 45 minutes of being ignored to check-in and then were told that there were no available reservations to eat dinner in any of there 6 restaurants except for 10:45pm our entire stay. HINT: In order to get what you paid for and deserve, complain and ask for a manager. The manager will never come out and handle the situation themselves but you will get what you want. (i.e. 7:30pm reservations for every night). And when you do go to dinner observe how many open tables are there. No available reservations???? I think not. This property is not worth going to at all. There is nothing special about it. The nicest person we met there was our travel booking representative who was actually on-site every day to assist us with what we needed. Thank goodness for him! There are plenty of other places you can go in the U.S. where you can actually get great customer service and good quality food. I would definately think twice about staying here unless you don't care about food or service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

For excursions, I would definatley recommend the Horseback riding which is on site at the hotel and Canopy Zip-lining. It is better to book excursions through your travel booking representative that is onsite rather than through the hotel .

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
timinerie
Business
Erie, PA
Jun 18, 2012

Excellent vacation

We went into this vacation not knowing much about the resort beyond online reviews & web searches. Some of the reviews had us a bit concerned about what we might find. I'm not sure what the people who wrote negative reviews about this resort were thinking. This place was absolute perfection. The room was clean and new. The grounds were absolutely spotless. The pools and beach areas were as clean as any we've experienced. The food was tremendous in all of the sit down restaurants. We had excellent meals at the Japanese, Mexican & seafood restaurants. The steakhouse was good, but not great. Our only subpar service experience was at the American sports bar. Service there was slow, but the food was good (burgers, fries, etc). The buffets offered very broad selections that would suit most, if not all tastes. Much of the buffet food seamed geared towards European tastes, which in our opinion was reasonable given that we felt that about 60% of the guest were of non-American decent. With that said, we were always able to find several great items at the breakfast & lunch buffets. The Meditteranian buffet was very good and had a nice selection as did the other buffet in the adult section of the resort. The 19th hole restaurant near the golf course had excellent food and bar tenders and didn't require reservations. That is where we found ourselves late at night. Overall, this place was absolutely fantastic & we plan to return in two years (with the kids next time!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

tip the bartenders early in the day, they will remember you and give you the best service & top of the line alcohol throughout the day!

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb and JAM
Business
Virginia
Jun 18, 2012

Will Be Returning

It was simply beautiful. Everything you need is located on the resort. The staff was great. Entertainment located on site. I will be returning, soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Choose a different place each night.

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DL and CL
Business
NC
Jun 18, 2012

Great stay

Wonderful experience. Get to the airport early upon departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Prepare for 2 hr dinners at the places that require reservations. We liked the seafood place, japanese, and Mexican place best.

Back to menu Return to top