$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

5 stars
View map of Carretera Bavaro Km 1, Bavaro, Punta Cana,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
499 out of 499
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cr8z
Family
Michigan
Apr 23, 2012

Fantasy Island

Loved the location and the layout of this hotel. Beautiul property and pools and beach really make you feel like you are staying at the best place on the island. Most of the staff was very polite and helpful. Only complaint i the bartenders. I don't think we had one bartender the whole week we stayed there that was friendly and seemed like they cared. You had to be a "local' that hung around their bar the whole time to make them give you service with a smile. Always check to make sure the lock on between the rooms works. We found out the hard way and had five twenty year old boys coming into our room twice when they thought there was no one left in our room. Our electronic key aid it was locked, but the lock itself just kept spinning. Creepy feeling the rest of the vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Turn left when you get to the ocean and walk down to the local shopping market if you want to try to haggle a deal from the locals. Jewelry, t shrts, rum! I wouldn't let my kids or teens go there alone though.

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
donzie
Couples
Atlanta, GA, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Wonderful, Fantastic

The hotel and staff was wonderful! Wish I had known about the 'Adult Only' section before I booked. Just too many families with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: In Hotel

If you dont know Spanish , it will be difficult to comminucate!

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JohnnyB48
Family
Irvine, CA, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Overall Fantastic Value

Everything was great and you ahve to check out the golf clubhouse area - very classy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minnesota Hockey
Family
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Family Vacation

Nice place, food was excellent. English was the minority language spoken. Lots of Europeans and Central and South America folks. Would return, recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
icyhotmess
Couples
Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

under-hyped

The only thing this hotel is missing are hot tubs! The pictures and description online don't do it any justice. We walked a mile out to see some of the other resorts along the beach and this by far seemed like the best one. The lounge chairs were comfortable, there are hammocks, papasan chairs, many bars to get your included alcoholic beverages, 3 all you can frequent buffets that are pretty tasty all with made to order pasta stations. check out the buffet that is adults only - we found they had better food choices including cook to order steaks & fresh fish and watermelon juice. there are shows every night and also some specialty diner restaurants if you get sick of the buffet, all included in the price. if you walk down the beach towards the other resorts there are a few small local shops to buy souvenirs but you must bargain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

make your reservations for the specialty restaurants that are included free of extra charge as they book up early. we ate the buffet during lunch and the actual restaurants for dinner. coral and le comedie were great!

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family of 4 in Colorado
Family
Colorado, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Colorado

It was completely what we expected and more. We got to the hotel a little before check in (3pm) and had to wait to get into our room but they gave us the wrist bands so we could go explore and eat until our room was ready. The staff was more than friendly. People have to remember that you are visiting their country and deal with any language barriers. For the most part, the staff understands and get you what you need. The rooms were modern and VERY clean and comfortable. Didn't see one bug or insect inside or outside! Even though this is all inclusive (something we have done at any All Inclusive destinations), leave a tip for your maid and they will go above and beyond. The beaches and pools were spectacular! The food at the buffet was average but we always found something we liked. (traveling with a 15 and 19 year old who are very picky eaters, loved the food)The steak house is a must! Didn't have to wait too long to get our food and the food was great. I would definitely return to this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations to the restaurants as soon as possible if you want to eat earlier than later.

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sdmiller
Family
Neenah, WI, USA
Apr 14, 2012

Punta Cana Family Spring Break

The beach was amazing! I jogged the beaches everyday and the beach in front of the Barcelo Bavaro was the best maintained, attractive and calmest water. The sand is so white and the water is crystal clear. The hotel was just as nice. It was very clean and recently up dated. My only complaint would be there was not enough privacy in the bathroom. The bathroom and sleeping area was an open concept with frosted glass doors on the shower and toilet. I have 2 teanage girls so we had to have my husband go on the balcony when they wanted to shower and dress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
M. Vincent
Family
Fenton, MI, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Surprised at the lack of service.

Our spring break vacation had some really nice aspects but unfortunately had to many not so nice ones too. First with the nice. We have done a lot of traveling to tropical islands, but none have been as beautiful as Punta Cana. The sand is soft and sugar white. No hard, sharp shells or stones. The beach is lined with beautiful palm trees. When you see a brochure for an island resort with the Palms, turquoise water and pure white sand, it most likely was taken from this incredible island. The Barcelo Palace Deluxe is huge, and is manicured to the tee. We walked the beach 3 miles down, and never came close to seeing a resort that could compare to it in size or beauty. Our pools and beach had more chairs available then any other resort I have ever visited, and it was Easter week (Spring Break). They water sports were free and as long as you signed up, you usually were able to go out anytime you wanted too because they had plenty of them. NOW FOR THE NOT SO NICE! The service and the food had a whole lot to be desired! We learned very quickly ( the first 30 min. that we were there) that it really depended on who you talked to as to whether or not you were going to get what you needed. You will find that if you want to eat more than the buffet every night and you have 5 or more people in your party, you will need to make your dinner reservations immediately. Our first encounter with making reservations said all 7 nights were already booked at the 7 or more restaurants that they have there! She was totally uninterested in trying to help. The next time we tried someone else, they got us into every restaurant we wanted to eat at. The same went for the front desk. If you want to switch rooms, ( for bigger or waterfront) it really depended on who you talked to? We found the general employee's to be lazy and really not interested in earning a tip, even when we would have money in our hands. The food was awful. I would only recommend the japanese steak house. We read all the trip advisory reports before we left, and they were right on the money. The Seafood restaurant was agreed by 5 different families in our group the worst we had ever eaten! The Steak house was okay, the Mexican was not as good as Taco Bell! I basically would recommend the Buffet for breakfast, and the Golf course has a nice restaurant as well that you don't need reservations for. Strikers is a sports grill across from the Casino, and you can get normal food there too that isn't bad at all. Overall, would I go back..... I don't think so. It was beautiful, but every meal was more than disappointing and the staff never made us feel like we were being pampered ( unlike Mexico, where they do back flips for you and work for that tip).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your dining reservations as soon as you arrive. Top 3 places to eat, Japanese Steak House, Strikers Sports Grill, and the Golf Course .

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MIRM
Family
San Fernando, CA
Apr 11, 2012

Our 3rd family trip

The resort was beautiful, tough we did find cockroaches in the room and in the bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Barcelo Bavaro Palace Deluxe - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacobs
Family
Milton, WI 53563, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Brilliant for families

Beautiful resort, clean beaches, plenty of chairs & space, clean rooms with high end fittings. Use of water boats, volleyball, soccer fields, basketball courts and Paddle Ball were awesome - we used them all and enjoyed them greatly. The facilities are kept up nicely and we always were able to get whatever we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

make your sit down dinner reservations early

Back to menu Return to top