$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

4 stars
Playa Dorada Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
93 reviews
Perfect!

We loved our stay at the Gran Ventana. Everyone was genuinely friendly and eager to serve. Elvin... See full review

  • Lisa Loves to Travel
  • Jun 4, 2014
Fell in Love with Travelling Again

We spent a lot of time researching this hotel on other travel websites to make sure we could make... See full review

  • ComfortTraveller
  • May 8, 2014
No need to leave the grounds at Dominican Republic all-inclusive

Gran Ventana Beach Resort offers a distinctive blend of sophisticated design with Dominican Republic charm and hospitality with all-inclusive service. The lobby rewards visitors with a view of the ocean as its centerpiece. Top-notch service and a sense of relaxation greet singles, couples, and families from the moment they arrive.

Highlights
  • Beachfront locale
  • Assortment of restaurants
  • Number of activities
Rooms

The 506 rooms include standard guest rooms, suites, and penthouses. All feature a spacious balcony or terrace with many showcasing stunning ocean views. Rooms are equipped with 2 double beds or 1 king-size, balcony or terrace, air conditioning, ceiling fan, daily restocked minibar, cable television, in-room safe (extra charge), Wi-Fi access (fee applies), and hair dryer.

Features

Three swimming pools include adult pool with a swim-up bar and a children's pool. Daily activities available for guests include beach volleyball, table tennis, water polo, aquarobics, Olympic-style beach games, bike tours, darts, and lessons in Spanish and merengue. Tennis (day and night), snorkeling, windsurfing, kayaking, sailing, and scuba dive lessons are also available. Fitness center and full-service spa help guests work out or wind down. Kids Club offers daily programs and a playground for young guests.

 

Adjacent Playa Dorada golf course, designed by Robert Trent Jones Sr., is open to guests. The signature course was created for all types of golfers, from beginner to professional, providing a challenging, yet fair environment for the ultimate golf enthusiast.


A variety of dining options includes three serving authentic Caribbean cuisine, fine Italian dishes and fresh seafood -- something to satisfy every craving. Guests may choose from seven bars located throughout the resort including a beach club snack bar, lobby bar, swim-up bar, pool-terrace bar, tiki bar, and late-night snack bar.

Transportation
  • Gregorio Luperon International Airport (13.1 mi/21.1 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Puerto Plata (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
Business
  • Conference room accommodating up to 200 people
  • Audiovisual equipment like PCs and projectors available
  • Banquet facilities for large groups
  • Wi-Fi service (fee applies)
Policies and Fees
The main pool area and main lobby of the hotel will be under renovation on 8-25 Sep 2014. A separate pool and the alternative reception and lobby area are available at the Beata section of the hotel. During this period, some rooms will be affected.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.7999 -70.6832
Area served
Puerto Plata.
Nearby airports
Luperon Internatinal airport-20 minutes, Santiago international airport-1.15 minutes, Ans Santo Domingo airport-3 hours.
Area description
The hotel is located in a hotel complex just 5 minutes driving from the main city Puerto Plata and only 40 minutes from the thematic park Ocean World. 400 meters from the Roberts Trent John Sr. golf course, shutter service to the bagua spa at Casa Colonial Beach & Spa sister property. It is just 30 minutes from the touristic city of Sosuan and 45 minutes from the surfers paradises in the Caribbean, Cabarete City. It just 20 minutes from the Luperon International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive Rooms

Superior
Rooms with one king size bed or two double beds includes air condition, ceiling fun, direct dial telephone, cable TV, large bathroom, balcony, mini-bar, safe deposit box (extra charge).
Junior suite
Rooms with one king size bed or two doublebeds includes air condition, ceiling fun, direct dial telephone, cable TV, coffee machine, large bathroom, balcony, mini-bar, safe deposit box (extra charge).

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 0.4 mi

Dining

Las Almejas Cafeteria
Las Almejas Cafeteria serves daily buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Restaurant
Gran Ventana Beach Resort offers a variety of dining options. With three a la carte, all-inclusive restaurants featuring authentic Caribbean cuisine, fine Italian dishes and fresh seafood, there is something to satisfy every craving. For a refreshing cocktail or savory snack, guests may choose from seven bars located throughout the resort including a beach club snack bar, lobby bar, swim-up bar, pool-terrace bar, coco bar, tiki bar and late night snack bar. Guests may also sample the weekly cocktail during the poolside Manager's Cocktail Party.
Octopus Gourmet Restaurant
Octopus Gourmet Restaurant serves flavorful Caribbean cuisine.
Ocean Grill
Ocean Grill features a variety of fresh meats, fish and seafood on the grill.
Sapore di Mare
Sapore di Mare offers delectable Italian cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1300

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roeb
Puerta plata
Sep 10, 2014

Don't waste your time

Hotel was in desperate need of an update, which started our 2nd last day, which we didn't know when we booked. Entertainment was boring. There were more vendors on the beach than there were guests. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
American traveler 1978
New Jersey
Aug 10, 2014

Vendors ruin the experience

This was only my 2nd all inclusive getaway but here is my opinion for it's worth: 1. Weekends are terrible: all the locals invaded the resort. It was crowded and little kids running around everywhere 2. Our room floor was always wet, some type of condensation. It was pretty dangerous but staff ignored our request for help with it. The best they did was give us new towels to keep on the floor 3. The food was sub par. The Italian restaurant was decent. But the ocean grill forgot to serve us our dinners. The Buffett was whatever, nothing special. All drinks were watered down 4. Americans were treated pretty poorly. We were not the only couple that noticed it. We were ignored often despite tipping everyone. 5. The vendors are OUT OF CONTROL on the beach. You cannot sit and enjoy yourself without being harassed by someone trying to sell you a good or a service. Even a nice walk on the beach turned into us being harassed by other resorts to visit them about time shares. Do not buy anything from the beach vendors. They are double the price of all goods you can find if you walk to the resorts mall. Which also be careful of because they ripped me off when I was just trying to buy a little trinket for my kids. Overall it was nice to getaway but no chance we would ever go back. Spend a few more dollars and go somewhere else, especially if you are American.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not buy anything from beach vendors. Do not even engage them in conversation because they will not leave you alone. All stuff you can buy in the resort mall for half the price which is still expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa Loves to Travel
NYC
Jun 4, 2014

Perfect!

We loved our stay at the Gran Ventana. Everyone was genuinely friendly and eager to serve. Elvin the bartender at the beach bar was awesome, friendly, and always greeted us with a smile. Drinks were good and strong. Meals were great - Ocean Grill (seafood) was to die for. We did a Dune Buggy tour for 3 hours which was amazing. Beach does have lots of vendors but a quick "no thank you" will do the trick. Rooms were sparkling clean and comfortable with updated bathrooms and great a/c. HBO & Cinemax available - we didn't even miss Game of Thrones!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Reserve your specialty restaurant as soon as you arrive. They book up quick, but are able to get you in to at least one during your stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Esperanza Carlo
New jersey
May 17, 2014

Great getaway with friends

Great location and overall fun experience. Staff was amazing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Paradise island snorkeling trip! Long bus ride but worth it

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ComfortTraveller
Vancouver, BC, Canada
May 8, 2014

Fell in Love with Travelling Again

We spent a lot of time researching this hotel on other travel websites to make sure we could make this trip the best possible. I do recommend doing the same. Because of that, this was the best vacation we have ever taken! We have been to five star resorts, and this was even better. The only things we could see that wouldn't make it a five star were lack of the hotel's own golf course, a spa, it's own disco, or the size. We actually liked being able to walk everywhere rather than waiting for a golf cart to take you for coffee. The food is great, and the rooms are mostly all renovated. Contact the hotel to be put in the Catalina building, which is completely updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking to buy excursions, go to the beach and find Dio (pronounced Theo). He has the best prices (even better than James in the Plaza) and he is very helpful. We booked through him and were extremely happy. Another group at the hotel booked with him as well for a few more excursions, and they reported they were happy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PPrincess74
Willimantic, Connecticut
Apr 16, 2014

Great relaxing trip

This was our first time to the Dominican and we were not sure what to expect, especially since this was our first All-Inclusive trip. When we first walked into the hotel they automatically took our bags, brought us some wonderful drinks and told us to sit down while they checked us in. The check-in process was quick. We weren't allowed to actually go into our room until 3 p.m., so we simply walked around the resort and waited until we could check in. The room was simple, nothing spectacular but then again how much time do you actually spend in your room. The hotel itself could use some updates. I was a bit disappointed that the hotel does not have any type of hot tub. This was the first time that we've stayed at a hotel and there was no hot tub. This was a bit of a bummer. The pools themselves are clean and kept tidy. Although I wish they had more chairs for people as it was a daily struggle to find chairs to sit at near the pool. The pool towels are a bit annoying; they only allow you to exchange them between 3-6 p.m. I've never had that happen at a resort and wish that you could exchange them as many times throughout the day as you wish. The food was GREAT! I was a bit worried about having buffet style food while I was there but it was fabulous! The Ocean restaurant was excellent! The smoothie station was great! I absolutely loved that I could have a special, fresh made smoothie every day. Although if you plan on eating at one of the a la cart restaurants that are included then make the reservations the day you arrive, otherwise it can be a struggle to get into one of them; especially around the weekend. If you are looking to have a romantic dinner, I highly recommend to do the romantic beach dinner. You get a soup, salad, bread, main course meal (surf & turf) and a desert for each person all for $150! The food was by far the best we had while on the trip. We even paid a bit extra to have a authentic band play for us while we were having dinner on the beach. The drinks were fine, I mean for all-inclusive I didn't expect top notch liquor in the first place. Although if you like blended drinks made with a blender that don't do it. None of the bars that I saw had blenders to make drinks. The beach was nice. The water was warm, the chairs were pretty comfortable for the most part. The one annoying thing was the beach vendors. They will constantly bother you 24/7 while you are trying to relax. Luckily I speak Spanish so it was a bit easier for me to get rid of them. We watched one of the night time shows; every night they have a different show. The one that we watched was the Dominican dance show. It was a good show, we enjoyed seeing their authentic dances and outfits. I do wish that they had some other night time shows, possibly on the beach or something of that nature. The one thing I can definitely say is tipping goes a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely do the dome buggies! They are well worth it! Go to the concierge and they will set you up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLDC2
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 14, 2014

Relaxing couples' vacation

Spent most of our time at the resort -- plenty to do. Two pools, many bars, plenty of food options, pool tables, water activities, tennis court. Entertainment and games constantly during the day -- can get loud with music and games at the pool. Beach is beautiful, clean, plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Vendors on the beach but not disturbing to patrons. Only small complaint that resort goers can smoke pretty much anywhere on the resort. Easy to schedule excursions -- snorkeling, ziplining, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skb7
Boston, Massachusetts
Mar 25, 2014

Excellent resort!

My friends and I had a great stay at Gran Ventana - the resort is beautiful, clean, and safe. The rooms were nice, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food and drinks were delicious and unlimited! Only minor complaint was the WiFi - we could access it at no charge near the pool and one of the bars, but it was spotty. We paid to use it all over the resort one day, but that didn't work too well either. Not a huge issue, though. We had perfect beach and pool weather! Especially liked water aerobics and the swim up bar. Overall amazing trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

We could only get reservations at one of the restaurants (Octopus Grill) on our last night, but the buffet was great. Ask for the cafe especial after dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super vacation Couple
San Jose, California
Feb 23, 2014

Couple getaway

It was good experience at this hotel but I would not rate it the best since we had stayed at other all inclusive resorts prior to this. The food was very average. The drinks were also not that great, they served all local alcohol and hardly any imported. The room was a small size and very noisy. Overall: it was a good stay but I would not come back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of VH - Gran Ventana Beach Resort -All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
desirea
rockford, il
Jan 6, 2014

Nice getaway, needs improvement

Beautiful weather, staff was very friendly, the food was ok The resort was nice, but noticed an issue with the seating around the pool. It was a little too competitive, having to compete with other visitors for any chairs in the pool area was ridiculous. If you were unable to find any in the pool area, you had to lounge on the beach, which we normally don't mind. Except having to deal with solicitors every 5 minutes or less, would get a little annoying. So make sure you have some headphones of something to tune them out. We had a relaxing stay but the resort needs a little improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search