$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
143 reviews
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The... See full review

  • Truomega
  • Feb 5, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.8339 -70.7708
Area served
Puerto Plata, Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP)
Area description
Located on the beautiful Maimon Bay, 492 feet from the Caribbean Street, 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata and 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata's International Airport. Maimon bay is the place to relax on the beach with a good book and a tropical drink. The main attractions here are the beautiful beach and the beachfront Riu Resorts complex, guests will enjoy the day and nighttime many activities offered at the three all-inclusive Riu Hotels. For a taste of local Dominican culture is easy and fun, visit Puerto Plata is only six miles away. Local excursion: Puerto Plata (16th century fort and amber museum), Cordillera Central Mountains, and Santiago (tobacco and folklore museums).

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 143
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
fort nelson b.c. canada
Jun 1, 2009

fantastic

great food very good shows and great people looooots!!!!! of fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
fort nelson b.c. canada
Jun 1, 2009

fantastic

great food very good shows and great people looooots!!!!! of fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 21, 2008

AmAzInG!!!

I spent a week at Riu Merengue with my best friend... we had an absolutely exceptional time! There is something for everyone and the staff goes out of there way to make sure you are satisfied! I would go back to Riu in a heartbeat!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 21, 2008

AmAzInG!!!

I spent a week at Riu Merengue with my best friend... we had an absolutely exceptional time! There is something for everyone and the staff goes out of there way to make sure you are satisfied! I would go back to Riu in a heartbeat!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
inmenso
paterson, nj
Oct 14, 2009

Great place to go

It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
inmenso
paterson, nj
Oct 14, 2009

Great place to go

It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WillNJ
New Jersey
May 23, 2010

Great Experience in Dominican Republic

We went to the beach and pool everyday. The resort was clean and had many amenities. The staff was kind and very friendly. The food was pretty good, always a variety and always fresh. All-inclusive really means all inclusive. This was my first trip to the Dominican Republic and I would certainly recommend traveling here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the Steakhouse and Italian Restaurant since it normally fills up very fast.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollis
Sep 11, 2008

if you don't care about sleeping....

The hotel is extremely far from the airport (you incur an EXTRA cab fare). The food was fairly good, but there isn't a lot of variation from day to day. As for the hotel itself, the room was terrible. After changing rooms due to an overpowering smell, the second didn't manage to bring any better accommodation. The beds are extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom looks like someone's bathroom in a small apartment. The beach wasn't that great either, it wasn't the cleanest or most desirable piece of beach I've seen. And from what I've heard from talking to other tourists, a lot of people decide to spend two weeks. There is nothing to do for two weeks--it would be more than sufficient to spend 4-5 days. There are activities to do like tours and ATV riding--which are great, but because this hotel is the furthest, you end up being first on the bus and then last to get off. Spend the $ for one of the nicer hotels or come not expecting a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollis
Sep 11, 2008

if you don't care about sleeping....

The hotel is extremely far from the airport (you incur an EXTRA cab fare). The food was fairly good, but there isn't a lot of variation from day to day. As for the hotel itself, the room was terrible. After changing rooms due to an overpowering smell, the second didn't manage to bring any better accommodation. The beds are extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom looks like someone's bathroom in a small apartment. The beach wasn't that great either, it wasn't the cleanest or most desirable piece of beach I've seen. And from what I've heard from talking to other tourists, a lot of people decide to spend two weeks. There is nothing to do for two weeks--it would be more than sufficient to spend 4-5 days. There are activities to do like tours and ATV riding--which are great, but because this hotel is the furthest, you end up being first on the bus and then last to get off. Spend the $ for one of the nicer hotels or come not expecting a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jundaba!
Saskatoon, SK
Jun 6, 2009

Not for us, but an objective Review

We Booked through orbitz which took care of everything. In combination with coco tours we had a relaxing trip. The tickets were waiting for us at the AA, coco tours picked us up and dropped us off and our rep left us his number if we needed anything throughout our stay.We stayed at the Merengue for 2 weeks from May 5 to 19 and it cost us $1455 Canadian. Our flights were not ideal because we flew from Calgary to Dallas, spent 11 Hours there, then flew to Miami, then to dominican and the same on the way back, But for the price it was well worth it. I will be booking through orbitz again.First off - The Staff:The staff were incredible, from the bartenders, animation team, to the housekeeping, everyone makes you feel welcome. Tipping is not neccessary, but it does help. We tipped a few bucks here and there and got amazing service at the bars. The drinks were never empty.The Pool: Merengue pool was not very big or extravagant. We prefered the Bachata Pool because there was a waterfall, it was bigger and there was a pool bar.The Sports: The volleyball court was in the shade, the beach soccer court was in the shade so it was tough to keep myself busy and also stay in the sun. The staff is very competitive and get angry when you beat them. The net are very low and they don't play by any prescribed rules, but still fun with people who know how to play.The Beach: In May there are a lot of beach chairs available but the ocean is not swimmable. There are corals and rocks everywhere, if you don't have shoes your feet will get cut up. The chorals break up the waves so its a very boring time in the ocean.Discotech: Drinks were 80% alcohol, and 20% pop. Vodka with a little bit of coke. I am not exagerrating. We drank cervesa at the discotech. The discotech was fun and they played great music.The place was beautiful, the landscapers do a great job!The specialty dinners were really good, but the appetizers were even better (CALAMARI - BEST I'VE EVER HAD). The only negative was that there were only two to choose from Italian and Steakhouse.The Bartenders' Specials are usually REALLY good. Just ask for the "[...] Special" from [...] for example. I've been to the Dominican three times and this was the worst of the three. Not because it was not a nice hotel, but because it did not meet a lot of my needs when I go on vacation. I like to play volleyball, soccer, and drink at the pool bar and I would like all three to have some sun, but they were in the shade. I love to swim in the ocean and ride the waves, but the ocean was filled with coral and rocks. So my days were filled with trying to find something to do. I also like to mingle with people from around the world, but when we went there was all people 35+ and we are 25, so there was an age barrier that was tough to cross. There were a lot of people from Germany, France, and Luxembourg so it was tough to get by the language barriers as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top