$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
94 reviews
fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Oct 2, 2014
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robirdie
Business
New York, New York
May 2, 2012

First Int'l getaway in 20 years

I like that it's all inclusive. But do expect to carry some spending money(at least $200 US or more) to get the most of your experience(city tours/taxis/souvenirs,etc). The room kind of had a musty, basement type of smell. But you get used to it fast. The food is decent, few choices here & there. By the second or third night, it's like "Didn't I have this yesterday?" Didn't like the pool closing at 6pm. Only resort that is somewhat close to an actual city. Go take advantage of the city tours that are offered. Otherwise, you're just gonna be bored staying at the resort for too long. Strongly recommend it for a first timer to DR. Get to see the country itself(poor, historical parts) But next time, Punta Cana, or Playa Dorada for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jackalanne
Business
new york
Jan 15, 2013

half deserving

I enjoyed myself and the staff seen helpful but upon my arrival I had to wait 3 hours for a room. Second you hadto pay to use a computer. I can not complain about staff but I will not return. One other thing. For a room to have a large bed they took two smaller beds and pushed them together

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SergeyM
Business
Sacramento California
Jan 16, 2013

Ok but not great.

Pros. Everything is close to you. You dont have to use golf carts to move around (like in Punta Cana) They have Napoleon Cognac and Stolichnaya Vodka... Cons. They suppose to refill your refrigirator with water, beer and cola...Even after we left $5 dollars no one would care. After 3 days I went to the front desk and asked them to fill te refrigirator. They said its to late today and offer me a bottle of water!!!! Ohh and the alchogol that they "change every two days" (sign just above the refrigirator) just has been sitting there for 9 days....Dont drink it.... The beach area is not great. There are no umbrellas on the beach....lots of rocks in the water...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just behind the hotel you will find the casino, pharmacy and convinient stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USA couple
Business
Omaha, Nebraska
Mar 11, 2013

Food lacked...weather made it worse

Location is wonderful. The atmosphere for us was not great - but I think thats because we got really unlucky with rainy weather so we noticed all the little things that probably would not have bothered us otherwise. Food was not the best - definitely recommend NOT getting reservations at the 2 restaurants, better off just sticking to buffet food. Not a lot of other english speaking guests so it made it difficult to meet many people. Lots of speedos and cigarette smoke.... Did the zipline excursion which was great. The last day and half when the sun finally came out was much more enjoyable as well. Not a total bust but would definitely not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont be a sucker - people want your money for everything. Yes tipping is applicable at some points, but be careful! Don't let people grab your bags from you at the airport unless you truly need the help - had a guy demand $5 after he commandeered our bags for about 30 feet. I gave him $2 and told him to get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Salam Ogrash
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 29, 2013

Good value for the money paid

My family visited Riu Merengue twice: 10 years ago and last week. Nothing changed: the same rooms, beds, old showers (was immediately replaced once started falling apart!). Beautiful beach and ocean. Acceptable food. Good staff. Some disappointing things: Resort is still in 20th century. There is no wi-fi in the rooms. Guests are offered 90 minutes of internet access in reception area. But internet connection is AWFUL. $100 router could solve the problem. TVs in rooms are of 1980s. Couple of days there were no hot water. The rest was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bharlow
Business
Pacific Palisades, CA
Jan 18, 2014

Family vacation

The hotel is not as polished as hotels in Punta Cana but the surrounding area offers more events so we did not stay much in the hotel area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krimp
Business
ontario
Mar 3, 2009

unbeatable price for location

The food was OK, found most of the staff friendly but made no atempt to try and understand you. Housekeeping lady was very nice and the pool people went out of their way to find you room around the pool. Did not like the fact that they only put 3 bottles of beer in your fridge every other day and only pepsi and diet pepsi as the other beverages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you fill out the 3 forms before going through any area of the airport as everyone wants a different form filled out. Look after your own luggaga as everyone wants to take it for you and expect tips from you every time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edison, NJ
Mar 19, 2011

Not us good us we expected to be

It was not as good as we expected for this price. First of all, there was no Internet in the room, while it was important to us to have the access to the Internet. We had to go to the lobby to connect our laptop to the net. Secondly, there was impossible to sleep as AC was too loud (and inefficient either). Third, the exhauster in the bathroom didn't work at all, and after we complained we were told, that it work as it supposed to. It our opinion, it didn't function properly at all. And, finally, when we were about to leave, we weren't pick up on time. Actually, we had to wait an hour after the scheduled time before leaving the hotel. The good things are: food, friendly staff, we had fantastic trip to Ocean World and Show Bravissimo. Overall, we had good time, although not so good as we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jay charles
Business
ny,ny
Sep 12, 2010

just barely alright

some staff seems to be bored and unhelpful, the food doesnt have any varieties except for a saturday (sat is when alot of local are in the hotel) breakfast is only eggs eggs eggs and pastries, the airconditioner in the room is weak.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

it is a 30min drive from the airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new york!
Business
new york ny
Jan 12, 2010

just ok

lazy animation team. food was good but not much variety. had a great time mainly because i was with a group of 6 and we kept ourselves entertained when the animation team didnt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top