$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Nov 19, 2010

great location

fantastic stay,friendly and relaxing enviornment,excellent food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

recreational activities

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jvb
Business
long island,ny
Mar 4, 2010

overall nice,does need updating.

great location,price excellant,the hotel needs a little up date, few problems with the room,but very clean,the food was ok.our vacation to the riu in Jamaica Negril was better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Jun 30, 2010

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thayer Allcrooks
Business
Battle Creek, MI
Apr 22, 2009

Strongly recommend

I liked it so much that I plan to go again this summer. That pretty much says it all. There were a few downsides that were a bit of a bummer for me personally that I will list but in no way did it affect my overall opinion of the resort. The things I mention may not make much of a difference for others. I researched the Island's hotels quite extensively and Merengue was the best value for the money. The good: The cost, the cost, the cost (I paid less than 2K for a week's stay for two, including airfare from Michigan), the food, the desserts, the beer, wine, the hotel room's limitless rum, vodka, brandy and gin were all pleasantly surprising. The service was great and the amenities were better than I expected. Since the cost was relatively inexpensive, I expected it to be a little run down and that wasn't the case at all. The bad: 1) The Elective day trips were a little pricey but probably no different than the other resorts, e.g. renting a 4 wheeler $60 pp, Fishing Trip $80 pp, Catamaran boat trip for snorkeling $75 pp. (I would still do these things again) 2) The beds were a little dated and lumpy but tolerable. 3) The on site discotheque was pretty good but played too much American hip hop. If I travel 2000 miles, I want to experience the culture. This may have been due to the large number of American Spring Breakers. They did play Salsa and Merengue upon request. The family oriented entertainment was pretty cheesy for my tastes so we didn't do much of that stuff but the other guests seemed to like it. If you are big into snorkeling, it maybe worth it to bring your own fins and goggles. There is a $25 deposit and a one hour time limit if you use the hotel's gear. You are only packing shorts and t-shirts so you should have the extra room in your luggage. I can't think of anything else to complain about because it really was a pleasant experience. Even going through customs was pretty painless. Just be forewarned that when you are off the resort, (and that may not be necessary but we wanted to rent a car and see the real city) be prepared to be constantly approached by people trying to sell you stuff. It gets annoying but you learn to just deal with it. The majority of the people are usually pretty friendly and are just trying to make a living. If you do decide to rent a car, be prepared to do some of your life's best defensive driving. Those little mopeds all over the place are more irritating than Nancy Pelosi's voice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jun 6, 2010

Great Resort(s)!!!!

Great place, excellent staff, the food had "taste", the drinks were plenty strong (just want to make sure you make it clear to put the alcohol in the speciality drinks) it's off by itself so it's only resort guests in the whole area, great exchange privledges with the Mambo and Bachata. Shopping on site, never had to leave the resort (in a 2 week stay). Great entertainment staff, bar staff,waiters, etc. My only complaint was the mini bar was not regularly stocked (but that's probably because we got an extra gallon of water every day). Never tried the tried the alacart places as you had to book by 10am (not up that early the disco was too fun). All in all I would recommend and definately go back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
woodsy mom
Business
ny, ny
Feb 28, 2011

Lovely low key relaxing vacation spot

I really did not want to leave after seven days. This is the middle of three Riu resorts on northern coast in Puerto Plata, and I like to think the best. Lovely location with incredible landscaping, immaculately manicured. Two story buildings in lovely pastel colors are situated in gardens with tree lined paths leading to beach or reception or dining halls. The beach is filled with trees, palm and others, so you can sit in shade or sun. The beach faces Atlantic in northerly direction. Beach is raked almost daily to clean up fallen leaves from trees. Really impressive, the effort put into landscaping maintenance. There is a pool but I much prefer the beach. Pool seemed to be choice for families. There are talapas for shade if you like. The biggest decision you'll need to make here is when to eat. Dining is buffet style with lots of variety and freshly prepared foods. Chefs are at a number of stations cooking more food as needed. There are culinary themes during the week: Dominican, Chinese, Mexican. Fantastic pizza made in a wood burning pizza oven in the dining hall. Rooms are simple and kept nicely cleaned. Beds could have been more comfortable but each room has a nice terrace. Front desk very accomodating about a requested room change. We spent all our time outdoors in the glorious weather. The location is unspoiled and does not feel crowded. There are plenty of day trips you can take, but I was really into the beach and swimming and sunning. Very relaxing week and looking. forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Resort offers free kayaks, wind surfing (lessons $25) and you need to take a lesson before you go out if you haven't done it before, sailfishes, paddleboats. When the wind picks up and the red flags go up water sports are cancelled along with snorkeling for safety reasons. You'll need to sign up for the time you want to use the equipment but check for the color of the flag for the day you're scheduled. They really put safety first which was good to know so heed their advice they rally know the waters. The beach in eastern section of Merengue is protected by a rocky reef so the water is a bit calmer there. I wore water shoes as there are sea urchins about. Boone in our group stepped on any though.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2009

Great vacation

We had a great mini-vacation at Riu. We only had 5 days, so we chose Puerto Plata because it was a short direct flight from Newark. We were on the beach by 1pm on our first day, and even managed to get in a few beach hours on the last day. At Riu, the service was fantastic, food was very good, and the drinks were delicious. We spent most of the time on the beach, and it often felt like our own private beach because of all the palm trees surrounding us. Snorkling and kayaking were fun too. And the pool was great as well. We really had a very enjoyable and relaxing vacation. I would recommend this for any who is looking for an easy vacation. It's easy to get to, and once you're there you don't have to worry about anything. For us, the Saturday to Wednesday vacation was the perfect amount of time. Any longer and we might have wanted to have more to do, or more options for food/drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid the pre-paid airport transportation. Grab a taxi at the airport instead. We didn't check a bag to be quick, and instead waited for 45 minutes inside our van at the airport, waiting for others who had checked bags. We had pre-paid though, so we had no choice. Then we had to drop them off on the way to our hotel. Also, be careful of people at the airport asking for tips. Every person who touches your bags will want a tip. If you feel the need to tip, make sure you have dollar bills, because they will ask for $5 or even $10!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WillNJ
Business
New Jersey
May 23, 2010

Great Experience in Dominican Republic

We went to the beach and pool everyday. The resort was clean and had many amenities. The staff was kind and very friendly. The food was pretty good, always a variety and always fresh. All-inclusive really means all inclusive. This was my first trip to the Dominican Republic and I would certainly recommend traveling here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the Steakhouse and Italian Restaurant since it normally fills up very fast.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollis
Sep 11, 2008

if you don't care about sleeping....

The hotel is extremely far from the airport (you incur an EXTRA cab fare). The food was fairly good, but there isn't a lot of variation from day to day. As for the hotel itself, the room was terrible. After changing rooms due to an overpowering smell, the second didn't manage to bring any better accommodation. The beds are extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom looks like someone's bathroom in a small apartment. The beach wasn't that great either, it wasn't the cleanest or most desirable piece of beach I've seen. And from what I've heard from talking to other tourists, a lot of people decide to spend two weeks. There is nothing to do for two weeks--it would be more than sufficient to spend 4-5 days. There are activities to do like tours and ATV riding--which are great, but because this hotel is the furthest, you end up being first on the bus and then last to get off. Spend the $ for one of the nicer hotels or come not expecting a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
May 25, 2009

Fantastic family get away

Relaxing by the beach, swimming in the pool, boating I would like to taste more local food: vegetable, fruits like passion fruit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top