$123 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
142 reviews
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The... See full review

  • Truomega
  • Feb 5, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.8339 -70.7708
Area served
Puerto Plata, Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP)
Area description
Located on the beautiful Maimon Bay, 492 feet from the Caribbean Street, 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata and 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata's International Airport. Maimon bay is the place to relax on the beach with a good book and a tropical drink. The main attractions here are the beautiful beach and the beachfront Riu Resorts complex, guests will enjoy the day and nighttime many activities offered at the three all-inclusive Riu Hotels. For a taste of local Dominican culture is easy and fun, visit Puerto Plata is only six miles away. Local excursion: Puerto Plata (16th century fort and amber museum), Cordillera Central Mountains, and Santiago (tobacco and folklore museums).

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klane
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 4, 2009

Third time and will return again!

This was our third visit in the last 3 years. We always like seeing the folks again that work here. The location is great as you can walk along the beach among the 3 resorts that are next to each other. The rooms are great and cleaned very well everyday. The food is some of the best all inclusive that we have encountered. Our only concern was with GOGO Tours as the driver was not real friendly and the rep NEVER came to our hotel, in fact we had to hunt him down to verify our return time to airport, he never was available for excursions. Other than that, which has nothing to do with the resort, we had a great time. See you next year as you cannot beat the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We wanted something special one night at went to Papillon for dinner..............WONDERFUL

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenykop
New Jersey
Jan 17, 2013

Riu Merengue

Had a grat time. Food very inconsistant. Dominican Nite had an awesome spread and should be available daily. Real singers not lip sinkers goes a long way. this hotel lacked actual singers but the dancing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont eat at the tourist restauraunts off the resort. Tehy dont have a price list only pics of items. They make up the prices by the way u r dressed.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WillNJ
New Jersey
May 23, 2010

Great Experience in Dominican Republic

We went to the beach and pool everyday. The resort was clean and had many amenities. The staff was kind and very friendly. The food was pretty good, always a variety and always fresh. All-inclusive really means all inclusive. This was my first trip to the Dominican Republic and I would certainly recommend traveling here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the Steakhouse and Italian Restaurant since it normally fills up very fast.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollis
Sep 11, 2008

if you don't care about sleeping....

The hotel is extremely far from the airport (you incur an EXTRA cab fare). The food was fairly good, but there isn't a lot of variation from day to day. As for the hotel itself, the room was terrible. After changing rooms due to an overpowering smell, the second didn't manage to bring any better accommodation. The beds are extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom looks like someone's bathroom in a small apartment. The beach wasn't that great either, it wasn't the cleanest or most desirable piece of beach I've seen. And from what I've heard from talking to other tourists, a lot of people decide to spend two weeks. There is nothing to do for two weeks--it would be more than sufficient to spend 4-5 days. There are activities to do like tours and ATV riding--which are great, but because this hotel is the furthest, you end up being first on the bus and then last to get off. Spend the $ for one of the nicer hotels or come not expecting a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Old Bridge, NJ
Dec 5, 2009

Amazing!

Swim up bar at Riu Bachata was great. Food was deliscious, service impecable! Definately a go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klane
Cleveland, Ohio
Mar 4, 2009

Third time and will return again!

This was our third visit in the last 3 years. We always like seeing the folks again that work here. The location is great as you can walk along the beach among the 3 resorts that are next to each other. The rooms are great and cleaned very well everyday. The food is some of the best all inclusive that we have encountered. Our only concern was with GOGO Tours as the driver was not real friendly and the rep NEVER came to our hotel, in fact we had to hunt him down to verify our return time to airport, he never was available for excursions. Other than that, which has nothing to do with the resort, we had a great time. See you next year as you cannot beat the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We wanted something special one night at went to Papillon for dinner..............WONDERFUL

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thayer Allcrooks
Battle Creek, MI
Apr 22, 2009

Strongly recommend

I liked it so much that I plan to go again this summer. That pretty much says it all. There were a few downsides that were a bit of a bummer for me personally that I will list but in no way did it affect my overall opinion of the resort. The things I mention may not make much of a difference for others. I researched the Island's hotels quite extensively and Merengue was the best value for the money. The good: The cost, the cost, the cost (I paid less than 2K for a week's stay for two, including airfare from Michigan), the food, the desserts, the beer, wine, the hotel room's limitless rum, vodka, brandy and gin were all pleasantly surprising. The service was great and the amenities were better than I expected. Since the cost was relatively inexpensive, I expected it to be a little run down and that wasn't the case at all. The bad: 1) The Elective day trips were a little pricey but probably no different than the other resorts, e.g. renting a 4 wheeler $60 pp, Fishing Trip $80 pp, Catamaran boat trip for snorkeling $75 pp. (I would still do these things again) 2) The beds were a little dated and lumpy but tolerable. 3) The on site discotheque was pretty good but played too much American hip hop. If I travel 2000 miles, I want to experience the culture. This may have been due to the large number of American Spring Breakers. They did play Salsa and Merengue upon request. The family oriented entertainment was pretty cheesy for my tastes so we didn't do much of that stuff but the other guests seemed to like it. If you are big into snorkeling, it maybe worth it to bring your own fins and goggles. There is a $25 deposit and a one hour time limit if you use the hotel's gear. You are only packing shorts and t-shirts so you should have the extra room in your luggage. I can't think of anything else to complain about because it really was a pleasant experience. Even going through customs was pretty painless. Just be forewarned that when you are off the resort, (and that may not be necessary but we wanted to rent a car and see the real city) be prepared to be constantly approached by people trying to sell you stuff. It gets annoying but you learn to just deal with it. The majority of the people are usually pretty friendly and are just trying to make a living. If you do decide to rent a car, be prepared to do some of your life's best defensive driving. Those little mopeds all over the place are more irritating than Nancy Pelosi's voice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollis
Sep 11, 2008

if you don't care about sleeping....

The hotel is extremely far from the airport (you incur an EXTRA cab fare). The food was fairly good, but there isn't a lot of variation from day to day. As for the hotel itself, the room was terrible. After changing rooms due to an overpowering smell, the second didn't manage to bring any better accommodation. The beds are extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom looks like someone's bathroom in a small apartment. The beach wasn't that great either, it wasn't the cleanest or most desirable piece of beach I've seen. And from what I've heard from talking to other tourists, a lot of people decide to spend two weeks. There is nothing to do for two weeks--it would be more than sufficient to spend 4-5 days. There are activities to do like tours and ATV riding--which are great, but because this hotel is the furthest, you end up being first on the bus and then last to get off. Spend the $ for one of the nicer hotels or come not expecting a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janette M
Bronx, NY
May 27, 2014

Awesome trip

This was my 1st at this hotel and I can not wait to book another trip!!! Everything was great! Good was great, everything was near by and the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to wake up early and make reservations for the restaurants!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 27, 2009

Great vacation

We had a great mini-vacation at Riu. We only had 5 days, so we chose Puerto Plata because it was a short direct flight from Newark. We were on the beach by 1pm on our first day, and even managed to get in a few beach hours on the last day. At Riu, the service was fantastic, food was very good, and the drinks were delicious. We spent most of the time on the beach, and it often felt like our own private beach because of all the palm trees surrounding us. Snorkling and kayaking were fun too. And the pool was great as well. We really had a very enjoyable and relaxing vacation. I would recommend this for any who is looking for an easy vacation. It's easy to get to, and once you're there you don't have to worry about anything. For us, the Saturday to Wednesday vacation was the perfect amount of time. Any longer and we might have wanted to have more to do, or more options for food/drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid the pre-paid airport transportation. Grab a taxi at the airport instead. We didn't check a bag to be quick, and instead waited for 45 minutes inside our van at the airport, waiting for others who had checked bags. We had pre-paid though, so we had no choice. Then we had to drop them off on the way to our hotel. Also, be careful of people at the airport asking for tips. Every person who touches your bags will want a tip. If you feel the need to tip, make sure you have dollar bills, because they will ask for $5 or even $10!

Back to menu Return to top