$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
100 reviews
Wonderful trip to the DR

The hotel was a great experience. The staff was wonderful and made our time very enjoyable. Only... See full review

  • Zane P.
  • Feb 10, 2015
fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Oct 2, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (100)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy fun lover
Business
Estherville , Iowa
Mar 24, 2013

Wonderful trip for the money

My wife and I have stayed at the RIU Merengue more than once and each time we enjoy it more. I dont know how they do it but many of the staff remember you from the year before. Speaking of the staff, they are well trained and very Pleasant. The bartenders and animation crew are very fun and keep you laughing. Check in is a breeze. The food in the dinning hall is plentiful and you can always find something you like. Alberto does a great job manageing it. The rooms and grounds are very well kept, there are people cleaning constantly. The beach is nearly a mile long and raked clean every day. The ocean is alittle rocky in spots but still very functional for swiming and the free water sports. We will be going back next year and taking some friends with us. sincerly enjoyed it Randy in Iowa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go see Jonny at the end of the beach and buy an excursion to check out some real Dominican culture. I Highly recomend the waterfall trip!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms.Bell
Business
QUEENS,NEW YORK
May 17, 2013

EXCITING BIRTHDAY GETAWAY

I arrived to Puerto Plata on Friday April12,2013. On Friday we tour the hotel premises,which is beautiful, and had dinner at the buffet. Later that evening we went to Pacha, a club on the hotel premises which was okay, as per request they will play any music you want to hear. Saturday Morning we hit the lovely beach and pool made reservations to eat at the specialty restaurants and schedule a spa session and daytime activity. In between all this planning we kept going to the bar and having shots of mamajuanna.We also linked up some really cool Canadians and party in downtown Puerto Plata that night at a Merengue Club, that was really exciting we drank BRUGAL and dance the night away. The whole club was singing HAPPY BIRTHDAY! well in there language of course is Feliz Cumpleaños!! Sunday was our last day we had breakfast, we went riding into the country side of Puerto Plata on the 4wheel bikes, that was fun,when we were done with that it was spa time,this was one of favorite activities, i had the best massage ever! When we were done we went into the beach water and enjoyed the sunset.Later that night we had dinner at a specialty restaurant and the wait staff brought out a birthday cake and also singed Feliz Cumpleaños!! Later that evening we headed back to downtown Puerto Plata and dance the night away. This place is a Great Resort, As along as you have Great people around, you will Enjoy yourself just as i did! This trip was just the way i wanted it to be Relaxing and FUN!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the view its PRICELESS!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radovan
Business
NJ
Feb 12, 2014

Good place for family with kids

Very nice location, excellent beach, plenty of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do NOT waste time on town sightseeing, it is sales pitch. Bus will take you to few shops. Rather take river cruse

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.Lo
Business
New York City
Apr 27, 2014

Great Time !!

The hotel staff is extremely nice. The managers at the buffet are very attentive & the waiters are wonderful and very helpful, your table is always set, or cleaned within a few seconds. The bartenders are also very quick & helpful. The animation staff do a great job at entertaining people. During the day time, they have a variety of activities for people of different ages. I really enjoyed the "Yoga/ Stretch" class at the beach (Thank you Mickey Mouse!!) & the "Aqua-gym" class. I have to say that I have seen better night shows at other hotels, but it is good enough for any first time tourist in an AI hotel. The beach is located in an area where waves converge from different directions, which makes the water unusually rough, but you can still swim & have a good time. This was my first time at this hotel & I had a good time there. I'll definitely return If they offer good deals in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janette M
Business
Bronx, NY
May 27, 2014

Awesome trip

This was my 1st at this hotel and I can not wait to book another trip!!! Everything was great! Good was great, everything was near by and the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to wake up early and make reservations for the restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronil
Business
Orlando, florida
Jun 8, 2014

Nice people, clean and good service

stay here for few days on april and like it. planning on going back at end of June. entertainment is the only downfall but i really wasn't in the mood for some noise. just relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollis
Sep 11, 2008

if you don't care about sleeping....

The hotel is extremely far from the airport (you incur an EXTRA cab fare). The food was fairly good, but there isn't a lot of variation from day to day. As for the hotel itself, the room was terrible. After changing rooms due to an overpowering smell, the second didn't manage to bring any better accommodation. The beds are extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom looks like someone's bathroom in a small apartment. The beach wasn't that great either, it wasn't the cleanest or most desirable piece of beach I've seen. And from what I've heard from talking to other tourists, a lot of people decide to spend two weeks. There is nothing to do for two weeks--it would be more than sufficient to spend 4-5 days. There are activities to do like tours and ATV riding--which are great, but because this hotel is the furthest, you end up being first on the bus and then last to get off. Spend the $ for one of the nicer hotels or come not expecting a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
May 25, 2009

Fantastic family get away

Relaxing by the beach, swimming in the pool, boating I would like to taste more local food: vegetable, fruits like passion fruit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alostknight2005
Business
leeds, maine
May 10, 2014

back again

been coming here for years because of the value, location, and people. the ac could be a bit cooler but other than that I enjoy coming back here year after year. plenty of things to do, lots of shopping choices and always something different in the buffet area. the beach is gorgeous but if swimming water shoes are highly recommended as coral and sear urchins could do a number on barefeet. can snorkel and see all kinds of fish swimming right on the beach instead of paying for an excursion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

shopping in the hotel gift shops is actually cheaper than bartering with vendors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaxiG
Business
New York
May 2, 2009

Great vacation for the price

This was my third Riu resort. I loved them all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top