$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 6, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
99 reviews
Wonderful trip to the DR

The hotel was a great experience. The staff was wonderful and made our time very enjoyable. Only... See full review

  • Zane P.
  • Feb 10, 2015
fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Oct 2, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 25, 2007

Riu Merengue rocks!!

My girlfriend and I stayed for 5 nights from September 20-25. Trust the reviews, it's a great place. You get so much more worth your money. Here are some facts: 1. It's the Caribbean, and very humid...the rooms are musty, big deal!! 2. The King beds are two doubles pushed together and not the most comfortable, big deal!! I slept fine, the rooms were beautiful and roomy, and there are two other resorts that you can walk to and utilize as well. The food is fantastic in presentation as well as taste. You can eat at their steak house or Italian restaurant and have a steak each night. The wine isn't very good, but there are 10 bars that will give you every other type of drink you can imagine, people! Again, to lay on the beach, eat wonderful food, and drink all I want. I have to nitpick to find complaints folks. If you want a wonderful getaway for a great price, go to the Merengue. Service is excellent, food is wonderful, drinks are plenteous, what more do you want for your money?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Riu Bachata and the Riu Mambo are available for your pleasure for eating and drinking. check them out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WAWADA002
Business
GREENSBORO, NC
May 8, 2009

THE BEST RESORT EVER!!

I WENT TO THE BEACH AND EVERYWHERE IN THE HOTEL IS A VERY NICE PLACE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
genesis82
Business
boston, ma
Oct 2, 2014

fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zane P.
Business
Woolrich
Feb 10, 2015

Wonderful trip to the DR

The hotel was a great experience. The staff was wonderful and made our time very enjoyable. Only complaints were that the beds were pretty hard and the room smelled musty through the entire stay. Would go back if we had the opportunity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine Lover
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 1, 2009

Staff Wondeful

The location was very nice. The grounds were kept up and the staff were quick to ensure that all of your needs were met. Rooms all have a nice balconey to enjoy the sunshine. Rooms are equipped with a mini bar that allows you to partake of a refreshing beverage(different bottles of alcoholic liquors and non-alcoholic beverages)-Staff inquires in the morning, how many and how much? When we checked in the front staff alerted our group that we were the lucky group that was to receive an up-grade and would be moved to the Bachlata,of course we took them up on the offer. After being there a few days we were able to see a room in the Merengue, which I felt was supreme. Although our rooms at the Bachlata were nice, the rooms at Merengue were laid out better. Also the Merengue is centrally located which makes it convenient to enjoy all of the amenities of all of the resorts. Not all resorts offer the same ammenities(Water activity shop-Merengue...Swim up Bar-Bachlata...Dance Club-Merengue) Don't feel it was an up-grade. After meeting many other people, this is an common occurance-beware. Buffets offered were plentiful and the dining room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast selection was amazing, especially try the fruit smoothies-yum. Lunch and dinner had alot to offer, but was very disappointed with the Steakhouse/Italian Restaurant. For one thing, hard to get reservations, have to go to the main lobby each morning between 8:00 A.M.-10:00 A.M. The Italian and Steakhouse are held in the same restuarant and are only offered on alternative nights. Food was far inferior to the buffets. We had the lamb chops, my brother,the rib-eye(only offered med-well or well)-small portions over-cooked, speciality potatoes were french fries. Not worth the hassle. Staff were wonderful, they went out of there way to ensure that they kept a smile on your face. Notable mentions-Antonio,Pablo and Aehandra. Staff was amazing, they were able to remember your preferences after only meeting you once, great memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Talk to the staff at the resort, they have friends who can structure tours that cater to your exact needs and at a much better price than the advertised tour. We paid $20.00 a person, four in our group, for a private van with a driver and a guide who was very knowledgable. $80.00 total for a six-hour tour of the city, in which we stopped were we wanted and chose the locales. Beware the stops, street venders all over, extremely aggresive will follow you for blocks. Most persistent in all of the carribean countries I have visited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hampshire Girl
Business
Hampshire
Nov 7, 2010

Great All Rounder!

This is a great resort... friendly and helpful staff, variety of food, fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelly the fantastic
Business
Wantagh, NY
Sep 2, 2012

very relaxing and accommodating

Staff was friendly and accommodating. For the money it was a great value. The beach was beautiful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenykop
Business
New Jersey
Jan 17, 2013

Riu Merengue

Had a grat time. Food very inconsistant. Dominican Nite had an awesome spread and should be available daily. Real singers not lip sinkers goes a long way. this hotel lacked actual singers but the dancing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont eat at the tourist restauraunts off the resort. Tehy dont have a price list only pics of items. They make up the prices by the way u r dressed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jd001
Business
burlington ontario
Feb 22, 2013

first all inclusive

We went for a week in Feb 2013. We had a wonderful time. Our fav part for both of us was the waterfall excursion it was one of the most fun and exciting things we have ever done. The hotel was nice beautiful view and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If your staying in the Merengue you can walk over to the Brachata ffor breakfast and lunch we highly recommend you do

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rez 123
Business
Montréal
Mar 10, 2013

One week at the merengue

First, i need to Say that the staff is the best i've seen in years. The food is ok and the site is Clean . The ocean and the beach are not as Nice as punta cana or cancun, but that is puerto plata and we knew before we pourchasse it. Nothing to Say wrong exept for little things here and there, but hiven if it,s a 5 star in some ratings ask your self why it's half the price of a riu palace 5 Star and you Will have your answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top