$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 26, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
92 reviews
fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Oct 2, 2014
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.8339 -70.7708
Area served
Puerto Plata, Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP)
Area description
Located on the beautiful Maimon Bay, 492 feet from the Caribbean Street, 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata and 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata's International Airport. Maimon bay is the place to relax on the beach with a good book and a tropical drink. The main attractions here are the beautiful beach and the beachfront Riu Resorts complex, guests will enjoy the day and nighttime many activities offered at the three all-inclusive Riu Hotels. For a taste of local Dominican culture is easy and fun, visit Puerto Plata is only six miles away. Local excursion: Puerto Plata (16th century fort and amber museum), Cordillera Central Mountains, and Santiago (tobacco and folklore museums).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alla S
Business
New York
Apr 13, 2014

Repeat

We have been coming back to this resort for past couple of years and always had positive experience. Our last visit left us wondering if this is the same chain that treated us so good in the past.... The room we stayed in had broken air conditioner and it took management 5 days to transfer us to a new room after numerous complaints and conversations with management team, which made overall experience unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TammyCan
Business
NEW YORK
Apr 14, 2014

DONT STAY HERE!!!!!

This hotel was the worst I have ever been to. My husband and I go to the DR often but never stayed here. air conditioning didn't work first night there, our room flooded from a broken value on toilet and the food was gross and not stored properly. The staff is ok, but more concerned with socializing amongst themselves and sneaking drinks under the bar.... I wouldn't go back even if it was FREE!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ocean world is a must!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mikes Mom
Business
Little Falls, NJ
May 8, 2009

Worst Trip EVER

My husband and I booked a 4 day, 3 night get away, to the ClubHotel Riu Merengue in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. Despite all the favorable reviews we found online, it was by far the worst vacation we have ever taken. It started when we were greeted by one of the front desk staff, who began with a ridiculous monologue consisting of one liners and bad jokes. He boasted about the superior level of service we could expect and then ended his speech by informing us that our room was not ready. He suggested we return in approximately twenty minutes, even though the front desk was filled with hundreds envelopes containing keys to clean and available rooms. Upon our return thirty minutes later, we were told the staff was busy with other guests and that we should come back in an hour. This was totally unacceptable and I refused to wait any longer. Each staff member I spoke to directed me to someone else. Finally, we found someone able to help us and learned that our room had been ready all along. Their website boasts of luxury, five star accommodations, which is why I was extremely disappointed when we were escorted to a tiny, dated guestroom. The bed was two doubles pushed together, there was not a blanket to be found and the toiletries were in paper packets. The mini bar contained a total of two beers and two sodas. In fact, it took an entire day, three phone calls and speaking to a manager before our request to fill the mini bar was addressed. Obtaining a reservation at one of the “a la carte” restaurants turned out to be impossible. Dinner reservations were taken between the hours of 7:00 and 10:00 am each day. Twice we arrived prior to 8:00 am, only to find out that all the reservations had been taken. I can not understand why a resort with 544 guestrooms, has forty dining tables and only two seatings per night. Basically, a very small percentage of the guests are able to enjoy a sit down meal, while the majority are left to a cafeteria style dinner of repetitive, mediocre food. The dining situation may have not been so bad, if the drinks had not been so watered down and served child size plastic cups. Perhaps worst of all was the discovery that our trip happened to coincide with a Dominican holiday. Not long after our arrival, hundreds of locals descended on the resort and literally took over everything. The sheer volume of people coupled with the rude and rowdy behavior made getting food or drinks into somewhat of a battle. The locals were catered to by the staff, leaving vacationers feeling like unwanted guests. We will never return to this hotel and will avoid all Riu properties in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you arrive close to 7:00am to make a dinner reservation. They were always booked before 8:00am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bestthepest
Business
Barnstable, MA
Dec 16, 2010

Worst vacation ever

Where do I begin! Ok I booked this trip for my wife and I. It was her 30th birthday present from me and our overdue honeymoon that we waited to take for 5 years do to financial issues. She has never traveled by plane before. Lets just say the highlight of our vacation was the plane ride. When we got off the plane the person that took our bags to the van wanted me to give the driver a $20 tip which is crazy considering the ride to the hotel and back is included in our trip that I already paid for. The gentlemen only carried our bags about 100 yards and put his hand out for a tip which I expected. I gave him $5 and he looked at me and said whats this $5 more. I said to him for WHAT HELL NO!!!!!! We should have know right then and there that we should turn back around and go home. On the way to the hotel we almost crashed like 5 times and almost hit a women crossing the road. When arriving to the hotel we checked in and got our room key. When arriving to our room it was a disaster. Lets just say the bed was terrible. The best way to explain it would be that it was like sleeping on a worn out pull out couch. When asking to change rooms we were told that we would have to pay to change rooms for a cost of $125 per night. Needless to say we didn't have the money to do this so we had to stay in this room. My wife and I wanted to go home right there and then but we knew we couldn't. The next day we went to the beach which was not fun. The current was too strong for the whole stay and the beach was littered with trash from careless people leaving there empty glasses behind. To top it off the men working at the hotel were all overly aggressive on hitting on my wife which made us both uncomfortable. If a guy tried doing that here I would have said something but I didn't want to get into trouble in another country. We felt like we were trapped inside our hotel room for the rest of the vacation. I would have rather been in a jail cell in the US then in that room at this hotel. Oh did I say that there where prostitutes at the hotel as well..... and the food was the same stuff served every day. I got sick of eating the same reheated food day in and day out. I hope this review helps for I would never stay here if I had read a review like this one!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

I only said shopping because I had to pick one item on a drop down list. NOTHING was good about this trip other than the plane ride!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA, NY & NJ Area
Apr 9, 2010

Birthday/Easter Trip

Well, where do I start. We booked 2 rooms, as I was traveling with my Mother and my 14 year old Daughter to celebrate Easter and my Birthday... This was shocking, we have never been so disrespected, by so many staff members in one hotel, in such a short visit of 8 days in my life, and we have visited many countries... Not even my 14 year daughter--- would they leave alone at this hotel!!! But what I found the most offensive was that one of the top 3 management, on my first day there; a married man, was propositioning me after telling me that he lived with a partner and had 3 kids- how GROSS is that? And he did it again, on my last day there, he asked me when and if I would return, to see him, OMG!!! Keep Dreaming is all that I kept thinking to myself!!! Anyway, the food was disgusting, low quality and low in quantity, no 24 hours room service or food that we could find, after a certain hour. The rooms were old, and had no real mirror to speak of; had to stand on a chair to look at ourselves and the beds were more like thin mattress with old thins sheets and old thin bedspread. The air conditioner hardly worked, had to complain more than 3 times to have my roomed changed. I would never return to this hotel, nor this country again, and I have been to D.R. 5 times, BUT never AGAIN and NEVER to this hotel!!! PS, they did not even acknowledged that it was Easter Sunday, no Easter Bunny, and there were many, many children there, go figure, also a few toilets around the beach and main lobby area were broken and would not flush, now how gross is that... Stay AWAY from this Hotel and chain if possible, I mean it!!! I have never bothered to write a review, but this I had to do, as not even for my B.D. did I get a decent meal, the "Rib Eye" steak, was paper thin and full of fat, it looked that they had cut the steak in 4 to feed my party of 4, so I say again, STAY AWAY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington
Jan 2, 2009

High School Cafeteria Food

We actually got upgraded to the Bachata, but went to all 3 RIU properties. The setting is very nice, the grounds, the pools, the beach. Our room was musty and mildewed and we spent as little time in it as possible. The food was just plain bad. Yeah, there's a lot of it, but it's bad. Don't bother with the special Italian and Steakhouse restaurants, it's not worth the effort of getting up early to make the reservation. Also, know that the bartending staff's job is to NOT serve you alcohol. But when they mix drinks, they use mixed stuff that doesn't have alcohol in it, unless you specify and watch them pour it. They also serve near beer which could not get you drunk, and even their wine is extremely low alcohol (not to mention pretty gross). Oh, and they don't stock enough beach towels for some reason, so you'll need to get up by 8:30am your first morning to get one, and then hold onto it the rest of the time you're there. So unless you have really low standards of what you consider good food, just don't go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
May 10, 2009

Horrible hotel full of fat europeans

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. No a/c, hard beds, room service barge in at 9am in the morning. The same exact food every day. Greasy, buttery and disgusting,,,inability to make reservations at the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WILL BELLA
Business
NEW JERSEY USA
Aug 15, 2014

TWILIGHT ZONE IN RIU MERENGUE

MY NAME IS WILLIAM B. WHEN ME AND MY WIFE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL ON 08/01/2014 I ASKED FOR THE RESTAURANT TO HAVE DINNER AND THE GIRL AT THE RECEPTION TOLD ME THAT I NEED A RESERVATION. I ASKED IF SHE CAN TELL ME WHERE TO DO IT AND HER ANSWER WAS THAT THE RESERVATION WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MADE AT SEVEN IN THE MORNING. I TOLD HER AT THAT TIME WE WERE AT THE AIRPORT IN NEW JERSEY HER ANSWER WAS SORRY BUT YOU GUYS CANNOT EAT. SO WE WALK AROUND AND SPOKE WITH OTHER GUEST IN THE RESORT AND THEY EXPLAINED THAT THERE WAS ANOTHER RESTAURANT THAT WE DIDNT NEED RESERVATIONS FOR, WHICH IS NOT AN OPTION THAT WAS GIVEN TO US AT THE FRONT DESK.THIS WAS JUST THE BEGINING. WHEN WE GOT TO OUR ROOM, THE MINI BAR WAS EMPTY AND STAYED LIKE THAT FOR FOUR DAYS. FOR THOSE FOUR DAYS WE ASKED FOR WATER AT THE FROM DESK AND THEIR ANSWER WAS THAT WE CANNOT GIVE YOU WATER, YOU HAVE TO GO TO YOUR ROOM AND WAIT. THE FOOD THAT THEY SERVE AT THE BUFFET FOR BREAKFAST,LUNCH AND DINNER WAS THE SAME FOR THE ENTIRE EIGHT DAYS THAT WE SPENT AT THAT HOTEL. WE ALSO FOUND ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS TWO BIG ROACHES ONE ON THE BED AND ONE IN THE CLOSET. WE HAVE A VIDEO. WHEN WE CALLED THE FRONT DESK TO COMPLAIN THEY SAID THAT THEY WILL SEND SOMEONE BUT NOONE CAME AND WE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES BUT NOONE ANSWERED. WE WERE LOOKING FOWARD TO RELAXING NOT STRESSING. THE RESORT DOES NOT MEET THE STANDARDS AND THE STAFF WAS VERY, VERY UNPROFESSIONAL,VERY POOR MANAGMENT. PLEASE DO NOT GO THERE. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lady bag
Business
NY
Apr 21, 2014

Needs make over

Horrible bed, not working air conditioner Food with poor variety, staff helpful and honest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 17, 2008

Not for business

Poor internet service (did not work at all) you had to go to another hotel to get service TV was built when the flintstones were a hit! Food was predicable but ok

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top