$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
88 reviews
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The... See full review

  • Truomega
  • Feb 5, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.8339 -70.7708
Area served
Puerto Plata, Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP)
Area description
Located on the beautiful Maimon Bay, 492 feet from the Caribbean Street, 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata and 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata's International Airport. Maimon bay is the place to relax on the beach with a good book and a tropical drink. The main attractions here are the beautiful beach and the beachfront Riu Resorts complex, guests will enjoy the day and nighttime many activities offered at the three all-inclusive Riu Hotels. For a taste of local Dominican culture is easy and fun, visit Puerto Plata is only six miles away. Local excursion: Puerto Plata (16th century fort and amber museum), Cordillera Central Mountains, and Santiago (tobacco and folklore museums).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Sep 25, 2007

Riu Merengue rocks!!

My girlfriend and I stayed for 5 nights from September 20-25. Trust the reviews, it's a great place. You get so much more worth your money. Here are some facts: 1. It's the Caribbean, and very humid...the rooms are musty, big deal!! 2. The King beds are two doubles pushed together and not the most comfortable, big deal!! I slept fine, the rooms were beautiful and roomy, and there are two other resorts that you can walk to and utilize as well. The food is fantastic in presentation as well as taste. You can eat at their steak house or Italian restaurant and have a steak each night. The wine isn't very good, but there are 10 bars that will give you every other type of drink you can imagine, people! Again, to lay on the beach, eat wonderful food, and drink all I want. I have to nitpick to find complaints folks. If you want a wonderful getaway for a great price, go to the Merengue. Service is excellent, food is wonderful, drinks are plenteous, what more do you want for your money?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Riu Bachata and the Riu Mambo are available for your pleasure for eating and drinking. check them out!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WAWADA002
GREENSBORO, NC
May 8, 2009

THE BEST RESORT EVER!!

I WENT TO THE BEACH AND EVERYWHERE IN THE HOTEL IS A VERY NICE PLACE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
May 28, 2007

great place, great people

I had a great time in the Riu Merengue. The service and the people in the comples was awesome. We felt very comfortable all the time. I would said that they need to keep up with their air condition maintainance. everything else waas goood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
St Louis, MO
Feb 11, 2010

Would return again

Relaxed! Swam, paddled and sunned ourselves, as well as dined and drank freely at the multiple dining and bar facilities at the beachfronts and pools at all 3 connected Riu facilities - Bachata, Meringue, Mambo. Took a couple of organized excursions outside the resort. Took the public bus (inexpensive) service into town (Puerto Plata) at day to wander around and see the town in its 'native glory'. Had no problems. Takes about 25 minutes each way; may be crowded, but quite an experience. Watched nightly informal and formal shows; watched and participated in daily poolside and beachfront activities. Shopped in stores in each main hotel building - and on Caribbean Street vending area. Used the on-site medical emergency facility when I had a need of their services. Overall, it is comparable in service and facilities our stay in 2008 at Riu Jalisco (Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico) but especially liked the detached (8 units per building) housing arrangement on tree-lined 'streets' here, at this DR facility. No need to bring or buy DR pesos - they'll take US$ anywwhere on site - and in town (Puerto Plata). Most purchases can be done by credit card, but have cash for tips, street vendors, smal purches, bus, taxi, etc. We brought limited cash in hand and wanted to get a little more from the single ATM serving all, 3 hotels. If it goes belly-up - it wouldn't work for us - you have to go into town; but can do that on public bus cheaply - or by taxi if that's your style. Alternative: bring more $ than you'll need; you can always take those back home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Investigate & make extra trip/excursion plans early - in case of need to reschedule. Take at least one 'extra' excursion. Bring (or buy on-site - reasonably priced) aqua-shoes for walking on occasional loose-coral and stoney parts of beaches. Watch daily entertainment & nightly shows. Take a bus-trip to town; ride a 'motor-coco' (motorcycle taxi) in town; its a great experience! Learn a little (porquito) Spanish (Espanol) to further enjoy conversing with the locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Oct 26, 2009

great place

everything was very enjoyable. service was excellent. and hotel was very clean. plenty of activities to do through out every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Truomega
New York
Feb 5, 2014

What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The managers are always in sight so if there is an issue (not that we had any) with anything you can always catch them walking around. The location is well within walking distance to the beach and best part is that you can take advantage of all 3 resorts (merengue, merengue village and Bachata) which allows you access to the pools, the bars, the food, the beaches etc... The only thing is that you have to eat dinner at your own hotel. I have to warn you though that you can easily fill yourself with food which myself and my girlfriend did multiple times. Every night you have a different live show that starts at 9:30 PM. Try to get there at 9:00 PM if you want good seats. Durring the day they invite you to do many different activities from water sport games to playing bingo to excersises to dance classes. There's always some form of activity to partake in. If you prefer you can opt to avoid all activities and spend as much time as you like at the bars, relaxing at the beach/pools while getting tan, visiting the shops or even leaving the hotel and doing excursions. The excursions cost extra but can easily take up half the day depending on which one you pick. I am very pleased with this resort. You will obviously find negative reviews but you can't please everyone and for the price you pay you just can't go wrong. We payed less than 1000 dollars each yet the amount of time spent and the amount of food and drinks we ate can easily exceed that number elsewhere. I brought with me 500 dollars just in case and came back home with 300 after purchasing trinkets as well as paying for excursions and the can ride from the hotel to the airport (which will run you 50 dollars). Just so you know this is my 4th time at the riu Merengue and can tell you that it will not be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you buy trinkets and/or jewlery you can always negotiate. Whatever they tell you in price, cut that in half and take and take extra 10% off that as well so something that is 100 dollars should end up being 40 or something that is 70 should end up being around 25 dollars. They will give you the sad look but be persistent cause they will try there best to bring the price up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TM Chris
Glen Burnie, MD
May 8, 2009

Extraordinary Resort!!

The RIU Merengue is an all-inclusive resort filled with warmth. As a woman traveling alone, my presence was closely monitored by the hotel staff. They made sure that I had a trustworthy tour guide for the City of Puerto Plata tour--which I embarked upon independently (not including the guide of course); the staff ensured that I did not miss my rural tour departure for a rural section outside of Puerto Plata; and the staff made sure that I was made aware of the many spectacular hotel events. They truly cared about me! All guests are their top priority. The lobby is clean, the bars are clean, the rooms are clean, and the beach is neat. This hotel is a "must see."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WeRo
NY
Mar 9, 2012

Perfect Wedding Day

We got married at the Merengue and it was all we dreamed for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
Feb 4, 2008

Great for a Honey Moon.

This was a great trip the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly, most could speak english and we always egar to help. the location is to die for. with the # resorts in the same complex you have free reign to vist all 3 and use the amenities they offer also. our room had a great view of the bay, i would also recommend the $ wheeler(ATV) Excursion well worth the money and you get to see some of the country, save your money on snorkling unless its a crystal clear day. You can see and feed ( grab a banna or bread) many of the same fish right off the resorts beach for free when you use their mask and fins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kondasty
suffern,ny
Apr 4, 2010

best place for vacaction

I had been there for 7 days to relax and just do nothing, but eating tanning,swimming in the pool, and enjoying beautiful weather, for me and my family everything was perfect, that was my third time staying the the same hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

dining, entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search