$112 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 15, 2015 Check-out: Jun 18, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WeRo
NY
Mar 9, 2012

Perfect Wedding Day

We got married at the Merengue and it was all we dreamed for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Old Bridge, NJ
Dec 5, 2009

Amazing!

Swim up bar at Riu Bachata was great. Food was deliscious, service impecable! Definately a go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastor Kim
Business
Easton, Pennsylvania
Nov 19, 2009

You get what you pay for

I went to the Riu merengue for my birthday with friends. The bad: the ac really doesn't work well. They explained to me that its a central ac system so its generally one temp. Even on high, you have to sleep with light covers. The beds are horrible and you get one pillow and the toilets don't have enough water pressure. The good: the place looks really nice. I would recommend a suite. The beach is right outside your window and the pool is really nice as well. The staff are friendly but if you complain too much they ignore you after a while (beware they are after tips big time).The only other thing is on the weekends the locals come (I'm Dominican too, so nothing against the people) but when they come it gets really loud, the lines get crazy but it does get allot more fun if you are looking for a good party. Its fairly inexpensive to stay here, but don't go with too high of expectations like we did and then be dissapointed. You get what you pay for. I would probably not stay there again, I want to check out the other 200 resorts in DR. Someone did say that the Riu Bachata was better, but it didn't seem much different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are in Puerto Plate make sure to go to El Malecon and the fortaleza. Its a strip on the edge of the beach which is beautiful to walk and the fortaleza has the history of one of the revolutionaries and the fort is beautiful. The Dominican Republic is so righ in history that you won't want to miss the opportunity to see some of it. If you have the time, you should go to the ciudad colonial and faro a colon in the capital about 2 hours from Riu Merengue,you will not regret it. Just don't take too much cash (they sell things with credit cards), don't let people put carboard on your car when you park cause they will want money afterwards and say no when a travel guide wants to walk you around the cuidad colonial, they always want money at the end even if they say they are paid by the government. Say no sternly, because they don't take no for an answer. Hope this helps

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastor Kim
Business
Easton, Pennsylvania
Nov 19, 2009

You get what you pay for

I went to Riu with some friends to celebrate my birthday. The staff were really friendly and helpful but the rooms where not cool enough and the toilet lacked water pressure. When I asked about the room temp they said that the the hotel was on a central ac system, so basically one temp. The beds were uncomfortable. But the location was great. The beach is literally right outside your window. I would recommend an upgrade to a suite. The food is not that great not even the ala carte was worth getting up at 6am to go and sign up for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are in the country and have the time, I would recommend a day trip to the capital Santo Domingo. You should go see El Faro a Colon and the Cuidad Colonial. The history in this country is amazing. It is 2 hours from Puerto Plata but if you leave early you can see both things and still make it back for a late dinner. If not have dinner in the capital in Venazuela Avenue which has allot of great inexpensive places. I would recommend renting a car. The country has one major road between both cities and is easy to find. If not hire a cab for the day, shouldn't be too expensive.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastor Kim
Business
Easton, Pennsylvania
Nov 19, 2009

You get what you pay for

I went to the Riu merengue for my birthday with friends. The bad: the ac really doesn't work well. They explained to me that its a central ac system so its generally one temp. Even on high, you have to sleep with light covers. The beds are horrible and you get one pillow and the toilets don't have enough water pressure. The good: the place looks really nice. I would recommend a suite. The beach is right outside your window and the pool is really nice as well. The staff are friendly but if you complain too much they ignore you after a while (beware they are after tips big time).The only other thing is on the weekends the locals come (I'm Dominican too, so nothing against the people) but when they come it gets really loud, the lines get crazy but it does get allot more fun if you are looking for a good party. Its fairly inexpensive to stay here, but don't go with too high of expectations like we did and then be dissapointed. You get what you pay for. I would probably not stay there again, I want to check out the other 200 resorts in DR. Someone did say that the Riu Bachata was better, but it didn't seem much different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are in Puerto Plate make sure to go to El Malecon and the fortaleza. Its a strip on the edge of the beach which is beautiful to walk and the fortaleza has the history of one of the revolutionaries and the fort is beautiful. The Dominican Republic is so righ in history that you won't want to miss the opportunity to see some of it. If you have the time, you should go to the ciudad colonial and faro a colon in the capital about 2 hours from Riu Merengue,you will not regret it. Just don't take too much cash (they sell things with credit cards), don't let people put carboard on your car when you park cause they will want money afterwards and say no when a travel guide wants to walk you around the cuidad colonial, they always want money at the end even if they say they are paid by the government. Say no sternly, because they don't take no for an answer. Hope this helps

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fallbreak'09
Business
SLC
Nov 2, 2009

Not That Sweet

The staff was great, and aside from trying to get a nonexistant hotel voucher from us, were very attentive and pleasant. The beds were not so sweet and it took a couple hrs to shake off the soreness. The beach was awesome, the grounds were very pretty and well maintained. The food was edible but nothing special. Lots of Brits and Germans during our stay... maybe october/nov is a vaca for them?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Oct 26, 2009

great place

everything was very enjoyable. service was excellent. and hotel was very clean. plenty of activities to do through out every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
inmenso
Business
paterson, nj
Oct 14, 2009

Great place to go

It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
This was almost a nightmare
Business
New York, USA
Sep 12, 2009

enjoyable, and good price

I went there really to rest, but I have a lot of fun. I will come back there If I can.Perssonel very nice and friendy specially the people that work at Macumba and the bartenders. I always go to a similar kind of resorts. If I compare it is almost the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 11, 2009

For the price not bad

we took, some tours, we had a wonderfull time on teh tours. The entretaining group is the best on the hotel. They don't have an iron nor irno board. coffe maker. They need to improve that. overall I would rate it as a ***. Personnaly, I did not like it that much. My friends did. Had a nice time with the bartenders, very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jundaba!
Business
Saskatoon, SK
Jun 6, 2009

Not for us, but an objective Review

We Booked through orbitz which took care of everything. In combination with coco tours we had a relaxing trip. The tickets were waiting for us at the AA, coco tours picked us up and dropped us off and our rep left us his number if we needed anything throughout our stay.We stayed at the Merengue for 2 weeks from May 5 to 19 and it cost us $1455 Canadian. Our flights were not ideal because we flew from Calgary to Dallas, spent 11 Hours there, then flew to Miami, then to dominican and the same on the way back, But for the price it was well worth it. I will be booking through orbitz again.First off - The Staff:The staff were incredible, from the bartenders, animation team, to the housekeeping, everyone makes you feel welcome. Tipping is not neccessary, but it does help. We tipped a few bucks here and there and got amazing service at the bars. The drinks were never empty.The Pool: Merengue pool was not very big or extravagant. We prefered the Bachata Pool because there was a waterfall, it was bigger and there was a pool bar.The Sports: The volleyball court was in the shade, the beach soccer court was in the shade so it was tough to keep myself busy and also stay in the sun. The staff is very competitive and get angry when you beat them. The net are very low and they don't play by any prescribed rules, but still fun with people who know how to play.The Beach: In May there are a lot of beach chairs available but the ocean is not swimmable. There are corals and rocks everywhere, if you don't have shoes your feet will get cut up. The chorals break up the waves so its a very boring time in the ocean.Discotech: Drinks were 80% alcohol, and 20% pop. Vodka with a little bit of coke. I am not exagerrating. We drank cervesa at the discotech. The discotech was fun and they played great music.The place was beautiful, the landscapers do a great job!The specialty dinners were really good, but the appetizers were even better (CALAMARI - BEST I'VE EVER HAD). The only negative was that there were only two to choose from Italian and Steakhouse.The Bartenders' Specials are usually REALLY good. Just ask for the "[...] Special" from [...] for example. I've been to the Dominican three times and this was the worst of the three. Not because it was not a nice hotel, but because it did not meet a lot of my needs when I go on vacation. I like to play volleyball, soccer, and drink at the pool bar and I would like all three to have some sun, but they were in the shade. I love to swim in the ocean and ride the waves, but the ocean was filled with coral and rocks. So my days were filled with trying to find something to do. I also like to mingle with people from around the world, but when we went there was all people 35+ and we are 25, so there was an age barrier that was tough to cross. There were a lot of people from Germany, France, and Luxembourg so it was tough to get by the language barriers as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top