$154 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 13, 2015 Check-out: Feb 16, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
96 reviews
fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Oct 2, 2014
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 96
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WeRo
NY
Mar 9, 2012

Perfect Wedding Day

We got married at the Merengue and it was all we dreamed for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine Lover
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 1, 2009

Staff Wondeful

The location was very nice. The grounds were kept up and the staff were quick to ensure that all of your needs were met. Rooms all have a nice balconey to enjoy the sunshine. Rooms are equipped with a mini bar that allows you to partake of a refreshing beverage(different bottles of alcoholic liquors and non-alcoholic beverages)-Staff inquires in the morning, how many and how much? When we checked in the front staff alerted our group that we were the lucky group that was to receive an up-grade and would be moved to the Bachlata,of course we took them up on the offer. After being there a few days we were able to see a room in the Merengue, which I felt was supreme. Although our rooms at the Bachlata were nice, the rooms at Merengue were laid out better. Also the Merengue is centrally located which makes it convenient to enjoy all of the amenities of all of the resorts. Not all resorts offer the same ammenities(Water activity shop-Merengue...Swim up Bar-Bachlata...Dance Club-Merengue) Don't feel it was an up-grade. After meeting many other people, this is an common occurance-beware. Buffets offered were plentiful and the dining room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast selection was amazing, especially try the fruit smoothies-yum. Lunch and dinner had alot to offer, but was very disappointed with the Steakhouse/Italian Restaurant. For one thing, hard to get reservations, have to go to the main lobby each morning between 8:00 A.M.-10:00 A.M. The Italian and Steakhouse are held in the same restuarant and are only offered on alternative nights. Food was far inferior to the buffets. We had the lamb chops, my brother,the rib-eye(only offered med-well or well)-small portions over-cooked, speciality potatoes were french fries. Not worth the hassle. Staff were wonderful, they went out of there way to ensure that they kept a smile on your face. Notable mentions-Antonio,Pablo and Aehandra. Staff was amazing, they were able to remember your preferences after only meeting you once, great memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Talk to the staff at the resort, they have friends who can structure tours that cater to your exact needs and at a much better price than the advertised tour. We paid $20.00 a person, four in our group, for a private van with a driver and a guide who was very knowledgable. $80.00 total for a six-hour tour of the city, in which we stopped were we wanted and chose the locales. Beware the stops, street venders all over, extremely aggresive will follow you for blocks. Most persistent in all of the carribean countries I have visited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort nelson b.c. canada
Jun 1, 2009

fantastic

great food very good shows and great people looooots!!!!! of fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, RI
May 31, 2009

Graduation Getaway

When we arrived at the Riu Merengue, we found that we had been upgraded to the Riu Bachata. The review is based on the Riu Bachata. There were four members in our party, all recent college graduates. (ages 21) We spent most of our time at the pool, which is amazing. There are two big pools and they were never crowded. They tell you that you cant reserve chairs at the pool but everyone does it. We loved the drink of the day, but there definitely could have been a variety of beer given. They only served Presidente, which is the beer of the island. The air conditioner didnt work in our room, and the bed was just two double beds pushed together. The ceiling fan did give off a decent breeze and it was definitely needed at night. You can drink the water from the resort, just dont drink the water in the shower or from the faucet in your room. They provided us with a gallon of bottled water which was extremely helpful. There were not many people our age at the resort. It never bothered us however, and there were not many screaming kids running around which we definitely liked. Overall, it was extremely enjoyable and definitely worth the money. We would absolutely stay at another RIU hotel again! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2009

Great vacation

We had a great mini-vacation at Riu. We only had 5 days, so we chose Puerto Plata because it was a short direct flight from Newark. We were on the beach by 1pm on our first day, and even managed to get in a few beach hours on the last day. At Riu, the service was fantastic, food was very good, and the drinks were delicious. We spent most of the time on the beach, and it often felt like our own private beach because of all the palm trees surrounding us. Snorkling and kayaking were fun too. And the pool was great as well. We really had a very enjoyable and relaxing vacation. I would recommend this for any who is looking for an easy vacation. It's easy to get to, and once you're there you don't have to worry about anything. For us, the Saturday to Wednesday vacation was the perfect amount of time. Any longer and we might have wanted to have more to do, or more options for food/drink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Avoid the pre-paid airport transportation. Grab a taxi at the airport instead. We didn't check a bag to be quick, and instead waited for 45 minutes inside our van at the airport, waiting for others who had checked bags. We had pre-paid though, so we had no choice. Then we had to drop them off on the way to our hotel. Also, be careful of people at the airport asking for tips. Every person who touches your bags will want a tip. If you feel the need to tip, make sure you have dollar bills, because they will ask for $5 or even $10!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
May 25, 2009

Fantastic family get away

Relaxing by the beach, swimming in the pool, boating I would like to taste more local food: vegetable, fruits like passion fruit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karsten
Business
NY
May 11, 2009

Great Time at a great Resort

Pool Bar at the Riu Bachata is priceless! US$ 8 per hour internet is a ripoff! Soft and worn out single beds provide some restless nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Book transportation from/to airport in advance. Taxi drivers will overcharge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC, NY
May 10, 2009

Horrible hotel full of fat europeans

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. No a/c, hard beds, room service barge in at 9am in the morning. The same exact food every day. Greasy, buttery and disgusting,,,inability to make reservations at the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mikes Mom
Business
Little Falls, NJ
May 8, 2009

Worst Trip EVER

My husband and I booked a 4 day, 3 night get away, to the ClubHotel Riu Merengue in Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic. Despite all the favorable reviews we found online, it was by far the worst vacation we have ever taken. It started when we were greeted by one of the front desk staff, who began with a ridiculous monologue consisting of one liners and bad jokes. He boasted about the superior level of service we could expect and then ended his speech by informing us that our room was not ready. He suggested we return in approximately twenty minutes, even though the front desk was filled with hundreds envelopes containing keys to clean and available rooms. Upon our return thirty minutes later, we were told the staff was busy with other guests and that we should come back in an hour. This was totally unacceptable and I refused to wait any longer. Each staff member I spoke to directed me to someone else. Finally, we found someone able to help us and learned that our room had been ready all along. Their website boasts of luxury, five star accommodations, which is why I was extremely disappointed when we were escorted to a tiny, dated guestroom. The bed was two doubles pushed together, there was not a blanket to be found and the toiletries were in paper packets. The mini bar contained a total of two beers and two sodas. In fact, it took an entire day, three phone calls and speaking to a manager before our request to fill the mini bar was addressed. Obtaining a reservation at one of the “a la carte” restaurants turned out to be impossible. Dinner reservations were taken between the hours of 7:00 and 10:00 am each day. Twice we arrived prior to 8:00 am, only to find out that all the reservations had been taken. I can not understand why a resort with 544 guestrooms, has forty dining tables and only two seatings per night. Basically, a very small percentage of the guests are able to enjoy a sit down meal, while the majority are left to a cafeteria style dinner of repetitive, mediocre food. The dining situation may have not been so bad, if the drinks had not been so watered down and served child size plastic cups. Perhaps worst of all was the discovery that our trip happened to coincide with a Dominican holiday. Not long after our arrival, hundreds of locals descended on the resort and literally took over everything. The sheer volume of people coupled with the rude and rowdy behavior made getting food or drinks into somewhat of a battle. The locals were catered to by the staff, leaving vacationers feeling like unwanted guests. We will never return to this hotel and will avoid all Riu properties in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you arrive close to 7:00am to make a dinner reservation. They were always booked before 8:00am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TM Chris
Business
Glen Burnie, MD
May 8, 2009

Extraordinary Resort!!

The RIU Merengue is an all-inclusive resort filled with warmth. As a woman traveling alone, my presence was closely monitored by the hotel staff. They made sure that I had a trustworthy tour guide for the City of Puerto Plata tour--which I embarked upon independently (not including the guide of course); the staff ensured that I did not miss my rural tour departure for a rural section outside of Puerto Plata; and the staff made sure that I was made aware of the many spectacular hotel events. They truly cared about me! All guests are their top priority. The lobby is clean, the bars are clean, the rooms are clean, and the beach is neat. This hotel is a "must see."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WAWADA002
Business
GREENSBORO, NC
May 8, 2009

THE BEST RESORT EVER!!

I WENT TO THE BEACH AND EVERYWHERE IN THE HOTEL IS A VERY NICE PLACE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top