$140 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
94 reviews
fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Oct 2, 2014
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (94)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastor Kim
Business
Easton, Pennsylvania
Nov 19, 2009

You get what you pay for

I went to the Riu merengue for my birthday with friends. The bad: the ac really doesn't work well. They explained to me that its a central ac system so its generally one temp. Even on high, you have to sleep with light covers. The beds are horrible and you get one pillow and the toilets don't have enough water pressure. The good: the place looks really nice. I would recommend a suite. The beach is right outside your window and the pool is really nice as well. The staff are friendly but if you complain too much they ignore you after a while (beware they are after tips big time).The only other thing is on the weekends the locals come (I'm Dominican too, so nothing against the people) but when they come it gets really loud, the lines get crazy but it does get allot more fun if you are looking for a good party. Its fairly inexpensive to stay here, but don't go with too high of expectations like we did and then be dissapointed. You get what you pay for. I would probably not stay there again, I want to check out the other 200 resorts in DR. Someone did say that the Riu Bachata was better, but it didn't seem much different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are in Puerto Plate make sure to go to El Malecon and the fortaleza. Its a strip on the edge of the beach which is beautiful to walk and the fortaleza has the history of one of the revolutionaries and the fort is beautiful. The Dominican Republic is so righ in history that you won't want to miss the opportunity to see some of it. If you have the time, you should go to the ciudad colonial and faro a colon in the capital about 2 hours from Riu Merengue,you will not regret it. Just don't take too much cash (they sell things with credit cards), don't let people put carboard on your car when you park cause they will want money afterwards and say no when a travel guide wants to walk you around the cuidad colonial, they always want money at the end even if they say they are paid by the government. Say no sternly, because they don't take no for an answer. Hope this helps

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastor Kim
Business
Easton, Pennsylvania
Nov 19, 2009

You get what you pay for

I went to Riu with some friends to celebrate my birthday. The staff were really friendly and helpful but the rooms where not cool enough and the toilet lacked water pressure. When I asked about the room temp they said that the the hotel was on a central ac system, so basically one temp. The beds were uncomfortable. But the location was great. The beach is literally right outside your window. I would recommend an upgrade to a suite. The food is not that great not even the ala carte was worth getting up at 6am to go and sign up for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are in the country and have the time, I would recommend a day trip to the capital Santo Domingo. You should go see El Faro a Colon and the Cuidad Colonial. The history in this country is amazing. It is 2 hours from Puerto Plata but if you leave early you can see both things and still make it back for a late dinner. If not have dinner in the capital in Venazuela Avenue which has allot of great inexpensive places. I would recommend renting a car. The country has one major road between both cities and is easy to find. If not hire a cab for the day, shouldn't be too expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fallbreak'09
Business
SLC
Nov 2, 2009

Not That Sweet

The staff was great, and aside from trying to get a nonexistant hotel voucher from us, were very attentive and pleasant. The beds were not so sweet and it took a couple hrs to shake off the soreness. The beach was awesome, the grounds were very pretty and well maintained. The food was edible but nothing special. Lots of Brits and Germans during our stay... maybe october/nov is a vaca for them?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Oct 26, 2009

great place

everything was very enjoyable. service was excellent. and hotel was very clean. plenty of activities to do through out every day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
inmenso
Business
paterson, nj
Oct 14, 2009

Great place to go

It was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
This was almost a nightmare
Business
New York, USA
Sep 12, 2009

enjoyable, and good price

I went there really to rest, but I have a lot of fun. I will come back there If I can.Perssonel very nice and friendy specially the people that work at Macumba and the bartenders. I always go to a similar kind of resorts. If I compare it is almost the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 11, 2009

For the price not bad

we took, some tours, we had a wonderfull time on teh tours. The entretaining group is the best on the hotel. They don't have an iron nor irno board. coffe maker. They need to improve that. overall I would rate it as a ***. Personnaly, I did not like it that much. My friends did. Had a nice time with the bartenders, very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jundaba!
Business
Saskatoon, SK
Jun 6, 2009

Not for us, but an objective Review

We Booked through orbitz which took care of everything. In combination with coco tours we had a relaxing trip. The tickets were waiting for us at the AA, coco tours picked us up and dropped us off and our rep left us his number if we needed anything throughout our stay.We stayed at the Merengue for 2 weeks from May 5 to 19 and it cost us $1455 Canadian. Our flights were not ideal because we flew from Calgary to Dallas, spent 11 Hours there, then flew to Miami, then to dominican and the same on the way back, But for the price it was well worth it. I will be booking through orbitz again.First off - The Staff:The staff were incredible, from the bartenders, animation team, to the housekeeping, everyone makes you feel welcome. Tipping is not neccessary, but it does help. We tipped a few bucks here and there and got amazing service at the bars. The drinks were never empty.The Pool: Merengue pool was not very big or extravagant. We prefered the Bachata Pool because there was a waterfall, it was bigger and there was a pool bar.The Sports: The volleyball court was in the shade, the beach soccer court was in the shade so it was tough to keep myself busy and also stay in the sun. The staff is very competitive and get angry when you beat them. The net are very low and they don't play by any prescribed rules, but still fun with people who know how to play.The Beach: In May there are a lot of beach chairs available but the ocean is not swimmable. There are corals and rocks everywhere, if you don't have shoes your feet will get cut up. The chorals break up the waves so its a very boring time in the ocean.Discotech: Drinks were 80% alcohol, and 20% pop. Vodka with a little bit of coke. I am not exagerrating. We drank cervesa at the discotech. The discotech was fun and they played great music.The place was beautiful, the landscapers do a great job!The specialty dinners were really good, but the appetizers were even better (CALAMARI - BEST I'VE EVER HAD). The only negative was that there were only two to choose from Italian and Steakhouse.The Bartenders' Specials are usually REALLY good. Just ask for the "[...] Special" from [...] for example. I've been to the Dominican three times and this was the worst of the three. Not because it was not a nice hotel, but because it did not meet a lot of my needs when I go on vacation. I like to play volleyball, soccer, and drink at the pool bar and I would like all three to have some sun, but they were in the shade. I love to swim in the ocean and ride the waves, but the ocean was filled with coral and rocks. So my days were filled with trying to find something to do. I also like to mingle with people from around the world, but when we went there was all people 35+ and we are 25, so there was an age barrier that was tough to cross. There were a lot of people from Germany, France, and Luxembourg so it was tough to get by the language barriers as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine Lover
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 1, 2009

Staff Wondeful

The location was very nice. The grounds were kept up and the staff were quick to ensure that all of your needs were met. Rooms all have a nice balconey to enjoy the sunshine. Rooms are equipped with a mini bar that allows you to partake of a refreshing beverage(different bottles of alcoholic liquors and non-alcoholic beverages)-Staff inquires in the morning, how many and how much? When we checked in the front staff alerted our group that we were the lucky group that was to receive an up-grade and would be moved to the Bachlata,of course we took them up on the offer. After being there a few days we were able to see a room in the Merengue, which I felt was supreme. Although our rooms at the Bachlata were nice, the rooms at Merengue were laid out better. Also the Merengue is centrally located which makes it convenient to enjoy all of the amenities of all of the resorts. Not all resorts offer the same ammenities(Water activity shop-Merengue...Swim up Bar-Bachlata...Dance Club-Merengue) Don't feel it was an up-grade. After meeting many other people, this is an common occurance-beware. Buffets offered were plentiful and the dining room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast selection was amazing, especially try the fruit smoothies-yum. Lunch and dinner had alot to offer, but was very disappointed with the Steakhouse/Italian Restaurant. For one thing, hard to get reservations, have to go to the main lobby each morning between 8:00 A.M.-10:00 A.M. The Italian and Steakhouse are held in the same restuarant and are only offered on alternative nights. Food was far inferior to the buffets. We had the lamb chops, my brother,the rib-eye(only offered med-well or well)-small portions over-cooked, speciality potatoes were french fries. Not worth the hassle. Staff were wonderful, they went out of there way to ensure that they kept a smile on your face. Notable mentions-Antonio,Pablo and Aehandra. Staff was amazing, they were able to remember your preferences after only meeting you once, great memories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Talk to the staff at the resort, they have friends who can structure tours that cater to your exact needs and at a much better price than the advertised tour. We paid $20.00 a person, four in our group, for a private van with a driver and a guide who was very knowledgable. $80.00 total for a six-hour tour of the city, in which we stopped were we wanted and chose the locales. Beware the stops, street venders all over, extremely aggresive will follow you for blocks. Most persistent in all of the carribean countries I have visited.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort nelson b.c. canada
Jun 1, 2009

fantastic

great food very good shows and great people looooots!!!!! of fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top