$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
93 reviews
fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Oct 2, 2014
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WillNJ
Business
New Jersey
May 23, 2010

Great Experience in Dominican Republic

We went to the beach and pool everyday. The resort was clean and had many amenities. The staff was kind and very friendly. The food was pretty good, always a variety and always fresh. All-inclusive really means all inclusive. This was my first trip to the Dominican Republic and I would certainly recommend traveling here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations for the Steakhouse and Italian Restaurant since it normally fills up very fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA, NY & NJ Area
Apr 9, 2010

Birthday/Easter Trip

Well, where do I start. We booked 2 rooms, as I was traveling with my Mother and my 14 year old Daughter to celebrate Easter and my Birthday... This was shocking, we have never been so disrespected, by so many staff members in one hotel, in such a short visit of 8 days in my life, and we have visited many countries... Not even my 14 year daughter--- would they leave alone at this hotel!!! But what I found the most offensive was that one of the top 3 management, on my first day there; a married man, was propositioning me after telling me that he lived with a partner and had 3 kids- how GROSS is that? And he did it again, on my last day there, he asked me when and if I would return, to see him, OMG!!! Keep Dreaming is all that I kept thinking to myself!!! Anyway, the food was disgusting, low quality and low in quantity, no 24 hours room service or food that we could find, after a certain hour. The rooms were old, and had no real mirror to speak of; had to stand on a chair to look at ourselves and the beds were more like thin mattress with old thins sheets and old thin bedspread. The air conditioner hardly worked, had to complain more than 3 times to have my roomed changed. I would never return to this hotel, nor this country again, and I have been to D.R. 5 times, BUT never AGAIN and NEVER to this hotel!!! PS, they did not even acknowledged that it was Easter Sunday, no Easter Bunny, and there were many, many children there, go figure, also a few toilets around the beach and main lobby area were broken and would not flush, now how gross is that... Stay AWAY from this Hotel and chain if possible, I mean it!!! I have never bothered to write a review, but this I had to do, as not even for my B.D. did I get a decent meal, the "Rib Eye" steak, was paper thin and full of fat, it looked that they had cut the steak in 4 to feed my party of 4, so I say again, STAY AWAY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kondasty
Business
suffern,ny
Apr 4, 2010

best place for vacaction

I had been there for 7 days to relax and just do nothing, but eating tanning,swimming in the pool, and enjoying beautiful weather, for me and my family everything was perfect, that was my third time staying the the same hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

dining, entertainment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jvb
Business
long island,ny
Mar 4, 2010

overall nice,does need updating.

great location,price excellant,the hotel needs a little up date, few problems with the room,but very clean,the food was ok.our vacation to the riu in Jamaica Negril was better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St Louis, MO
Feb 11, 2010

Would return again

Relaxed! Swam, paddled and sunned ourselves, as well as dined and drank freely at the multiple dining and bar facilities at the beachfronts and pools at all 3 connected Riu facilities - Bachata, Meringue, Mambo. Took a couple of organized excursions outside the resort. Took the public bus (inexpensive) service into town (Puerto Plata) at day to wander around and see the town in its 'native glory'. Had no problems. Takes about 25 minutes each way; may be crowded, but quite an experience. Watched nightly informal and formal shows; watched and participated in daily poolside and beachfront activities. Shopped in stores in each main hotel building - and on Caribbean Street vending area. Used the on-site medical emergency facility when I had a need of their services. Overall, it is comparable in service and facilities our stay in 2008 at Riu Jalisco (Nuevo Vallarta, Mexico) but especially liked the detached (8 units per building) housing arrangement on tree-lined 'streets' here, at this DR facility. No need to bring or buy DR pesos - they'll take US$ anywwhere on site - and in town (Puerto Plata). Most purchases can be done by credit card, but have cash for tips, street vendors, smal purches, bus, taxi, etc. We brought limited cash in hand and wanted to get a little more from the single ATM serving all, 3 hotels. If it goes belly-up - it wouldn't work for us - you have to go into town; but can do that on public bus cheaply - or by taxi if that's your style. Alternative: bring more $ than you'll need; you can always take those back home

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Investigate & make extra trip/excursion plans early - in case of need to reschedule. Take at least one 'extra' excursion. Bring (or buy on-site - reasonably priced) aqua-shoes for walking on occasional loose-coral and stoney parts of beaches. Watch daily entertainment & nightly shows. Take a bus-trip to town; ride a 'motor-coco' (motorcycle taxi) in town; its a great experience! Learn a little (porquito) Spanish (Espanol) to further enjoy conversing with the locals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
malamo
Business
New York Metropolitan Area
Feb 8, 2010

Step down from prior RIU experiences

Having stayed at the RIU Santa Fe in Cabo San Lucas Mexico several times, I was looking forward to the same level of service, food and accomodations in the Dominican Republic. I visited for 4 days (Feb 5-8) With the exception of one day when it rained for a couple hours in the morning - the weather was sunny and warm (and humid) The Good: -With the exeption of dinner, guests were allowed almost free range of all 3 resorts- including pools, bars, breakfast and lunch. -The entertainment crew was engaged with the guests. -The beaches were nice and have plenty of lounge chairs. The Bad: -The rooms smelled horribly moldly. The staff attempted to cover up the oder with some sort of cleanser (pine sol?) But it only made it more unbearable. - The air conditioning was almost non-existant in the rooms. This made the humidity 10x worse and everything in the room - especially the bed sheets had a slick layer of mosture adding to the stench of mold. - The outlets will not accept 3-pronged plugs or many 2 pronged plugs. (They were designed for European plugs) However, for a $3(US) deposit they will loan you an adapter at the lobby front desk. -The food: the RIUs in DR offered about 1/4 of the selection I was used to from the one on Mexico. The menu was geared towards a European clientele. Supprisingly - very little seafood. Luckily they offered some staple "American" options like Pizza, burgers, fries and hotdogs. Other fun facts: The RIU Merengue pool boasts a topless area. As does the beach. The Bachata and Mambo pools have a swim up bar. (yay) The guests were an even mix of English, America, German, French, Dutch and Hispanic. Do not attempt to leave the resort to go to a club or bar without a member of the hotel staff and a group of friends. During my stay - I was told a young group of Canadian twenty-somethings paid $20(US) each for a cab ride to town to go to a club. When they arrived they were asked to pay $80 each just to get through the door. (This does not include any drinks) This left them no choice but to pay $20 more to take a cab back to the resort. I've vacationed extensively (3-4x per year) single with friends and as a couple. This resort is not geared towards singles. There were a lot of families with small children and the great majority of guests were either approaching or past retirement age. It didn't seem geared towards my age range (early/mid 30s) Even so. I managed to have an alright time. Vacations are mostly what you make of them. However, the little things DO make a difference in your experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to bring plenty of small bills. (Singles and fives) This will help you to tip wisely - only giving a few singles (as opposed to $10 because its the smallest bill you have) when necessary. Also - the hotel WILL NOT GIVE YOU CHANGE for a large bill. It's not because they don't have any - but they will do their best to make sure you tip with the largest bill possible. Also - when making a purchase - either use a credit card (if you don't have to pay a fee) or pay as close to exact change as possible. Again - they will try to give you as much change back in thier local currency - in the hopes that you will spend it there knowing that it will be useless to you outside the country.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riu Fan
Business
New York City
Jan 29, 2010

Great Get Away howeverr.....

We arrived to the RIu Puerto Plata resort and just like all the other ones were greated with a drink. I was so excited. When i got to my room it was extremely hot but clean. We turned on the unit and i thought it would take a while to cool off so we left and when we came back 5 hours later it was still the same. I called and asked them to check it out and they said they would. When i spoke with a tec he told me there was a problem from the unit and it was fixed. It wasnt i demanded to change rooms they only had 3 available and each one was worse. The final room the air worked however it smelled like a 90 year old man smoked and never stopped. This was the only room left so we were stuck there. Dont get me wrong the place it really nice but the rooms were what killed it for me. Not sure i will go back but honestly i got an amazing deal. I would not go back as i do not like to repeat locations. I would recommend this place if you are ok or used to sleepung with no A/C or very little. they do have a ceiling fan though so it was ok but not sure if would be abole to handle a real summer there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Outback Safari is amazing. There is also a Las Vegas style show that is very nice at Ocean World

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
new york!
Business
new york ny
Jan 12, 2010

just ok

lazy animation team. food was good but not much variety. had a great time mainly because i was with a group of 6 and we kept ourselves entertained when the animation team didnt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Old Bridge, NJ
Dec 5, 2009

Amazing!

Swim up bar at Riu Bachata was great. Food was deliscious, service impecable! Definately a go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pastor Kim
Business
Easton, Pennsylvania
Nov 19, 2009

You get what you pay for

I went to the Riu merengue for my birthday with friends. The bad: the ac really doesn't work well. They explained to me that its a central ac system so its generally one temp. Even on high, you have to sleep with light covers. The beds are horrible and you get one pillow and the toilets don't have enough water pressure. The good: the place looks really nice. I would recommend a suite. The beach is right outside your window and the pool is really nice as well. The staff are friendly but if you complain too much they ignore you after a while (beware they are after tips big time).The only other thing is on the weekends the locals come (I'm Dominican too, so nothing against the people) but when they come it gets really loud, the lines get crazy but it does get allot more fun if you are looking for a good party. Its fairly inexpensive to stay here, but don't go with too high of expectations like we did and then be dissapointed. You get what you pay for. I would probably not stay there again, I want to check out the other 200 resorts in DR. Someone did say that the Riu Bachata was better, but it didn't seem much different.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are in Puerto Plate make sure to go to El Malecon and the fortaleza. Its a strip on the edge of the beach which is beautiful to walk and the fortaleza has the history of one of the revolutionaries and the fort is beautiful. The Dominican Republic is so righ in history that you won't want to miss the opportunity to see some of it. If you have the time, you should go to the ciudad colonial and faro a colon in the capital about 2 hours from Riu Merengue,you will not regret it. Just don't take too much cash (they sell things with credit cards), don't let people put carboard on your car when you park cause they will want money afterwards and say no when a travel guide wants to walk you around the cuidad colonial, they always want money at the end even if they say they are paid by the government. Say no sternly, because they don't take no for an answer. Hope this helps

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top