$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelly the fantastic
Wantagh, NY
Sep 2, 2012

very relaxing and accommodating

Staff was friendly and accommodating. For the money it was a great value. The beach was beautiful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jd001
Business
burlington ontario
Feb 22, 2013

first all inclusive

We went for a week in Feb 2013. We had a wonderful time. Our fav part for both of us was the waterfall excursion it was one of the most fun and exciting things we have ever done. The hotel was nice beautiful view and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If your staying in the Merengue you can walk over to the Brachata ffor breakfast and lunch we highly recommend you do

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jackalanne
Business
new york
Jan 15, 2013

half deserving

I enjoyed myself and the staff seen helpful but upon my arrival I had to wait 3 hours for a room. Second you hadto pay to use a computer. I can not complain about staff but I will not return. One other thing. For a room to have a large bed they took two smaller beds and pushed them together

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robirdie
Business
New York, New York
May 2, 2012

First Int'l getaway in 20 years

I like that it's all inclusive. But do expect to carry some spending money(at least $200 US or more) to get the most of your experience(city tours/taxis/souvenirs,etc). The room kind of had a musty, basement type of smell. But you get used to it fast. The food is decent, few choices here & there. By the second or third night, it's like "Didn't I have this yesterday?" Didn't like the pool closing at 6pm. Only resort that is somewhat close to an actual city. Go take advantage of the city tours that are offered. Otherwise, you're just gonna be bored staying at the resort for too long. Strongly recommend it for a first timer to DR. Get to see the country itself(poor, historical parts) But next time, Punta Cana, or Playa Dorada for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WeRo
Business
NY
Mar 9, 2012

Perfect Wedding Day

We got married at the Merengue and it was all we dreamed for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edison, NJ
Mar 19, 2011

Not us good us we expected to be

It was not as good as we expected for this price. First of all, there was no Internet in the room, while it was important to us to have the access to the Internet. We had to go to the lobby to connect our laptop to the net. Secondly, there was impossible to sleep as AC was too loud (and inefficient either). Third, the exhauster in the bathroom didn't work at all, and after we complained we were told, that it work as it supposed to. It our opinion, it didn't function properly at all. And, finally, when we were about to leave, we weren't pick up on time. Actually, we had to wait an hour after the scheduled time before leaving the hotel. The good things are: food, friendly staff, we had fantastic trip to Ocean World and Show Bravissimo. Overall, we had good time, although not so good as we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
woodsy mom
Business
ny, ny
Feb 28, 2011

Lovely low key relaxing vacation spot

I really did not want to leave after seven days. This is the middle of three Riu resorts on northern coast in Puerto Plata, and I like to think the best. Lovely location with incredible landscaping, immaculately manicured. Two story buildings in lovely pastel colors are situated in gardens with tree lined paths leading to beach or reception or dining halls. The beach is filled with trees, palm and others, so you can sit in shade or sun. The beach faces Atlantic in northerly direction. Beach is raked almost daily to clean up fallen leaves from trees. Really impressive, the effort put into landscaping maintenance. There is a pool but I much prefer the beach. Pool seemed to be choice for families. There are talapas for shade if you like. The biggest decision you'll need to make here is when to eat. Dining is buffet style with lots of variety and freshly prepared foods. Chefs are at a number of stations cooking more food as needed. There are culinary themes during the week: Dominican, Chinese, Mexican. Fantastic pizza made in a wood burning pizza oven in the dining hall. Rooms are simple and kept nicely cleaned. Beds could have been more comfortable but each room has a nice terrace. Front desk very accomodating about a requested room change. We spent all our time outdoors in the glorious weather. The location is unspoiled and does not feel crowded. There are plenty of day trips you can take, but I was really into the beach and swimming and sunning. Very relaxing week and looking. forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Resort offers free kayaks, wind surfing (lessons $25) and you need to take a lesson before you go out if you haven't done it before, sailfishes, paddleboats. When the wind picks up and the red flags go up water sports are cancelled along with snorkeling for safety reasons. You'll need to sign up for the time you want to use the equipment but check for the color of the flag for the day you're scheduled. They really put safety first which was good to know so heed their advice they rally know the waters. The beach in eastern section of Merengue is protected by a rocky reef so the water is a bit calmer there. I wore water shoes as there are sea urchins about. Boone in our group stepped on any though.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bestthepest
Business
Barnstable, MA
Dec 16, 2010

Worst vacation ever

Where do I begin! Ok I booked this trip for my wife and I. It was her 30th birthday present from me and our overdue honeymoon that we waited to take for 5 years do to financial issues. She has never traveled by plane before. Lets just say the highlight of our vacation was the plane ride. When we got off the plane the person that took our bags to the van wanted me to give the driver a $20 tip which is crazy considering the ride to the hotel and back is included in our trip that I already paid for. The gentlemen only carried our bags about 100 yards and put his hand out for a tip which I expected. I gave him $5 and he looked at me and said whats this $5 more. I said to him for WHAT HELL NO!!!!!! We should have know right then and there that we should turn back around and go home. On the way to the hotel we almost crashed like 5 times and almost hit a women crossing the road. When arriving to the hotel we checked in and got our room key. When arriving to our room it was a disaster. Lets just say the bed was terrible. The best way to explain it would be that it was like sleeping on a worn out pull out couch. When asking to change rooms we were told that we would have to pay to change rooms for a cost of $125 per night. Needless to say we didn't have the money to do this so we had to stay in this room. My wife and I wanted to go home right there and then but we knew we couldn't. The next day we went to the beach which was not fun. The current was too strong for the whole stay and the beach was littered with trash from careless people leaving there empty glasses behind. To top it off the men working at the hotel were all overly aggressive on hitting on my wife which made us both uncomfortable. If a guy tried doing that here I would have said something but I didn't want to get into trouble in another country. We felt like we were trapped inside our hotel room for the rest of the vacation. I would have rather been in a jail cell in the US then in that room at this hotel. Oh did I say that there where prostitutes at the hotel as well..... and the food was the same stuff served every day. I got sick of eating the same reheated food day in and day out. I hope this review helps for I would never stay here if I had read a review like this one!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

I only said shopping because I had to pick one item on a drop down list. NOTHING was good about this trip other than the plane ride!!!!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Nov 19, 2010

great location

fantastic stay,friendly and relaxing enviornment,excellent food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

recreational activities

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hampshire Girl
Business
Hampshire
Nov 7, 2010

Great All Rounder!

This is a great resort... friendly and helpful staff, variety of food, fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top