$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
110 out of 110
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WeRo
NY
Mar 9, 2012

Perfect Wedding Day

We got married at the Merengue and it was all we dreamed for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alostknight2005
Business
leeds, maine
May 10, 2014

back again

been coming here for years because of the value, location, and people. the ac could be a bit cooler but other than that I enjoy coming back here year after year. plenty of things to do, lots of shopping choices and always something different in the buffet area. the beach is gorgeous but if swimming water shoes are highly recommended as coral and sear urchins could do a number on barefeet. can snorkel and see all kinds of fish swimming right on the beach instead of paying for an excursion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

shopping in the hotel gift shops is actually cheaper than bartering with vendors

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.Lo
Business
New York City
Apr 27, 2014

Great Time !!

The hotel staff is extremely nice. The managers at the buffet are very attentive & the waiters are wonderful and very helpful, your table is always set, or cleaned within a few seconds. The bartenders are also very quick & helpful. The animation staff do a great job at entertaining people. During the day time, they have a variety of activities for people of different ages. I really enjoyed the "Yoga/ Stretch" class at the beach (Thank you Mickey Mouse!!) & the "Aqua-gym" class. I have to say that I have seen better night shows at other hotels, but it is good enough for any first time tourist in an AI hotel. The beach is located in an area where waves converge from different directions, which makes the water unusually rough, but you can still swim & have a good time. This was my first time at this hotel & I had a good time there. I'll definitely return If they offer good deals in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ercilio Perez
Business
Bronx, New York
Apr 26, 2014

Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food, nice beach, good service and friendly staff. Suggestion: We have inconvenice to find the hotel. We came from San Fco de Macoris. There is not sign to identify the hotel location in the highway for people who come from Santiago. People from Puerto Plata to Santiago can see a small sign. We asked to people to find the hotel location, we crossed the entrance of the hotel because there is not sign or visible sign for people who come from Santiago to Puerto Plata.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lady bag
Business
NY
Apr 21, 2014

Needs make over

Horrible bed, not working air conditioner Food with poor variety, staff helpful and honest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TammyCan
Business
NEW YORK
Apr 14, 2014

DONT STAY HERE!!!!!

This hotel was the worst I have ever been to. My husband and I go to the DR often but never stayed here. air conditioning didn't work first night there, our room flooded from a broken value on toilet and the food was gross and not stored properly. The staff is ok, but more concerned with socializing amongst themselves and sneaking drinks under the bar.... I wouldn't go back even if it was FREE!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ocean world is a must!!!!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alla S
Business
New York
Apr 13, 2014

Repeat

We have been coming back to this resort for past couple of years and always had positive experience. Our last visit left us wondering if this is the same chain that treated us so good in the past.... The room we stayed in had broken air conditioner and it took management 5 days to transfer us to a new room after numerous complaints and conversations with management team, which made overall experience unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radovan
Business
NJ
Feb 12, 2014

Good place for family with kids

Very nice location, excellent beach, plenty of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do NOT waste time on town sightseeing, it is sales pitch. Bus will take you to few shops. Rather take river cruse

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Truomega
Business
New York
Feb 5, 2014

What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The managers are always in sight so if there is an issue (not that we had any) with anything you can always catch them walking around. The location is well within walking distance to the beach and best part is that you can take advantage of all 3 resorts (merengue, merengue village and Bachata) which allows you access to the pools, the bars, the food, the beaches etc... The only thing is that you have to eat dinner at your own hotel. I have to warn you though that you can easily fill yourself with food which myself and my girlfriend did multiple times. Every night you have a different live show that starts at 9:30 PM. Try to get there at 9:00 PM if you want good seats. Durring the day they invite you to do many different activities from water sport games to playing bingo to excersises to dance classes. There's always some form of activity to partake in. If you prefer you can opt to avoid all activities and spend as much time as you like at the bars, relaxing at the beach/pools while getting tan, visiting the shops or even leaving the hotel and doing excursions. The excursions cost extra but can easily take up half the day depending on which one you pick. I am very pleased with this resort. You will obviously find negative reviews but you can't please everyone and for the price you pay you just can't go wrong. We payed less than 1000 dollars each yet the amount of time spent and the amount of food and drinks we ate can easily exceed that number elsewhere. I brought with me 500 dollars just in case and came back home with 300 after purchasing trinkets as well as paying for excursions and the can ride from the hotel to the airport (which will run you 50 dollars). Just so you know this is my 4th time at the riu Merengue and can tell you that it will not be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you buy trinkets and/or jewlery you can always negotiate. Whatever they tell you in price, cut that in half and take and take extra 10% off that as well so something that is 100 dollars should end up being 40 or something that is 70 should end up being around 25 dollars. They will give you the sad look but be persistent cause they will try there best to bring the price up.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bharlow
Business
Pacific Palisades, CA
Jan 18, 2014

Family vacation

The hotel is not as polished as hotels in Punta Cana but the surrounding area offers more events so we did not stay much in the hotel area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nina2571dr
Business
Massachusetts
Jan 6, 2014

fantastic vacation

Best vacation ever, good food, animation, location, nice place to stay and by the way I'll be back soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The teleferico at loma Isabel de Torres is a most see place

Back to menu Return to top