$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 16, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
94 out of 94
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WeRo
Couples
NY
Mar 9, 2012

Perfect Wedding Day

We got married at the Merengue and it was all we dreamed for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lady bag
Family
NY
Apr 21, 2014

Needs make over

Horrible bed, not working air conditioner Food with poor variety, staff helpful and honest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TammyCan
Couples
NEW YORK
Apr 14, 2014

DONT STAY HERE!!!!!

This hotel was the worst I have ever been to. My husband and I go to the DR often but never stayed here. air conditioning didn't work first night there, our room flooded from a broken value on toilet and the food was gross and not stored properly. The staff is ok, but more concerned with socializing amongst themselves and sneaking drinks under the bar.... I wouldn't go back even if it was FREE!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ocean world is a must!!!!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alla S
Couples
New York
Apr 13, 2014

Repeat

We have been coming back to this resort for past couple of years and always had positive experience. Our last visit left us wondering if this is the same chain that treated us so good in the past.... The room we stayed in had broken air conditioner and it took management 5 days to transfer us to a new room after numerous complaints and conversations with management team, which made overall experience unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Radovan
Couples
NJ
Feb 12, 2014

Good place for family with kids

Very nice location, excellent beach, plenty of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do NOT waste time on town sightseeing, it is sales pitch. Bus will take you to few shops. Rather take river cruse

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Truomega
Couples
New York
Feb 5, 2014

What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The managers are always in sight so if there is an issue (not that we had any) with anything you can always catch them walking around. The location is well within walking distance to the beach and best part is that you can take advantage of all 3 resorts (merengue, merengue village and Bachata) which allows you access to the pools, the bars, the food, the beaches etc... The only thing is that you have to eat dinner at your own hotel. I have to warn you though that you can easily fill yourself with food which myself and my girlfriend did multiple times. Every night you have a different live show that starts at 9:30 PM. Try to get there at 9:00 PM if you want good seats. Durring the day they invite you to do many different activities from water sport games to playing bingo to excersises to dance classes. There's always some form of activity to partake in. If you prefer you can opt to avoid all activities and spend as much time as you like at the bars, relaxing at the beach/pools while getting tan, visiting the shops or even leaving the hotel and doing excursions. The excursions cost extra but can easily take up half the day depending on which one you pick. I am very pleased with this resort. You will obviously find negative reviews but you can't please everyone and for the price you pay you just can't go wrong. We payed less than 1000 dollars each yet the amount of time spent and the amount of food and drinks we ate can easily exceed that number elsewhere. I brought with me 500 dollars just in case and came back home with 300 after purchasing trinkets as well as paying for excursions and the can ride from the hotel to the airport (which will run you 50 dollars). Just so you know this is my 4th time at the riu Merengue and can tell you that it will not be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you buy trinkets and/or jewlery you can always negotiate. Whatever they tell you in price, cut that in half and take and take extra 10% off that as well so something that is 100 dollars should end up being 40 or something that is 70 should end up being around 25 dollars. They will give you the sad look but be persistent cause they will try there best to bring the price up.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bharlow
Family
Pacific Palisades, CA
Jan 18, 2014

Family vacation

The hotel is not as polished as hotels in Punta Cana but the surrounding area offers more events so we did not stay much in the hotel area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nina2571dr
Family
Massachusetts
Jan 6, 2014

fantastic vacation

Best vacation ever, good food, animation, location, nice place to stay and by the way I'll be back soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The teleferico at loma Isabel de Torres is a most see place

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Salam Ogrash
Family
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 29, 2013

Good value for the money paid

My family visited Riu Merengue twice: 10 years ago and last week. Nothing changed: the same rooms, beds, old showers (was immediately replaced once started falling apart!). Beautiful beach and ocean. Acceptable food. Good staff. Some disappointing things: Resort is still in 20th century. There is no wi-fi in the rooms. Guests are offered 90 minutes of internet access in reception area. But internet connection is AWFUL. $100 router could solve the problem. TVs in rooms are of 1980s. Couple of days there were no hot water. The rest was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy fun lover
Family
Estherville , Iowa
Mar 24, 2013

Wonderful trip for the money

My wife and I have stayed at the RIU Merengue more than once and each time we enjoy it more. I dont know how they do it but many of the staff remember you from the year before. Speaking of the staff, they are well trained and very Pleasant. The bartenders and animation crew are very fun and keep you laughing. Check in is a breeze. The food in the dinning hall is plentiful and you can always find something you like. Alberto does a great job manageing it. The rooms and grounds are very well kept, there are people cleaning constantly. The beach is nearly a mile long and raked clean every day. The ocean is alittle rocky in spots but still very functional for swiming and the free water sports. We will be going back next year and taking some friends with us. sincerly enjoyed it Randy in Iowa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go see Jonny at the end of the beach and buy an excursion to check out some real Dominican culture. I Highly recomend the waterfall trip!!!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USA couple
Couples
Omaha, Nebraska
Mar 11, 2013

Food lacked...weather made it worse

Location is wonderful. The atmosphere for us was not great - but I think thats because we got really unlucky with rainy weather so we noticed all the little things that probably would not have bothered us otherwise. Food was not the best - definitely recommend NOT getting reservations at the 2 restaurants, better off just sticking to buffet food. Not a lot of other english speaking guests so it made it difficult to meet many people. Lots of speedos and cigarette smoke.... Did the zipline excursion which was great. The last day and half when the sun finally came out was much more enjoyable as well. Not a total bust but would definitely not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont be a sucker - people want your money for everything. Yes tipping is applicable at some points, but be careful! Don't let people grab your bags from you at the airport unless you truly need the help - had a guy demand $5 after he commandeered our bags for about 30 feet. I gave him $2 and told him to get lost.

Back to menu Return to top