$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
89 reviews
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The... See full review

  • Truomega
  • Feb 5, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.8339 -70.7708
Area served
Puerto Plata, Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP)
Area description
Located on the beautiful Maimon Bay, 492 feet from the Caribbean Street, 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata and 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata's International Airport. Maimon bay is the place to relax on the beach with a good book and a tropical drink. The main attractions here are the beautiful beach and the beachfront Riu Resorts complex, guests will enjoy the day and nighttime many activities offered at the three all-inclusive Riu Hotels. For a taste of local Dominican culture is easy and fun, visit Puerto Plata is only six miles away. Local excursion: Puerto Plata (16th century fort and amber museum), Cordillera Central Mountains, and Santiago (tobacco and folklore museums).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenykop
New Jersey
Jan 17, 2013

Riu Merengue

Had a grat time. Food very inconsistant. Dominican Nite had an awesome spread and should be available daily. Real singers not lip sinkers goes a long way. this hotel lacked actual singers but the dancing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont eat at the tourist restauraunts off the resort. Tehy dont have a price list only pics of items. They make up the prices by the way u r dressed.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SergeyM
Sacramento California
Jan 16, 2013

Ok but not great.

Pros. Everything is close to you. You dont have to use golf carts to move around (like in Punta Cana) They have Napoleon Cognac and Stolichnaya Vodka... Cons. They suppose to refill your refrigirator with water, beer and cola...Even after we left $5 dollars no one would care. After 3 days I went to the front desk and asked them to fill te refrigirator. They said its to late today and offer me a bottle of water!!!! Ohh and the alchogol that they "change every two days" (sign just above the refrigirator) just has been sitting there for 9 days....Dont drink it.... The beach area is not great. There are no umbrellas on the beach....lots of rocks in the water...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just behind the hotel you will find the casino, pharmacy and convinient stores.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jackalanne
new york
Jan 15, 2013

half deserving

I enjoyed myself and the staff seen helpful but upon my arrival I had to wait 3 hours for a room. Second you hadto pay to use a computer. I can not complain about staff but I will not return. One other thing. For a room to have a large bed they took two smaller beds and pushed them together

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelly the fantastic
Wantagh, NY
Sep 2, 2012

very relaxing and accommodating

Staff was friendly and accommodating. For the money it was a great value. The beach was beautiful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robirdie
New York, New York
May 2, 2012

First Int'l getaway in 20 years

I like that it's all inclusive. But do expect to carry some spending money(at least $200 US or more) to get the most of your experience(city tours/taxis/souvenirs,etc). The room kind of had a musty, basement type of smell. But you get used to it fast. The food is decent, few choices here & there. By the second or third night, it's like "Didn't I have this yesterday?" Didn't like the pool closing at 6pm. Only resort that is somewhat close to an actual city. Go take advantage of the city tours that are offered. Otherwise, you're just gonna be bored staying at the resort for too long. Strongly recommend it for a first timer to DR. Get to see the country itself(poor, historical parts) But next time, Punta Cana, or Playa Dorada for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WeRo
NY
Mar 9, 2012

Perfect Wedding Day

We got married at the Merengue and it was all we dreamed for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Edison, NJ
Mar 19, 2011

Not us good us we expected to be

It was not as good as we expected for this price. First of all, there was no Internet in the room, while it was important to us to have the access to the Internet. We had to go to the lobby to connect our laptop to the net. Secondly, there was impossible to sleep as AC was too loud (and inefficient either). Third, the exhauster in the bathroom didn't work at all, and after we complained we were told, that it work as it supposed to. It our opinion, it didn't function properly at all. And, finally, when we were about to leave, we weren't pick up on time. Actually, we had to wait an hour after the scheduled time before leaving the hotel. The good things are: food, friendly staff, we had fantastic trip to Ocean World and Show Bravissimo. Overall, we had good time, although not so good as we expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
woodsy mom
ny, ny
Feb 28, 2011

Lovely low key relaxing vacation spot

I really did not want to leave after seven days. This is the middle of three Riu resorts on northern coast in Puerto Plata, and I like to think the best. Lovely location with incredible landscaping, immaculately manicured. Two story buildings in lovely pastel colors are situated in gardens with tree lined paths leading to beach or reception or dining halls. The beach is filled with trees, palm and others, so you can sit in shade or sun. The beach faces Atlantic in northerly direction. Beach is raked almost daily to clean up fallen leaves from trees. Really impressive, the effort put into landscaping maintenance. There is a pool but I much prefer the beach. Pool seemed to be choice for families. There are talapas for shade if you like. The biggest decision you'll need to make here is when to eat. Dining is buffet style with lots of variety and freshly prepared foods. Chefs are at a number of stations cooking more food as needed. There are culinary themes during the week: Dominican, Chinese, Mexican. Fantastic pizza made in a wood burning pizza oven in the dining hall. Rooms are simple and kept nicely cleaned. Beds could have been more comfortable but each room has a nice terrace. Front desk very accomodating about a requested room change. We spent all our time outdoors in the glorious weather. The location is unspoiled and does not feel crowded. There are plenty of day trips you can take, but I was really into the beach and swimming and sunning. Very relaxing week and looking. forward to returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Resort offers free kayaks, wind surfing (lessons $25) and you need to take a lesson before you go out if you haven't done it before, sailfishes, paddleboats. When the wind picks up and the red flags go up water sports are cancelled along with snorkeling for safety reasons. You'll need to sign up for the time you want to use the equipment but check for the color of the flag for the day you're scheduled. They really put safety first which was good to know so heed their advice they rally know the waters. The beach in eastern section of Merengue is protected by a rocky reef so the water is a bit calmer there. I wore water shoes as there are sea urchins about. Boone in our group stepped on any though.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bestthepest
Barnstable, MA
Dec 16, 2010

Worst vacation ever

Where do I begin! Ok I booked this trip for my wife and I. It was her 30th birthday present from me and our overdue honeymoon that we waited to take for 5 years do to financial issues. She has never traveled by plane before. Lets just say the highlight of our vacation was the plane ride. When we got off the plane the person that took our bags to the van wanted me to give the driver a $20 tip which is crazy considering the ride to the hotel and back is included in our trip that I already paid for. The gentlemen only carried our bags about 100 yards and put his hand out for a tip which I expected. I gave him $5 and he looked at me and said whats this $5 more. I said to him for WHAT HELL NO!!!!!! We should have know right then and there that we should turn back around and go home. On the way to the hotel we almost crashed like 5 times and almost hit a women crossing the road. When arriving to the hotel we checked in and got our room key. When arriving to our room it was a disaster. Lets just say the bed was terrible. The best way to explain it would be that it was like sleeping on a worn out pull out couch. When asking to change rooms we were told that we would have to pay to change rooms for a cost of $125 per night. Needless to say we didn't have the money to do this so we had to stay in this room. My wife and I wanted to go home right there and then but we knew we couldn't. The next day we went to the beach which was not fun. The current was too strong for the whole stay and the beach was littered with trash from careless people leaving there empty glasses behind. To top it off the men working at the hotel were all overly aggressive on hitting on my wife which made us both uncomfortable. If a guy tried doing that here I would have said something but I didn't want to get into trouble in another country. We felt like we were trapped inside our hotel room for the rest of the vacation. I would have rather been in a jail cell in the US then in that room at this hotel. Oh did I say that there where prostitutes at the hotel as well..... and the food was the same stuff served every day. I got sick of eating the same reheated food day in and day out. I hope this review helps for I would never stay here if I had read a review like this one!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

I only said shopping because I had to pick one item on a drop down list. NOTHING was good about this trip other than the plane ride!!!!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york
Nov 19, 2010

great location

fantastic stay,friendly and relaxing enviornment,excellent food

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

recreational activities

Back to menu Return to top

Change search