$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelly the fantastic
Wantagh, NY
Sep 2, 2012

very relaxing and accommodating

Staff was friendly and accommodating. For the money it was a great value. The beach was beautiful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AnaMercedes
Business
newyork
Sep 16, 2014

relaxing

It was a great getaway. It was just right had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bocachula
Business
philadelphia
Aug 25, 2014

great time

Didnt want it to end everthing was wonderful food drinks and attention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WILL BELLA
Business
NEW JERSEY USA
Aug 15, 2014

TWILIGHT ZONE IN RIU MERENGUE

MY NAME IS WILLIAM B. WHEN ME AND MY WIFE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL ON 08/01/2014 I ASKED FOR THE RESTAURANT TO HAVE DINNER AND THE GIRL AT THE RECEPTION TOLD ME THAT I NEED A RESERVATION. I ASKED IF SHE CAN TELL ME WHERE TO DO IT AND HER ANSWER WAS THAT THE RESERVATION WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MADE AT SEVEN IN THE MORNING. I TOLD HER AT THAT TIME WE WERE AT THE AIRPORT IN NEW JERSEY HER ANSWER WAS SORRY BUT YOU GUYS CANNOT EAT. SO WE WALK AROUND AND SPOKE WITH OTHER GUEST IN THE RESORT AND THEY EXPLAINED THAT THERE WAS ANOTHER RESTAURANT THAT WE DIDNT NEED RESERVATIONS FOR, WHICH IS NOT AN OPTION THAT WAS GIVEN TO US AT THE FRONT DESK.THIS WAS JUST THE BEGINING. WHEN WE GOT TO OUR ROOM, THE MINI BAR WAS EMPTY AND STAYED LIKE THAT FOR FOUR DAYS. FOR THOSE FOUR DAYS WE ASKED FOR WATER AT THE FROM DESK AND THEIR ANSWER WAS THAT WE CANNOT GIVE YOU WATER, YOU HAVE TO GO TO YOUR ROOM AND WAIT. THE FOOD THAT THEY SERVE AT THE BUFFET FOR BREAKFAST,LUNCH AND DINNER WAS THE SAME FOR THE ENTIRE EIGHT DAYS THAT WE SPENT AT THAT HOTEL. WE ALSO FOUND ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS TWO BIG ROACHES ONE ON THE BED AND ONE IN THE CLOSET. WE HAVE A VIDEO. WHEN WE CALLED THE FRONT DESK TO COMPLAIN THEY SAID THAT THEY WILL SEND SOMEONE BUT NOONE CAME AND WE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES BUT NOONE ANSWERED. WE WERE LOOKING FOWARD TO RELAXING NOT STRESSING. THE RESORT DOES NOT MEET THE STANDARDS AND THE STAFF WAS VERY, VERY UNPROFESSIONAL,VERY POOR MANAGMENT. PLEASE DO NOT GO THERE. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mhol428
Business
long island ny
Jul 13, 2014

Nice hotel alot of locals

Hotel was average the food was decent nothing great.The beach is beatiful and the staff was very nice.The hotel had a lot of local people staying when we were there and they seem to have a problem with tourists.The majority of the Dominicans staying when we were there were extremely rude.Other than that decent hotel with a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronil
Business
Orlando, florida
Jun 8, 2014

Nice people, clean and good service

stay here for few days on april and like it. planning on going back at end of June. entertainment is the only downfall but i really wasn't in the mood for some noise. just relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janette M
Business
Bronx, NY
May 27, 2014

Awesome trip

This was my 1st at this hotel and I can not wait to book another trip!!! Everything was great! Good was great, everything was near by and the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to wake up early and make reservations for the restaurants!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alostknight2005
Business
leeds, maine
May 10, 2014

back again

been coming here for years because of the value, location, and people. the ac could be a bit cooler but other than that I enjoy coming back here year after year. plenty of things to do, lots of shopping choices and always something different in the buffet area. the beach is gorgeous but if swimming water shoes are highly recommended as coral and sear urchins could do a number on barefeet. can snorkel and see all kinds of fish swimming right on the beach instead of paying for an excursion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

shopping in the hotel gift shops is actually cheaper than bartering with vendors

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.Lo
Business
New York City
Apr 27, 2014

Great Time !!

The hotel staff is extremely nice. The managers at the buffet are very attentive & the waiters are wonderful and very helpful, your table is always set, or cleaned within a few seconds. The bartenders are also very quick & helpful. The animation staff do a great job at entertaining people. During the day time, they have a variety of activities for people of different ages. I really enjoyed the "Yoga/ Stretch" class at the beach (Thank you Mickey Mouse!!) & the "Aqua-gym" class. I have to say that I have seen better night shows at other hotels, but it is good enough for any first time tourist in an AI hotel. The beach is located in an area where waves converge from different directions, which makes the water unusually rough, but you can still swim & have a good time. This was my first time at this hotel & I had a good time there. I'll definitely return If they offer good deals in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ercilio Perez
Business
Bronx, New York
Apr 26, 2014

Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food, nice beach, good service and friendly staff. Suggestion: We have inconvenice to find the hotel. We came from San Fco de Macoris. There is not sign to identify the hotel location in the highway for people who come from Santiago. People from Puerto Plata to Santiago can see a small sign. We asked to people to find the hotel location, we crossed the entrance of the hotel because there is not sign or visible sign for people who come from Santiago to Puerto Plata.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lady bag
Business
NY
Apr 21, 2014

Needs make over

Horrible bed, not working air conditioner Food with poor variety, staff helpful and honest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top