$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
143 reviews
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The... See full review

  • Truomega
  • Feb 5, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

19.8339 -70.7708
Area served
Puerto Plata, Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP)
Area description
Located on the beautiful Maimon Bay, 492 feet from the Caribbean Street, 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata and 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata's International Airport. Maimon bay is the place to relax on the beach with a good book and a tropical drink. The main attractions here are the beautiful beach and the beachfront Riu Resorts complex, guests will enjoy the day and nighttime many activities offered at the three all-inclusive Riu Hotels. For a taste of local Dominican culture is easy and fun, visit Puerto Plata is only six miles away. Local excursion: Puerto Plata (16th century fort and amber museum), Cordillera Central Mountains, and Santiago (tobacco and folklore museums).

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (143)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Truomega
New York
Feb 5, 2014

What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The managers are always in sight so if there is an issue (not that we had any) with anything you can always catch them walking around. The location is well within walking distance to the beach and best part is that you can take advantage of all 3 resorts (merengue, merengue village and Bachata) which allows you access to the pools, the bars, the food, the beaches etc... The only thing is that you have to eat dinner at your own hotel. I have to warn you though that you can easily fill yourself with food which myself and my girlfriend did multiple times. Every night you have a different live show that starts at 9:30 PM. Try to get there at 9:00 PM if you want good seats. Durring the day they invite you to do many different activities from water sport games to playing bingo to excersises to dance classes. There's always some form of activity to partake in. If you prefer you can opt to avoid all activities and spend as much time as you like at the bars, relaxing at the beach/pools while getting tan, visiting the shops or even leaving the hotel and doing excursions. The excursions cost extra but can easily take up half the day depending on which one you pick. I am very pleased with this resort. You will obviously find negative reviews but you can't please everyone and for the price you pay you just can't go wrong. We payed less than 1000 dollars each yet the amount of time spent and the amount of food and drinks we ate can easily exceed that number elsewhere. I brought with me 500 dollars just in case and came back home with 300 after purchasing trinkets as well as paying for excursions and the can ride from the hotel to the airport (which will run you 50 dollars). Just so you know this is my 4th time at the riu Merengue and can tell you that it will not be my last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If you buy trinkets and/or jewlery you can always negotiate. Whatever they tell you in price, cut that in half and take and take extra 10% off that as well so something that is 100 dollars should end up being 40 or something that is 70 should end up being around 25 dollars. They will give you the sad look but be persistent cause they will try there best to bring the price up.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bharlow
Pacific Palisades, CA
Jan 18, 2014

Family vacation

The hotel is not as polished as hotels in Punta Cana but the surrounding area offers more events so we did not stay much in the hotel area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nina2571dr
Massachusetts
Jan 6, 2014

fantastic vacation

Best vacation ever, good food, animation, location, nice place to stay and by the way I'll be back soon

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The teleferico at loma Isabel de Torres is a most see place

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Salam Ogrash
Brooklyn, NY
Dec 29, 2013

Good value for the money paid

My family visited Riu Merengue twice: 10 years ago and last week. Nothing changed: the same rooms, beds, old showers (was immediately replaced once started falling apart!). Beautiful beach and ocean. Acceptable food. Good staff. Some disappointing things: Resort is still in 20th century. There is no wi-fi in the rooms. Guests are offered 90 minutes of internet access in reception area. But internet connection is AWFUL. $100 router could solve the problem. TVs in rooms are of 1980s. Couple of days there were no hot water. The rest was good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms.Bell
QUEENS,NEW YORK
May 17, 2013

EXCITING BIRTHDAY GETAWAY

I arrived to Puerto Plata on Friday April12,2013. On Friday we tour the hotel premises,which is beautiful, and had dinner at the buffet. Later that evening we went to Pacha, a club on the hotel premises which was okay, as per request they will play any music you want to hear. Saturday Morning we hit the lovely beach and pool made reservations to eat at the specialty restaurants and schedule a spa session and daytime activity. In between all this planning we kept going to the bar and having shots of mamajuanna.We also linked up some really cool Canadians and party in downtown Puerto Plata that night at a Merengue Club, that was really exciting we drank BRUGAL and dance the night away. The whole club was singing HAPPY BIRTHDAY! well in there language of course is Feliz Cumpleaños!! Sunday was our last day we had breakfast, we went riding into the country side of Puerto Plata on the 4wheel bikes, that was fun,when we were done with that it was spa time,this was one of favorite activities, i had the best massage ever! When we were done we went into the beach water and enjoyed the sunset.Later that night we had dinner at a specialty restaurant and the wait staff brought out a birthday cake and also singed Feliz Cumpleaños!! Later that evening we headed back to downtown Puerto Plata and dance the night away. This place is a Great Resort, As along as you have Great people around, you will Enjoy yourself just as i did! This trip was just the way i wanted it to be Relaxing and FUN!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Enjoy the view its PRICELESS!!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Randy fun lover
Estherville , Iowa
Mar 24, 2013

Wonderful trip for the money

My wife and I have stayed at the RIU Merengue more than once and each time we enjoy it more. I dont know how they do it but many of the staff remember you from the year before. Speaking of the staff, they are well trained and very Pleasant. The bartenders and animation crew are very fun and keep you laughing. Check in is a breeze. The food in the dinning hall is plentiful and you can always find something you like. Alberto does a great job manageing it. The rooms and grounds are very well kept, there are people cleaning constantly. The beach is nearly a mile long and raked clean every day. The ocean is alittle rocky in spots but still very functional for swiming and the free water sports. We will be going back next year and taking some friends with us. sincerly enjoyed it Randy in Iowa

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go see Jonny at the end of the beach and buy an excursion to check out some real Dominican culture. I Highly recomend the waterfall trip!!!

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USA couple
Omaha, Nebraska
Mar 11, 2013

Food lacked...weather made it worse

Location is wonderful. The atmosphere for us was not great - but I think thats because we got really unlucky with rainy weather so we noticed all the little things that probably would not have bothered us otherwise. Food was not the best - definitely recommend NOT getting reservations at the 2 restaurants, better off just sticking to buffet food. Not a lot of other english speaking guests so it made it difficult to meet many people. Lots of speedos and cigarette smoke.... Did the zipline excursion which was great. The last day and half when the sun finally came out was much more enjoyable as well. Not a total bust but would definitely not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Dont be a sucker - people want your money for everything. Yes tipping is applicable at some points, but be careful! Don't let people grab your bags from you at the airport unless you truly need the help - had a guy demand $5 after he commandeered our bags for about 30 feet. I gave him $2 and told him to get lost.

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rez 123
Montréal
Mar 10, 2013

One week at the merengue

First, i need to Say that the staff is the best i've seen in years. The food is ok and the site is Clean . The ocean and the beach are not as Nice as punta cana or cancun, but that is puerto plata and we knew before we pourchasse it. Nothing to Say wrong exept for little things here and there, but hiven if it,s a 5 star in some ratings ask your self why it's half the price of a riu palace 5 Star and you Will have your answers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jd001
burlington ontario
Feb 22, 2013

first all inclusive

We went for a week in Feb 2013. We had a wonderful time. Our fav part for both of us was the waterfall excursion it was one of the most fun and exciting things we have ever done. The hotel was nice beautiful view and beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

If your staying in the Merengue you can walk over to the Brachata ffor breakfast and lunch we highly recommend you do

Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kenykop
New Jersey
Jan 17, 2013

Riu Merengue

Had a grat time. Food very inconsistant. Dominican Nite had an awesome spread and should be available daily. Real singers not lip sinkers goes a long way. this hotel lacked actual singers but the dancing was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont eat at the tourist restauraunts off the resort. Tehy dont have a price list only pics of items. They make up the prices by the way u r dressed.

Back to menu Return to top