$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
88 reviews
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
What a great vacation

Been there for 7 nights and couldn't be happier. The staff is very helpful and considerate. The... See full review

  • Truomega
  • Feb 5, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

19.8339 -70.7708
Area served
Puerto Plata, Bahia de Maimon, Dominican Republic.
Nearby airports
Puerto Plata International Airport (POP)
Area description
Located on the beautiful Maimon Bay, 492 feet from the Caribbean Street, 5.5 miles from Puerto Plata and 15.5 miles from Puerto Plata's International Airport. Maimon bay is the place to relax on the beach with a good book and a tropical drink. The main attractions here are the beautiful beach and the beachfront Riu Resorts complex, guests will enjoy the day and nighttime many activities offered at the three all-inclusive Riu Hotels. For a taste of local Dominican culture is easy and fun, visit Puerto Plata is only six miles away. Local excursion: Puerto Plata (16th century fort and amber museum), Cordillera Central Mountains, and Santiago (tobacco and folklore museums).

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelly the fantastic
Wantagh, NY
Sep 2, 2012

very relaxing and accommodating

Staff was friendly and accommodating. For the money it was a great value. The beach was beautiful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WILL BELLA
NEW JERSEY USA
Aug 15, 2014

TWILIGHT ZONE IN RIU MERENGUE

MY NAME IS WILLIAM B. WHEN ME AND MY WIFE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL ON 08/01/2014 I ASKED FOR THE RESTAURANT TO HAVE DINNER AND THE GIRL AT THE RECEPTION TOLD ME THAT I NEED A RESERVATION. I ASKED IF SHE CAN TELL ME WHERE TO DO IT AND HER ANSWER WAS THAT THE RESERVATION WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MADE AT SEVEN IN THE MORNING. I TOLD HER AT THAT TIME WE WERE AT THE AIRPORT IN NEW JERSEY HER ANSWER WAS SORRY BUT YOU GUYS CANNOT EAT. SO WE WALK AROUND AND SPOKE WITH OTHER GUEST IN THE RESORT AND THEY EXPLAINED THAT THERE WAS ANOTHER RESTAURANT THAT WE DIDNT NEED RESERVATIONS FOR, WHICH IS NOT AN OPTION THAT WAS GIVEN TO US AT THE FRONT DESK.THIS WAS JUST THE BEGINING. WHEN WE GOT TO OUR ROOM, THE MINI BAR WAS EMPTY AND STAYED LIKE THAT FOR FOUR DAYS. FOR THOSE FOUR DAYS WE ASKED FOR WATER AT THE FROM DESK AND THEIR ANSWER WAS THAT WE CANNOT GIVE YOU WATER, YOU HAVE TO GO TO YOUR ROOM AND WAIT. THE FOOD THAT THEY SERVE AT THE BUFFET FOR BREAKFAST,LUNCH AND DINNER WAS THE SAME FOR THE ENTIRE EIGHT DAYS THAT WE SPENT AT THAT HOTEL. WE ALSO FOUND ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS TWO BIG ROACHES ONE ON THE BED AND ONE IN THE CLOSET. WE HAVE A VIDEO. WHEN WE CALLED THE FRONT DESK TO COMPLAIN THEY SAID THAT THEY WILL SEND SOMEONE BUT NOONE CAME AND WE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES BUT NOONE ANSWERED. WE WERE LOOKING FOWARD TO RELAXING NOT STRESSING. THE RESORT DOES NOT MEET THE STANDARDS AND THE STAFF WAS VERY, VERY UNPROFESSIONAL,VERY POOR MANAGMENT. PLEASE DO NOT GO THERE. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mhol428
long island ny
Jul 13, 2014

Nice hotel alot of locals

Hotel was average the food was decent nothing great.The beach is beatiful and the staff was very nice.The hotel had a lot of local people staying when we were there and they seem to have a problem with tourists.The majority of the Dominicans staying when we were there were extremely rude.Other than that decent hotel with a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronil
Orlando, florida
Jun 8, 2014

Nice people, clean and good service

stay here for few days on april and like it. planning on going back at end of June. entertainment is the only downfall but i really wasn't in the mood for some noise. just relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janette M
Bronx, NY
May 27, 2014

Awesome trip

This was my 1st at this hotel and I can not wait to book another trip!!! Everything was great! Good was great, everything was near by and the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to wake up early and make reservations for the restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alostknight2005
leeds, maine
May 10, 2014

back again

been coming here for years because of the value, location, and people. the ac could be a bit cooler but other than that I enjoy coming back here year after year. plenty of things to do, lots of shopping choices and always something different in the buffet area. the beach is gorgeous but if swimming water shoes are highly recommended as coral and sear urchins could do a number on barefeet. can snorkel and see all kinds of fish swimming right on the beach instead of paying for an excursion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: In Hotel

shopping in the hotel gift shops is actually cheaper than bartering with vendors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J.Lo
New York City
Apr 27, 2014

Great Time !!

The hotel staff is extremely nice. The managers at the buffet are very attentive & the waiters are wonderful and very helpful, your table is always set, or cleaned within a few seconds. The bartenders are also very quick & helpful. The animation staff do a great job at entertaining people. During the day time, they have a variety of activities for people of different ages. I really enjoyed the "Yoga/ Stretch" class at the beach (Thank you Mickey Mouse!!) & the "Aqua-gym" class. I have to say that I have seen better night shows at other hotels, but it is good enough for any first time tourist in an AI hotel. The beach is located in an area where waves converge from different directions, which makes the water unusually rough, but you can still swim & have a good time. This was my first time at this hotel & I had a good time there. I'll definitely return If they offer good deals in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ercilio Perez
Bronx, New York
Apr 26, 2014

Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food, nice beach, good service and friendly staff. Suggestion: We have inconvenice to find the hotel. We came from San Fco de Macoris. There is not sign to identify the hotel location in the highway for people who come from Santiago. People from Puerto Plata to Santiago can see a small sign. We asked to people to find the hotel location, we crossed the entrance of the hotel because there is not sign or visible sign for people who come from Santiago to Puerto Plata.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lady bag
NY
Apr 21, 2014

Needs make over

Horrible bed, not working air conditioner Food with poor variety, staff helpful and honest

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TammyCan
NEW YORK
Apr 14, 2014

DONT STAY HERE!!!!!

This hotel was the worst I have ever been to. My husband and I go to the DR often but never stayed here. air conditioning didn't work first night there, our room flooded from a broken value on toilet and the food was gross and not stored properly. The staff is ok, but more concerned with socializing amongst themselves and sneaking drinks under the bar.... I wouldn't go back even if it was FREE!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ocean world is a must!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alla S
New York
Apr 13, 2014

Repeat

We have been coming back to this resort for past couple of years and always had positive experience. Our last visit left us wondering if this is the same chain that treated us so good in the past.... The room we stayed in had broken air conditioner and it took management 5 days to transfer us to a new room after numerous complaints and conversations with management team, which made overall experience unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top