$120 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Riu Merengue All Inclusive

3 stars
Bahia de Maimon, Puerto Plata,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
93 reviews
fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was... See full review

  • genesis82
  • Oct 2, 2014
Perez Reyna Family

It was a very good experience. We like this hotel. It is better than our expectation. Good food,... See full review

  • Ercilio Perez
  • Apr 26, 2014
Beach, bungalows and spa at Puerto Plata all-inclusive resort with pool

The Riu Merengue All Inclusive welcomes holidaymakers to its tranquil beachfront village-style accommodations nestled on tropical gardens and surrounded by picturesque mountains. All of the resort's 1007 spacious guestrooms ensure comfort through up-to-date amenities and a wide array of services. For a truly thrilling experience, the resort offers exchange privileges programme throughout the Riu Bachata. The all-inclusive offer available in the resort includes meals, drinks and non-motorized water sports.

Highlights

  • All meals, snacks, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages included
  • Beachfront resort surrounded by tropical gardens on Maimon Bay
  • Enjoy water sports, play tennis or shop and spa on the Caribbean streetscape
  • Pool has a section for kids in addition to a club and entertainment for children
Location
The Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort lies along the beach of Maimon Bay on the northern coast of the Dominican Republic. Often called the "Golden Coast" or "Amber Coast," this scenic area has rich deposits of amber and tawny-colored sand on the beach. Santo Domingo, the capital, lies about three hours to the south. Visit Puerto Plata where restaurants, bars and amber shops beckon. Take a walk along the ocean-side promenade or see the Colonial-era fort a short ride away from the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Rooms
Sit on the balcony or terrace for tranquil views of the garden and a bay breeze from any of the 1007 spacious guest rooms at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Traditional décor with island touches incorporates a ceiling fan and air conditioning to keep it cool. Find satellite TV, Internet access (fees apply) and a telephone in each room of the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort, along with a mini-bar.
Features
Keep connected just like at home by using the free wireless Internet access zone at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Step outside the all-inclusive package for shopping or book an appointment at Renova Spa (fees apply). Find a hairdresser, jeweler, photo studio and lab, billiards room, fitness center and casino.
Dining
Indoor and outdoor dining with ocean views is part of the experience at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort. Chefs entertain with lively show cooking at the buffet, where international and local specialties mingle. Pick up lunch and snacks all afternoon. In the evening, reserve a table to order from a la carte menus at the grill and steakhouse or the Italian restaurant at the Riu Merengue All Inclusive resort.
Transportation
  • Puerto Plata Gregorio Luperón International Airport (18.7 mi/30.2 km)
Attractions

  • Puerto Plata (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • The Puerto Plata Amber Museum (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
  • Ocean World Adventure Park (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Playa Dorada Golf Course (10 mi/16.1 km)
  • San Felipe fort and fortress (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Sosua fishing village (21.3 mi/34.3 km)
  • Windsurfing in Cabarete (30.5 mi/49.1 km)
  • Santo Domingo (132 mi/202 km)

Policies and fees

  • At least one person who is at least 21 years old in every room. The hotel reserves the right of admission and therefore we may not allow any room in which all guests are younger than 21 years. This situation can have serious consequences and should be avoided at any cost. No student groups under 21 years or spring breakers are accepted all year round. In all RIU hotels and room categories (unless specified otherwise), the maximum occupancies are four bodies per room, either three adults and one child or two adults and two children. Four adults are not permitted. All bodies in each room will fit on existing bedding, any special request remains upon availability. Children and third adult will sleep in existing bedding. Children under two years stay and eat free. Their age must be specified in the booking.
  • Honeymooners will receive a surprise gift in their room upon arrival. Certificate of marriage will be required upon arrival. Any special request such as extra beds, roll-aways, cribs or room next door, is subject to hotel availability. Guests will be informed at check-in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Merengue All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Riu Merengue All Inclusive Rooms

Standard Room
Features two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with shower, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Suite Ocean view
Features a separate living room area, two double beds, satellite TV, telephone, mini-bar, bathroom with hairdryer, balcony or terrace, ceiling fan and air conditioning. Rooms are suitable for a maximum of 3 adults, or 2 adults and 2 children under 12 years. In room Safe (additional cost) $3.00 USD per day.
Double Room Ocena View
Features two double beds, air conditioning, ceiling fan, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite TV, radio alarm clock, in room safe. Bathroom equiped with bathtub and shower, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Amber Museum: 5.7 mi

Dining

La Tambora
Beach Bar
Macumba
Pool snack bar and restaurant
La Plaza
Pavilion Bar
La Roca
Main restaurant with buffet style dinning and on the spot cooking stations. Theme dinners served twice a week.
Mangu
Pool snack bar and restaurant
Steak House
Steak House Restaurant, reservations required.
La Rumba
Lounge bar
Theme restaurant
Italian Restaurant, with service at the table, require dinner reservations.
Perez Prado
Lounge Bar

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelly the fantastic
Wantagh, NY
Sep 2, 2012

very relaxing and accommodating

Staff was friendly and accommodating. For the money it was a great value. The beach was beautiful and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alostknight2005
Business
leeds, maine
Nov 9, 2014

another great return

have been here a few times and never a disappointment. food, entertainment and staff are all excellent. a.c in rooms could be better as well as the very soft and dated beds but still very enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

the gift shops in the resort are actually cheaper than the vendors on Caribbean street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony B 2015
Business
New York
Oct 10, 2014

Not bad

I would say you get a good value for the prince. Do not expect the top of the line food or service, if you do not have sky high expectations you will enjoy yourself. It is a well maintained hotel with needed amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Me N Myself
Business
USA
Oct 9, 2014

Vacation

The hotel staff was very good. The room cleanliness needs improvement, but overall was not bad. Beautiful location. Food quality was poor, definitely needs some love. Bar service was was ok, but the selections and portions were terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimBNE
Business
Brisbane Queensland
Oct 8, 2014

Very sad to leave, great hoilday

I stayed at the RIU Merengue Puerto Plata for 1 week from Tuesday 30 September 2014. Food was the special highlight of the stay, from fresh juice at breakfast to special dishes at dinner (smoked salmon and carved turkey are just some of the many excellent dishes). Either something went wrong or other reviewers that criticised the food are living off the planet. I spoke to many other guests that had poor food elsewhere but were delighted with the RIU food. One of the big attractions is for breakfast and lunch if the buffet does not have the food you like, simply walk to the adjacent RIU Bachata and check out their food. The staff went out of their way to make one feel welcome. The sea water was warm and safe to swim, unlike some resorts we have stayed in where the rip can be life threating. The only negatives are: The room has a smell of mould in the wicker head bed which could be easily removed with a periodic spray with Chlorine and the internet is so slow it can take 30 minutes or more to retrieve 3 Megs of emails. Suggest management provide the same service as other nearby resorts provide (one being VH Gran Ventana) where there is true high speed internet available all day with unlimited downloads in the pool area-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Suggestions: Re local shopping, if you wish to save money visit the local “shanty shops” at the Right Hand end of the Merengue secured beach area or visit the well built shops at Left Hand end of the Bachata secured beach near the port terminal (Either walk over the hill past the rotunda to the other beach or exit via the Bachata beach gate between buildings 5 & 6. For a great clean, air conditioned, "professional" massage at half the resort price, visit Miriam at Shop 25. The massage hut in the “shanty shops” has no air-conditioning and smells of mould.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
genesis82
Business
boston, ma
Oct 2, 2014

fantasic and clean

great resort with great food. We stayed for 1 night and it was spectacular. The entertainment was over the top.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WILL BELLA
Business
NEW JERSEY USA
Aug 15, 2014

TWILIGHT ZONE IN RIU MERENGUE

MY NAME IS WILLIAM B. WHEN ME AND MY WIFE ARRIVED AT THE HOTEL ON 08/01/2014 I ASKED FOR THE RESTAURANT TO HAVE DINNER AND THE GIRL AT THE RECEPTION TOLD ME THAT I NEED A RESERVATION. I ASKED IF SHE CAN TELL ME WHERE TO DO IT AND HER ANSWER WAS THAT THE RESERVATION WAS SUPPOSED TO BE MADE AT SEVEN IN THE MORNING. I TOLD HER AT THAT TIME WE WERE AT THE AIRPORT IN NEW JERSEY HER ANSWER WAS SORRY BUT YOU GUYS CANNOT EAT. SO WE WALK AROUND AND SPOKE WITH OTHER GUEST IN THE RESORT AND THEY EXPLAINED THAT THERE WAS ANOTHER RESTAURANT THAT WE DIDNT NEED RESERVATIONS FOR, WHICH IS NOT AN OPTION THAT WAS GIVEN TO US AT THE FRONT DESK.THIS WAS JUST THE BEGINING. WHEN WE GOT TO OUR ROOM, THE MINI BAR WAS EMPTY AND STAYED LIKE THAT FOR FOUR DAYS. FOR THOSE FOUR DAYS WE ASKED FOR WATER AT THE FROM DESK AND THEIR ANSWER WAS THAT WE CANNOT GIVE YOU WATER, YOU HAVE TO GO TO YOUR ROOM AND WAIT. THE FOOD THAT THEY SERVE AT THE BUFFET FOR BREAKFAST,LUNCH AND DINNER WAS THE SAME FOR THE ENTIRE EIGHT DAYS THAT WE SPENT AT THAT HOTEL. WE ALSO FOUND ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS TWO BIG ROACHES ONE ON THE BED AND ONE IN THE CLOSET. WE HAVE A VIDEO. WHEN WE CALLED THE FRONT DESK TO COMPLAIN THEY SAID THAT THEY WILL SEND SOMEONE BUT NOONE CAME AND WE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES BUT NOONE ANSWERED. WE WERE LOOKING FOWARD TO RELAXING NOT STRESSING. THE RESORT DOES NOT MEET THE STANDARDS AND THE STAFF WAS VERY, VERY UNPROFESSIONAL,VERY POOR MANAGMENT. PLEASE DO NOT GO THERE. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mhol428
Business
long island ny
Jul 13, 2014

Nice hotel alot of locals

Hotel was average the food was decent nothing great.The beach is beatiful and the staff was very nice.The hotel had a lot of local people staying when we were there and they seem to have a problem with tourists.The majority of the Dominicans staying when we were there were extremely rude.Other than that decent hotel with a great beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronil
Business
Orlando, florida
Jun 8, 2014

Nice people, clean and good service

stay here for few days on april and like it. planning on going back at end of June. entertainment is the only downfall but i really wasn't in the mood for some noise. just relaxation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janette M
Business
Bronx, NY
May 27, 2014

Awesome trip

This was my 1st at this hotel and I can not wait to book another trip!!! Everything was great! Good was great, everything was near by and the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to wake up early and make reservations for the restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Merengue All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alostknight2005
Business
leeds, maine
May 10, 2014

back again

been coming here for years because of the value, location, and people. the ac could be a bit cooler but other than that I enjoy coming back here year after year. plenty of things to do, lots of shopping choices and always something different in the buffet area. the beach is gorgeous but if swimming water shoes are highly recommended as coral and sear urchins could do a number on barefeet. can snorkel and see all kinds of fish swimming right on the beach instead of paying for an excursion

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

shopping in the hotel gift shops is actually cheaper than bartering with vendors

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top